Reading Reviews for Until death do us part
  
18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by alicia and anne Until death do us part

15th August 2013:
Aww as sad as this was I really liked the ending.
I loved that even in death Remus and Tonks are together, that they have forever together now.
I really liked how you wrote about Tonks still having concious thoughts even after being hit with that spell. About how she wanted Remus and she was struggling to remember memories of her and Remus together. It's easy to see just how much she relied and depended on him.
Brilliantly written Summer!

 Report Review

Review #2, by 800 words of heaven Until death do us part

11th August 2013:
Hello! Here from Slytherin review tag!

I seem to be a sucker for your "orphan family" stories, as I like to think of them. The last time I reviewed something that you'd written, was your little glimpse into the life of Lily, James, and baby Harry, and now here I am, reviewing a story about Remus, Tonks, and baby Teddy! I promise that next time, I shall strive to review something newer!

Wah! I've read something like the first four paragraphs and I already feel like crying - but in a good way! Remus and Tonks' deaths make me very emotional normally, but the way you've written this, in Tonks' voice, it's so heartbreaking all over again!

I really like the juxtaposition between the two chapters beginning, "Someone screamed..." and "I had never quite realised..." I really love the way the first one talks about Tonks needing Remus, but the second one is all about Remus needing Tonks. It really illustrated to me the thought you put into this, because it's so subtle, showing the delicacy with which you've handled their relationship, which I think is a very good commentary on their relationship overall.

The way in which you've described Tonks’'consciousness makes it sound as if she's "trapped" in a sense. I really like that you've taken a different direction with her death, because it's often described as a liberating experience, and to me, the way Remus talks to Harry as he's about to head to his "death" in Deathly Hallows, sounds as if Remus is also feeling liberated. Another really clever comparison!

Gah! I felt like crying again at the end of this, but with tears of happiness this time. I adored their easy banter - it felt very natural and comfortable.

So this was a little piece of amazing! Looking forward to reading more of your work!

Author's Response: Hi there.

I love orphan stories too and don't worry about reviewing something newer. I love my old things too although it isn't the greatest!

I adore Tonks and Remus so their deaths broke my heart but I like to think that they met up again in the afterlife. I like Tonks and I think she's an amazing character to write as in canon she was just awesome!

Thank you for saying that. I dont think that was part of my thought process whilst writing it but I'm glad it worked out!

I like the idea of Tonks being trapped in her conciousness. I wanted the relief to come after Remus appeared to show how much she needed him. I'm glad you liked the banter!


 Report Review

Review #3, by adluvshp Until death do us part

10th February 2013:
Hi Summer! Popping by again to spread some love with random reviewing =)

Ah this was such a nicely written story. I loved that you captured Tonks' last moments and then how she "went to the other side" or whatever. That was pretty cool. I loved the love she had for Remus, it shone through so well. I'd have to liked to see more worry and love for Teddy too though, and sorrow for him being orphaned, since she is a mother and she would have equally longed for Teddy as she did for Remus. But I guess the focus of this was on Tonks/Remus so it was okay.

It made for a short but sweet read, and the ending put a smile. Its always good to think that the people we love re-unite with us even after death.

One tiny error I noticed, it should be "Till" and not "Til" like you have written. Or it should be "Until."

Otherwise, good work! 9/10

Cheers!
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Hi aditi! Thank you for randomly reviewing!

I love Tonks and Remus. I genuinely can't believe they died. I still can't believe JK Rowling did that to us. The love that she had for Remus will still shine through.

I do love to end on a happy ending.

Thank you for helping with my spelling!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Lady Asphodel Until death do us part

16th October 2012:
This was really sad and good to read. Tonks desperation to be with Remus was emotion capturing. I liked how you also made it a bit light hearted in the end. :)

Happy reading.
Keep up the good work. ;)

-Asphodel

Author's Response: Hello there.

Tonks does have a huge desperation to be with Remus and I wanted it to be light hearted to show her personality.

Thank you for the review


 Report Review

Review #5, by ohmymerlin Until death do us part

16th October 2012:
Review Tag! :D

This was really sweet! Remus and Tonks are a great pairing! :D

There was one error, you said, "...and my heart stoped", it's probably just a typo but I just thought I'd mention it. :)

Also, I find it quite strange that she could feel Ginny's tears on her cheeks and that she could feel her hand being taken away from Remus' and she knew she was being lifted up. I mean, if she was looking at it, it might have been a bit different... but I don't know anything about death, so feel free to ignore me! :p

I also loved the ending.

