Reading Reviews for To Snog a Prefect
  
57 Reviews Found

Review #1, by gred_and_forge Backwards

5th October 2013:
Team Oliver!!! I know you're probably going to put Lucie and Percy together in the end, but I have always loved Ollie and find myself always on his side.
Please update soon!

Author's Response: So glad to know you're enjoying the story! I'm planning to update soon; hope I haven't lost you as a reader with my horrendous updating skills. ):

 Report Review

Review #2, by gred_and_forge Lull

5th October 2013:
"It doesn't exist, and the Hufflepuffs just camp out in the grounds." I actually laughed so hard at that. By the way, in case you don't know, the Hufflepuff common room is concealed by a group of barrels lying in a corner somewhere near the kitchens (at least I think it's by the kitchens; I could be wrong.)
Much enjoying the story!

Author's Response: Haha, thanks! And yeah the Hufflepuff common room is by the kitchens, which in my opinion makes it the best house. x) Sorry for the super late response!

 Report Review

Review #3, by gred_and_forge Secrets

5th October 2013:
Hey there, I really love the plot bunny ;) and your writing style is beautiful. I just thought I'd drop a review before continuing on; I'm really enjoying it so far!!!

Author's Response: Thank you; I appreciate your read and review! :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Voldy Needs a Hug Secrets

13th August 2013:
Hello! It's Voldy Needs a Hug here with your (very late) review.

I've taken the time to read some of your other pieces, and this is, by far, my favorite. I have to admit, this is the first Percy/OC pairing that I've read. My initial reservations regarding the pairing have disappeared after reading this chapter, and I'm starting to develop a liking for the pairing (thanks to you).

I was immediately drawn in by your summary, which immediately caught my attention. Your originality is commendable. Percy is rarely portrayed in a positive light, both in the Harry Potter series and here on the archives. Therefore, it was a pleasant change to see him featured in a romantic comedy. You have done an excellent job with Percy's characterization, retaining many of his qualities from the books while simultaneously slipping in a few of your own. Additionally, your characterization of Luce was also flawless. She seems well-developed, realistic, and relatable. Hm, do I sense a love triangle about to emerge?

I was very impressed by how fluidly the events flowed from one to the next. The plot moved along quickly, holding my attention throughout the entire chapter. There were a few minor spelling and grammatical errors which several other reviewers have already pointed out, so I won't go into specifics. A beta reader might be helpful to catch these minor errors.

Overall, I loved this chapter, and I think you are an amazing writer! Regardless of whether or not you rerequest, I will be returning at some point to continue reading. Spectacular job!

10/10

Author's Response: Thank you for this thoughtful review! Sorry my reply is so late; this is my first time on this site since I requested the review...ugh, life. But I really appreciate your comments and compliments and am flattered to know that you enjoyed my story!

 Report Review

Review #5, by KatsClarinet Backwards

23rd April 2013:
YAY! An update! Admittedly it has been awhile since I've checked...but I'm super glad to see you have not abandoned the story!

I'm definitely Team Percy. There are entirely too many Oliver Wood fanfics out there, and rarely love for Percy. Though, to be fair, Oliver does sound rather dishy. :)

Author's Response: So, so sorry for the late response! And even though it's been over a month (or two, ahem) since I've updated, I promise I'm not abandoning this story! Thank you for this wonderful review, and all the others you've left. I'm so, so happy to have you as a reader!

 Report Review

Review #6, by meowcowpow Backwards

23rd April 2013:
Still a fan! Definitely team Percy. Even if he's keeping his feelings to himself. This story actually made me realize that he's not a complete robot. :) Keep up the GREAT work. You are brilliant!

Author's Response: Ahh yay, a convert to the Percy fan club! Thank you for this lovely review; it made me smile. :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Emily Emma England Backwards

18th April 2013:
Team Percy, definitely Percy. Lucie makes him lighter and more of a daredevil and it's a good thing.
I hope your life is going well and you will manage in uploading another chapter soon.

Author's Response: A new member to the Percy fan club, yay! And I agree, Lucie's very good for him. He's not such a butthead when she's around, haha. I'll try my best to update soon. Thank you for this lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Flaming Seeker Backwards

18th April 2013:
Team Percy al the way. Oliver sounds like bad news, I never really liked him (even though his accent is incredible) but still. Really excited to see how Percy's gonna cope with all of this. O.o
Keep writing, you're really good! (don't let anyone tell you any different)

Author's Response: Yay for Team Percy! But I do love Oliver too. Thank you so, so, so much for your compliment about my writing; it's what I want to do with my life so I'm really flattered you like it. This was a lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Kira Comfort

18th April 2013:
This story is wonderful. Sorry, I got so wrapped up in things, that I didn't even think to leave a review until now! You capture Percy's character very well, in fact, I feel like I'm understanding him loads better than I did when I just read the HP books. In fact...he's a little sexy. (Don't tell him I said that.) You've really flushed out his character here which I love, and I find Lucie endearing and fun as well. This is a great read, thanks for writing!

