Reading Reviews for Losing My Head
  
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by maraudertimes 1 - Authority is a problem for me.

19th March 2014:
Hello!

Well this certainly a side to Rose Weasley I have never seen before and I must say, I like it! Normally I see two extremes of Rose: one where she's perfect little miss Head Girl, and one where she definitely is not, but still manages to get Outstandings in everything. I like how you gave her the Head Girl position while letting her be a normal girl instead of a high-strung and high-maintenance girl.

Poppy... I don't know if I like her of if I think she's slightly annoying but I still admire her. I mean, she did dupe Rose Weasley, Head Girl. That has to count for something! I think I'm leaning on the side of liking her so far, and I'm excited to see where you take her character (although I hope it isn't to some secret Ravenclaw dungeons for intruders).

Scorpius Malfoy is also portrayed in a really different light here, something I also really loved. It seems fitting that the Ravenclaws would be wary of him because of his name and the Slytherins would be wary of him because of his house. The little details like that really stood out and I think they added so much dimension both to his character and the plot itself.

Well, I hope Rose doesn't quit being Head Girl, although something tells me her cousins won't help her there - they might even go so far as to push her out the door! But I do hope she finds the confidence to stand up to them and dole out punishments as necessary!

This was a really great introductory chapter and you've left me wanting more, which is the best thing you could do! I love your characters and your plot has me intrigued! Absolutely fantastic job!

Lo:)

Gryffindor vs Slytherin Blackout Battle Review 4/6

 Report Review

Review #2, by AlexFan 2 - Lies, deceit and compliments

10th May 2013:
The beginning of the chapter was probably my favourite paragraph. It was just really funny and then the part where Rose went "I was a snarky cow and proud of it."

I just sighed and went "ah lovely, sarcastic Rose."

I think there are some people that can pull off nice and sucking up and some people that just fail at it (Rose). She should probably stop trying to suck up to the teachers, at the rate things are going she's going to lose her badger faster than she thought.

Author's Response: Haha, I'm glad you liked it! There are some pretty hare-brained schemes potentially coming up in later chapters, so we'll see how quickly she loses the badge, if at all...

Thanks for reviewing! :D


 Report Review

Review #3, by AlexFan 1 - Authority is a problem for me.

10th May 2013:
This is beyond tolerable, it's awesome and I look forward to reading the rest of this. I love how sarcastic and kind of serious that Rose is but she's still funny.

I pray for Poppy, Rose's soon to be dead friend.

Author's Response: Ha! I'm glad you think so ;) I promise I will have more chapters up in the future!

Poppy definitely needs praying for, perhaps several times during my planned plot. :P


 Report Review

Review #4, by Elphaba and Boyfriends 1 - Authority is a problem for me.

14th March 2013:
Hi, I'm here for the review battle!

I think you've definitely succeeded at the light-hearted tone you're going for. I like Rose's voice, and there are several moments that made me smile or giggle.

I like that you've bucked the conventions and made Scorpius a Ravenclaw, and a bookish one at that. :) This made me chuckle: "The Ravenclaws don't like him because he's a Malfoy, and the Slytherins don't like him because he's a Ravenclaw."

Your grammar, spelling and punctuation are all clean and I didn't find anything to nitpick over in that regard. :)

The only critique I have is that Scorpius asks Rose why she's quitting as head girl, when it isn't clear from the rest of the story that anyone else would know that's what she's thinking about, yet. Maybe I missed something, but unless Scorpius is an occlumens (is he???) I might change it so that she mutters something aloud about quitting that he overhears.

Anyway, overall I really enjoyed this chapter. So far this story is off to an interesting start! :)

Author's Response: Hey there!

Thank goodness! I would say that I'm not going for something that's all out hilarious because I'm just not that good a comedian, but raising a smile is what I'm aiming for. So yay!

Oops! I'll check over that and edit it. She's supposed to be muttering to herself there, I must have missed it by accident. Thanks!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Secret Santa :D 2 - Lies, deceit and compliments

29th December 2012:
I'm back! :D

Haha this was such a funny but depressing chapter! Poor Rose... Nothing likes to go right in her life, does it? :p

I love the personality you have given her. She seems to be sweet, but really on the inside she's very sarcastic and a little cynical lol. Very believable for Ron and Hermione's daughter!

