Reading Reviews for Before They Fall
  
922 Reviews Found

Review #1, by happiestlittlelobster The Force That Drives Us

25th January 2015:
Brilliantly ended to tie together some pieces of what could have happened in the Marauder's time to contribute to the fight against Voldemort. I knew Belle needed to die because otherwise the surviving Marauders would have mentioned her (in the real books!)

Thank you for taking this story to completion, I certainly hope that you are well.

 Report Review

Review #2, by happiestlittlelobster Valentine's Day

23rd January 2015:
Forgive me, this isn't a specific chapter review. This is my first review, but I've been reading as many chapters a night as I can manage for the past few days. I just wanted to say that your characterization throughout is brilliant and really well-done. I love how you structured the chapters to incorporate little details that show how the relationship dynamics are changing and the students are growing up. For example, every once in a while we'll get a thought from James or Lily about sex (bc they're teenagers, of course!). Or a moment of sadness from Lily via her blanket that lets us know, though not explicitly, that she is still having nightmares about the events of the last 6 months. Or McGonagall will make a passing comment about Alice and detention to Lily/James which is probably Order/Auror business. Even Moody's recent comments about "his aurors", it all flows really well, sounds entirely realistic, and is well-organized.

It's so enjoyable coming home from my day to move a little bit farther in their story.

Author's Response: I'm so happy that you're enjoying this!! Knowing it's something you look forward to really means a lot to me! Thank you for putting a huge smile on my face with this review :)!!
-Jami


 Report Review

Review #3, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap How To Love You

22nd January 2015:
#awkwardfirsttimes

And I know all about awkward firsts.
And seconds.
And thirds...

Anywho! So glad they talked it through. I knew she was going to try to...uh...how do I keep this age appropriate (12+)...give him the cookies. James wants the cookies but he's a good guy. Good guys do not pressure girls and I wish we knew that. Then again James Potter is a fictional character.

Why can't we just blast Al, our hated Claw, to oblivion and let delusional Vicky go with him? They're awful. She's awful in the cliche crazy chic I want to steal your boyfriend because I'm not and I'm entitled type of way and he's awful in a I want to be a mini Bellatrix with an accent type of way.

That's just too much awful.

Make Voldemort look pretty.

 Report Review

Review #4, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Compromising and Conniving

22nd January 2015:
J, I'm thrilled with this chapter. Not with Violet obviously. I hope Lily doesn't feel like she has to give it up in the next few chapters because of her. Even though she's strong all girls have insecurities.

What I LOVED was Frank and Alice. Oh Augusta! My favorite overbearing lady. I adored their interaction. It was sweet but still stayed true to their characters. Talking about Augusta and marriage.

Deeds approves.

Deeds approves very much.

And then their interaction with Moody. Sweet, sarcastic and hilarious. I almost forgot for a few minutes this story is tear inducing.

I can't believe I'm almost at the end. I can't imagine how you felt coming so close to the end and just working through all these chapters. Such hard work and dedication on your part.

 Report Review

Review #5, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Dueling Lessons

22nd January 2015:
So cute! A nice chapter as we reach the end. Unfortunately I'm on my phone because my computer keeps stalling and now my phone is too. :P

I honestly thought she was mad because Frank brought up getting married to her at such a morbid time. I know I'm getting ahead of myself! The duel was the worst part because I knew what Moody's look was. Sirius is not like his family! Heavens! It's unfair the prejudice people feel towards him when he has tried to prove himself time and time again. Peter used that to his advantage. Of course no one would second guess Sirius turning his back on Lily and James. Peter was too timid. But Remus always knew. That's what kept him slightly sane and going.

I just really want to know what happens to Belle in the future. I know everyone else's but hers. I can't help shake the feeling she dies in the end. It would be upsetting but for some reason it also feels right to me.

 Report Review

Review #6, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Valentine's Day

22nd January 2015:
ďI think the fact that we can hurt this badly for people weíve never met is whatís going to eventually make our world better.Ē

^ Like I wasn't crying already because of McGonagall being injured. WHY! Why would you do that to me?

Dumbledore is one bad apple man. He can do anything. Most powerful wizard proof right there, fighting off all the Death Eater's and saving my favorite Professor all in one go. You know if Rowling killed off Minnie in the books that's one death I would never forgive her for.

Of course I don't forgive her for Sirius either.

Years later and I'm still not over it.

(And Dobby! WHY!)

I liked how you opened the chapter because I was expecting a fluffy chapter with an annoyed Sirius that would end up happy from the snogging and flirting he would have with Belle. I figured Lily and James would also have some alone time but I knew we wouldn't see Remus or Peter on their dates.

