Reading Reviews for Nineteen Years
  
70 Reviews Found

Review #1, by 1917farmgirl Memento

2nd September 2013:
Oh, intriguing beginning! I've never read an after the war fic that had Hermione reuniting with her parents so soon! Interesting. :)

Loved the way Hermione was still a teenager, despite everything she'd just been through. Racing through the halls and getting a gentle reprimand from McGonagall. It made me think of something - Hermione was the only one of the trio who went back to school for her 7th year, according to JKR. How odd must that have been, to go from being a war hero, on her own for months and months, doing EXTREMELY complicated magic and fighting in real battles, to being a student in school again. A regular teenager, who has to answer to the people she just basically helped save. Would be weird I think.

I'm so glad you didn't forget about the people who died. One of my pet-peeves with the way the real books ended, is that Harry just traipsed off to his cozy bed to take a nap and eat a sandwich...not grieving at all. This was nice - to show how he is still very much grieving.

Nice beginning! Love reading different versions of Book 8, so to speak. I'll be back for more when I can.

Author's Response: Hi Jill!

This was my first ever story, and going back to it today I realise how OOC and stereotyped it is. I've been procrastinating editing because it makes me cringe to read back, and this is why the fact that you like it nonetheless makes me very happy!

And no worries about Harry not grieving about those died -- I'd be more likely to overdo the concept of the hero complex and have him blaming himself for everything rather than have him forget about them entirely.

Thank you for the review, yours is coming as soon as I click the submit button for my response :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by hanie87 Returning to Hogwarts

2nd February 2013:
I thought that was amazing. I read the story in about an hour just now non stop and it's definitely the best fanfic i have read for the moment! i am looking forward to the next chapter :)

Author's Response: Hi, and thank you! Sadly, this story is on a bit of a hiatus at the moment, so I can't say for sure when the next chapter will be up...

And one hour? Wow. Just wow :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by CloakAuror9 Memento

24th January 2013:
Hey there! (:

Ooh! What a start to your story. Considering that this just happened right after the war, I was expecting it to be gloomier and I thought it was going to be when the Trio first had their moment at the start, but then Hermione is suddenly reunited with her parents! I mean, what better way to start a story than that?!

A really great job for you first fanfic. I can't even believe it's your first. It's so good, honestly. :D Great job! I'll be back for chapter two! ♥

~Izzy

42nd review out of 100

Author's Response: Hey again!

Your review made me blush once more. Seriously, every time you throw compliments at me, and I'm really, really thankful :)

You're amazing.


 Report Review

Review #4, by Tantin Memento

7th December 2012:
I . Love . It .
Any questions ?
No
Good.
Because I love it .

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! This review made my day a lot brighter :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by abby pond Returning to Hogwarts

19th October 2012:
die cristal harry was ginny's from book 1

Author's Response: Haha, absolutely! Thanks for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by soufflegirl99 Confidences and revelations

14th October 2012:
WOOP WOOP!! :D
So I'm reviewing all the chapters vbackwards and higgeldy piggeldy, I know, I'm weird like that and even though I've read this story countless times I thought I'd leave you a review anyway ;)
Loving the chapter title and you got Ron and Hermiones relationship captured nicely.
I also liked the attention to detail about Fleur and Ginny - the way they connnected through bereavement and the whole brother back story was very original as well as the miscarriage :D
The way Ron is drunk is very realistic of his behaviour; he is portrayed the same way through the books and the dialogue you use for each character is spot on - Rowling's is similar.
The last chapter is relateable with a neat twist that I thought finished the chapter with a positive upbeat and sweet touch after the sensitive topics you touched down on then; the flirting and relationships were a good contrast as well in comparison to the sad start to the story.
I'm liking the way each chapter has a different message and point of view - it's what makes this story stand tall above the others.
It also means the reader won't be bored and can carry on reading something vaguely fresh each time with a mini-plot along the same familiar story line.
You did it again Val 10/10 :)

Author's Response: You have the most amazing expressions ever - higgeldy piggeldy? ;)

Rowling's is similar? *faints with a dull thud*

SO MANY FEELS

I owe you big time. Sophie the hex-maker?I think yes.


 Report Review

Review #7, by soufflegirl99 Safe.

14th October 2012:
This so so so moving Val, every time I read it I get tears in my eyes :'(
You are such a fab writer, that conjours up all these different emotions with in the piece. I loved the start - the memory, it really added a realistic depth to Ginny as a character, and it was really awesome to see it from her POV as it adds character development. I like the way you are so brilliant at 1st person and third, and the description for each is so vivid and well written.
You really are very talented, Val, this piece is so extrodinarily fambubblybumshus :D

Author's Response: Ah, Sophie.

