Reading Reviews for What Makes A Man
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by StEpH_M It was too late

29th October 2012:
I have always wondered what might have made Voldemort who he was, a cruel almost emotionless man that took pride in killing muggles and Muggleborns alike. And I have always wondered whether anything would have changed if his mother hadn't of died, would he be different? Not being completely shrouded in death and the misery living in an orphanage may bring. Maybe he wouldn't have tried to kill people, he may have had a grudge against muggles but maybe he wouldn't have wanted to kill them.

I really like this story, the way you have written it is really good and it works well with the song. The way you go from his childhood to his death was really good too, linking his fear of death to his actual death. It makes a good ending. And the way the lyrics link to each of the little sections of the story is really well done too.

I really enjoyed reading this, there was a line "He couldn't remember when something had taken root in him," What exactly is the something? I'm not sure if you meant that it was his desire for power that took root or fear/helplessness. But otherwise it was extremely well done.
Great job with your first song fic. It's really good :)

Author's Response: Hi Steph! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing this story (as well as leaving some reviews for Once Defied).

I wonder a lot of those same things about Voldemort. Sometimes, I think we are supposed to understand that it was his upbringing without love that turned him evil, but then at other times, I wonder if being brought up by his mother would have made much of a difference. She did not seem like a confident woman who would have been able to be the mother that he needed to grow into a different sort of man--I suppose motherhood might have changed her, but the fact that she preferred to die than raise her son makes me think that it wouldn't have. So then I go back to thinking that he was sort of doomed no matter what. I think it's definitely true that he would have possessed some hatred of Muggles, even if his mother had lived.

Anyway, I'm getting all caught up in speculation now. But this is part of what motivated me to write this story! :)

I'm glad you felt I incorporated the lyrics well. I think song fics are really personal pieces, and often, I read ones written by other people and don't really get the connection between the song and the story. It makes me happy to hear that you could understand that connection in this song fic, at least to some extent. :)

You're right; that line seems really vague, now that I read it over again. What could I have been thinking?! Haha. I think I probably meant that he himself didn't even know what it was that had gotten into him and made him evil, but I didn't express that very well. Thanks for pointing that out!

Really appreciate the review! (And I apologize if I take a little bit of time in replying to the others.)


 Report Review

Review #2, by teamdobby It was too late

18th July 2012:
I'm not much of a song fic reader but this story is intriguing and awesome!

Your characterisation of Voldemort is brilliant. It just shows the deep and complicated person that he is and that he is driven by fear and not anger or cruelty. You actually made me feel some sympathy towards him which is a very large achievement. Well Done! *gives cookies* :D

Overall, a brilliant song fic and one of the best stories about Voldemort I have ever read :D

Author's Response: It's so nice to receive a review on this story! It's a bit of an odd one, so I expect that people hardly ever seek it out or stumble across it. :D

I'm actually not a song fic reader, either--I think I wrote one terrible one years ago, and then this. I feel like song fics are very personal things. We all have certain songs that we associate it with certain characters or situations, and they don't always strike the same chord (pun sort of intended :P) with other people.

Anyway, the thing I was really worried about with this story is characterizing Voldemort, so I'm so happy to hear that you thought I did a good job at that! :D So true that he's driven by fear rather than anger or cruelty; I'm glad that came across in this short one-shot. When you look at him that way, I think it's easy to pity him at least a little.

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by ScorpiusRose17 It was too late

17th May 2012:
This was a beautiful song fic. I don't normally read them, but this one has definitely inspired me to give them a better chance and possibly see what other ones maybe out there in the HPFF world.

You wrote this so well for a first attempt at a song fic. I thought it was interesting how you chose Voldemort's mind to explore and showing the thoughts that he had. You did a terrific job of capturing a very complex person in a shot amount of words. This is truly inspiring! =)

Keep up the awesome writing!

-SR17

Recenseo 2012

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I (obviously) don't write song fics often, though I do often find songs to be inspiring. Writing one has definitely opened me up a bit to reading more of them.

I'm really happy to hear that I managed to get at some of the essence of what Voldemort was about in 500 words--it was a daunting task!

Thanks for the feedback and encouragement!


