Reading Reviews for A niffler of a trick
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SketchCyanide Some ravenclaws and some Nifflers

8th July 2014:
- House Cup 2014 Review -
Educational Decree #4

This was such a great read, you've most certainly captured Fred and George - I can definitely imagine this being something they'd do, especially when they'd been told not to :P

Hagrid was pretty believable too, I don't know how much he hands out detentions(way less than Snape) but the fact that he found it funny was very in character. It is Hagrid after all.

The story could read slightly better if you fixed up a few mistakes, such as making sure you use a capital letter for the word 'Ravenclaw' and also maybe spacing it out a bit so that you don't have speech followed by a huge paragraph.

Other than that it was a great chapter, and I enjoyed it a lot :)

-- Jez

 Report Review

Review #2, by randomwriter Some ravenclaws and some Nifflers

8th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review: Educational Decree Number Four

Hello :) I'm here to review your story for the House Cup!

I really loved this one-shot. It was so funny, and I found myself unable to supress a chuckle! This is what I love about Fred and George, you know! They love to prank people and have a good laugh, but they're so smart about it. The Niffler idea was amazing and I found it very believable. I can totally picture the twins doing something like this!

As for some CC, I hope you don't mind! I found some grammatical errors which can detract from your story. Nothing a quick edit can't fix! Also, Hagrid's speech and characterisation was slightly off. Other than that, I think you tackled this really well! Great job and keep writing humour :D This was great!

 Report Review

Review #3, by caomoyl Some ravenclaws and some Nifflers

8th July 2014:
I loved this little one shot! It was definitely something I can see Fred and George doing to their fellow students.

I felt that you characterised them all very well so it fit with the images in my head of them. It's one of the things I find hardest with writing but you did a very good job with it.

I did notice that on two occasions, you used the incorrect form of 'their'; once right after the split and and the other time is when you said about Fred and George having tears down their cheeks. You also seemed to only capitalise Gryffindor when Ravenclaw also needs to be capitalised.

One last thing is your use of apostrophes. You've used them quite a bit when using the plural form of the word (such as "he rounded on the Gryffindor's.") which doesn't require the apostrophe. You only need it when contracting a word or if the word is possessive (i.e. The Gryffindor's gold, because the gold belongs to the Gryffindors)

All of that aside, I really did love this! Good job with it!

-Amy
(House Cup 2014 Review. Educational Decree #4)

 Report Review

Review #4, by CassiePotter Some ravenclaws and some Nifflers

3rd December 2012:
Hello!
I thought this was a really fun one-shot, and I really enjoyed reading it! You definitely captured the spirit of Fred and George, and this is something I could definitely see them doing! I wouldn't put it past them to single out the Ravenclaws either! And I loved how Hagrid was smiling as he gave them detention. He could never really be stern! This was a really great, funny read, and I really enjoyed it! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hey there and sorry for the wait!

I'm glad you liked it and thought it was funny. I was aiming for that, seeing as it's Fred and George but I hadn't wrote anything with humour in it before so im glad you found it funny!

Thanks for the review and sorry again about the wait! :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by ChaosWednesday Some ravenclaws and some Nifflers

3rd December 2012:
Hey it's Whiskey from the forums!

Well, first off, I noticed some typos:
"Defence against the dark arts" is supposed to be capitalized because it's, technically, a name. Same goes for "ravenclaw" and "Care formagical creatures"
"...before coming to his sense." Missing an 's' there
"chase the ravenclaw's," has an uneccesary apostrophe...

There are more such cases but I can't remember where they were in the text. It's no big deal and I'm just being nitpicky:P

As a die-hard Fred and George fan, I always look for deep character insight when reading about them, so I can get a bit tedious, don't mind me. But here are some questions that, if answered, might help liven up the story: 1) Was there any particular Ravenclaw that they wanted to prank? Why? 2) What do they think about Hagrid? 3) Allusions to the rest of their story? I.e. when is this, how does it relate to earlier or later events,etc.? My point is that some context could really brighten up this short! Good luck and keep writing about Fred and George, they rock so much :D

Author's Response: Hey there and sorry about the wait!

Thanks for pointing them out, I'll go back through and see what I can spot! I'll also go back through and see what I can add to bulk out the story a bit more. It really isn't one of my longer peices and it would probally be better to add more information so thanks for the questions.

Thanks for the review and sorry again it's late! :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by slytherinchica08 Some ravenclaws and some Nifflers

2nd December 2012:
Well, I thought that this was a rather good oneshot! Very interesting, and I loved the look into Fred and George misbehaving in class and I thought that their characterization was done very well! I thought that the prank was a great idea to spice up the class a bit and was so them! Hagrid was great as well especially when you mention that he tried to hide his smile as I can't imagine him being really upset with the two. I did spot a few spelling mistakes such as using there instead of their and for instead of from at one point in time but other than that, it was all really well done! Great Job and best of luck in the challenge.

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for your review! :)
I'm glad you liked it, this was the first time I'd attempted Fred and George so I'm glad I got some of there humour in there!
I'll have another look back through for the spelling and grammer mistakes, thanks! :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by FallenAmaranth Some ravenclaws and some Nifflers

26th July 2012:
Short and Sweet, but I like it :')
I recognised this from when you requested the banner on TDA, and I remember even then I thought the title sounded pretty cool :P

Apart from the odd spacings(I get them too) it was really well written and I found it rather funny - I can definitely imagine Fred and George doing that, and Hagrid, of course, would be slightly amused. (I dunno if he was teaching in their fourth year, but that's no matter.)

I loved it, s'all I have to say xD

-Fallen

Author's Response: Hey, glad you like the title, it took em ages to think of it! :D
I'll go back and see if I can fix the spacings, I had about of an issue with them but I think I can fix it.
I'm glad you enjoyed it and thanks for reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Gray Raven Some ravenclaws and some Nifflers

14th June 2012:
Hey! Thx for the entry!

I imagine having a class with Fred and George would be very entertaining and fun (of course if you're not their victims :D ). Oh those poor Ravenclaws.

I also like it at the end that Hagrid gave him detention but still found the situation funny.

As for what I was expecting from this challenge... well, I was actually looking for something a bit more original and challenging. A class with nifflers had already been told pretty detailed in the book, but there are lots of other magical creatures in the Potterverse that has never been explored.

But, with Fred and George being there, the story is still entertaining :D So, Good job!

Thanks once again for joining this challenge. I hope you had fun with it. You'll be hearing from me again soon.

Gray

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for reviewing and can't wait to here from you again :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Jade Stuart Some ravenclaws and some Nifflers

26th May 2012:
Its alright but the layout needs adjusting :)

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing and i'll change the layout :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by maskedmuggle Some ravenclaws and some Nifflers

23rd May 2012:
Aw this was a nice story! I really liked the plot - I can definitely see Fred and George up to this sort of mischief! Sounds funny indeed, you got their characters right for sure :) One suggestion I do have is perhaps get a beta for this? There's a couple of spelling mistakes and some small things, and if they were fixed it could make this story even better than it is! And the formatting is a bit tough to work with, but if you fix up the spaces it'll be a lot less distracting to read ;)

All in all though, I really liked this. It was a nice story about the twins' humour, and nifflers and gold is always fun to read about! Nice writing~ :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! :)
I'll try to fix the errors and formatting :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login