I should have known something was up though with Sirius's mood. You know what I like though? Sirius can change his tone instantly. He knows what matters. He was being a brat in the opening of the chapter but once things started to go down, and the thought of Lily and James in danger again, he pushed himself to the side and got ready to do whatever he had to do. I also liked that he swallowed his pride though it was hard to protect Belle and let her come with him and though he didn't want to leave her alone and was hesitant he would have trusted James's judgement and let her search Hogsmeade herself. That speaks volumes of their friendship.

Does our friend Al, the angry Ravenclaw, mean Bellatrix or Lily? As in he wants to get Bellatrix and make her hurt or he wants to be successful and get Lily to prove how worthy and strong he is. That wasn't completely clear to me.

 Report Review

Review #7, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap A Game of Sorts

22nd January 2015:
Lily told him she didnít want a gift, considering her birthday had just been a few weeks ago and heíd given her a new set of art supplies, but he didnít know if he was supposed to believe that or not.

^ This is me to a T. I always say don't get me a birthday gift, christmas gift or whatever. I'm not a big Valentine's Day fan. Funnily enough the only time I want a gift from my boyfriend is our anniversary and he thought I was crazy when I said I was thinking about what to him for our anniversary since it'll be in two monthish and he looked at me baffled and said, "I'm supposed to get you a gift?"

I just gave him a look.

(DUH. Men. At least give me a card.)

You don't like writing Quidditch games? But you wrote the other one so well and even though this one was short I was amused by it. I think more of my focus and glee went to Lily finally figuring out it's him, our dear Ravenclaw Al (I just can never write his name correctly). Finally! Of course Lily second guesses herself because he's not a Slytherin and she was chummy with him for awhile.

It's called deception Lils.

Yet then again you can't blame her. She has a knack for seeing the good in people. She's the only one that knows Severus is good at heart. Even though he doesn't know it himself.

I don't think I've ever considered the pain Minerva had to go through losing all of her students in two wars. You can see how attached she is to Lily, James, Alice, Frank, etc. In my opinion she still treated Remus as her student even when he became her colleague even though we don't see too much of the interactions in the books it's there. It's only natural for her to resist wanting to push them or guide them into the Order.

 Report Review

Review #8, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap The Marauder's Map

22nd January 2015:
Why couldnít Belle let go of what happened with Sirius, even for just a day?

^ I understand why Belle is angry. I do. And I know she's going to forgive him sooner rather than later but I think the reason she can't let it go like Lily could is because she's not completely open to her feelings. Lily isn't sure she loves James yet but she's aware her feelings for him has grown. He was there for her multiple times and would have reacted horribly to his death if he had not survived their attack.

Belle is barely accepting she likes Sirius. She's still not completely open to the idea of a relationship or something more. They just are. That's it. I just don't think she's at that level yet and I don't think she's as understanding either so it takes her longer to process things.

Alice is amazing. I love her level headedness.

So I've finished reading the chapter and yup, I figured they would make up. I wasn't surprised by the argument but the two of them really need to get communication going. That's how their friendship, their relationship, their whatever is going to work.

I'm yelling at my screen for them to figure it out. COME ON! COME ON LILY! You know you spoke to Alreck (I spell his name wrong each time) at the game and for Slughorn's party. Use that amazing brain of yours. I'm surprised James hasn't accused him either when he was so aware of him before and then there's Peter.

I can't decide what you're doing with Peter. If he's already slipping to the other side you are not making it obvious. Do we know exactly when Peter turned on them? I think it was after Hogwarts but I feel like there should be an inkling there. It's hard because you make him likeable even though he isn't a main component to the story.

Oh, and J, I read your response to one of the chapters. I missed you too! One day I decided to log on and there I was missing what i used to do. it was exciting to be brimming with ideas again but I remember leaving. Real life was difficult and I didn't love writing anymore or Harry Potter. My excitement and passion wasn't there. Then I logged on and read one of Dan's stories and I found myself looking for you as well. I think you should finish the sequel but clearly I'm biased. Ha-ha. Don't do it for me, or for him or for anyone else. You have to do it for yourself because I remember that feeling of just not wanting to go on anymore with my stories. It can be overpowering and upsetting abandoning your writing but it can be thrilling as well.

...And I feel like your ending is going to make me bawl. I'm putting off reading the chapters and going through the rest slowly.

