15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Singularity The Blazing Arrival Of Cosmo Weasley-Peppin

8th December 2012:
This is really great. I haven't read many Charlie-centric stories, but I just love the way you've written him here. We don't know too much about him from canon, but the details you've included (his dedication to work, his love of flying, his Gryffindoric tendency to act before thinking...) are just spot on.

I have to admit, you completely fooled me with your brilliant misdirection. Even when Charlie saw the building, I didn't catch on, though I did wonder why she was giving birth alone in some shady building in the middle of the forest. Even when April said that line about taking care of her little one, I just thought it was a parallel and didn't immediately catch on (sometimes I'm a bit slow...).

This is a fantastic interpretation of that challenge. I love that you managed to write Charlie Weasley as a father without straying from canon. I tip my hat to you, m'dear.

Author's Response: Hi Singularity! I'm sorry this has taken such a long time for me to get to - life got in the way!

I'm really glad you enjoyed this one-shot, it was a lot of fun to write - not least because I love Charlie! You're right about there being many details about him in canon, but in a way that was really great fun for me. I'm so interested in people and families, and I sort of just took what we know about Charlie and about hi family and tried to apply it to the character.

Ahahahaha! Another one bites the dust! Honestly, I am so thrilled that I've fooled basically everyone who's read this, because I thought it was so obvious and I'd never get away with it. Teehee.

Tug of the forelock to you, old bean. (Good lord, that sounds rude).


 Report Review

Review #2, by ohmymerlin The Blazing Arrival Of Cosmo Weasley-Peppin

28th August 2012:
Oh this was funny! I was thinking, what? Charlie doesn't have a kid!
I usually hate things that are out of canon but I thought I'd read it, just in case I liked it :p
So glad I did!
It's so cute! You did really well with this piece, I absolutely loved it :D
10/10 :D

Author's Response: Here I am! I enjoyed this sitting in my 'Unanswered Reviews' tab but I can only procrastinate for so long :P

Haha, well thank you for giving it a chance even though you thought, 'Hmmm, not canon!' So I'm glad you really liked it! I'm beginning to wonder how many people just don't read it because they think it's yet another Charlie/OC non-canon romance. I might have to put a note in the summary ('I LOVE CANON'?!)

Thanks for R&Ring, your comments have all made my day :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by Ginger Lust The Blazing Arrival Of Cosmo Weasley-Peppin

3rd August 2012:
Loved your story. You write well and I enjoyed this very much. I love reading about Charlie as there is not too much.
Now... someone needs to pair him with a woman! :-)
Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed this so much. I really enjoyed writing about Charlie, and will do it again at some point... maybe including April again! However, I can tell you I'd never get them married as I'm a strict canon freak usually :P

Thanks for reading and reviewing!
xoxo


 Report Review

Review #4, by broadwaykat The Blazing Arrival Of Cosmo Weasley-Peppin

30th July 2012:
You wonderfully evil writer you.

I don't know why, but I just don't like stories where Charlie finds a girl and has a kid. When I first saw this story - I was like 'okay, sigh, Athene's really good with writing the Weasley family, I suppose this will be better and won't break the character of a strong guy with his love of dangerous animals TOO much. And, I mean, at least the kid's name is Cosmo - which is an awesome Weasley name, I have to say.

I was getting used to the idea around the middle of it. I mean, at least this April was a fellow dragon handler, and not some random girl from school that he just happens to find somewhere...in Romania...for no reason. So there's that connect. I can see them raising a little sprog with little dragons.

And then we had the heart-wrenching tale of their meeting, and we meet the brief, but wonderful Brandusa. Another amazing name. And OMG IT'S A BABY DRAGON!!!

So...after starring at the screen for a few minutes with my mouth open, I realize that - wow. Wow wow wow. Charlie is a dad - but in Charlie's way. You kept to Jo's imagining but now we get to see all the Weasley have their very own special child of their own. Including Charlie. Which makes me ridiculously happy, because I think out of all of them, besides Molly and Ron - I love Charlie. Bugger gets to work with dragons, man! And coming from a household that routinely has gotten their dogs by breaking and entering on junk yards with a pair of wire cutters, or taking in birds and stuff - It's just. Perfect. Another wonderful story, and I think it's a safe bet to say I will NEVER doubt you to do something amazing and wonderful and true to form to ANY of the Weasley's every again.

