Reading Reviews for A Storm in a Teacup
  
21 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HuffLass How could you?

12th January 2013:
when will the next chapter be up?! i enjoyed this SO much!

Author's Response: wow so this is almost a year late?
but in case you're still wondering, the next chapter will be up soonish in the next month or so and I'm so glad you enjoyed this!


 Report Review

Review #2, by alissa Do I still like you?

23rd June 2012:
i liked it it was very funny but i wish there was more hugo

Author's Response: more Hugo next chapter, thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #3, by alissa Any gossip?

23rd June 2012:
good chapter tia's great as alwas

Author's Response: thank you, I'm glad you like her :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Alissa How about a change?

23rd June 2012:
it was alright and quite funny but i think the end was a bit sudden

Author's Response: thank you and aha, I know but I couldn't really find a way to end it, sorry!

thanks for the review:)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Alissa What time do you call this?

23rd June 2012:
hey this was a really good start and tia's really cool. i love her and hugo's friendship it's so cute.

Author's Response: thanks so much, I'm glad you like them :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Cavell Do I still like you?

22nd June 2012:
Ohmygosh, I loved Lewis and Banjo and Birk - great names by the way! - they were absolutely hilarious, and ooh, naughty Tia! This is why you don't wander around after curfew - you'll end up with your ex, caught by a professor and with detention to boot. This was an absolutely excellent chapter - too bad there wasn't any Hugo or Isobel, though - and please update soon! :)

Author's Response: Thank you, and that's just right;D There will be plenty of Hugo in the next chapter and probably some Isobel too! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by caoty What time do you call this?

10th June 2012:
Hello, I'm here from Tag~

First of all: Tia's great. I like her, she's funny and confident. Good job with her voice there.

However, I've got a couple of things to point out. Nothing too harsh, but things like:
-Gilderoy Lockhart loses his memory and becomes rather less of a stereotypical narcissistic celebrity at the end of CoS, so I'm not sure how likely it is that he's turned back into his old self again. Also, even if he did, I reckon Harry might've managed to stop him.
- (bear in mind that Gilderoy Lockhart is about 50-something now)
sounds a bit like you've just inserted an author's note into someone's narrative.

Overall, though, this is a fun first chapter, and both of them were cute. It certainly seems like you had fun writing. :)

Author's Response: Hi!

I'm so glad you like Tia :D

I see your point about the Gilderoy Lockhart thing but I guess we don't really know how he ends up :)

Thanks so much, and I definitely did have a lot of fun writing it :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Cavell Any gossip?

9th June 2012:
Ah, hetty! Why hasn't this chapter got any reviews, yet? I say it's my favourite so far, but I say that about all the past three chapters, so :p Isobel is really funny. I don't know what it is about her, she's so snarky and sarcastic but at the same time so sweet and pure and just ah.. I don't know, but she's my favourite character. Eleanor.. bleh. I dislike her greatly. I hope Hugo breaks up with her soon - and speaking of which, I adore him, too, as I do Tia (almost called her 'Tea', there!) and all your characters are majorly wonderful. Seriously. Anyway, enough of my mindless gushing, this was a lovely read and another fantastic chapter. Can't wait for the next one! :)

- Linn

Author's Response: Ah, you tell me :P Isobel is such a fun character to write so yeah, she's a good choice for a favourite character ;) pahaha and Eleanor...who does like Eleanor? Thank you so much and the next chapter is in the queue so it should be out very, very soon :)

- hetty


 Report Review

Review #9, by LittleWelshGirl99 How about a change?

8th June 2012:
Helloo there! SO this was a really awesome chapter. There are lots of Hogwarts Express journey chapters around, and some of them can get insanely boring, but I'm happy to say that this kept me interested and I generally enjoyed it! Isobel seems like loads of fun- I like her. Plus I totally ship Hugo/Isobel now :D Oh and what's this about Tia's ex boyfriend?! Interesting!!

Good job!!
-LWG x

Author's Response: Hi!

Eeek thank you so much, I tried to keep it from being boring so I'm glad it kept you interested :D and ooh, the first Tia/Hugo shipper ;), we'll have to see how that goes ha ha

Thanks for the review!

- hetty :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by ScarletEye158 How about a change?

3rd June 2012:
I really like your writing style. It makes me seem a lot more connected to Tia for some reason :) I kind of don't like Eleanor... She seems rude to me... I totally get where Tia is coming from when she says she's protective over Hugo, I can be really protective over my best friend & other friends, too! Just one small thing that I found wrong in your story. You called Hermione "Hermione Granger" when if she's Hugo's mum, she would be "Hermione Weasley" unless they're divorsed of course, then nevermind and feel free to ignore me (: Oh, and one quick question, what house is Tia in? Anyways, great chapter and post the next one soon!