 Report Review

Review #9, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Trouble on the Hogwarts Express

20th January 2015:
Her anger at Sirius was justified but she also doesn't understand his relationship with Regulus. However, I can't see Sirius attacking Regulus. He hates him, yes, but that's his brother. I think if they fought against each other in the war it would be hard on both of them because Regulus did change his mind about the Dark Lord. He cared for Sirius and in turn Sirius cared for Regulus. It was both in their own silent way. I don't think he would have hurt him. I think he would have probably hexed him but he wouldn't have killed him and he wouldn't have done any major damage to him.

Of course if he had gotten to his brother in time and changed his mind earlier and wasn't so prideful they could have had some sort of relationship again.

 Report Review

Review #10, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Christmas Day

20th January 2015:
Swoon. That gift was amazing. I loved the sincerity. That's what I found myself coming back to and thinking about writing in the review. The prank was cute, the interactions and breakfast but the sincerity between Lily and James, and William and everyone else at the table and Mrs. Potter with the girls. That was powerful. It struck a chord with me. They fight darkness with the light, with love. And I think for the most part they don't realize that's what they're doing.

Author's Response: So for about the last six months I've been going back and forth with the desire to come back and finish book two. I've been talking to Dan about it a bit, actually just this morning, and nothing could have made me feel more sure about that decision than seeing these and you and I can't even tell you how my face looked when I saw 'dirty deeds' on the review name!!! I can't wait to take the time to give these reviews a proper reply, but have been in heaven reading each one!!!

IVE MISSED YOU. I can't wait to see what you think about the end of this book!!


 Report Review

Review #11, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Surviving the First Defy

20th January 2015:
Why couldn't Bellatrix just be killed? I mean the way she dies is epic but uh, I hate her. I really do!

That was intense but see I have this inkling feeling the Potter's won't be around much longer. J, why are you doing this to me? I could be wrong. They could die from old age and all the curses that hit them but I don't think so. It's going to be devastating. Really. I felt myself starting to tear up at this chapter.

Especially because and I know this is a small thing but Peter. You make Peter a human here which I appreciate because he was strong, he was part of the pact, but then he wanted something more once they left Hogwarts. I wonder how you'll transition into that because I don't think I've ever seen anyone do that before. He's either omitted from the story or clumsy as heck or Sirius and James are beyond rude to him you can't blame him in other stories for joining the Dark Lord.

 Report Review

Review #12, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Holding On To You

20th January 2015:
Bellatrix, you witch! Grrr...

Honestly, the wedding should have been the calm before the storm but I think Bellatrix appearing and grabbing Lily and threatening to kill them all (because that's what Bella does) was the calm before the storm. This is what they've been waiting for. And what we've been waiting for.

For one, they're going to soon probably find out about Aleck. For another, Dumbledore and Minerva knew (or figured) they would be attacked or it wasn't safe for them. I know two Aurors are there but still. This is the moment that defines for the two of them the war is real and it doesn't matter how old or young you are, they're still coming for you.

If anything I see James now starting to worry about his parents. Are you going to kill his parents? I see it happening towards the end of the story maybe. They're going to get attacked for who they are and for James rejecting the Dark Lord.

I know Belle won't die. At least not yet because she's going to have to be in your sequel and depending on how long you go, she would reunite with Sirius, Remus and Peter. I see her dying after that. I also see her ending up in France for some reason, at least for a little while. Not necessarily with her parents but hiding out.

She'll be completely broken over Alice, Lily, James, and Sirius. When Lily and James die are you going to show Petunia's reaction? That I would LOVE. It would, I think, be filled with pain but also distaste for Harry even though he is only a baby when she gets him.

 Report Review

Review #13, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap When Past Collides With Present

20th January 2015:
ďAs long as it didnít have anything to do with her cooking, I could have all the opinions in the world.Ē

^ HA!

Fantastic chapter. Where do I begin? First, with Sirius trying to reassure Belle that everything would be okay with story he told her that made me giggle a little right there. Or should I talk about her parents?

I was expecting them to curse her. I really was. I actually thought Belle would make it through dinner and then give it to them. I honestly wanted it to be longer because they were just so cold and calculated. To see more of their anger and disgust would have been great. I know Sirius wanted to help her but Belle needed to fight her own battle. I'm glad she did.

And the kiss. One word: HOT.

Now, Vernon the bore. This man just gets more boring as the years go on, doesn't he? And Petunia the terrible. Har-har. I commend James for making it almost through dinner with him. Who needs a car when you can vanish in thin air and go place to place or grab onto a can or whatever and go from one country to the other.

