Reading Reviews for Before They Fall
  
888 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Gauti The Force That Drives Us

5th December 2014:
This indeed is the best piece of fanfic I hv had the pleasure of reading. Only wanted to say that it would be icing on the cake if u continued the sequel(as darkness descends). It appears as if u hv not posted in 2014. Pls start posting soon. It really feels bad when one awaits eagerly for the story but no update about it is received. Hoping to continue the journey forward.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Tris  How To Love You

24th November 2014:
Yup. I love this chapter particularly much! This was sooo cute! When James said that guys weren't made to have so many feelings I literally burst out laughing! This was so cute and I like that you (so far at least) are making this the way I would expect Lilly and James to be when they were togather. They don't go on and off, they don't REALLY upset each other, they are perfect. loving this so much!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Tris  Train Rides and Memory Lane

24th November 2014:
Gosh,mi love the Murauders. Every tome I read one though I can't help but be sad about Lilly and James, it was nit enough time for them. I am TRULY enjoying your story and even though I am home sick for the day there is nothing I would rather do right now than curl up and read this story. Also I am really loving the depth with Bella, the cute potter family, the backstory of petunia and Lilly and just all of the dynamics you have created. This is a story masterfully pieced togather, and I am really excited to read on!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Capudoeza The Force That Drives Us

22nd November 2014:
I love this story. I hope you continue with book 2

 Report Review

Review #5, by Cannons The Force That Drives Us

7th November 2014:
Hi,

Words are something that I am struggling with at the moment, but I want to say this is one of the best stories I have come across on here and the amount of talent you have is unreal.

 Report Review

Review #6, by dancingflower Sirius Black

18th October 2014:
Hello dear,
First, I wanted to congrat you on your award for this story. I think you totally deserve as it is one of my favorite fiction ever (and believe me, I've read a lot).
Then, I wanted to ask you something. I am a French Potterhead and I think you deserve to be read here in France. So I wanted to know if it would be possible for me to translate your story in Frnech and to publish it on a blog (with giving you all the credits of course). Please, let me know if you allow me to do so

Keep going, you're amazing
Marie

 Report Review

Review #7, by Emily Evington The Force That Drives Us

20th September 2014:
Dear Jchrissy, So I'm not used to writing reviews (as this is my first review) I just finished your story and it was absolutely amazing! Well written and very addictive, and I don't cry often when reading, but I cried when I read this. Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #8, by whisky The Force That Drives Us

12th August 2014:
I just want to say I'm obsessed and you're brilliant. I was too addicted to write reviews for every chapter cuz I had to get to the next. Can't wait to go look at more of your stuff!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Allison The Force That Drives Us

27th July 2014:
Excellent Story. I loved the foreshadowing into events that Rowling writes in her books.

 Report Review

Review #10, by PinkRose The Force That Drives Us

22nd July 2014:
Thank you for the fantastic story

 Report Review

Review #11, by PinkRose A Servant's Attack

21st July 2014:
I must say, I read this chapter with my heart lifting and falling as I heard the various characters express plans for the future that due to J.K. Rowlings stories we know can't entirely come true. It's beautiful that you've given a life to these characters that technically didn't exist. It was beautiful to read and imagine the things they went through at Hogwarts (thus far) and I can't wait to see the rest!

 Report Review

Review #12, by PinkRose Trouble on the Hogwarts Express

19th July 2014:
Lovely, I love the way you write. I can feel the emotions and the tensions building like tides.

 Report Review

Review #13, by PinkRose Christmas Day

19th July 2014:
This chapter was so cute. Made my heart feel all melty and that's been rather difficult as of late

 Report Review

Review #14, by Maddy The Order

18th July 2014:
I couldn't handle the feels when I realized that Lily and James's deaths were the boiling point that led to the end of the war (their deaths caused Voldemort's spell to rebound off Harry). I don't know if you were intentionally foreshadowing but I thought it was a great bittersweet moment

 Report Review

Review #15, by TheMaraudersBabe The Picture of Friendship

18th July 2014:
I love that you make up your own spells. It really adds both a personal touch and realism because there certainly would have been a spell like that in a world full of witches and wizards. Props to you for (1) looking the words up to make it sound legitimate and (2) for being brave enough to throw your own twist into the Harry Potter universe. Then again, I suppose that's what every fanfiction writer does. However, you do it exceptionally well! I'm loving it. xo.

