Reading Reviews for For Lily
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by UnluckyStar57 One.

12th July 2014:
Oh, Snape. Such an interesting character, one that can be analyzed from so many different angles and still never fully pinned down.

I like that Snape admitted to himself that he was being terrible for not caring about Harry and James. James might have been mean to him, and Harry might have been James' son, but they're still people. People who Lily cared about. Snape might have given his decision a little more thought if he hadn't been so blinded by Voldemort's manifestos and promises.

I like that you portrayed Snape as in love with Lily, but also in love with the power that Voldemort offered. It makes sense for Snape to want power because for most of his life, he was powerless. If only he had known the cost of such power...

Great one-shot!

House Cup 2014 Review

~UnluckyStar57

 Report Review

Review #2, by Veritaserum27 One.

11th July 2014:
Hello!

Great story. You've done a fantastic job with Snape's emotions here. He really did love Lily with all his heart, but I believe that while Snape thought his love was pure, it really wasn't. He wouldn't have sold her out to Voldemort if it had been. Also, he only agrees to help Harry BECAUSE of Lily. I also think that Snape was a bit hollow. He said that grief would have overtaken him, but I think that part of it did and that was why Snape never could really forgive Harry for being Potter's son. I really, really loved the ending. It was dramatic and touching at the same time. I am impressed that you've managed to fit in all this emotion in only fie hundred words! Nice job!

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #3, by Pretense Of Perfection One.

10th July 2014:
Aw, this literally brought tears to my eyes. Snape is such a complex character, it's always awesome to read anytthing about him, and this was no different. His love for her really shows through here in his repentive actions and thoughts. I like how he realizes it was selfish of him to only care whether Lily lived or died, and not her husband or her child. The scene between him and Dumbledore when he reveals his patronus has always been one of my favorite ever HP scenes, and you expanded upon that very well. Snape realizes that he could've done something to prevent her death, and because of his lust and greed for power over others, the one person that he had always loved the most died. You ended this so powerfully, especially with the "always" part. I didn't notice any spelling or grammar errors, and the pacing kept me on the edge of my seat.

--house cup 2014 review--
pretense of perfection, gryffindor

 Report Review

Review #4, by LadyL8 One.

7th July 2014:
Hi there.

The second I saw your summary, I knew I wanted to read your story. This is one of the first stories I've read with Snape as the main character, and I was a bit nervous you wouldn't be able to capture him completely. He is after all a difficult character to write, so you're very brave for trying.

But I absolutely loved your story. I love how you can feel Snape's regret - how he wished he could go back and undo his crime, and I think you captured that perfectly. I also love how you portrayed him as a bit unsure of his next cause of action - whether he'll do as Dumbledore suggest or not. Because I think that even though Snape was really grieving but at the same filled with self-hate, he didn't want to have to see Harry every day as that would always remind him of what he lost and what he did to the Potters. And your described these emotions so perfectly, that I practically feel them myself as I read the story.

So to sum up, I absolutely loved it. You're really talented! 10/10

- Lotte

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #5, by nott theodore One.

6th July 2014:
Hi there! I'm here reviewing for the house cup. Normally I'm not a big fan of Severus Snape - for reasons I won't go into right now - but I really liked the way you wrote this story and the sympathy you made me feel for him here!

The first sentence 'Pain consumed him' gripped me straight away and I liked the way that you took that and then went on to explore his pain. Loving Lily it's awful for him to know that she's died, but I can understand it would be difficult for him to face Harry because he both reminds him of what he lost in Lily and that he lost her to James Potter. For him to overcome that and do something like this for Lily - and we know from the final book all that he did for love of her - is really incredible and you captured a great moment with this story.

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #6, by Your Secret Santa One.

14th December 2012:
Hi Firefly910!

This is such a short but moving story! For the first time in ages you have made me feel actual sympathy for Severus and what he went through. You really made him come to life and you wrote his emotions so well!!! Seriously, keep writing angst you are so good at it!

The first and the last line in a story are two of the most important elements to get right. In fact if your first line is not interesting enough, you can lose readers almost instantly and if your last line is dull the same will occur (mostly if you have more than one chapter). However your first sentence: "Pain consumed him." in fact your whole first chapter was so good it sucked me in instantly and before I knew it I was reading your moving last line: "For Lily" he said. “Always” Congratulations on this, I love authors who can really grab the reader’s attention from the start till the finish and you have certainly done this in this story so WELL DONE!

Just one thing, you wrote: "...their son every day and not let what had happened at his doing crush him? He didn’t look like Lily. He looked like him..." Ok so being completely honest, this left me a little bit confused. I assume that the boy Snape is talking about is Harry, so did you make out in this story that Harry was Snape's son, not James'??? Anyway I think that you could have explained this a little more maybe in an author's note.

Overall though, this was an amazing read so thank you for writing such an interesting one-shot!


Your Secret Santa

 Report Review

Review #7, by I_trusted_Snape13 One.

