Reading Reviews for Quantum Physics
  
17 Reviews Found

Review #1, by PitchBlue 1

1st June 2013:
Hello,

I sort of randomly came here and your title/banner immediately captured my interest, so I decided to read!

Wow. Just, wow. Your descriptions are so amazing and detailed, as if they're breathing in a way (I know this sounds very weird, but it feels that way). I particularly liked your description of winter, because it's my favourite season and you wrote it so well.

It's the first time I've read a chapter with little dialogue that still manages to be absolutely brilliant. Not that I don't like descriptions, I just think that it takes a very good author to get it right. And you got it exactly right.

When I read something like this I get very sad because English is not my native language, and I will never be able to write something that has the same richness. *wallows in self-pity for a moment*

But anyway, my favourite sentence would probably be:

"In winter, when it was dark, it seemed eternal."

It just seems like it would totally fit in one of those subtitle-pics from alternative movies, or with a black and white picture of something abstract. *try to contain my innner hipster*

Anyway, I kind of loved your chapter. Or adored it.
Yeah okay, I thought it was unbelievably brilliant.

I'm going to shut up now to prevent myself from further embarassment.

-PB

Author's Response: Eee, thank you so much! I kind of amped the descriptions up to eleven in this fic - I think my writing is usually very dialogue-heavy, so it's nice to have a break and write lashes and lashes of description now and again :3

Baha! I understand - I can totally see the black-and-white photo of the mysterious forest, Lucy wandering down the middle, the quote at the bottom. I do have a fic tumblr, I should consider creating this and posting it there. But, alas, there are only so many hours in the day.

Awh, thank you! I'm glad you liked it and thank you for leaving such a lovely review ♥


 Report Review

Review #2, by teh tarik 3

24th February 2013:
Oh. Oh my goodness. My heart is broke into two. *sobs* THIS PARAGRAPH. Is evil.

There will never be a fine summer's morning and, in the drudgery of the school routine, he will eventually run out of things to write to her about, and when her driving instructor takes her through Leith for a practice, she will miss his presence by the train station by mere minutes, and, besides, she will never pass the driving test she has only half a care about and she will never own a car, and his father will find a new job in Manchester and move the Malfoys away from Leith forever, and a new family will live in the house where, once, he managed to vanish himself into the garden on the winter solstice without feeling a thing.

*sobs* *sobs* You tied things up so well. And then you just broke everything up.

Brilliant. These are the stories that just really leave such impact on me. The ones with connection, the ones with fleeting connection. The ones that never reconnect again once the connection is broken. What am I saying. Am just...this is such a beautiful story. LOVE how you incorporated quantum physics into it; it can't have been the easiest, because the quantum stuff I'm reading (because I have nothing better to do :P ) is just not english. But oh gosh you've done it so well.

Your characters aksjdhalksjdh so human, so real, and you write with so much empathy. Scorpius Vanishing things is such a lovely but unsettling detail. Oh, I'm just stuck with the image of them leading parallel lives - and the loneliest most isolated lives - never to meet again. They're kindred spirits, those two. Maybe...they can reunite by time travel or something XD

OK, anyway, brilliant story really. You're an amazing writer. Favourited this and I'll be checking out your other stuff!

-teh

Author's Response: I'M SORRY I JUST LIKE BEING HEARTLESS. I took lessons from Steven Moffat's Doctor Who episodes...

I love my bittersweet endings! You know, things look good. And then they're not. Because I'm cruel, but I also think it's because I'm a touch too cynical to ever write a truly happy ending :P

Ahh, thank you so much for saying so! I did get rather attached to my characters in the process of writing this, so I'm very flattered that you liked them.

Maybe they can! The last sentence is a little ambiguous, feel free to interpret it however you want...they will vanish...vanish...into the time rift...

Thank you so, so much for reading and reviewing ♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #3, by teh tarik 2

24th February 2013:
LOVE the way you explain magic.

Magic was electric. A little unexplained. It helped to think of it as electricity; it made more sense to her that way. Like magic was mains electricity that wizards and witches could somehow connect to, to draw upon. She was like a plug with a broken fuse, a gap in the connection that could not complete the current.