Author's Response: Rwahaha, another reader caught on my line of misdirection! (There have been a few reviews telling me off for being sneaky...)
I have to say, I LOVED reading your train of thought here... I think it's how I would have approached this story as a reader! I agree with you about stories where Charlie gets married etc. As JKR herself said, 'Not everybody falls in love with everybody else'!

I love the name Cosmo too, I might have to write about Charlie again just so that we can see a bit more of Cosmo. Brandusa is Romanian for 'Crocus' :)

I entered the Newborn Moments challenge and was a bit stumped when I was given Charlie as my main character- I am a canon freak and didn't want to do the usual OC thing. But then it just came to me... of COURSE Charlie's dragons would be his babies. I know my dog is mine! And, massive respect and thanks to you for being one of those wonderful people who will go out of their way to adopt/liberate the animals that need it most. Seriously. The world needs more people like you.

Thank you for all your lovely words, I'm glad that you enjoyed this story so much! :D


 Report Review

Review #5, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap The Blazing Arrival Of Cosmo Weasley-Peppin

5th July 2012:
Charlie was racing across the sky, frost forming on his eyelashes. He had no idea if April would be coping alone, and all he could do was silently beg that he wouldn't be too late.

^ YOU TRICKED ME! Naughty writer, you! I thought she was going to have a baby and she was all alone. Yes, technically she did have a baby, they did but not a human one! Oh this was so clever. I loved it. I didn't get until he started thinking about dragons that April wasn't giving birth, they were waiting for the egg to hatch.

I loved the ending the most. Parents always talk about that moment when they hold the baby and they feel that connection with their child and I could see Charlie felt that with his baby dragon. It was so cute. I loved it.

Author's Response: Thanks, Deeds! Don't worry, everyone else who read this story got tricksied too... JChrissy was quite cross with me for a while! :P

I'm really happy that you enjoyed this so much. Thank you very much for reading and reviewing, it's made my day!

Athene xoxo


 Report Review

Review #6, by CambAngst The Blazing Arrival Of Cosmo Weasley-Peppin

2nd July 2012:
Hi, there!

So Jami has now successfully roped me into another one of your stories, and wow, am I glad she did. This was so touching and so very well-written. You took what seemed like it was going to be a heart-warming story and suddenly twisted it into a different heart-warming story. I just did not see the twist coming. Right up 'til the point where the mother dragon rolls out her egg, I was convinced that you were telling me the story of how Charlie and April became a couple. The setup was brilliant.

You did such a great job of hinting at April being in labor. All of the apparent signs were there. You are a mistress of misdirection! And Charlie receiving the patronus message and then launching himself out of bed in a panic... so well played!

His struggles to get to the dragon egg blew my mind. I was thinking, "wow, he's going to fly from Romania to the UK on a broom???" At least that's what I imagined was happening.

Even after I figured it out, the hatching scene was lovely. It was such a plausible way for a baby dragon to enter the world. And Charlie's total lack of regard for his own well-being as he probably suffers third-degree burns to help the baby out of its shell was perfect characterization for him!

You are rapidly becoming one of my favorite discoveries on HPFF! Bravo!

Author's Response: Hi again! I should give Jami some sort of award for snagging me new readers, shouldn't I?!

Can I just say, you write really well in your reviews... I mean, you express yourself very well. I like. (I am brain-frazzled today, so my response won't be as lucid as your lovely review!)

I have been overwhelmed by the fact that almost every reviewer of this story has been fooled by the set-up, and all of them were gratified by the truth!

'You are a mistress of misdirection!' - I may have to get some sort of bumper sticker or badge or tattoo of that title. I drive Jami crazy when I misdirect her, it's hilarious!

I think you're quite right about Charlie, and thank you for appreciating the characterization. He's turned out to be a lovely Weasley to write, and I think I may revisit him (as well as April and Alaric, probably) soon!

I'm honoured to be one of your favourite discoveries on HPFF! What a lovely thing to say.