Author's Response: Aw don't worry, I'm so happy with just one review! And yay, I'm glad you like how I've portrayed Percy. He IS sexy, lol. In that nerdy, pretentious, yet adorable kind of way. I'm happy you like Luce as well. Thank you for taking the time to read and review!

 Report Review

Review #10, by WumpsQuill Backwards

17th April 2013:
I am strictly Team Percy on the basis that stories are never written about him (because really, who could not love Oliver more?). Now if only he could get his head out of his butt and realize that they belong together. I absolutely adore this story :) Keep up the writing! Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Hooray for Team Percy! That boy needs more lovin'. But yes, his head is indeed in his butt. His actions have been frustrating me lately; which I guess is my own fault but at the same time the boy is so stubborn he pretty much writes himself. I'm so glad to hear you like my story. :) I'll try my best to update soon!

 Report Review

Review #11, by poor_old_snuffles Backwards

16th April 2013:
OMG YOU HAVE NO IDEA HOW HAPPY YOU HAVE MADE ME TODAY!!! I was online on my phone on the bus this morning and I saw this had been updated and just starting grinning like a lunatic (probably scared a few people nearby, too) xD

I'm so happy Oliver and Lucie are together (since, as I'm sure you know, I'm very much an Oliver fan haha) and I loved their date and the flashback to Lucie's crush (silly Oliver for not asking her out back then! Ugh, boys! ;D), but at the same time I just want Percy to admit he loves her and throw himself at her and for them to get together! Gah! It's things like that last paragraph that really make me want some Percy/Lucie action to return, as much as I love Ollie xD

Sooo many amazing lines in this chapter, but here are just a few :)

'With nothing more than a crooked smile and a Quaffle save, Oliver Wood stole hearts.'

"What are you talking about? He looks at you all the time. He's got to when he talks to you, doesn't he?"

"The right time has come and gone, and then doubled back and left again."

'much to Percy's chagrin when he'd apprehend Alicia and me in the corridors and we'd pull out the never-failing "female problems" card faster than he could pull out a detention slip'

"Neither. Usually the Quidditch store is my date."

And the bit with her friends getting overexcited about Olcie/Luliver was so funny, too xD

Once again, my review is kind of crazy (I blame the continued Oliver-or-Percy fight in my brain), so I apologise, but I'm just so happy there was a new chapter for me to review that I don't care if I look like a nutter :D Please update soon!! Though your chapters are always worth waiting for, I do believe I might suffer from serious withdrawal if you don't update again soon ;)

Author's Response: YAY YOU'RE STILL HERE! In all honesty, I really like writing Lucie and Oliver together. They're just so freaking adorable, ugh. And Percy's been kind of a butthead lately, don't you think? I'm pretty sure stubbornness is a Weasley trait. I'll try my best to update soon; I'm currently editing all chapters so I want to get that done first. Ahh yay, this review made me smile so wide my flatmates probably looked at me weird too! :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Lululuna Backwards

15th April 2013:
Team Percy! Of course.

I liked this chapter and how you tied in the Sirius Black situation and quotes from PoA. Very cleverly done! :) I wish the scene between Percy and Luce could have been a bit longer, though. Also, I seen to have developed a firm distaste for Penelope.. hmm.

Oh, and I also thought the section about Luce's friends fantasizing about their future marriage very funny. "They seem more like Krup people..." too good!

Can't wait for the next chapter! :)

Author's Response: Yay, another successful convert to the Percy fan club!!! Whew, I'm glad you like the tie-in with the Sirius Black situation; it was difficult to write. And don't worry, I don't like Penelope either haha.

Her friends' dialogue was my favorite part to write!

Thank you thank you; your reviews are awesome. :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Lululuna Break

15th April 2013:
What a great chapter! I enjoyed the panic the team felt when Oliver kept them waiting, it was very understandable due to his Quidditch obsession, and rather entertaining. Again, I absolutely love how the twins especially come across in this story!

The explanation about why Percy and Oliver are such good friends is very believable. They are both extremely ambitious, so I'd expect them to either clash or to get along well and support each other. Also, I'm guessing that Percy broke things off with Luce because Oliver confessed to liking her? So noble of him!

