Reading Reviews for The Devil is in the Details
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by emma James Discovers That Everyone Has Issues

16th September 2012:
Great chapter! Hope you update soon!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! :) I'll update as soon as I can - I've been so busy that a lot of my WIPs are languishing, but I haven't forgotten them! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Jchrissy James Fails At Relationships

1st July 2012:
This was such a fun first chapter! I love every detail you put into your writing, from James shrugging his shoulders to Mari biting her lip. I also have to say, I'm with James on this one. It goes back to the age old warning of never trying to change a man (we just train them how to be more civilized so we don't have to swat them with a newspaper every time they do something bad ;) )

Anyway, your writing is superb like always. You have dropped us into the middle of the plot, which I love. We weren't forced to read paragraphs of background information, instead you gave us hints along the way.

Also, I think you are doing a great job with James's characterization. He seems so infuriating and so lovable at the same time. It's perfect :)!

Great first chapter, m'dear!

Oops, I also wanted to add how I love that you have James almost avoiding everyone of her points, but not exactly. He counteracts something about what she said, without counteracting what she actually said. It made me giggle quite a bit :)!

Jami

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! :) I tend to agree with you - you can't change a person. You have to either live with who they are or not. I think changing someone with Weasley blood might be especially hard... :P

Thank you so much for the lovely review. ♥


 Report Review

Review #3, by Hope's Mom James Discovers That Everyone Has Issues

20th June 2012:
Anyone else feel really bad for Albus as his relatives quiz him about his interest n Bridget? It does seem like she might be interested - too bad he does think there is enough "time." I was glad to read that both Potter boys have picked up on Lily's discomfort with the dangerous careers. I was afraid that they were insensitive to her pain. They aren't but can't figure out how to help her. Thanks for the new chapter. I enjoyed it!

Author's Response: Oh, yes. If it was one of the others being quizzed, they'd be able to laugh it off and deflect the attention much easier than Albus is. He just gets so invested in everything! :P

Thank you so much for your review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Allison James Sneaks Around St. Mungo's

13th June 2012:
I found it interesting that even though James knows about all of the dangers that he was still so shocked by Victoire's injury. For one small moment I thought that he would be a bit sobered by it and maybe see Marion's point a bit better. Silly me!

Ha ha, I loved the scene where all of them argued about who was going to hide under the cloak!

Excellent!

Author's Response: Yeah - I think that for James, the significance of this particular trip to St. Mungo's for Vic is that he's going to be joining her department in a matter of months. He's not really scared; it's more just adjusting his perspective from schoolboy to DCB member.

Thank you so much for your review! :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Hope's Mom James Sneaks Around St. Mungo's

9th June 2012:
James' response to hearing about Victoire's injuries is really interesting. He seemed a lot more shocked than I would have predicted. I was surprised that James brought the cloak with them to St. Mungos - I suppose "be prepared" applies to the Potters as a motto, too. Marion seems much more comfortable with Vic's injury that I expected. I would have thought that a real example of what could happen to James might have been terrifying for her much as it was for Lily. Asking James to always tell her the truth is an excellent idea. Nice update - thank you!

Author's Response: Oh, yes. James is always prepared. I don't remember whether I worked a hint about his bag into 'Curiosity' or just thought about it, but his bag has an undetectable extension charm on it that he begged Teddy to do for him. James believes in Being Prepared. :P

Thank you for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by emma James Sneaks Around St. Mungo's

9th June 2012:
great story! please keep going.

Author's Response: Thank you! :) I'm glad you like it!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Allison James Cannot Wait to Fight Monsters

3rd June 2012:
Wow! You have such a detailed description and back story for the quintapeds and the other dark magical creatures. I'd noticed that it had been brought up in other stories that they were becoming more of a problem and I had always wondered why. I thought your explanation made a lot of sense!

Oh, James.whatever will we do with him?

I was curious about Marion's name - here in the US, Marion is the male spelling (though it's very old fashioned and not common at all - I do, however, know a 90 year old man from church with that name), with Marian being the female spelling. Is it common to spell it either way in the UK?

Author's Response: I do! I'm not sure quite when I decided it, but at some point, I decided that I wanted to make the wizarding world's next major problem be magical creatures rather than a new dark wizard. Obviously you need some conflict somewhere, but for me, either the dark wizard comes across as a bit lame compared to Voldemort, or the premise feels a little overdone because Voldemort was supposed to be a step above the normal dark wizard thing. It also feels a bit boring a lot of the time - I mean, we've covered that!

I'll probably still write an Auror story at some point, but I wanted to focus on wizards.

Hmm. Interesting question, regarding "Marion." I hadn't thought about it before, but I guess there could be a tendency to spell it differently depending on the person's gender. In both the UK and the US, though, I've known girls with both spellings, and I happen to like the 'o' spelling better. :P

Thank you for your review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Hope's Mom James Cannot Wait to Fight Monsters

2nd June 2012:
Nice chapter! James is growing so much although perhaps one never grows out of irritating one's siblings. Thank you for a new chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for another sweet review! :)

I can't speak for anyone else, but I'll be surprised if I ever completely grow out of irritating my brother. :P


 Report Review

Review #9, by Mystique James Fails At Relationships

1st June 2012:
Hi,

I really enjoyed reading this story. I've read Curiosity Is Not A Sin and I like the jokes you put in about Scorpius's hair turning red. I think that it added to the story and will make people go and read Curiosity Is Not A Sin.