Thank you for reading and reviewing, come back soon! You're welcome any time! Heehee.
Athene xo


 Report Review

Review #7, by WitnesstoitAll The Blazing Arrival Of Cosmo Weasley-Peppin

29th June 2012:
Can I just eat all of your writing? My goodness. This is fabulous (as is everything else I've read that you've written). At the start of this, I almost (though reluctantly) believed that Charlie was having a baby with a woman... but my canon heart was suspicious. :P Once I read the second blurb from April's POV I knew what was going on and was so delightfully excited. :) Your descriptions here were fabulous! I think you did a phenomenal job bringing Brandusa to life and painting the frozen forest for the readers. And little Cosmo. Now I want a baby dragon. :P Too cute.

I don't know how you continue to write such fabulous, wonderfully canon characters and situations and settings. Gah. Great job!

xoxo
Melissa

Author's Response: Sure, print it on rice paper, sprinkle with sugar and chocolate sauce and tuck right in. Om nom nom, Weasleys.

I love that you know me better than to full out believe I would pair Charlie with an OC! You know, you're the first person to comment on Brandusa, and that touched me :) I feel very sad for her. But her baby is in good hands.

I think I will be revisiting Charlie at some point, in another story!

Thanks again for R&Ring, it means a lot!
Xoxoxox


 Report Review

Review #8, by Jchrissy The Blazing Arrival Of Cosmo Weasley-Peppin

23rd June 2012:
Oh my gosh this is so perfect! At first I was getting so annoyed. No that you married Charlie off to an OC, because sometimes it is fun to step out of the box of what we know to be canon, but that you had April by herself giving birth. I was thinking out unrealistic that would be, and that the entire Weasley clan would be with her. Then when you started off about the egg I was sort of confused, trying to figure out what that had to do with it, then it clicked. A Dragon Egg! Not a normal human baby between him and a wife, but a Dragon egg with another crazed dragon lover!!!

You had their emotions so perfect! They are so worried and frightened, and they love this little thing. I wanted to hold little Cosmo so bad! She sounded so precious!

This was probably one of the most creative stories I have ever read. I really had no idea what was going to happen, and the second you started talking about the egg I was smiling so big imaging them bringing this little thing into the world! Hargrid would be so proud ;)

I think your descriptions of what they researched with the hatching, how the incubated it, their plan to cool it off and go for it after it hatched, it was all perfect, creative, and believable. How the heck would you incubate a dragon egg? Obviously one of those birdy ones wouldn't do it! And your answer to that question was perfect. It was so easy to imagine what was going on during the entire story. I love that you have them working so passionately together.

Charli and April are proud parents of a baby little Cosmo

Author's Response: Haha, I wonder if I've shot myself in the foot by being so sneaky that people won't read my story because they think it's some cliched Charlie/OC-unattended-birth story! Does make me giggle to think of you sitting there, annoyed at me. Oh ye of little faith. :P

I'm very glad you enjoyed this story, I had to get creative when I was given Charlie for the 'Firstborn Moments' challenge, but I enjoyed thinking outside of the box.

To my mind, Charlie doesn't need romantic relationships or children- his dragons are his passion, and his colleagues are his partners. I love him :)

Thanks for the review swap, let's do it again soon! Xoxo



 Report Review

Review #9, by Miss Muggle The Blazing Arrival Of Cosmo Weasley-Peppin

29th May 2012:
It's a DRAGON! A baby dragon! Oh haha! This is absolutely brilliant. I was afraid you married Charlie off to some OC and wrote a cliche story about their son or daughter. Then when I was reading the description of Charlie and April getting the egg, I thought "how on earth does this fit in?" Then it all makes sense! Not only is the idea genius, it is pulled off perfectly!

Author's Response: "It's a DRAGON! A baby dragon!" made me laugh so much!
I'm a canon nut, so I would never marry Charlie off to anybody, or make him have human babies... it was much more fun to think my way around the problem of his having a 'firstborn' than to create an OC family for him. That said, I did enjoy creating April and Alaric, and I think I may write some more Charlie in the future in which they may feature.

I'm very flattered that you loved the idea and that you think I pulled it off. I was worried that it was actually too obvious, and that everyone would guess too early that Cosmo was going to be a dragon.

Thanks for reading and reviewing, it means a lot to me!
Athene xo


 Report Review

Review #10, by UnluckyStar57 The Blazing Arrival Of Cosmo Weasley-Peppin

29th May 2012:
WOWZA!
When I read that this story was written for the Firstborn Moments Challenge and saw that it was about Charlie, I thought you had married him off to an OC.
And you led me on... I was halfway through the story before I realized... OF COURSE Charlie would hatch a dragon, instead of having a wife and child.
It was BRILLIANT, and so original. I don't read a lot about Charlie, and this one was amazing. :)
Good luck in the challenge!!