It just makes so much sense that Lucy stops to analyse what it must be like, what it is, she doesn't have the luxury of taking magic for granted...simply because she's almost completely unmagical. You've just captured her Squib's perspective excellently. And yeah, something I wanted to add about being a squib and the term and political correctness and all. It's so realistic! I'm pretty sure the non-magically able would definitely not be pleased with the term, and I love this little detail you've added about political correctness and stuff. Also, as for the rest of the wizarding world, I think you've done a terrific job in portraying the prevailing attitude toward people like Lucy, and the education systems tailored for them. And how they are taught to be able to integrate into the Muggle world, which must indeed be really depressing because it's like the magical world wants nothing to do with them no wonder poor Lucy is so depressed and downtrodden and I'm beginning to ramble.

Don't know if I mentioned this before, but your writing style! ♥ it. It's so crisp and clear and interspersed with tiny but absolutely lovely details, that are so precise in conveying a certain mood, or a certain aspect of the setting etc.

And Scorpius. Again, I love these two and how they interact with each other. It's so incredibly original that Scorpius deliberately eschews magic and instead asks for Muggle stuff like quantum physics. Lovely, lovely. Great dialogue as well.

Can't wait to see how the Schrodinger's cat thing will be used as a metaphor!
Loved this chapter to the moon and back.

-teh

Author's Response: I have to credit justonemorefic for that description of magic! She wrote a similar passage in And Capers Ensue which has become my headcanon for how magic works - and I'm going to tell you now that if you haven't already, you should go and read that story now because it is certifiably fantastic.

Thank you, I'm glad you like the passages about being a squib! I suppose it'd be similar to the treatment of people with physical or mental disabilities in our society - they can often be shunned, or certain disabilities can be stigmatised (especially mental illness), or people can often patronise those with disabilities under the guise of 'being accepting', which is better than nothing but still hopelessly not right. I'm not sure I totally succeeded, but I think that's what I wanted to get across in this fic.

:3 thank you! Eee. Your reviews are so lovely. I think I want to print this one off and pin it to my wall to cheer me up whenever I'm down ♥


 Report Review

Review #4, by teh tarik 1

24th February 2013:
Hello :) So I randomly stumbled on your author page and was scrolling through when the title of this story caught my attention. Mainly because I'm ahem...trying to read quantum mechanics and time travel and Schrodinger's cat etc. Anyway.

What a lovely story. Your characterisation of Lucy is just so heartbreaking. How isolated she is from the rest of her family. It's so easy to imagine the whole raucous fun-loving gang of Weasleys; you'd think they were the happiest extended family in the world. And then you have Lucy here, so downtrodden, completely set apart from them, both by her lack of magical ability, some gene fluke and by herself.

With any luck, she'd have a car. Lucy knew what she had to do. She'd pick a nice summer morning for it. She'd be up before anyone else in the house, just as if she was going to work. Then she'd simply drive away and never return.

Gah. This just broke my heart into ten million pieces. So simply put, so effective in its sentiments.

And then Scorpius. He's an odd one. You've made him so utterly vulnerable, what with his extremely pale skin that bruises easily. He's quite a mystery so far, and it was a real surprise (at least for me) that he bumps into Lucy in the supermarket carpark . The conversation between them was lovely, so awkward and touching and uncomfortable full of the unspoken connections between strangers.

I love all the details here and there, the slush "churned up by tyres in the car park so that little ridges of dirt ran neatly the length of each road", Lucy huddling by herself in the trolley shelter - I kept puzzling and puzzling what a trolley shelter was :P Is it one of those long narrow slots where you stash your supermarket trolley after loading all the things into the car? Er...anyway I'm being rather irrelevant..

OK, I'm really intrigued to see how this goes so on to your next chapter :D Amazing work, by the way.

-teh

Author's Response: Hello! Ooh, I hope you don't expect scientific accuracy. I'm just an art student who likes the idea of cats that can be simultaneously dead and alive (although, of course, living cats are far preferable).