Calling him poor. James is so rich he could take money baths. Of course Vernon is so large it would take James and Sirius's fortune to let him take a money bath.

That was mean, wasn't it?

All well. Oh, and let's talk about Lily thinking about being naked around James. They haven't even been together that long! Makes sense though. Remember when you were a teenager and your emotions seemed right on point and you were convinced this boyfriend and that boyfriend was the one? Of course she doesn't know James is the elusive one but still, shows how young she really is.

 Report Review

Review #14, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap No Turning Back

20th January 2015:
Oh, woah, woah! Belle is opening up to the idea of her and Sirius. Well, well, well that's saucy.

I love the Potters and strong fiery Alice and James and Lily together. Sorry this review is so short. It's hard tapping away on my phone and I secretly want to finish reading this entire story today.

My name is Deeds and I'm addicted to Before They Fall.

 Report Review

Review #15, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Train Rides and Memory Lane

20th January 2015:
I thought the chapter was a bit of a filler but I always enjoy glimpses into the past of Lily and Petunia's relationship. I have a sister and sometimes having a sister is hard. Especially when you're two different people and do not have the same outlook on life. So to see their interactions I can kind of tailor it to my own relationship.

 Report Review

Review #16, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Baby Steps

20th January 2015:
J, I loved the shift here! First, Lily figuring out about Remus. As they say, "Give the girl a silver dollar," for a job well done! It wasn't dramatic, overdone, just perfect. It was what worked in their relationship.

Now, Sirius and Belle. Her feelings for him are growing and I can see why but man. I have to feel bad for them. I know France is going to be horrible for her and Sirius will have her back but I can't shake this feeling that something is going to go terribly wrong. That might also be because of Lily/James and the plan Bellatrix and the rest have set out for them.

Such darkness and sadness in all of their lives and yet they are able to power through. It's like McGonagall said, it doesn't make it easier. They're strong and they have each other. They have the ability to feel different emotions and fight for what is right. Just wish they didn't have to and I think what I've realized from all of this is that they HAD too. They didn't have a choice.

 Report Review

Review #17, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Breaking Curfew

20th January 2015:
I'm actually happy you didn't repeat the conversation with Belle and Sirius even though she told him more than the others. I was more concerned with Sirius's reaction and not hearing it over or seeing her cry again. I'm thrilled with his reaction to it as well. I didn't want that cliche I'll take care of you or he would try to kiss her or comfort her or something out of character. Yeah, Sirius will take care of her. We already know that. But what shakes him to his core is this pureblood purity stuff and parents abusing their children since he experienced that. He had every right to walk away from her because his anger and his hatred and his pain, not even her pain, but his, is very real and volitive.

 Report Review

Review #18, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap A Day for Madness

20th January 2015:
For a second I thought something steamy was going down.

Ha!

I think this was part filler, part the tables are turning on the dark side of things. Clearly they're still at school living their lives so little moments like this, Quidditch, injuries, fleeting conversations are necessary but man sometimes I just wish what was going on, on the other end.

But in your viewpoint. Although I'm sure it's just muggle hating and torture so you wouldn't be able to write 40 chapters on that. I'm getting sidetracked.

Bellatrix is a sicko. She really is. She makes my skin crawl. I think she would have married the Dark Lord if he ever needed to get married. Or she would bare his children if he ever needed children. And that just grosses me out my lunch might come back up.

Shudders to think of the two of them romantically.

I liked how Lily made her decision. It took a small push from her friends but I think she was getting there on her own anyway. Finally though, Lily and James are together. I've realized the focus has sort of shifted from everyone else to them and I guess that's to be expected. Would be nice to see little interactions with Sirius/Belle. I'm sure she's going to tell Sirius her secret soon. Or even more Alice/Frank/Moody.

I just have an Alice/Frank obsession that needs to be filled. You've given me an idea for a one-shot. Shame on you!

 Report Review

Review #19, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Not Just Friends

20th January 2015:
It hadnít been until after heíd removed all the hair that he realized it would only make a difference if he played Quidditch naked.

^ Good golly. I tried to convince my boyfriend to shave his legs too for sports and he is not easily swayed, says he's not a polo swimmer. Haha, I just want him to do it so I can make fun of him. I'm a bad girlfriend.

Anyway, yes! The feels! I found myself beaming as I read this chapter and it happened so...quietly. No loud fireworks or crazy expectations. Heck, I thought they wouldn't get together until chapter twenty or the end at least. I liked this better. It was quiet. It was thought out and James still tried to control himself, as much as a man of his age can.