"What took you so long?" I asked curiously.
"Long story."
"We have forever."


That was really sweet!

Anyway, that one-shot was really good, I really enjoyed reading it! :D

Author's Response: Thank you for the review.

It was a little typo thank you!

The whole point was that a normal person may not be able to feel that but I made it appear that Tonk's eyes had just closed so she could feel everything rather than her just dying.

I'm glad you liked the ending.

Thank you


 Report Review

Review #6, by Ron 4 Hermione Until death do us part

27th July 2012:
Hey, this is a really good piece of writing, the emotion is lovely and it really makes the reader feel for them!
I think you have the Characterisation spot on and I can imagine something like this happening and this would be how they reacted!
I adore the last line "Til death do us part... yeah right" its a great ending and it feels like something she would think.
A great piece of writing :)

Author's Response: Thank you. The emotion was hard to write but I tried to make it out that there was some hope for them even though there wasn't.

I did want some humour at the end as I feel it is typical Rose!

Thank you


 Report Review

Review #7, by caomoyl Until death do us part

18th July 2012:
I loved this!! You managed to draw me in with the first line! It had so much impact! It felt like the end of the story at the beginning and gets you wondering how the story is going to end. You knew exactly who it was about, but never did I expect it to end the way it did.
The way you described how things happen when they died is completely knew; nothing I had ever thought of before. But I really liked it! It seems so..true, but at the same time you feel it impossible, despite you wanting it to happen to you.
Tonks' feeling about being ripped away from Remus really made me want to cry. You wrote it so beautifully and believable! I'm so glad they got to be together in the end; to live forever together whilst both being dead. It was a nice way to end it and to keep me happy ;)
The end of the last line, '... yeah right.' gave a nice little bit of Tonks humour to it which I really loved! At the beginning, I wouldn't have thought having that on it would have worked, but it really did. Like when someone dies and that one person puts a little smile on your face and makes everything feel okay again, even for just a short while. That's how it felt when I read that!
I loved this (if you couldn't already tell)! Great job with it!

Author's Response: Yay Amy! I love reviews off AMY THEY MAKE ME SMILE!

I'm glad you didn't expect it to end that way, that was sort of what I was going for as I hoped to mirror Tonk's unpredictability in this. I'm glad it was new as I like people to see how I interpreted the story. I know it feels impossible but it might happen.

I didn't want Tonks to be ripped away but I really liked the way it seemed to flow so I wanted to make it sad but the reunion at the end helped it.

I love the last line too... Its Tonks everything is meant to be great.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Cassius Alcinder Until death do us part

18th June 2012:
Review tag!

This was a really good insight into Remus and Tonks, who definitely have one of the more bittersweet tales in the series. I kind of felt a little robbed in the book and even moreso in the movie that we didn't rally get to see their last moments, so I liked how you explored it here.

You did a good job of portraying their relationship and how they would have dealt with the turmoil of the battleand the sense of loss and worrying about Teddy's future.

It was nice how you had thm reunited in the afterlife, adding some hop onto what would have been a very sad ending. You managed to convey a wid range of emotions in a short amount of space here.

Author's Response: Hey thanks for the review :)

Remus and Tonks are just some of my favourite characters I guess! The book doesn't really explore the relationship of the two characters at all which is what I really disliked so I love to write about them in the fanfiction world!

Tonks just seems to be such a lovely character so I wanted to show her in her final battle days torn between wanting to be a wife a mother and a warrior! I hope that came through in this.

I dont't like to use sad endings in my stories, I think the sad endings tend to make me feel all sad and squishy but I love to just add things on to the end and here I think the line 'Yeah right' really echoed what Tonks could have said!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Mihali1432 Until death do us part

18th June 2012:
I feel like I've read this before. Serious deja-vu right now. Aha xD Anyways, it was nice reading Tonks and how she wanted Remus so much! Remus/Tonks. YAY! Anyways, I loved this! :D

Mike.

Author's Response: MIKEY! You never do reviews :O Thank you!