Awh, I'm glad you like Lucy. I do like my woobie characters. I was intrigued by the thought of what it would be like to be a squib in such a huge, blatantly magical family as the Weasleys, and, to a lesser extent, to be the daughter of Percy, who would probably expect a lot from his children. And...this story happened.

Scorpius is definitely an odd one! I guess, in a way, I wanted to make a contrast between Lucy, who's very downtrodden and human, and him, who's defiantly weird and a little bit extraterrestrial.

Yes, that is what a trolley shelter is, haha! Well, less of a long, narrow slot, more of a wee plastic hut, open on both sides, where you leave your trolley when you're done with it. Useful for sheltering in during sudden downpours.

Thank you so much for your reviews! ♥


 Report Review

Review #5, by A. 3

29th January 2013:
the transition from plan! to sad future was a little confusion and i think could be cleared up, but otherwise fitting ending to an original story with a relatable main character.

Author's Response: Glad you liked it! As for the transition, I think I was trying to convey the way these pipedreams always turn out in real life - you're seized by this plan for ages, and then it can suddenly fall apart at the drop of a hat, and that can be quite crushing. I think, haha! Thank you for reviewing ♥

 Report Review

Review #6, by Fawkes394 3

27th December 2012:
So good and so real. It was very beautiful, yet sad and a bit frustrating and still perfect. You are really good at writing, I'd never seen anything like this here.

Author's Response: thank you so much! :D ♥

 Report Review

Review #7, by mexprizoner 3

17th November 2012:
Loved it specially the ending. I have to say I haven't read a single one of your characters that I haven't enjoyed, they're just so...real. You are truly and artist and thank you for gifting us with your wonderful stories.

Author's Response: thank you so much! :D ♥

 Report Review

Review #8, by musicgirlhp14 3

29th October 2012:
Loved the Laura quotes. The story felt as if it had been placed in her world. Very good.

Author's Response: thank you so much! ♥

 Report Review

Review #9, by Onomatopoeia 3

28th May 2012:
"And it was the sweetest, briefest thing either of them had known."

Okay, but just. I can't really put what i just read in words because i think i may start to sob or something.

How do you have the ability to turn something so beautiful into something so sad?

Author's Response: awww thank you! angst is my hometown and I've definitely missed it...thanks for the reviews ♥ ♥ ♥

 Report Review

Review #10, by Onomatopoeia 1

28th May 2012:
Okay okay okay okay, okay, have i ever told you how much i drool over everything you write? Like Starving Artists and Weather for Ducks are humorous, but Quantum Physics isn't something of your's i'm used to because it's soft and sad, but just breathtaking. Your language is just, ugh, my literature teacher would be overjoyed if you were in her class.

Just wow, i'm having trouble swallowing how troubled both of them are, because i'm so accustomed to your merry Scorpius and Lucy. Yet i love them.

Also, you mentioned metaphors and i'm just sort of guessing that the extended metaphor of being a squib in the magical world can be compared to having a disability in the muggle world? Because if so, I am (a) kind of excited that i understood a metaphor and (b) glad you included it, because it's cool you're writing about it. Although this paragraph will be a little pointless and embarrassing if i'm wrong, so...

Author's Response: hello there! basically, have I told you lately how I drool over everything you write and post on tda and, for the love of all that is hipster, stop deleting your fics gurrrl.

ah, writing this fic was basically just retreating back to my natural habitat of angst. I never ever ever wrote humour before I embarked on starving artists, and this sort of thing is basically all I wrote before. miserable, miserable angst, haha.

yeah, a bit like that. I didn't have anything specific in mind, but I was definitely using the concept of being a squib as a general allegory for the position of the disadvantaged in society (er that makes it sound so poncy and deep and pretentious, it isn't really), whether it's through disability, poverty, etc. kind of a mix of everything. so you were actually totally right C:

thank you for reviewing & I'm really glad you liked it ♥


 Report Review

Review #11, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 3

19th May 2012:
There is a job in a bookshop on the West Coast for Scorpius, who can never quite scrub the feeling of her lips from his mind, and their paths run quite parallel and never meet.

