Reading Reviews for Sketches & Broken Boats
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ginerva_molly_weasley Sketches And Broken Boats

18th October 2012:
This is such a cute little one shot.

I love the idea of Alice being really creative and just the whole idea of her being beside the lake whilst Frank comes up to her is just cute overload!

The getting them to fix the boat together is super sweet and its just like 'awh'!

There's a slight typo in there when you say 'tom' instead of 'to' but its not really a big thing that I noticed.

Well done this is amazing!

Author's Response: Thank you!

Fralice is such a cute and good ship. I'm glad you liked it.

Woops, thanks for pointing that out. I'll fix it up!
Jasmine, x


 Report Review

Review #2, by CherryBoom Sketches And Broken Boats

17th October 2012:
Hi! I'm here for the review. =)

I really liked that you didn't rush their relationship in this fic. It feels more natural that way, plus considering how mellow Neville is, it's quite likely that their relationship was very easygoing and not filled with drama. You managed to bring out some Neville's qualities in both his parents (losing the boat and Alice's embarrassment) which were really nice details.

What puzzled me was that you didn't give us any clue (apart from the CI) about Frank's appearance. Considering how sparse the descriptions were, you could add some to make this fic more vivid.

There were some misspelled words, but all things considering your writing was smooth and it was enjoyable to read it.

I would have liked to know how Frank managed to break the boat, that storyline was left undiscovered in this fic.

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you; I always have it in my head that Fralice (that is, Frank/Alice) were very a laid back couple - the couple that everyone wanted to be.

That's a good idea; maybe I'll go through and edit it one day. Thank you for such a good review!

Jasmine, x


 Report Review

Review #3, by apocalypse Sketches And Broken Boats

19th May 2012:
Aw, that was so sweet! And cute! I really liked the way you wrote this one-shot! It was short but still, you were able to capture that perfect moment of Frank and Alice. I haven't read much of them, butI really liked this one! The last words were very beautifully written too! :) Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you! Neither have I, which was I wrote this. People always need more Fralice in their lives!! Thank you!

Jas, x


 Report Review

Review #4, by naughtforreal Sketches And Broken Boats

16th May 2012:
That was...fluffy. I like it. Keep up the great work. :)

Author's Response: Thanks :) That was the whole purpose of the story :P Thank you!

Jas


 Report Review

Review #5, by ariellem Sketches And Broken Boats

6th May 2012:
AW! I knew I was going to like this story as soon as I saw that it was Frank/Alice. They are such an adorable underloved pairing.

I thought you had a very original idea with it being a broken boat that brought them together. And the whole story was very cute and sweet.

Author's Response: Fralice is amazing! I shall thank the website-that-shall-not-be-named for that shipping :D

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #6, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Sketches And Broken Boats

1st May 2012:
"Ah, no," he said, "we will not be using magic to fix this boat. We'll be using good ol' fashioned muscle." Alice was shocked.

^ That's one way to attract a girl! Oh, Frank. I've never read a Frank/Alice story before. This was really cute. I thought it was original that they searched for a boat...a broken one nonetheless. It was a different setting than I'm normally used to and different characters. How refreshing! I just wish it was a little bit longer though. :D

Author's Response: I know! Frank is practically my dream man. I've never read a Fralice story either but the website that shall not be named introduced me to this fabulous OTP (and many others ships) Thakn you! Yeah, I'm writing another Fralice one-shot and that one is a bit longer. I just kind of wrote this in my spare time :P

Thanks!
Jas


 Report Review

Review #7, by pennyardelle Sketches And Broken Boats

25th April 2012:
Aww, that was a short and sweet one-shot. I saw that MercyWaters had recommended this story in her blog, and Alice/Frank is a ship that interests me, so I came on over to read and review. Their rapport in this story was kind of reminiscent of James/Lily (which I love, so that's a good thing, in my mind).

Also, I have to ask, because I'm curious--is "broke" a British slang word for "steal"? It has a neat sound to it, and I've never read it before. :)

Author's Response: She did? Yay! Thank you! Frank&Alice has always interested me (thanks to the website that shall not be named haha) Thank you! James&Lily are so bittersweet!!

I don't think so. I meant literally a broken boat but it had also been stolen :/ haha

Jas


 Report Review

Review #8, by MercyWaters Sketches And Broken Boats

24th April 2012:
Oh my gosh, this was so cute! At first I was a bit hesitant on reading this, since I saw it was only 800 some odd words, but I'm glad I did! It was absolutely adorable. I loved the interaction between Alice and Frank, it was so sweet! And I think it's adorable that Frank loses things, just like Neville. :') Even though we never got to meet them in the books, I've always pictured them as a really sweet, cute couple. Your story fulfilled that image I had in my mind wonderfully.

One question I have--why is her maiden name Prewett? Is this canon and I just wasn't aware? Because that happens to be Molly Weasley's maiden name, before she married Arthur. Is this a coincidence, or intentional?