18th July 2012:
Aw! This was the best Snape one-shot I think I've ever read. (': It was absolutely beautiful. I loved every moment. I love how you portrayed Snape - very tortured-soul-like. Such a sweet story and the last line "For Lily," he said. "Always." I nearly burst in to tears. This was rivetingly beautiful. Keep writing. Snape has always been my absolute favorite character, and portrayals of him like this makes me love him even more. (As you can see by my username, I trusted him). While I didn't exactly figure out just what his reasons were, I was fairly close. I knew he was protecting him, but I didn't know why. I seriously think you did JKR's character justice and that she would be proud. Great job. (:

 Report Review

Review #8, by louise_loves_hp One.

18th July 2012:
I love the emotions that power they have behind them that just come though. They are really powerful. I really enjoyed how its almost like Snape has some self doubt about Harry and if it was all worth it. This really make you think about how Snape is just human. He really knew it was coming just don't know when. That would be the hardest thing for him. This is written lovely it really has great flow with all the elements going together of his thoughts.

 Report Review

Review #9, by adluvshp One.

18th July 2012:
Aw, this was a sad one. I could really sense Snape's love for lily. You expressed his self-loathing and guilt really well. The dilemma he felt into protecting harry or not was also well crafted. This was brief, but conveyed a lot in a few words. Snape's grief and love was very evident. The piece was emotional and effective, and I liked reading it. Your narrative flowed well.

Good work

9/10

Cheers!
AD

Slytherin for the Cup 2012

 Report Review

Review #10, by kalkay One.

18th July 2012:
I loved this. It was so accurate and just wonderfully written. Snape is not one of my favorite characters but I really enjoyed this piece. It was just brilliant. I like that you ended with such a strong word, "Always." I know that's how it is in the book and all but how you put it in the story was just...magical. Love this! can't wait for more of your work.

 Report Review

Review #11, by MercyWaters One.

5th May 2012:
This was quite amazing. I could truly feel the confusion and pain Snape was feeling as I read this. How he must've been feeling when he discovered Lily's body, when he realized it was all his fault, when he realized he'd have to be reminded of her every single day by Harry's existence.

Snape is a complex character who sacrificed much in his life for the person he loved. You captured all this and more beautifully in your writing. Lovely job. :)

Bri, xx

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing :)
I am flattered that you used the word beautiful when describing my writing.
When I wrote this story I really wanted to capture Snape's pain about Lily well because it was basically what drove his whole life after she died.

I'm glad you liked it :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by TenthWeasley One.

1st May 2012:
Don't ever tell me you're not a Snape fan. Admit it -- you love the man at heart! ♥ And why do I say that? Because I sauntered over here, all excited to finally read something from you again (my dear, it's been too long!), and I found what is, in my eyes, an extremely accurate portrayal of one of my favorite characters. Callie, you nailed this!

I think you got his emotions EXTREMELY well, and there was a really nice balance especially between his sense of duty and guilt, and the resentment he's bound to have felt at having to watch over Harry as he grew up. A lot of people don't see how to justify Snape's actions toward Harry, but by no means should anyone claim he's a tragic hero. He's a twisted, bitter man, but there is no way it could have been easy to protect the spitting image of a man who once made your life hell. (Sorry for the small tirade -- I've discussed this with many people!)

I so enjoyed reading this, Callie, and this is proof positive that you need to write more! Of course, uni is bound to get in the way, as it has a habit of doing, but I hope you'll gradually ease back in with more regularity. I miss you too much when you're gone! ♥ Seriously, very good job on this story -- I enjoyed it!

Author's Response: JANE!
It appears I do have the ability to empathise with Snape, who knew right?!

Gah!! Hearing that I nailed Snape from you is some sort of holy grail when it comes to compliments on his character! I'm also glad you recognise that he was a bitter man, its something that I think is so important when writing his character.

I am writing more! It seems that my muse is actually cooperating with me at the moment. So you can look forward to a few more stories coming your way in the next few weeks!

I love you Jane, thank you so much for your review :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Moonyxluna One.

1st May 2012:
This was so beautiful. In the small amount of words, you managed to caputre Severus' feelings in that moment so perfectly, I loved it.

I liked how you referanced his instant remorse of telling Voldemort about the prophecy, and how he was at first hesitant to be accepted into Dumbledore's care. Also, his distain for James showed through well.

♥the ending! I'm a hugeee Snily shipper and that's why. Just the fact that Severus did everything he could to hold on to the only part of Lily, no matter how much it mocked him with the similarites to his father, well, I just loved the way you brought those feelings into words.

Very lovely work, and a super enjoyable read♥

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review!
Sorry I'm so long in responding to it but you have no idea how happy it makes me to read this even now!

I love that you're a Snily shipper and you loved my story. Me and Snape don't really get on too much and I surprised myself when I wrote this because I felt some sort of empathy with him.

Thank you again for reviewing :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login