You did read this before a very long time ago when I first wrote the plot line of it! I'm glad you liked the Remus and Tonks in there


 Report Review

Review #10, by firefly910 Until death do us part

18th June 2012:
Hi firefly here with your review!

This story was definitely bittersweet.
It's an interesting take on what happens to someone just after they die. For me it was almost as if Tonks' soul was waiting for Remus to join her and only then could she go on to the other side.

I like the fact that Tonks acknowledged Teddy and that she realised he would left an orphan.

What I think you did well was show just how much Tonks loved Remus. It affected her that she was dead but what affected her more was the fact that she couldn't feel Remus. When you love someone that much you can't bear to be away from them. Tonks knows that Remus died too and the way you wrote her wanting to reach out and touch his hand portrays just how lost she feels without him.

Nice touch adding the hint about Remus going off to be with Harry when he uses the resurrection stone.

Like I said it was a really bittersweet story, it was lovely but heartbreaking at the same time.


Callie ~

Author's Response: Hey thank you for the review!

It seems like you have picked up on everything I really wanted to convey in this story such as Tonks needing Remus to pass to the other side and the whole situation being bittersweet because although they have both died, this way they can be together for the rest of eternity and I feel that's a very comforting thought to have.

Tonks for me had to acknowledge Teddy because a mothers love can never fade. It will always be at the forefront of peoples minds no matter if they try to hide it or not. Being left an orphan would be beyond awful so I think Tonks had to say that she knew this.

I love the ship of Remus and Tonks because it sort of shows they weren't afraid to follow their hearts and of course what would affect her would be Remus not being close to her although they were now both of the spiritual world. I just wanted to show how much they loved each other.

I'm glad you saw the hint I left in about Remus going on. Not many people picked up on that but I'm glad that you spotted it!

Thank you so much


 Report Review

Review #11, by Witnesstoitall Until death do us part

28th May 2012:
This was a bittersweet portrayal of Remus and Tonks' death. I liked the play on the 'til death do us part' and Remus taking a while to meet her since he was off with Harry in the forest. Very clever. Good job!

Melissa

Author's Response: Hey thank you so much for the review.

I guess it really is bittersweet because on the one hand they've died but the next they have been reunited after death to live the rest of their days out together, the way it would lovely to believe happened after death.

No-one else has picked up on the whole Remus slipping off to meet Harry part and I find that very interesting but I'm glad you did!

Thank you so much


 Report Review

Review #12, by AC_rules Until death do us part

21st May 2012:
Hey there Summer!

This was reallly really rather cute. I mean, in the same way it broke my heart again because you reminded me of the horrible fact that Remus and Tonks die and, oh Poor baby Teddy... but, yeah the writing style of this was lovely and it was really enjoyable to read.

I liked your interpretation of death. That's something I didn't think I'd be saying today, but I really did - I thought it was an interesting way of looking at things and is the sort of thing that makes me want to sit and think and be generally a bit pretentious for a little while.

Yeah, really enjoyed it! :)

-Helen

Author's Response: Hey Helen!

I'm glad you thought it was really cute! I love writing cute and fluffy things crossed with a little bit of angst mainly because I just love to read it!I miss Remus and Tonks so much but I love the feeling that there will be another piece of life almost after death as it gives people continued hope. I'm so glad it made you think :)

Thank you for the review


 Report Review

Review #13, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Until death do us part

17th May 2012:
AW! I'm close to tears. You write emotions so well. Remus and Tonks, why! I'll never get over Remus's death (or Sirius's or...well, let me just stop right now). This was beautiful. It flowed wonderfully from start to finish and it was just painful but bittersweet to read at the same time.

They really loved each other. Poor Teddy. At least Tonks and Remus got to be together in the end. I like reading stories like this because it just gives me hope that they finally did get the happiness they so desperately wanted.

Wonderful job!

Author's Response: Hey Deeds! So I'm really bad at answering reviews right now!

I'm glad you think I write emotion well because its one of the hardest things I find to do :) I will never get over any of the marauders deaths! I'm glad you liked it too.

Poor teddy indeed. I love Teddy but in my other stories I always write him with a happy ending which kind of makes up for it :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by CambAngst Until death do us part

16th May 2012:
Tagging you from the Review Tag thread.