-Amanda

Author's Response: I'm glad you like it and can connect with Tia! And thanks for pointing that out, I had meant Hermione Weasley so I'll have to go back and hcnage that :) Tia is a Ravenclaw

Thanks so much for the review and I should be putting the next chapter in the queue today

- hetty :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by LunarLuna What time do you call this?

3rd June 2012:
Review Tag! :)

Okay so first off I wanted to say that this was super cute! :3 And funny^^ Haha I was laughing when Tia was punching her friend, made me think of my mom and her best friend (except this actually hurts my momís friend! Power-woman I tell you!! xD) I love that all your characters have personalities and flaws, too often (and especially in Next Gen for some reasonÖ) characters have little to no flaws, which really gets on my nerves personnaly (Characterisation being one of my rare strong points xD) but I think youíre doing it super well!!^^ Keep that up! :)

One thing Iíd comment on is perhaps you might want to insist on some things a little more. As in Tea is super angry with Hugo and rambles on about how late he is, but when he arrives, she forgives him instently. It might just give a little more OOMPH to the story if you started it when Hugo was arriving, and had all that rambling thrown at him, instead of just before, because if youíd have went on about that after Hugo arrived I get that it wouldíve sounded repetitive, but now it just seems slightly unrealistic. Donít worry about it though, just suggestions and me being picky;)

Oh another thing Iíd like to point out: I think your plot-y thing with Eleanor is definitely interesting. Iíll be following this, and giving reviews relatively often ;)

Hope I wasn't to harsh with all my CC :/ Cus it's a great story!! No seriously keep this up, itís lovely!^^

9/10

~June

Author's Response: Reading that about your mum made me laugh ^_^ and it makes me glad that Tia punching Hugo makes you think of that :P Eek really? Characterisation is a big worry for me so I'm so relieved I've done it well!

And yeah, they're some good points and I might have to go back and add a little but of that in because I read it back and she does forgive him awfully quickly O_o

Your CC wasn't harsh, in fact it was very helpful! Thanks so much :)

- hetty


 Report Review

Review #12, by ScarletEye158 What time do you call this?

3rd June 2012:
Aw I liked this :) I havent read too many stories where Hugo is a big part, so I really liked it! I loved how, even though Hugo was late, she still forgave him. Best friends should always be more forgiving to each other because deep down they know how much they really love each other :) I loved Tia's dad, too. That whole scene made me laugh :p Nice job! It didn't seem like this would have been your first fanfic to me!

-Amanda

Author's Response: I never see Hugo stories and I always thought Hugo would be quite a cool person :) Hugo and Tia do have a very close friendship so it's almost impossible for her to be too mad at him for being late! I love her dad too ;) and I'm glad you liked that bit

Thanks so much for the review!

- hetty :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by padfoot88 How about a change?

3rd June 2012:
Loved it! I'm really like the set up to this story and can't wait to see where it goes. Tea is so adorable, though I do think Hugo takes her for granted a little, I think it's a good idea for her to beach out a little!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review, I'm so happy you liked it and unfortunately yes, Hugo does take her for granted slightly :/

- hetty :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by Cavell How about a change?

3rd June 2012:
Another excellent chapter :) I like Isobel, even if she doesn't like Hugo - it's nice for the girl-with-a-male-best-friend to have a female friend for once. I mean, how else would they survive without at least one person properly understanding? Eleanor.. I don't like her, are they really just going to 'kiss' as Tia thinks? I doubt it. Anyway, enough of my strange thoughts about this, as it really was quite a swell chapter - how is this only your first story? - I've still got no complaints, your grammar and spelling is impeccable. Update soon, please?

Author's Response: Isobel is such a fun character to write hehe and I get what you mean about that - I don't what I'd do without a girl friend! You have full rights to hate Eleanor, even I dislike her and thank you so much! I'm about half way through chapter 3 so it should be in the queue soon :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by imaginary lines How about a change?

25th May 2012:
i love how hugo and isobel hate each other. their dynamic and dialogue with each other is brilliant. eleanor seems...nice i suppose? rather demanding, but i'm sure we'll be seeing her a little bit more. overall, the chapter was alright. i wish it was longer though hehe because i feel like it ended too early! good job.