Once again, loved the story! :)

Bri, xx

Author's Response: THank you! Yeah, the length of the story has been mentioned a lot but I couldn't really help that. It's just a story that I wrote in my spare time that had no real mean or rhyme :P

Frank and Alice are so cute! I absolutly adore the ship. Haha, I tried to make Frank like Neville a bit (like father, like son) Thank you!

Ah, yes, I don't know why but her last name has always been Prewett. My headcanon is that she is Molly's cousin with the same last name :P

Thank you!
Jas


 Report Review

Review #9, by Cavell Sketches And Broken Boats

24th April 2012:
Ah - this was such a sweet one-shot that made me smile. I loved the fact that Alice could never resist a dare, I love how Frank wanted to use muscle not magic, gah, I loved everything about this. It was a little bit short, and had a couple of grammar mistakes, but not too much as to distract you. All in all, a sweet, fluffy one-shot that I quite enjoyed. Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you! NO ONE CAN RESIST A DARE!

Thank you! Frank is my dream man. Yeah, sorry about the length I couldn't really write any more for this story and It was only a story that I wrote in my spare time with no real meaning or rhyme to it :P

Thank you!
Jas


 Report Review

Review #10, by ScorpiusRose17 Sketches And Broken Boats

24th April 2012:
Hi there!

I am here with your review!

This was very cute. I loved the fluff. It wasn't overwhelming.

I thought you did a great job portraying Alice and Frank. They are both very quiet and kind people and I think that you did a wonderful job bringing that out of the both of them. Alice is very demanding of herself with her sketches. I thought that they were both unique, but also kept along the lines of the Alice and Frank that we all know and love. I also liked that he dared her. Hahahahaha what a way to go there! =)

I did notice a couple of typos. The one that stood out the most was when Alice was talking and instead of saying too she said tom. Just something to watch for. Other than that I didn't see anything major. I am not strong with grammar, but I also didn't notice anything that I know that I understand about it being off either.

I thought that the pace of this story was well done for a One-shot. I felt like you captured the moment well. Also, I really liked the ending. I thought it was sweet and gave us details about the story beyond what you wrote since we know that they get together, but I thought it was a nice touch.

Overall, this was a very well done One-shot and I love Alice and Frank. I was pleased to see how it turned out and I really love the title. It just adds to the Alice and Frank cuteness.

Keep up the great writing! =)

Author's Response: Hi!

Thank you! I'm glad I've done a good job writing fluff and that I didn't over-do it (I think I might write more fluff, it's refreshing not having to destroy my favourite characters lives :/)

Thank you! I always assumed that Neville was more like his dad then his mother so I attempted to put a bit of Neville in Frank (not sure if they came across) Thank you! Haha, dares are always good; no matter what age you are!

Typos! Oh no! I'll fix them up as soon as possible! Thank you for letting me know!

Thank you!
Jas


 Report Review

Review #11, by CypressQueen Sketches And Broken Boats

23rd April 2012:
Hi.
I think this story has a really good plot and is really well written. I only found one spelling mistake and that was

Id love tom but first we have to get the thing fixed. She pulled out her wand but Frank stopped her." I think you mean to not tom. Maybe instead of the you could use this.

In the beginning Frank says "yes, a boat. You see, I broke it two nights ago and left it by The Rock but I cant seem to..."
But later on in the last paragraph you refer to The Rock as the rocks. I would just keep it as the rocks as they probably wouldn't be named.

I think you did really well on fluffness. I find the story really sweet. I don't think you need to elaborate that much on the ending, but you could maybe put in something like "and long after they had graduated from Hogwarts, they still kept coming to their special place at the rocks."

I was curious on why you chose Prewett as Alice's last name as it would mean that she was related to Molly Weasley and her family. Maybe she was a cousin of Molly's as Sirius Black says that all the old pure-blooded family's are related.

I don't think you need to worry about your story's length as less is often more. I really enjoyed everything and I thought that you portrayed Alice and Frank Longbottom. You don't know much about them in the books but you wrote them, very much as I had imagined them.

Hope this helps.
~CypressQueen~

Author's Response: Hey!

Thank you! Oh a spelling mistake! *goes and hides in a corner* thank you for pointing that out, I'll be sure to fix it! Thank you! Ah, more mistakes! I should really proof read my stories before I publish them :P *headdesk*

Thank you! I'm not used to writing fluff (I usually write angst, angst and more angst for the topping) so I'm glad you thought I'd do well!

Yeah, to me that's just always been her last name so yeah to me, she's Molly's sister. JK never really told us Alice's last maiden name so we fans had to guess :P

Thank you and yes, it helped a lot!
Jas


 Report Review

Review #12, by SJC Sketches And Broken Boats

21st April 2012:
Awww :) This is a very sweet story about two people who get highly neglected in fanfics. Good job!

Author's Response: Thank you! I know, I've never read any Fralice stories before so I thought, 'what the hell, i'm gonna write one!'

Thank you!
Jas


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login