 Report Review

Review #4, by MercyWaters It was too late

6th May 2012:
Wow! I really liked this. Your writing is excellent. The words have a wonderful flow to them and get the emotion and description across perfectly. I almost never read song-fics or stories centered on Voldemort, yet here I am reading a combination of the two and I loved it!

Excellent job. This is going in my favorites. :)

Bri, xx

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I'm very flattered that you liked the story, especially when it was somewhat out of your comfort zone as a reader. (It was definitely out of mine as a writer!)

I'm just so happy you thought enough of it to favourite it! Thank you so much for that, and for the feedback!


 Report Review

Review #5, by maskedmuggle It was too late

4th May 2012:
Aw Penny this was really fantastic! I always love reading fics done for the 500 word challenge - they're always so brilliant, and yours is no exception. I loved how you made this a songfic as well - it made it different to others, and added a very new perspective for looking at Voldemort.

I really loved the plot/idea you had in this! "If death was the lowest form of powerlessness, the ability to cause it was the epitome of strength" - that idea of power, death… all of it is so fitting to Voldemort and the way you just progressed from explaining how Voldemort had always feared death to the scene where he was about to kill Harry was great - it felt like even with 500 words you were able to take us on a journey.

Beautiful writing! :) I really enjoyed reading this! I thought you especially managed to portray Voldemort very realistically (which is, I think, quite hard to do).

Author's Response: Thank you! (Apologies for taking so long to reply to your review.) I'm really happy that you came over to read and offer your thoughts. :)

This song was really like a lightning bolt of inspiration--I felt like it touched on the whole issue of Voldemort being so afraid of death, and so convinced that immortality was the highest form of being, but not being able to escape it.

I'm particularly happy to hear, first, that I managed to actually do something in 500 words, and second, that I portrayed Voldemort well. Voldemort is a tough character to pin down, and I wasn't sure if I'd done him justice. I also tend to err on the side of long-winded, so I'm happy to hear I did an all right job in such a short space.

Thanks again! I really appreciate your feedback!


 Report Review

Review #6, by GrangerDanger76 It was too late

3rd May 2012:
Wow!!! This was really good! Very unique, I must add. Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It's really wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the story. :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by charlottetrips It was too late

2nd May 2012:
I'm listening to the song as I'm reading it and it sets such a fitting tone for this story. I can see Voldemort standing there, in the final battle of Hogwarts, thinking these thoughts, having it go through his mind. I think that even in the end, there was definite denial, to the power that death had over him.

Harry Potter, the boy who had done what Voldemort had always wished to: lived. - this might actually be the most summary description of Voldemort's hate of Harry. Why does he, Voldemort, have to struggle to live while this child just continues to LIVE?

I liked the exploration of Voldemort here as it gave more depth to an already complex character.

xChar

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the unexpected reviews you gave me! They were a pleasure to read.

You know, after writing a song fic, I think I've realized how important it is to listen to the song as you're reading the story. I would guess that most people writing one did exactly what I did, which was listen to the song as I was writing. It definitely must have informed the way that I wrote it, if only in subtle ways--and if that came through when you listened to the song and read, that's fantastic! :)

I'm glad you thought that line was good! I had one of those author moments where you feel just a tiny little bit profound. (Of course, five minutes later, you can't think of how to describe a simple action, and you're reminded that you're not so genius after all, haha.)

So glad you liked the story, and thanks again! Wonderful to have feedback on my first one-shot and song fic!


 Report Review

Review #8, by RosieQueen It was too late

1st May 2012:
I really enjoyed this! Voldemort's thoughts- definitely something I've never written. His PoV is very uncommon, so this was a nice change.

Voldemort's thoughts were very realistic; even though there wasn't really any dialogue, I'd still say his characterization was perfect. Usually, I have to judge a character's characterization by dialogue, and to characterize someone through their thoughts is actually very difficult!

I've heard this song a couple of times, and I really liked your interpretation of it through this one-shot. So all in all, wonderful story! :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing! It means a lot on this story, because it's so far outside my comfort zone. :D

I'm sure one of the reasons that Voldemort's POV is uncommon is that it's not easy to write. :P I found myself worried about getting out-of-character while writing this, so I'm very happy to hear that you thought I did a good job with his characterization!

I'm also glad you thought that the song fit. I'd listened to it before, and then one day, the lyrics just struck me as relating so well to Voldemort.

Thanks again!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login