Reading Reviews for Meant to be
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by whskykitty74 Diagon Alley

6th June 2012:
Sounds good so far! keep writing!

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for review, I will try to keep up my work.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Marauder_Weasley Diagon Alley

17th May 2012:
HA HA RON IS SO FUNNY AND ARCHIBALD IS A GREAT NAME

Author's Response: Thank you and sorry if you didn't like the fact that I used it as a name like that. But I must tell you I don't have any idea in names at all...(As I have said my regional language is not english, so I dont have much knowledge; sadly) But I will try changing it, Thanks for review.

 Report Review

Review #3, by seekers_destiny Diagon Alley

17th May 2012:
The Harry/Ginny interaction starts out with an almost childish argument, which is a nice touch. I also like the thought Harry put into the gift for Ginny but the economics of it are all wrong. If his gift is simple to make then it isn't much of a gift. Since it is for a limited clientele, you cannot make money with volume, it would he to be a high price for something you won't sell many of or it isn't worth it. If it is hard to make and not a big seller, the price has to be high so I'd say the price would have to be over 100 Galleons, not just 35.

I liked the discussion about the marriage law among Harry, Ron and Neville. I was particularly impressed with Ginny's insight into why people had different reactions to the law. Could this have something to do with her insight into matchmaking for owls? I've never seen anyone project an interest in architecture for Ginny, that is an interesting direction for her. I decided to go with two specific examples where I think you didn't write what you meant.

errata:
But Molly, unless you want to postpone the shopping to another day, we can stay here.
But Molly, unless you want to postpone the shopping to another day, we can't stay here.

He had not faired any amount in dancing.
There are two problems here: fair versus fare and exactly what you mean. We could talk about Harry's past experience with dancing: He had not fared well with dancing. However, that isn't what you seem to mean as I think you mean that he hasn't gotten any better than what he had been for dancing. That would be more like: He had not done anything about his lack of experience with dancing.

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for your review. And firstly I must say your reviews help me a lot. I am bound to make mistakes and this is my first try at multi-chaptered story, so I really need help and your reviews really help me a lot. Thanks for that.

Then about the price of the gift. Yes you are right, I had had to make it a bit more costly. I am not exactly sure what I was thinking but I will change it.

And yes Ginny's insight into people's reactions and about the owls, yes they are tied. I will be explaining it in later chapters. Don't want to spoil it now.

And about the errata you pointed out, yes I guess the second one as you pointed is my mistake. I will rectify it. And the first one was where i meant that they could stay in WWW as long as they could postpone their shopping. But anyway if it conveyed a different meaning, I will look into that.

I was a bit busy these days, thats why its taken a lot of time answering reviews and even uploading the new chapter. It will be there in a few days. I will try editing the mistakes you pointed out. Thank you.


 Report Review

Review #4, by Marauder_Weasley Letters

16th May 2012:
HA HA I NEVER THOUGHT ABOUT OWL LOVE LIFE EITHER BUT LOVE THE IDEA

Author's Response: Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Love it Letters

16th May 2012:
awesome. Owl: Harry or Alfred You should totally pair up hermine and krum!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, but I cant pair up Hermione and Krum as I said this fic includes only canon couples.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Megan Letters

8th May 2012:
I love the story so far and I thought the owl thing was kinda cute!:) maybe her owl could be named cloudy,thunder, or lightning

Author's Response: Thanks a lot! Her owl will be a male and since its an eagle owl I thought it should be a bit more 'manly'. May be thunder will work out. Thanks.

 Report Review

Review #7, by seekers_destiny Letters

7th May 2012:
The spacing between paragraphs can be tricky. All I can say is to be patient and keep trying as it sometimes took me a few tries to get it right myself. It's an interesting thought that Ginny would try to do some matchmaking between owls and I'm surprised she would already know Hedwig's preferences.

I thought it was odd for Harry not to be Head Boy but I completely agree that he wouldn't want the responsibility. I like how you are bringing up Harry's growing feelings towards Ginny but don't do it too much, it removes some of the suspense. As for Dobby, I thought it was sad that he was killed off but whether you keep him alive is mainly a matter of how you plan to use him. If it's only to embarrass Harry with Dobby's typical praise, I'd say don't bother. However, if you have something different in mind, I'd say go for it.

JKR did not give us too much to work with for Ginny's personality (other than being strong-willed) but I like that she'd be like the twins. Unlike their mother, I had no issues with how the twins viewed life. Harry could do with being a bit more like them himself.

Author's Response: Yeah am trying with the paragraph thing, thanks for the advice. Ginny and her knowledge about the owls, there is a bit more to that. It will be in later chapters. As for Harry not being Head Boy, am pretty sure he would not want the responsibility and Ron is someone who still needs to prove that he is not some side-kick, so i think Mcgonagall thought it would be best for Ron to be a head. Although Ron being a Head Boy is required for the plot. And thanks for telling me about not bringing Harry's feelings too much. I almost did it. Thanks a lot.

 Report Review

Review #8, by seekers_destiny Getting the News

1st May 2012:
Actually, the only annoying thing was the excess space between paragraphs. You did very well for English being your second language. The only part I would suggest rewriting was the part you already pointed out, the article about the marriage law. I like stories about alternate ways for Harry and Ginny to get together so please continue.

Author's Response: Am sorry about the excess space thing. I will see that it wont happen again. and yeah, i will try writing the article thing. thanks for revew.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login