This was really, really lovely. Tonks and Remus have become one of my favorite ships to read, because their life together was so short and so tragic and because very little about it was spelled out in the books, so it's a fertile topic where a talented author can let their imagination run free.

I think this is the first piece I've read that explores how they felt in the moment, when they knew that it was over. I liked the way that Tonks's only thoughts were of her husband and her son. It seems like a really natural reaction from a very beautiful, very gifted young woman who sacrificed so much to be with an older, poor man who was in many ways an outcast. Tonks was never afraid to follow her heart, and that comes through very clearly here.

So as much as my heart aches for the two of them and the future with Teddy that they would never have, it was very nice to imagine them walking into the hereafter together, hand in hand.

Your writing was lovely in this. I didn't see any typos or grammatical problems. It flowed really nicely from start to finish.

Author's Response: Sorry for such a late response. Life has been uber crazy lately.

Tonks and Lupin are one of my favourite couples too because of their relationship and basically what happened throughout their lives! Rowling also kept so much of their relationships such as the beginnings of their relationships and the developments within it which lead to them being married.

I haven't read many afterlife pieces mainly because I'm sort of scared they won't be portrayed as how I see them. I just imagine Tonks to be so family orientated so it does seem only natural that Tonk's thoughts would be about them. Tonks is just one of my favourite characters because she's the Hufflepuff that was brave, beautiful and talented.

I agree it is nice to see them walking off in the sunset


 Report Review

Review #15, by Jchrissy Until death do us part

16th May 2012:
This was really good, very sad obviously, but still a great piece of writing. I would rather Tonks have known that the cheering was from their side, just because after giving her life for the cause she would deserve to know that, but having her not know or care does show how devastated she feels about being seperated from Remus.

Great job!

Author's Response: Hey thank you for the review.

I sort of didn't want her to know who won and who didn't because that way as you said it made it seem like she was more distraught. I'm glad you liked the piece :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by CloakAuror9 Until death do us part

16th May 2012:
Hello there, Summer!

You know what I feel like doing? Squeezing all the writing skills you have out of you (Don't worry! I won't...I'll try not to anyway :P )

This was real sad! I liked the thought of Tonks having a little bit more consciousness after she got hit by the killing curse.

I think its sweet how even at the last moments of her life, she tried so hard to save Remus and after death she was still looking for him. They are so sweet together and not to mention, you wrote this so beautifully! ♥

You are a really great author! :D

Ta,
CloakAuror9 xx
Recenseo 2012

Author's Response: Hey :) Sorry for the late reply :)

Haha I have little writing skills compared to you so I wish I could have yours :P

I know it was sad, it was really sad to right so I'm glad that it sort of came across well. I don't like the idea that when you die thats just it and this gave me a way to convey the idea.

I'm glad you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #17, by LyrisLovegood Until death do us part

16th May 2012:
Hi :)

This was beautiful and touching. It short, simple but yet effective. I love how you've managed to convey her emotions after death, making her long for the one she loves. I really like this a lot :)

Author's Response: Hey thank you for the review!

I'm glad you thought it was all of those things! It was very hard to write to be honest but I'm glad you thought it was good!


 Report Review

Review #18, by ladybella Until death do us part

15th May 2012:
Hi there! It's Ladybella from the forums! :)

I'm on a total angst kick at the minute so I was intrigued when I saw the title, Till death do us part is a line said by thousands of couples but never by a couple like Remus and Tonks.

This story though short was beautifully bittersweet and the range of emotions flowed great through out without feeling rushed and unrealistic.

I always imagined Remus needing Tonks more than the other way around so it was so lovely to see this side of Tonks as she always seems like a character that is often there for comic relief.

It was such a beautiful end to such a sad story and I actually think a series of short stories like this would be lovely reads. :)

Beautifully written, well done. :)

Ladybella.

Author's Response: Hey :) Thank you for the review!

I'm glad it intrigued you in! I love the idea of marriage vows because they're so universal and as you said thousands of people have said them.

I wanted this story to be short in a way because a lot of the time there is the tendancy with me to go a little overboard and originally this was a lot longer but it just didn't feel right you know.

I don't know I think Tonks fell very deeply for Remus which is why she loved him so much and needed him!

I'm glad you liked it


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login