I'm interested to see where James and Marion's relationship will go. There's a romance part of me wanting for them to stay together, but sceptical part of me thinks that they will have a major breakup.

Reading that bit you said about Roxanne and Fred going into the forest with the acromantula made want to read what happened. Have you ever considered making a short story or a one-shot about what happens.

Mystique

Author's Response: Oh, I hope so! :) I'm always really happy when one of my stories leads a reader to check out another one, and I also really do make an effort to draw in elements of other fics (when it fits, of course) in hopes on enhancing the experience for my readers. I'm glad you felt that it did so for you!

I might do a one-shot about the acromantulas, but I probably won't, at least not for the foreseeable future - I have too many other thoughts knocking around right now, and I feel like if I take on acromantulas, it'll probably be in the context of the DCB. :)

Thank you for the review! I'm glad you like 'Curiosity,' too. :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by ohmymerlin James Cannot Wait to Fight Monsters

31st May 2012:
okay so youve been one of my favourite authors for a while because i wanted to go and read every single one of your stories and i am happy to say that i am about halfway through! :p
seriously, I LOVE EVERY SINGLE ONE AND YOU SHOULD SO DO A CAREER IN WRITING OR SOMETHING BECAUSE YOUR IMAGINATION IS SO AMAZING AND YOU CAN ACTUALLY WRITE PROPERLY AND THIS MAKES ME SO HAPPY!
So, onto the story now :p
I LOVE this story, because it's got so much originality in it and you really get their personalities (personality's?) the way I think j.k. rowling would have wrote them :D
I really love James and Rose! They're definitely my favourites :D
Well, I can't wait for more!
now off to read the others :D
10/10

Author's Response: Oh, you're so sweet! :) There's really nothing I appreciate more as an author than a reader telling me that they enjoy a lot of my stories, rather than just the few popular ones. I put so much time and thought into the world as a whole, and when people like one story enough to read another, and then to go on and read another... that just makes my day. ♥ Thank you.

I may go on to a career in writing - we'll see. ;) Right now, though, between my job and going back to grad school in a few months (sigh), my time constraints are too limiting to work on both OF and FF, and right now I'm loving my FF world too much to let it go, especially since I'm not going to have the time or the energy to pursue publication of an OF for awhile. :P

Thank you so much for your review. It really made my day, and I'm sorry I've taken so long to answer it.


 Report Review

Review #11, by Hope's Mom James Fails At Relationships

23rd May 2012:
I enjoyed this. I didn't understand what was going on with James and Marion in "Curiousity" so this cleared things up for me. James is surprisingly mature about the real issue here. Marion is the one who must decide if she can deal with James and his career. Thank you!

Author's Response: I'm glad that you liked the chapter, and also that it seems to have fallen in well with 'Curiosity' for you - I was a little afraid that I'd just end up rehashing the same things I'd covered there, but it seems like I covered some new ground for you. (Right?)

Thank you for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by staygolden91 James Fails At Relationships

22nd May 2012:
I'm definitely a fan of both stories. I'm curious as to what James will choose. I like this story in particular because I feel like this is the dilemma of most young relationships. Balancing your personal goals with the wants and/or need of the significant other.

The romantic in me wants to see James and Marion together but I'm skeptical given the characters you've developed here. Both personalities, from what I gather so far, seem pretty practical. I look forward to seeing where you take this.

Author's Response: Oh, I'm glad you like both of them! :) Thank you so much for reading them!

I think that you're absolutely right - while perhaps the specific issues that James and Marion are facing aren't quite what normal 17 and 18 year olds face, the basic issue is the same. I actually broke up with an amazing guy a couple years ago for exactly that reason - we just weren't going in the same direction and it wasn't fair to either of us to try and force it, you know?

Thank you so much for the review, and I'm really glad you like it so far. :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Allison James Fails At Relationships

21st May 2012:
Huzzah! I'm so happy that you decided to post this story! This was a very interesting insight into James's thought process. I definitely agree with Marion on the whole rubbing her nose in his complete lack of regard for personal safety. But I do understand James's perspective better having read this from his point of view.

I loved the bits with Rose and Scorpius as well! James and Roxanne turning his hair red was a nice addition. It was fun to see that occur from their point of view. At least for the moment, I don't think that this story spoils "Curiosity" too much.

I'm very interested to see how James and Marion either manage to work out their differences or don't. Ha ha, maybe Marion should get seriously injured or something and give James a taste for what it feels like to have someone you love being put in danger and not knowing if they'll be okay.

Great job!

Author's Response: I probably wouldn't have gotten around to posting it yet if you hadn't mentioned really wanting to read it, so I'm really glad that so far, you're enjoying it. :)

I'm especially glad (god, I overuse that word in response, don't I?) that you feel like you understand where he's coming from better now. I think that there's not really an easy answer, which is something that Rose and Scorpius will ultimately end up grappling with as well (which as I think I mentioned somewhere, I'm going to write once I finish Cinas, and when I do, I am totally dedicating it to you and a few other amazing reviewers for that story - I can't tell you how much I appreciate your support).

Thank you for the lovely review! :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login