Too many compliments.

Thank you.

fambubblybumbshus yourself.

&hearts


 Report Review

Review #8, by Siriusly89 Returning to Hogwarts

30th September 2012:
I really like this chapter! Its nice to see things looking up and not being so depressing, angsty is brilliant but I am a fluff lover at heart! One thing I will say is, be careful of OC's, stay true to the main characters and be careful, because in some of my stories, my OC's can run away with the plot :P Teddy is just adorable! MORE OF TEDDY! :D If you ever need any more reviews, you know where I am, and I know my second review is a mile and a half long, and I thought you might get bored if every one of them way that length :)

Author's Response: I doubt my OC's will run away with the plot since they've got one of their own,but you must have realised that since you've read W&W!

There will be more Teddy. I promise.

Thanks for the review :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by Siriusly89 Waffles and white horses.

30th September 2012:
RON AND HERMIONE! This chapter is my FAVOURITE so far!!! I'm very much a Romione shipper and this chapter is just perfect! Very upbeat, very positive, and I think you got Ron and Hermione exactly right. Their personalities were spot on. Their embarrasment (not sure if thats a word) was really realistic :) I just absoulutely love this chapter to DEATH! TO DEATH! ON TO THE NEXT CHAPTER :D

Author's Response: Other than THANK YOU, this review has made my day, so I won't say anything else because it wouldn't be coherent.

I'm not even sure that sentence made sense. :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by Siriusly89 Safe.

30th September 2012:
FREDS FUNERAL :'( The introduction is very good, about the backstory! I luved that! And Ginny explaining all the little things Fred had done for her individually shows that Ginny loved each of her brothers for a different thing which is really cute. The funeral scene was very emotional and pulled on my heartstrings. I love that it was Harry that consoled Ginny, it was a very intimate moment! And I just adore the piece at the end about the clock saying Fred was safe.

Author's Response: Thank you for loving this chapter through and through - that is, if I've understood your review correctly!

It has so far been my favourite to write, so I'm happy you enjoyed it.

Thanks for the review :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by Siriusly89 Confidences and revelations

30th September 2012:
Ron going on a drinking binge was a very good twist to the story! And Ginny going finding him was very good too! Fleurs French accent was very well written, some people's attempts are not good.at all! But yours followed the same pattern JK Rowlings did and thats good :) Fleur having a miscarrige and a brother? HOW MUCH PAIN CAN ONE WOMAN TAKE? AH! VERY GOOD PLOT! I love that the story gets more upbeat in this chapter! Very good :) And sicard my comment from before about Ginny having to remain angry, I CHANGE MY MIND :)

Author's Response: Thank you for appreciating Fleur's french accent, it made my Spell Check go completely off its rocker.

I'll admit I had a copy of DH on my lap while writing it up.

Yes, how much /can/a woman take? Thank you for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Siriusly89 Family, feelings and Floo network.

30th September 2012:
Hi again!

First paragraph was very cute :)
Second paragraph was written really well, you channeled Ron's personality perfectly. I wasn't really sure about him calling Hermione a * (rhymes with witch :P) sorry, don't think I can use curses in a review :), but the rest was spot on! George nearly made me cry! Very good display of grief there. Third paragraph was good, not much happened in it, but it didn't feel like it was stuck in there for no reason, it had a purpose and thats very good! I love the change of POV in the fourth chapter. Ginny's distance from Harry begins to make sense in this paragraph, and it is written really realistically! I love Luna so much, and it's very fitting that she comforts Ginny :) Luna's story about the Thestrals was really touching! Tearing up over here :) Hmm.in the fifth paragraph, Ginny goes from being all angry to understanding. buut I'm sure the answer will be revealed at a later stage :) Not much to report on in the sixth paragraph :) VERY good portrayal of Molly Weasley in the seventh PARAGRAPH! Hmm.Narcissa's entry into the story in the eighth paragraph was a little bit rushed for me. a heart to heart between the two estranged sisters would have been lovely :) I LOVE TEDDY! And the sense of mystery at the end is very good! Where is Ron? Is he with Hermione? ON TO THE NEXT CHAPPIE!

Author's Response: THANK YOUUU!

I think I'm going to include another Narcissa/Andromeda scene in a future chapter, but this story is temporarily on hiatus so I'm not sure when that's going to happen...

We'll see :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Siriusly89 Memento

30th September 2012:
Hey there :)
Siriusly89 here reviewing :) heeheehee :)
Very good first chapter! I like the first bit :) You slotted in Hermiones parent's return very well, but some antics in Australia would have bee fun to read :P But anyway, ON TO THE NEXT CHAPPIE :)

Author's Response: Hi, thank you very much and sorry for the late reply!