I thought the conversation they had of "friends" but "not just friends," was a classic. We've all been there trying to DTR our relationships or non-relationships. It was very real. I suppose that's what I'm trying to say. Relateable.

 Report Review

Review #20, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Build Up

20th January 2015:
Oh no! J, why couldn't you spare the owl. Hmph! But Petunia wrote back to her? I'm guessing it's going to be something horrid or maybe it won't be. Or maybe it'll be her telling Lily she's engaged or something and she doesn't want her there. Or that she's been seeing things, odd things, bad things.

Or I'm just looking into this too much because that's what I do.

And uh, Alek. Gross. Seriously, he's a slimy character. Anyway, I thought the potion scene was very well thought out. I actually quite enjoyed reading it! Normally I skim those parts because I can tell you for a fact I would not have been good at potions. I burn everything I cook.

...I still eat it though.

 Report Review

Review #21, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Revelations

20th January 2015:
supporters of the Dark Lordís in Easter Europe

^ pretty sure you mean Eastern unless the Death Eater's like to celebrate easter. With those little marshmallows that are shaped like bunnies, oh peeps! And they wear bonnets and...I'm going to stop myself there.

So the hint you gave us in the last chapter I was right sort of. I never think of miscarriage because I just don't like to think about it. I know too many people that have experienced that in real life so it was heart breaking to read her story here. I think because I guessed she was pregnant in the last chapter it didn't impact me as much like other scenes have, which is fine with me to be completely honest.

 Report Review

Review #22, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Hogsmeade

20th January 2015:
Finally a chapter without bawling my eyes out. I have to stop reading now but I'll pick this up again later. Oh the feels! I just love their love even though they aren't in love exactly yet.

Was Belle pregnant? That's what I'm thinking. Or she hurt someone. I'm trying to figure out. I'm pretty sure you told me before but I have a bad memory! It wouldn't surprise me if she was. I'm interested in what route you're going to go. I could be completely wrong but her reaction to what was happening revealed a little something something.

The attraction between Belle and Sirius is obvious. They like each other. Great. But for some reason I don't see them together. I just don't. Obviously Sirius wouldn't care about whatever it is she is hiding but I don't think she's ever going to be able to let it go.

 Report Review

Review #23, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap The Order

20th January 2015:
There was never a thing wrong with extra precautions.

^ That sounds kind of off to me. Doesn't read well.

Oh Minnie! I'm still a little emotional from the last chapter I might have to take a break and stop reading but I really don't want to. Poor Minnie, calling her Gryffindors her children. You know I think the way you captured Dumbledore is perfect because he changed after the first war. Lily and James were dead, Sirius was in Azkaban, Peter was a traitor (though no one knew), Remus was barely living and all these other students of his were dead but there was no option to not fight. So he had to protect Harry. That's why I think he was so adamant about him trying to stay out of everything from the beginning and even when he started Hogwarts. He was just a young boy whose life could have easily ended any number of times. Lily, James, etc, they're still young as well. Like she said, they're children but in both generations they were all forced to grow up too quickly. I think he did a better job of trying to protect their son and the rest of the students the second time because he knew more of what he was dealing with.

 Report Review

Review #24, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Constant Vigilance

20th January 2015:
More than a few glistened with the tears that often fell when you realized that life doesnít care whether youíre ready to grow or not.

^ You have me on an emotional roller coaster. I cried from that point on even though the letter from the Potter's made me chuckle and Moody. I just can't seem to handle this story! I think you're the first person to ever convince me of this time period. You and I both know I write (or did write) mostly humor. Ridiculous things half the time but this, this is fantastic. It's everything I would want for Lily and James (and of course the others) story. I feel like I know them, is that weird? As if I'm making a connection to them. They're real and I think that's amazing because I've never really been convinced of Lily in fan fiction. She's always so snooty and rude to James and James is always so beyond extra it makes it hard to see them together at times. This story creates that for me.

 Report Review

Review #25, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap One of Theirs

20th January 2015:
So many emotions. I think I'm just completely worn out from this chapter and the last I can't even begin to imagine how you wrote either. I don't even want to touch on Frank, Alice and Augusta because thinking of them makes me too sad.

So instead I'll talk about Bellatrix and how you completely creep me out. One minute i'm crying. The next I'm laughing. While others I want to hide behind my covers and speed read because that girl is dark. Your imagery had me shaking. That's a compliment to your skill but not good on my end. It's a good thing I'm reading this in the morning. You and Dan like to creep me out when it comes to Bellatrix.

Give me nightmares.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>