 Report Review

Review #16, by TheMaraudersBabe Secrets Surrounding Us

18th July 2014:
I thought that you did a good job of writing Dumbledore! I don't know why you worried. I usually very much enjoy reading your chapters [even though it's been a while for me]. xo.

 Report Review

Review #17, by PinkRose Hogwarts Express

17th July 2014:
As of late I have been reading a lot of Draco/Hermione stories. I know this one is completed, but I had to let you know that so far I am truly enjoying it. The way you have vocalized the imagery of the house, and the train is fantastic!

 Report Review

Review #18, by ferruacia Not Just Friends

13th July 2014:
I enjoy your novel, but this couldn`t just slip past my eyes.
"Sure, they may not look a day over fifty, but the truth was that they were nearing their eighties."
Unless James`s mother gave birth to him in her 60`s, your calculations are nowhere near correct.

Author's Response: It's actually a canon fact that James's parents (or mom, I guess) gave birth very late in life :)! And with wizards life span being substantially longer than muggles, 60's is probably on the 'young' end of the spectrum. I'm so happy you're enjoying this, and I hope that clears it up!

Jami


 Report Review

Review #19, by nott theodore The Force That Drives Us

12th July 2014:
Hi, Jami! ♥

I can't believe that I've finally got to the end of this story. I know I started reading it much later on than most people did and then kept getting dragged away but it's still been in my mind for such a long time that I kind of didn't expect it to end. I know you've got a few chapters of the sequel up so I'll be heading straight to those but I just wanted to say thank you for sharing this story with us, first of all. It's so beautiful and such a great story and I love what you've written.

This was such a devastating chapter. I had tears in my eyes again as I thought of Belle being buried and the fact that she was torn from them, and she wouldn't be with them anymore. It's just so, so unfair but then I suppose that's what this war is. And more of them will suffer - all of them, in fact - from now on. There's no happy ending.

I was really glad that her sister came to the funeral, though. At least someone made an effort even if she hadn't helped her enough when she was alive. But it was still great.

The grief and emotion were beautifully told in this chapter. So raw, especially with Sirius - like it was radiating from the screen. Belle has left a massive hole in all of their lives that won't ever be filled.

I loved the way that you ended this. A lot of stories have these characters joining the Order while they're still in school and being told all about it but I liked the way that Belle's death prompted their decision to fight - removed all of the doubt there. Now they've got something which is possibly even harder to face but I'm looking forward to it!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #20, by nott theodore Forever Frozen In Time

12th July 2014:
So many tears and feels right now.

Oh my goodness. From the start of this chapter I was getting worried about what would happen, because the chapter title wasn't exactly promising something happy. But I thought that if this was going to happen, then it would be in the sequel, and not this early on! They only just left Hogwarts and everything was so happy and hopeful for the future, with all the friends together and the beginnings of their relationships and now I'm just a little bit heartbroken because I can't believe that you did that.

(Also it's very possible this review is incoherent but I can't help that, it's entirely your fault for being so mean with this story :P)

I loved the nostalgic and almost melancholic feel as they left Hogwarts. They've been there for seven years so of course it's difficult to leave, especially when the world they're going to is so uncertain. I loved the friendship staying through this though, and Belle's plan to get Sirius's inheritance back - I'm so glad it worked! Actually, I noticed now there are a lot more Belle and Sirius moments in this chapter and it's so sad but sweet that they had them.

Poor, poor Belle. I can't believe she had to suffer the way she did for saving her friends' lives. And then Sirius. It was so upsetting reading from his perspective at the end. I can't believe it happened but I'm going to read on and hope it didn't...

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #21, by nott theodore A Test of Wills

12th July 2014:
Hi again, Jami!

Oh wow, what a chapter. This was so dramatic and I wasn't expecting the year to end this way for them at all - I just didn't expect there to be something like a Death Eater attack while they were doing their final exams at Hogwarts. But I suppose that it's all another reminder of how much of an effect the war has on the world and even those inside the walls of Hogwarts aren't always safe.