I also feel bad for the poor teachers who unexpectantly and accidently got made fun of/almost killed by Rose! They all seemed really upset when all Rose was trying to do was pay them a compliment xD

I feel like this whole 'compliment' business was a set up from Albus... Seems like something he would do... Also, I liked the personality you gave him. Usually I see James being the prankster, but I liked seeing Albus in a different light for once :)

I really hope we get to see Scorpius in the next chapter! He said "see you later" in the last one, so hopefully he means it? :D I just love Rose/Scorpius pairings and I really hope this is where it is leading (:

Nice job and I can't wait for the next chapter! After all the Secret Santa reviews are done I'll come back and read & review this story on my regular account!

Author's Response: Yay for liking the second chapter too! Rose is definitely a sarcastic one so some people might question why she's in Gryffindor, but her heart's in the right place. And more changing-up of character norms! I'm trying to do that as much as possible here. ;)

Scorpius will definitely be in the next chapter! And yes, this story is definitely heading in that direction!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Secret Santa :D 1 - Authority is a problem for me.

29th December 2012:
Hey there! This is your Secret Santa wishing you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year! :)

I really liked this first chapter. It had a lot of depth to it and I thought you did really well establishing Rose, Poppy and Scorpius' personalities :)

I've never really read a fan fiction where Scorpius was more of a loner than a friend or even an enemy of Rose. It's a rather interesting plot and I can't wait to see where you go with it!

I also found it really interesting that Rose doesn't seem to be (and I may be wrong because I've only read the first chapter) super close with her family. She seemed to be rather sick of them when the story first started and I think that could also be a really interesting thing to read! Usually with Next Gen. stories all of the cousins seem to be best friends, and I like the fact that you may be switching that up :)

Hopefully Rose takes Scorpius' advice and doesn't quit the Head Girl position! She probably just needs someone to help her be more tough and get better at giving punishments! *cough cough Scorpius* ;)

Anyways, I really liked the way you wrote this and I find your writing style cute and believable :D Keep up the good work and I'm excited to read chapter two!

Author's Response: Hey! :)

I'm glad you thought it was a good start! With this story I want to try and establish a fun and cute story that doesn't entirely rely on love or clichés for its entirety, hence Rose and Scorpius not being as 'typical' as other stories. I do love them as a pairing though. :P

I'm glad you liked it, and thank you!


 Report Review

Review #7, by marinahill 2 - Lies, deceit and compliments

30th September 2012:
Hahahaha. Awesome second chapter, my dear! I really needed a laugh and this gave me plenty of it. Firstly, the wig. Ahaha, can you just imagine her face? Poor Rose, that was a rookie mistake. Then like basically killing her professor... oops. I mean, anyone could make that mistake... But she definitely needs to work on her subtlety.

I missed Scorp in this chapter! I expect lots of him in the next chapter, please.



Author's Response: Hmm, she reminds me of you a bit, perhaps I subsconsciously based her on you? ;) don't worry, there'll be lots more Scorp to come. LOVE YA

 Report Review

Review #8, by HappyMollyWeasley 2 - Lies, deceit and compliments

27th September 2012:
Hi! This is HappyMollyWeasley here with your review. I am sorry that you had to wait for this review.

This story is very light-hearted, and I understand that you have not intended to make it too deep and analytic. However, I like the parts where you go a bit bleow the surface, like when you let Rose think about how Albus have developed from the scared eleven-year-old to the person he is now. I would love some more of those reflections. I think you could do it without destroying the feeling of the story.

The cheerful bright tone in your narration is great, but I do feel that the pace is a bit too fast. It moves fast, and I find it hard to focus on the main story plot as there are contantly new thoughts and new things that happens. Does it make sense?

Thank you for requesting! :-)

Author's Response: Hey there! I apologise in return for the lateness of this reply! :(

I tend to write quite serious stories so this is definitely a change for me! Hopefully I'll be able to go more under the surface in later chapters as you said :)

That makes total sense, I'll work on the pacing in later chapters!

Thanks for the helpful review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by megthechef43 1 - Authority is a problem for me.