I also think antics in Australia would have been fun to read. I might write a short story in the future, when I'm not undergoing a plunny attack!

:)


 Report Review

Review #14, by Phoenix_feather123 Returning to Hogwarts

19th September 2012:
ooh! Thank you so much for dedicating this to me! :D This chapter is alittle short, but good anyways. Poor harry, having to take care of teddy without ron's help. Ron should be ashamed!!
Thanks for the great chapter.

Author's Response: You're welcome, I'm glad you liked it!

Ron ashamed? Psh, as if!

Thank you for the review :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by Mary Returning to Hogwarts

19th September 2012:
definetly didnt like Crystal

Author's Response: Good!

Thank you for the review :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by Mary Waffles and white horses.

19th September 2012:
loved Hermiones parents and Ron being in the house

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Mary Safe.

19th September 2012:
I felt like my heart was breaking during the funeral for Fred. I know that alot of people loved him and you made it so that we could all share our sorrow with the Weasley's.

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much. This was my favourite chapter to write so far, I'm so happy you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Mary Confidences and revelations

19th September 2012:
I like the way the story is going so far cant wait to read more.

Author's Response: Thank you, I'll update soon!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Lovely Slytherin Waffles and white horses.

18th September 2012:
I love this story as a whole, but this chapter...:sigh:...this chapter was absolutely lovely! Must be going now...time to read more!

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm glad you liked it! Your review made my day :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by soufflegirl99 Returning to Hogwarts

14th September 2012:
1) DUH_DUH_DUH!! I sense new drama coming next chapter.
2) I am this close { } to kicking crystal right now.
3) Wooo! Kiwi and Cat!!!
please please please write moree :D

Author's Response: That close only? This is me --> []

But she'll get what she deserves, and as you've already read W&W you know about some things...

I am writing more, don't worry! Chapter 4 of W&W is in the queue, and I will be sending chapter 7 of this as soon as possible!

You are an amazing person, you know that? Thank you so much :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by Ginger Lust Returning to Hogwarts

13th September 2012:
HI. I love this story. And you write so well. I just found it so I got to read all up to now at on sitting. Can't wait for more.
Keep up good work.
Eagerly awaiting more.

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much, your review made my day :)

Chapter 7 is currently being written, it should be up within the next two weeks at the latest!


 Report Review

Review #22, by FriendofMolly Returning to Hogwarts

12th September 2012:
ValWitch,
I will admit I do like Cat and Kim. They're just the type to be perfect friends for Ginny. Crystal on the other hand should be fixed up with Cormac. But I don't think to egomaniacs would work that well. Why is he back? He was a 7th year while Harry was Captain. Or did he do just that bad on his NEWTS? I'm sure that come Hogsmeade weekend a bewildered "you are, who"? from Harry will be just the comeupance she needs, But you are saying she is going to cause more trouble? Hasn't there been enough already? I'm just hoping that Ginny won't take the bait. I do have to give you a thumbs up for the Harry and the dirty diaper scene. That was very, very, funny.
FoM

Author's Response: There was indeed the suggestion that Cormac had miserably failed his NEWTs, I've never liked the bloke very much...

Ah, yes, the interaction between Harry and Crystal is one I can't wait for! But sadly enough, she will cause more trouble before that, though nothing too bad. And she will get what she deserves. Definitely!

I'm so happy you enjoyed this chapter, thank you for the lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by zipzin Returning to Hogwarts

11th September 2012:
Great chapter! I thought the pacing was great and it was very good, as well as Teddy. How can you not love Teddy? I'm excited to see how this all goes and can't wait for the next chapter, and the next, and then next, and so on.

Author's Response: Yes, how can one not love Teddy? His and Harry's interactions are so much fun to write, I will include more of those!

And so on indeed! Will you be around? I hope so.

Thank you for the lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by Jessie Returning to Hogwarts

10th September 2012:
You are an amazing writer! I love it :D

Author's Response: You are a far too nice reviewer!

Thanks so much :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by JayMichael Memento

10th September 2012:
I found your fanfic to be a wonderful addition to the story, though vaguely brief! I love your concept of continuing, though not necessarily altering the book! Bravo! I have written fanfic and other odd shorts of scribblings for nearly 6 years, and your writing sparks interest, though it does need a bit more rigor and elaboration!

Author's Response: Thank you!

I know I skip out on some bits, but I prefer an okayish version that moves the story along rather than an obviously done and redone passage that I'm not so happy about...

I certainly will be going back and editing (aka detailing) in the future following your advice!

:)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>