I liked the touch of Lily still saying good luck to Snape before they went into the exams, though. And then when they got in there I thought that the examiner was acting strangely, but I hadn't expected that there'd be an attempted attack on them in the school! I'm so glad they were able to avert it, and how cute the result was! Lily has shown James that her Patronus is the partner to his and they belong together!

Oh no, that final part of the chapter was absolutely terrifying. This was part of the test that Bellatrix had set for the new recruits, right? What's going to happen to Belle? I'm so worried now!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #22, by nott theodore The Last Match

12th July 2014:
Hi Jami!

I really liked the Order meeting at the beginning of this chapter - it's so nice that we can get a bigger picture of all that's going on with the war and we're seeing it from both sides in this story. It's impressive the way that you're able to handle so many plotlines and bring everything together like that. The only suggestion I'd make is during the meeting, there's one point when you refer to Marlene as 'Miss McKinnon' in the narrative, which felt a bit out of place when everyone else is called by first names. But I liked the reminder that they're just children and the moral dilemma that comes with it - do they involve someone that young in the war?

I really enjoyed reading the build up to the match and the match itself as well. It's great that Lily and Belle will have a flat in the same building as the boys! And I loved reading the match - of course, the fact that Gryffindor just one the Quidditch Cup made it even better! The ending was great though, because I thought that it was a good reminder of the way that Lily's been affected by all the recent events, I'm just glad that James was there for her! ♥

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #23, by nott theodore Lily's Creation

12th July 2014:
Hi Jami!

Bellatrix's return to this was so terrifying. Seriously, I don't know how you manage to write her so well, but it really does chill me to the bone when I'm reading the sections about her, especially the sections when she's alone. I actually feel a bit sorry for the prospective Death Eaters now that I know that she's the one setting the test. You just capture her so well, though - her inherent sense of superiority and the devotion for Voldemort. Also, I'm starting to seriously worry about Belle. Should I be worrying about Belle? Jami, please don't do anything to Belle!

It was so great to see Lily returning to being herself and starting to get over some of the things that have happened to her - she's been through so much in less than twelve months and it's nice to know she's got such great friends to keep her on track. I loved Belle's out-spokenness in this chapter and the way James noticed Sirius behaved around her. The part when Lily brewed the potion was actually really interesting, and I loved the detail that you put into it - there was so much there and it was quite soothing to read about something calmer!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #24, by nott theodore Accepting and Understanding

12th July 2014:
Hi Jami!

After all that you've put me through emotionally with the last few chapters, I'm kind of glad that this one was a bit slower and less action-packed, because I'm not sure how much of it I'd be able to take! Accepting and Understanding was a great chapter title for what went on here, though.

I'm so glad that Lily's slowly recovering from her ordeal, and I liked the fact that you showed how it had not only affected her, but Sirius as well, and because of that he was now being even more protective of Belle. The meeting with Dumbledore and McGonagall was well written and I loved the fact that all of the friends turned up, even though they hadn't all been invited. The news of Alrek's death - and Professor Genov's - was shocking for them and it's showing them how far reaching this war is, and the extent to which the enemy are prepared to go.

I liked the fact that James has realised he needs to give Lily her space, even if he doesn't want to have to leave her alone. Sirius isn't quite there yet and I'm not sure he will be because of his personality. The talk between Remus and Lily was sweet, though, and I think that he was the best person to go and talk to her after all of it. Another fantastic chapter!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #25, by nott theodore A Servant's Attack

12th July 2014:
Hi Jami!

You're seriously making my hearts race so much with these chapters, I'm not sure how much more I can handle it. But then I'm pretty sure that with the last few chapters that are in store I'm going to be suffering too.

Alrek was just so... evil, in this chapter. It was honestly scary to read the way that he was treating Lily and how determined he was to kill her; the only good thing is that (if this can be considered good in any way) he didn't try and kill Lily straight away, because it gave her a chance to call for help. I'm so glad that she got James that snitch now and that she was able to communicate what was happening! The way that you wrote those short sections and cut between them quickly worked really well to build up all the tension - I'm just so glad that they were able to get to her and save her!

The end section with Alrek was so chilling. There's no mercy at all in the Death Eater ranks and I almost felt sorry for Alrek - he was still so young and desperate to prove himself, but then he's suffered the worst fate possible because of it.

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>