13th September 2012:
Erised,

I am enjoying reading the attitude that Rose has. I figure she has a wicked attitude. Because in my mind Rose just does and I think you have managed to pull it off perfectly.

I literally laughed out loud when I was reading about Poppy. I have a friend kind of like her and the description of her being "akin to a puppy" was perfect. This line really popped for me.

Ohhh, I like the quiet and mysterious Scorpius. It is perfect and different from the norm when it comes to Scorpius. I like that you haven't cliched him as Albus's bestfriend. The conversation was great between them and I like how it left her slightly confused as to the mean of it. I really like Scorpius in this chapter and I can't wait to read how this story unfolds and Rose and Scorpius's paths cross again.

I hope you re-request the next chapter.

Meg

Author's Response: Hey there! Sorry for replying to this so late :(

I'm really pleased you like it so far! I think characterisation was the most important factor in this opening chapter so I'm glad you liked them. Scorpius is definitely an enigmatic character so he's really fun to write!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Moonyxluna 1 - Authority is a problem for me.

11th September 2012:
Hi! I'm here with your requested review :)

Right from the start I really love the voice and the characterization you've given Rose. I like how original you've made her. She's not the perfect Hermione clone, and she's definitely not the rebellious, snide type. She's normal, she's a normal person who wants to see the best in people; she's got realistic flaws, too, and I love that.

A Ravenclaw Scorpius!? *loves* I've never seen him as a Ravenclaw. I have to be honest with you, when I read your summary I was a little bit iffy about the "mysterious Scorpius Malfoy", but you've completely proven my skepticism wrong with the characterization you've given him. He definitely gives me a great feeling that he should be in Ravenclaw. I actually pegged Rose for Hufflepuff in the beginning, but I like her as Gryffindor too.

I think with your characterization alone, you've got a really interesting start to this story. I'm so curious to see where you plan on going with the plot. With the summary I'm really curious to see how you plan on pulling Rose into realizing what she is truly capable of, and how Scorpius is going to help her.

The only thing formatting-wise that I noticed were a few spots where you didn't have double spaced paragraphs (I know I know.. the most minor thing in the world, right?) It happens to me all the time from copying from Word and pasting as plain text :p

You've got a really interesting start here and I'd love to read more! I wish I could be of more help, but hopefully at the very least this put your mind at ease that this is really great! Keep up the fantastic work, and feel free to re-request!

-Julie

Author's Response: Hey there! Sorry for replying to this so late *shamefaced*

I'm so glad you like it! There are a LOT of clches in this genre of fanfiction so of course I try and subvert them whenever I can. I should definitely change that summary though, it definitely sucks. :P A few people have said that they thought Rose was in Hufflepuff so I might develop that a bit!

I'm really glad you think it's a great start and I'll get those formatting errors changed! Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by daliha 1 - Authority is a problem for me.

18th July 2012:
You said this was your first attempt at anything lighthearted, well the congrats you did extremely well for your first time.

This read smoothly and it was enjoyable especially the first bit when Rose talks about her family and their pranks. I can just imagine those poor suits of armor.

The only thing that sort of confused was what house was Rose in? And if she wasn't a Ravenclaw why was she in their common room? I think maybe a tiny explanation to how she got the password would've been nice, also I think Poppy fooled her a little too easily.

Oh and I must say the last line made me smile. (It reminded me of Ron.)

Author's Response: Aww thank you! Rose is a Gryffindor, although I should have made that more obvious, sorry. I figured that Head Boy and Girl should have the password to each common room - like prefects on the forums, almost, even though it isn't canon. And yes, she did a little!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Jchrissy 1 - Authority is a problem for me.

18th July 2012:
This is the first Rose Weasley head girl Ive read!! Im excited!

Poppy is so funny! You really are making her feel like a puppy. A puppy with sneaky tricks to get what she wants!

I was just about to ask about it being a riddle, you beat me to it! Thanks for addressing it :)! I really like that you have everyone in different houses than I would have expected! It makes for a very interesting start!

Your characterizations of Scorpius are so new! Its great! Hes a loner and apparently just had his first conversation with anyone.. yay that it was Rose!

I think you are doing an amazing job giving this story new turns. I would suggest adding more description. Its hard to remember that we arent always picturing it like you are, so making sure you tell us movements, surroundings, and all that would really bring the readers completely into the story!