^ This was so sad and so real. You really made them into people. Just people. Nothing more, nothing less. The angst. The end. The science. Everything just molded together perfectly and I just feel so empty right now. Like I expected a happier ending but I knew there wasn't going to be one and yet...I just. I don't know. I can't really explain my feelings into words.

You're really an artist.

Author's Response: Eee thank you! Oh, no! Go and have some chocolate - a proven cure for angst, as supported by about 99% of the population and Remus Lupin. If Lupin endorses something then it must be good.

Ah, I think people come to expect unhappy endings from me. I'm not very good with the happy ;~;

Thank you so much :D ♥


 Report Review

Review #12, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 1

19th May 2012:
who hadn't got her Hogwarts letter at the age of eleven. The only Weasley who wasn't magical in the slightest. It was like being shown the gates of some fantasy land, and then, when finally permitted to enter it, being blindfolded.

^ Wow. I've never thought about Squibs, you know. We only meet two in Harry Potter and they aren't really focused on. We get more of Filch's feelings and we essentially know it's terrible for him to be a Squib when he so desperately wants to do magic.

It's kind of interesting to think about Lucy being a squib in the Weasley family because they all just seem like the type to endlessly...'breed' (that sounds horrible) children with magical abilities. I wonder how a squib becomes a squib...or well, why a person becomes a squib.

There's really no way to make that question sound any better (in my head).

Scorpius thinking he's one too? Well he has magical abilities but maybe...he just doesn't want to be magical? That's quite the concept.

Author's Response: (I just got your massive load of reviews so I would just like to say thank you x1million for leaving them, they really cheered me up! &hearts)

It's only in recent years, when I've become a hardcore member of the fandom and a fic author, that I've really given any sort of thought to squibs. I guess I just dissected my own feelings about being a scottish arteeste in a predominantly science-focused school in England and then exaggerated them for the purpose of this fic ;D

If I'd had the time or energy, I probably would have turned this into a much longer fic and explored a lot more of...er...squib-ery in depth. But I was just like...blargh let's just type and /not stop/. And this happened.

Thank you for the review! :D


 Report Review

Review #13, by ariellem 3

18th May 2012:
Let me start off by saying I never liked Scorpius, and there are very few next-gens I like (one). It's so repetitive, Scorpius is normally annoying, cocky, best friends with Albus and paired up with a feisty Rose.

But this story is so beautiful it makes me want to cry. I love Lucy so much, she's always been my favorite of the next-gen characters and her parents are one of my favorite pairings (another reason I don't like next-gen, people always write them as if they're awful) I love your Lucy, she's no my head canon, the squib who studies physics (and considering I've studied some physics I understand the story, including the Schrodinger's Cat paragraph at the end) and I love your Scorpius, he's just so normal, he actually reminded me of someone I knew (who was a big jerk, but at the same time really nice, it's hard to explain), I've seen some of your posts about how you believed he had asthma (or at least I think that was one of yours), you've created some of the best characters and placed them into a wonderful story.

Have you ever read a story/book and wanted to get to know the mind behind it? Because the story was just so good and you hope some of talent rubs off? That's how I feel right now with this story.

Anyway, thanks for writing this amazing story. I'm so glad I decided to read it. :)

Ps: I'm pretty sure this is the longest review I've ever written.

Author's Response: oh, I know what you mean! while I'll read it, I'm not a fan of the smarmy scorpius trope generally and it's nothing like the headcanon I have of him, so next-gen is a bit of a weird genre for me (I love it, but the next-gen fanon isn't something I like at all)

I could never be mean to percy, haha! I love him. he's so serious and severe but ever so slightly ridiculous at the same time - I've not read much of him in fic, but I always loved him in the books. and the asthma thing, haha...it's a really weird headcanon to have, but I have this really vivid mental image of this downtrodden boy clutching his inhaler and, yep, that's my scorpius.

aww, thank you so much! (p.s my mind is horribly mad and I'm not sure you want to get to know it, really)

thank you so much for reviewing and I'm really glad you enjoyed it :D ♥


 Report Review

Review #14, by strahovi 3

6th May 2012:
I loved this at the Laura Marling quotes.