Author's Response: I'm glad you like that ^_^ and Eleanor, well she's just...a very demanding person and we'll definitely be seeing more of her! The next chapter will be longer and thanks for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by imaginary lines What time do you call this?

19th May 2012:
i enjoyed it! i like the fun friendship the two have. hugo seems like a charmer and tea seems like someone i would like to know! i personally like the personality her father has and how he's such a fan girl (because we all are hehe). keep going with it; this story has so much potential...and i really do like your banner and chapter image!

Author's Response: I can relate to Tia's father so much on that :P and I'm so happy you like Tia and Hugo; really? It has potential? That's so nice :D, thank you! (and I've got to thank cosmic muffin and sophiescarlette for those two, they really are lovely haha)

thanks for the review :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by Cavell What time do you call this?

18th May 2012:
You left such a nice review on my story that I decided to leave (a hopefully equally nice) one on yours!

I like the start of it. It is just the tiniest bit filler-y, but it's nice to see what all the characters are like before the whole plot and story starts, so I'm not complaining. It's a really good start, and I love how much more of a girl Hugo is than Tia - and I love her nickname, too! I saw the request for the title over at the forums, and I have to say, the one you chose is really fitting, not to mention very clever.

I only spotted just one mistake in this, and it's not even much of a mistake - "No, she's in the year [about]," he mutters. Where it says 'about', don't you mean 'above'? That's pretty much the only thing I spotted, otherwise your spelling and grammar is really good.

I can't wait to see what direction this story is going in, I have a feeling it's going to be really interesting, definitely going into my favourites!

-Linn

Author's Response: Yeah, it is quite fillery but I thought it would be a good start to introduce the characters etc - thank you! Hugo's just a little girl at heart and I'm glad you like the title, it took a bit of googling what it actually means but I'll admit I was quite proud of myself aha

Oh, thanks for pointing that out! I've gone back and changed it now so thank you for that!

Thank you so much for the review, I really appreciate it! (and, it was a really lovely review :P)



 Report Review

Review #18, by Ollivander382 What time do you call this?

15th May 2012:
I am so glad to read a fanfiction with Hugo playing a major role. It's very refreshing to say the least. I love the banter between Tia and Hugo. The idea of Tia's dad screaming like a teenage girl over Lockhart is hilarious. He even had to have supervision from his wife. I never would have guessed that this was your first story. Great job and continue with the story.

Author's Response: Hugo is such an underwritten character :( Ha ha, he's such a fan girl and yep, although it's unfortunate for her having to accompany her husband to scream over Gilderoy Lockhart. Wow, really? Thank you so much! I really appreciate the review :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by LittleWelshGirl99 What time do you call this?

13th May 2012:
Hey! :) I really enjoyed this. I think you've got some fun characters forming to write with, and you have a nice spark of humour which makes it very enjoyable to read!

I feel so sorry for Tia when her parents aren't there on her BIRTHDAY, and Hugo's so late :( Aww.

But I love the banter between Hugo and Tia!! And it's so ironic how she doesn't like tea considering her name and all. (I'm a mocha girl too! :P)

-LWG

Author's Response: Hi! I'm glad you enjoyed it and wow really? I've always been told I have a strange sense of humour (ahem not funny at all) so, um, yay? Ha ha, thanks :)

And yes, poor Tia I guess Gilderoy Lockhart is more important to her parents even on her birthday (and Hugo just cares more about his appearance :P)

Thanks for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by Taraiel What time do you call this?

13th May 2012:
Wow, your first fanfic? Well done! Can't offer much in the way of constructive criticism but I thought it was good. Certainly wouldn't have guessed that it was a first attempt :) Congratulations!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!! I'm glad you thought it was good because I did doubt it a bit but thanks again! :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by CypressQueen What time do you call this?

10th May 2012:
Hi,

I think the start of your story is really good. You've provided quite a bit of description about the characters which is always really good. I really loved the bit about Tia's dad and his obsession with Gilderoy Lockhart. Although I think he would be more likely to be around 60 instead of 50.

Another thing I liked was that you had Hugo as Tia's best friend - he Isn't written about that much so I was glad to read about him. Looking forward to the next chapter.

CypressQueen

Author's Response: Hi!

I'm really glad you like it and that bit, haha I wanted her to have a slightly more...eccentric? dad. I was just estimating at the age, I picture him around late fifties.

And I wish there was more Hugo like this because being them son of Hermione and Ron I think he'd make a really good friend and just be an overall great person :)

Thank you for the review!
- Bee


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login