Great job!

Author's Response: Hi!

Haha, Poppy is definitely like that! That's a very good way to describe her. :P I wanted to put people in different house as to not fall into stereotypes to be honest! Scorpius is definitely... interesting haha, I wanted to do something different with him so I'm glad you liked it! Thank you for your comment, I'll try and add more description from now on :)

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by HappyMollyWeasley 1 - Authority is a problem for me.

18th May 2012:
Hello there! This is HappyMollyWeasley here with your long time delayed review...

You told me that this isn't the kind of story you usually write. It's not the kind of story I usually read, so perhaps that makes us even...? ;-)

Although this kind of humoristic first person stories isn't really my favourite I have to say that you have found a nice narrative tone in this chapter. I was a bit reluctant at first, but got more and more involved with the story as I continued reading.

I like your Scorpius. It seems like you have given him a lot of thougt. I wonder where you'll be taking this character...

Author's Response: Hi, sorry for the late reply!

Haha, I suppose so! I'm glad you enjoyed it somewhat, even though you were apprehensive to begin with. I know that these 'romcom' style fics aren't for everyone, but I thought I'd try my hand with one and try to give it a bit of a twist. Scorpius is included in said twist!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #14, by CherryBoom 1 - Authority is a problem for me.

11th May 2012:
This was a really fun start for the story. I can't wait to hear more about the Weasleys and what exactly changed Albus from an innocent kid to such a rascal.

Scorpius made excellent entrance into the story. His quiet confidence was very endearing.

The flow of the story was enjoyable and the first person pov well executed. I really liked the fact that there wasn't a single dull moment in the beginning, since you dived straight into action.

I'll look forward to reading more of this story. =)

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm really pleased you liked it! I tried to make this opening chapter as fast-paced as possible. Scorpius is definitely one of my favourite characters so far, although tricky to write!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #15, by CloakAuror9 1 - Authority is a problem for me.

8th May 2012:
Hey there!

That was really funny! Totally made my horrible, horrible day. Thank you. (:

I think the chapter was well-written and rather surprising because I didn't expect Rose to lose authority over her family and anyone else really. So yeah, I must say some unique some stuff happening here. ;)

I think you have a really fantastic talent for characterisation! Rose is really unique and un-cliched, Scorpius is too. I would love to see your take on the rest of the Wotters since from the way you described them, they seem like an entertaining bunch of people. Poppy is really great too, but I just don't get the feel of her...if you know what I mean? But it has nothing to do with your writing or anything...she's just those characters that seem annoying, but somehow the story won't piece together without them. (I'm judging this story too early...gah!)

Overall, I think this story is one of the most unique I've seen around here and I hope to see more of it because it is really great. And the author is great too! :P

Ta,
CloakAuror9 xx
Recenseo 2012

Author's Response: Hi, sorry for the late reply!

Cliches are most definitely a given in this kind of story, so I want to avoid as much of them as possible. I'm glad you think I did that in this chapter! The Wotters will definitely feature more as the story goes on, so look out for them.

Poppy actually irritates me! Haha. She's fun to write though, and is the only one who puts up with Rose's crap. She'll be developed a bit more too as it goes on :)

Thank you, that is such a compliment! You are lovely. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #16, by apocalypse 1 - Authority is a problem for me.

6th May 2012:
Hey! This is apocalypse, here with your review!

You mentioned in the areas of concern that you I don't normally write things like these. Well I don't believe you. How is it possible that considering you don't, you still managed to pull it off so well? I'm impressed! =) From the first line, where you mentioned 'bloody' I knew I was going to have fun reading this chapter. I'm going to have to officially declare this to be one of the most entertaining and well written first chapters I've read so far. =) A big well done for you! =)

You came up with pretty funny punch lines throughout the chapter. The pranks mentioned in the first half were very entertaining I could totally imagine them doing it and being pretty successful at it. =) Do you mind sharing your secret? How do you come up with such creative and highly amusing ideas? =P

I really liked the transitions between the scenes and the atmosphere. One second Rose is worried for her Head Girl's post, the next she finds out her best friend's in love and third she's surprised that Malfoy's talking to her. It kept your chapter from getting monotonous. =)