And this:

But there was someone across the river who half-understood how she felt and, even if was only half, she felt she’d rather be there than stacking shelves in Fife again.

I love the feeling in the story. I love Lucy and how she opens and closes and opens and closes again, I am not sure if I got everything right but this is an amazing piece of work.

Author's Response: laura marling ♥

thank you so much for saying so :3 glad you liked it! ♥


 Report Review

Review #15, by justonemorefic 3

3rd May 2012:
omg Scorpius is like the reverse Regina George. I am just putting that out there.

- But there was someone across the river who half-understood how she felt and, even if was only half, she felt she’d rather be there than stacking shelves in Fife again. Halves ;A;
- as they climbed the stairs she was acutely aware of wary eyes following them: she realised how the father was afraid of the son. I love this bit of characterization. Fear of the odd ones out. Kind of gives a strange power to the likes of Lu and Scor.

Ahh, cats and boxes and fate and solstices ;A; WHAT IS THIS ANGST WRAPPING AROUND MY HEART. Disappearing halves and asfghk. These fleeting moments sort of thing always make me saddest ♥ and now I super miss reading your angst. DON'T DIE FROM YEARBOOKING.

Author's Response: One time, he didn't punch me in the face. It was really lame.

HALVES. NEVER WHOLES. You know how it is in my angstland.

The meek shall inherit the earth. And then the weirdoes will ride in like Appy on her puma and rule it with an iron fist.

It's always an angstfest with me. I cannae control the misery. I am basically a giant smiths song crossed with a puddle. (I AM THE OPPOSITE OF BATMAN).

This fic is the darkest timeline.

Already dead from trying to fit 60 staff photos on three pages but thank you for the sentiment and the reviews, my dear! ♥


 Report Review

Review #16, by justonemorefic 1

3rd May 2012:
Saw first section and t'was hooked. Well, also I saw the Laura Marling song and was like YESSS.

It was like being shown the gates of some fantasy land, and then, when finally permitted to enter it, being blindfolded. Lucy my dear squib I am already cheering for you. I do not know how you've got me all riled up on these political going ons already, but I'm like gah, welfare fiddlings and labels and rageee.

I am just going to adore random sections of this fic now:
-Lucy knew what she had to do. She’d pick a nice summer morning for it. She’d be up before anyone else in the house, just as if she was going to work. Then she’d simply drive away and never return.
-She checked her watch – another thing that set her apart from her colleagues, who thought she was archaic, anachronistic
-Shelf stacker was sibilant and awkward and suited her perfectly.

TWO DOWNTRODDEN SOULS. You know, I can totally imagine the Malfoys shoving Scorpius into school anyway by bribery or whatever to keep up appearances. Inquisitive mind, eh? Somehow, the standard answer of ‘it’s magic’ didn’t quite satisfy him.

ONWARDS.

Author's Response: Miss Marling, the coathook on which this fic hangs (don't mind me it's 1am and I am running on the last vestiges of my energy blargharghargh)

I sense your rage and I smile meekly because I felt like I'd made a hash of the politics and I'm glad to know they make you rage but sort of awkward because rage is not good and yeah. REMEMBER WHEN OUR REVIEWS WERE JUST AIRPUNCHING MEN o/

Draco would probably pay Scorpius to act like a normal kid. Funnily enough I have never investigated that in fic but now I have a burning urge too. 'If I give you fifty Galleons, will you please just stop wearing v-neck shirts...'

...AND UPWARDS? ♥


 Report Review

Review #17, by HufflepuffAlex157 1

3rd May 2012:
YAY! So glad you've put this on here- don't worry, it's great, I love all your fanfics! :) I love this is another Lucy/Scorpius story, but it has a very different feel from Starving Artists (I love Starving Artists, but this is great too!) Just thought I'd leave you a (first!) review! Looking forward to reading more, as ever! :) Alex

Author's Response: thank you so much! (and congrats on first review, woo~). it's very different, but back in my natural home of angsty fic so it was a nice break from writing humour. thank you for reviewin & I'm glad you liked it ♥

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login