Author's Response: Haha I love that my evil little plan is working on so many readers!

I am a huge canon fan, and if Jo says Charlie never married or had (human) babies, I'm not going to disagree with her.

In fact, I had much more fun writing a story in which the firstborn isn't actually a human baby, and where any OC's aren't romantic interests but are in fact as passionate about dragons as Charlie. I'll be writing him again, I think.

I'm really glad you found and enjoyed this story, and thanks for the luck!
Athene xoxo


 Report Review

Review #11, by Haloharper The Blazing Arrival Of Cosmo Weasley-Peppin

22nd May 2012:
OMG.. Here I was reading this story thinking Charlie was going to be a dad. Didnt know he would be a dad to a dragon. Love the story and it was super cute. really great story.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it. I think, for Charlie, this is being a dad :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by marlita1311 The Blazing Arrival Of Cosmo Weasley-Peppin

17th May 2012:
ahh such a cute story!! :)
i like charlie and at first i thought that april-girl was giving birth to their child and i was like what?!
but then everything fall into place!
i think you nailed the description of how the young teenagers took care of the egg! 10/10
~marlita

Author's Response: Heehee I seem to be catching most people out with the baby dragon!
I'm very glad you enjoyed this story. I love Charlie too, he'll be making another appearance in my stories soon.
Thanks for reading and reviewing :)
Athene xoxo


 Report Review

Review #13, by Nelle07 The Blazing Arrival Of Cosmo Weasley-Peppin

6th May 2012:
So cute! I loved this story! Stories of Charlie are so hard to come by!

Author's Response: I'm really glad you liked it! I have a real soft spot for Bill and Charlie Weasley, and am planning to write more about Charlie in the future :)
Thanks for reviewing, I really appreciate it!
Athene xo


 Report Review

Review #14, by MercyWaters The Blazing Arrival Of Cosmo Weasley-Peppin

3rd May 2012:
Interesting take on the Firstborn moments challenge! I wasn't expecting the ending at all, haha. Were you intentionally trying to keep it vague in the beginning? Because for a while there I was under the impression that April was pregnant with Charlie's baby and about to give birth. The realization that it was actually a baby dragon was a bit confusing to grasp, but not terribly so!

I really like the flashback bits. You write them very well. Also, the information on how the dragons hatch their eggs was fascinating, did you come up with that yourself?

Lovely story! You write very well :)

Bri, xx

Author's Response:
Hi, thanks for taking the time to review!

I know, I think I bent the rules a little by making Charlie's firstborn not actually a human baby :P

The stuff about dragons hatching their eggs was made up by me... to tell the truth, I needed it to be more dramatic than Norbert(a)'s hatching, so that Charlie had to rush to be there with April!

I did intend it to be unclear whether it was a human or dragon baby :P I'm glad it surprised you and I hope it wasn't overly confusing.

Thanks again for reviewing and for the lovely compliment at the end: it means a lot to me!

I see you recently posted a new story; I'll have a read of it tomorrow and give you a review too :)

Thanks again-
Athene xo


 Report Review

Review #15, by charlottetrips The Blazing Arrival Of Cosmo Weasley-Peppin

3rd May 2012:
YES! S o o o o o perfect for Charlie! :) I actually can't stop smiling with how ridiculously cute and perefect this story is for Charlie.

At first I was like "What? He left his wife to have the baby on her own?!" and then as I was reading, I felt that there was more than met the eye. Charlie's worries and fears for the baby and April's own thoughts as she is going through the process alone were so apt. I like that there's another person who is so dedicated to the cause like Charlie to be there with him.

I didn't notice any spelling or grammar errors. Again, this was such a fun story to read with such a perfect ending!

xChar

Author's Response: Hi Charlotte!

I'm really happy that you enjoyed this. I had such a good time writing it, and your challenge really got me thinking! I'm quite pleased that you didn't guess the twist straight away too ;)
I quite like April Peppin, and I may make her part of my own personal canon :P

I'm looking forward to reading the other entries posted on your challenge, should be really fun!

Thank you so very much for your review, it makes me so happy to get them! Heehee.

Thanks again :)
Athene xo


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login