Luce's reaction to Percy breaking things off with her was very believable and my heart went out to her. Still, I think that Percy still likes her, although the Penelope Clearwater thing throws in an interesting twist. I like how the characters aren't idealized: they're real, imperfect people, who sometimes make fools out of themselves and go after people who don't like them in return. It's very believable, which is great! :)

I can't wait to find out what Luce replies to Oliver! Keep up the amazing story! :)

Author's Response: Yay, another review from you! It's nice to hear you think my reasoning for their friendship is believable; it's hard to make that come across especially since so many stories have them hating each other. And ahh, you're making me blush about what you said of the characters! Thank you so much for the taking the time to review! :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Lululuna Comfort

15th April 2013:
I'm definitely now pulled into this story!!! Percy and Luce are so cute, though it seems like there might be something going on with Oliver, too... hmm. I'm curious to see how it will all go down, and I sense somebody getting hurt in the future (after a great deal of snogging, of course).

I also liked how Percy is kept very true to character and Luce is constantly reminding us what a prat he is. In fact, all of the characters are very well portrayed-Fred and George and their mischievous antics come across nicely, as well as Oliver's status as the dictator of Quidditch.

Also, this was in a past chapter, but I really enjoyed the description of Harry playing Quidditch. I could totally imagine him as he was in third year: quiet, a bit of a wallflower, and a dutiful player at Quidditch practice. So that was really nicely written! :)

I also quite appreciate your writing style: the story is very well formatted, if that makes any sense. I like how you'll have a long description, then a one-line statement from Luce to break up the action. For example: "He may not have looked it, but Percy Weasley was one hell of a good snog." It definitely adds to the charm of the story, so well done!

Oh, and congrats on getting asked to prom by the guy you like! (actually I'm not sure when this story was posted, so perhaps said prom was ages in the past, but that's exciting nonetheless :P) Anyway, I'll keep reading now!

Author's Response: Thank you for this lovely, lovely review! I'm glad you think I kept the canon in character, especially Percy. He's definitely a difficult one; a lot of people don't really notice but he's very multi-layered and complex. And thank you so much for the compliment on my writing style! It's what I want to do with my life, so it really means a lot. :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by Flaming Seeker Break

16th March 2013:
Team Oliver all the way! I'm really excited to read what happens next!!!

Author's Response: As you've said, the plot thickens...I'll be updating soon! I have the next chapter mostly written. I just keep procrasting...woops.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Flaming Seeker Fireworks

16th March 2013:
The plot thickens!!!

Author's Response: Your reviews are very entertaining!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Flaming Seeker Lull

16th March 2013:
Hm, Percy, Oliver and Nolan?? The plot thickens

Author's Response: Dun dun dun... Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by Flaming Seeker Comfort

16th March 2013:
This story is making me think of Percy in a completely different light, that takes skill! You're a really good writing, please dont stop writing!!

Author's Response: Ah yay! Dare I say you're a convert to the Percy fan club? And thank you so much for the comment on my writing; it means the world to me. :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by Flaming Seeker Secrets

16th March 2013:
I loved the beginning of this, i'm really excited to read the rest!! Just a comment, i was really confused for the first part, so try to be a little more clear when doing something like that, but overall it was cool!

Author's Response: Thanks for the CC! I'll keep it in mind when I do edits. Glad you like the story!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Siriusly89 Why

12th March 2013:
Hi! Siriusly89 here with your (very late!) requested review! Sorry, its just RL is crazy as of late,

ANYWAY:

I have to admit, I am one of those people who, ahem, strongly disliked Percy from the fifth book to the seventh, but before that I always loved him and his pompousness, and that is truly why I am enjoying this novel so much!

And lets face it, the poor bloke had to watch his brother, who he hadn't talked to in two/three years DIE right in front of him, and go around for the rest of his life knowing that he missed out on talking to Fred, not to mention his entire family, all because of his prattish behaviour, I think the poor bloke deserves a little slack!

I love the back story! Its just very simply two people who enjoy snogging each other, its not like Lucy woke up one day and way just like 'Oh! I've just notcied now that Percy is megasuperfoxyawesome so I'm going to jump him and snog him for dear life la la la' it was more like 'No, I don't think Percy is a god on legs, but he's nice and I enjoy snogging him, the end'

And that stupid Penelope. . . . .I'd love to meet her in a dark alley one night!

P.S, I only noticed now that Lucy is also the name of Percy's future daughter! I wonder does Audrey know! :O

Anyway, if you ever want another review, you know where I'm at :)

Author's Response: Sorry for the late response! I guess we're even, haha. It makes me so happy to know that you don't despise Percy as most people tend to do. He's way too underappreciated for my taste. Hence the fic. I'm glad you liked this chapter; It was really fun imagining up their backstory. And there actually is a reason why Lucie's name is Lucie! It won't be revealed until much, much later though...

 Report Review

Review #21, by Siriusly89 Secrets

23rd February 2013:
Hi! Siriusly89 here with your (very late!) requested review!

Oooh! So this is new! Percy Weasley snogging girls in classrooms, who'da thunk it?

And poor Lucie, spending Christmas alone won't be fun at all!