You didn't use much dialogues but the chapter was still very well written. Rose's thoughts were very detailed and well explained. =) However, I'm afraid description requires a bit of work. I mean you described the corridor scene pretty well but when it comes to the description of the set up and the surroudnings, that might need a little work. So that it's easy for us to imagine your characters in the scenario the way YOU want us to imagine. I hope I'm making my point clear. =)

I LOVED Rose's characterization. I simply LOVED her sarcasm! I really liked the fact that she's not the usual 'perfect' Head Girl. It's good to see her have a hard time being, as you mentioned, 'authoritative' =) Her comments regarding the fact that Malfoy finally decided to talk, were simply hilarious! She's one of the MAIN reasons I liked the chapter so much. =)

On the other hand, Poppy seemed quite of an original item to me. =P I didn't really expect Rose being best friends with somebody like her. She was pretty entertaining. But I'm not quite sure if I like her or not. I guess I'll have to wait for you to write more on her character. =)

Malfoy! Wow Rose is the Head Girl and he's not; uh the Head BOY of course. =P Not something one reads every day. I like this modification. It makes your story less typical. His characterization was very different than what I've read. I did like the change and the difference a lot but I'm going to wait for more material on his character before I put forward any more of my thoughts, I hope that's okay. =)

I think that that's pretty much it from me at the moment. I hope you like this review and that it helps in you in any way it can. =) Feel free to re-request or PM me with any queries you might have. Until next time, Good Luck and Happy Writing! =)

~Recenseo '12

Author's Response: Hi!

Can I just say, THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS REVIEW! Honestly, it has made my day! I was really unsure about this for ages and your review has really given me the confidence to continue this! So thank you!

Okay, now on to the actual response. ;) I'm not someone who is laugh out loud funny but I do try to be witty at least, so I'm glad you thought it was okay! To be honest I don't know how I come up with them haha, I just do!

Characterisation is one of my favourite things to work on in a fic so thanks for thinking Rose is good :P Scorpius wasn't in this chapter much so you can hold judgement haha ;) and Poppy isn't all bad I promise! She is lovely, just a little devious which Rose knows all about!

I think that there are a lot of conventions and cliches surrounding Next Gen these days, so I always try and do different things with my writing that are 'against the norm' as such. SO I literally squee'd when you said it's one of the best first chapters you've read, THANK YOU SO MUCH (again)!

Thank you for taking the time to review me and I will definitely be requesting again! Much love!


 Report Review

Review #17, by hetty 1 - Authority is a problem for me.

4th May 2012:
It's not terrible! I really like it, I think making Rose head girl (and not a perfect one) is a nice touch and I love how she's failing even though she's only two weeks in :P

Unsociable Scorpius is my favourite though, I can't wait to see more of him :)

Author's Response: Hi!

Aww thank you! I've never written anything like this before, so I'm so pleased you like it! Haha yes, no one can be perfect at everything, even Rose Weasley! And Scorpius will feature lots more :)

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #18, by marinahill 1 - Authority is a problem for me.

4th May 2012:
I love it! Scorpius is so serious but I definitely love him like that. -swoons-. This was very very tolerable, my dear. I like the like-hearted tone and Rose's narration. Her thoughts are amusing, and her friend is annoying so rightly so.

Fab stuff ♥

Author's Response: Oh I'm glad you think this is more than tolerable ;) LOVE YOU

 Report Review

Review #19, by Dmlong 1 - Authority is a problem for me.

3rd May 2012:
I actually love this!!! I've never read a story before that portrayed Scorpius the way you do, it's brilliant though. Sometimes its good to go away from the norm, and this is definitely one of those times. :)

I love Rose already, not to sure about her best friend though, maybe I will like her more when she isnt tricking her and then running away. lol

Also the rest of the "Wotters" are exactly like I imagined them to be. Hearing about all their trouble making made me laugh.

I hope you update soon, I'm dying to read more! Great job so far! :)

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much! I'm trying to make this as 'original' as I can because there are a lot of cliches surrounding Next Gen. I'm glad you think I've done it so far :) and thank you, I love writing her character like this haha! Poppy is nice I promise :)

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login