I like how you got the balance of Percy's intellectual side just right here! There is still a hint of his pompousness, but not in an overbearing way because lets face it, no one is going to snog a snobby idiot now are they?

Oooh! It seems to me like there will be a bit of a love triangle in this! Am I right? You know I'm right :D

And yes, Oliver is a slave driver, so I am so glad you kept this, as in some ff he just turns into this relaxed person, which is not him!

Very good first chapter, you know where I am if you ever want another!

Author's Response: Yay, I'm glad to hear you think I've balanced Percy's character! He's quite possibly my favorite, so I wanted to show him as more human rather than just the pompous prat we know him as. And love triangle? What love triangle? I don't know what you're talking about, hehe...And yes, Oliver's definitely no softie. Quidditch nut through and through! Thank you so much for your lovely review. :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by Elphaba and Boyfriends Why

20th February 2013:
Hi, Elphaba back again!

I appreciate your stepping back in time and showing how Lucie and Percy first started kissing. I think it's believable that he would turn to her for comfort after getting dumped. I had forgotten about the pyjama party, and just looked at the end of the CoS to see whether it was invented. :) I had also forgotten that Penelope was petrified, so that made me wonder: did something happened when she woke up that made her decide not to date Percy anymore? Now I'm curious whether you'll revisit their relationship!

I like that neither Percy or Lucie is really sure what it is that they're doing, or what to call it.

Another question I have after reading this chapter concerns Lucie's back story. I gathered from the details nestled within these first two chapters that she lives with a wealthy uncle who neglects her. Will we eventually find out more about her family and home life?

Author's Response: I can't say if Percy and Penelope will ever be revisited, but it's not something I've completely ruled out! And yes, Percy and Lucie are in very muddy waters about where they stand; it's sort of a test to their friendship. Lucie's back story is actually detailed in the fourth chapter. Thanks for your lovely review! :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by Elphaba and Boyfriends Secrets

20th February 2013:
Hi, Elphaba here with your requested review!

Your story summary had me chuckling. Percy never seems to get much love, so casting him in a romantic comedy grabbed my attention right away.

After reading the first scene, in which he coaxes Lucie to tell him what's bothering her and then cheers her up with a good snogging, I could understand what she sees in him. :)

Grammar, punctuation and spelling are all very clean, except for a couple of small things that stuck out: "I only devoted half of my attention to his incessant gabber..." Should gabber be jabber?
The other one is: "Alicia turned to recant her tale to Fred..." I think recant should be recount in this instance.

I liked the quidditch practice, and found it funny how Wood takes everything so seriously. I thought the action part of the practice could use some more vivid language to describe the motions of the quaffle and of the players on their brooms -- and might Fred and George sent a bludger or two after them tot keep them on their toes? -- but I liked all the dialog.

This might have been my favorite line: "I did well, Oliver. Merlin, you could at least be grammatically correct about it," because it suggests that either a) Percy's personality has rubbed off on Lucie or b) she has always shared some Percy-ish qualities.

I like your decision to stick close to the canon, while adding AU elements as needed. I'm curious to see what changes you make as the story continues.

So far Percy and Lucie's relationship seems believable, and I like that she seems to blend well into the team and the house -- always good signs for an OC! :)

Author's Response: I'm so glad to hear this story got your attention! You're right, Percy doesn't get enough love. He's one of my favorite characters so I wanted to show him as an actual human being in this. Hopefully I'll be able to accomplish that! I'm glad you like Lucie as well. I'll definitely see about making the Quidditch scenes more colorful. Thanks so much for your helpful review!

 Report Review

Review #24, by aquabluez17 Secrets

15th February 2013:
Hey! Its Mya here for you review!

okay i really love the idea of this! I love Lucie though I wonder why you chose that name. Just wondering :D
Percy is soo cute in this!! it made me want to read more about him!! now thts a shocker if anything haha.

one thing I did notice was a bit of grammar error like this,


“No, everything’s so obviously dandy right now.” Sarcasm practically seeped from my pores as I shot him a scathing look. “You’re such a prat.”

there are supposed to be commas at the end of quotes and also when there is dialect in between two quotes that can be connected =)

besides little things like that I think this is a GREAT start!! please do keep writing :D

Author's Response: I chose Lucie for a reason that will be revealed later on in the story. Her name has a purpose! And I'm glad you like Percy in this; everyone always hates on him but he's actually my favorite character so I wanted to show him in a more human light. Thanks for the grammar advice; I'll definitely look into it. I really appreciate you taking the time out to read this! :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by Hermione and George Break

6th January 2013:
wow i love this bloody story!
hope you keep writing!
check out my story and see what you think. its called
And Unexpected blossoming Love.
Please update soon!!
yours truly,
Lyss xxoo

Author's Response: Thank you! I'll try to update soon.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>