43 Reviews Found

Review #1, by slightly odd kat Who is going to Hogwarts in the Autumn?

2nd April 2014:
Autumn not fall. Please!

Author's Response: I'm not sure I have enough energy to change things now, but I did let my Beta know. She catches things like that.

I really need a British Beta to help keep me from writing "American."

Thank you for the review!

Jet


 Report Review

Review #2, by slightly odd kat The Elves Funeral and Harry’s talk with his Mum

2nd April 2014:
This may be me being an assertive, northern, socialist, trade unionist; but respecting your "betters" is something old and outdated and just plain wrong. Especially when someone's "betters" are predominantly white posh males who have no idea how the other half live *cough* the ConDem government *cough cough*. I hold as much respect for them as they do for me. This is not, in my experience an uncommon view. In fact we have a word for people who break strikes because they think the rich know best. Apologies for my little rant, I think your story is very good; but things like that annoy me.

Author's Response: First, thank you for a second review.
I agree that Cindy's respect for her "betters" is misplaced. I see Vernon Dursley as the kind of boss you would hate, and for all the right reasons. I'm probably pretty far to the "Left" for someone who owns a business and employs people.

Part of my all too long and complex story is about the freeing of the house elves, who in time become Elves.

Keep on ranting! Loved the review.

Jet LaBarge


 Report Review

Review #3, by Neo Battle Day

23rd February 2014:
To start with, Molly does not use the killing curse on Bellatrix. Also the characters doesn't really feel like the real ones, it's hard to explain but they don't pop in the same way as in the books. I'm sure it'll get better over time since this is just the first chapter though.

Author's Response: Thank you for your review. I am sorry I did not respond right away, but I have been busy with other things.

Everybody has a different take on the characters. I do try to stay true to "Canon," Harry with Ginny, Hermione with Ron, and as true to the way they were portrayed as possible.

I might suggest the two stories by Mrs_Granger if you want true to the books characters. She does as good a job as anyone, as far as I am concerned.


 Report Review

Review #4, by Cicero_daredevil Meanwhile, at Gringotts and back at the Ministry

16th October 2013:
Commentary on the two weeks is a continuity break for the reader befor it happens

Author's Response: Sorry if what I wrote is confusing.

Jet LaBarge


 Report Review

Review #5, by potterfandamon Ch 33 Happily Ever After, almost

9th October 2013:
I have devoured this story in about 3 days the sequels had better come quick :-)

Author's Response: Do you want good or quick? I've actually got quite a bit written, but even Bad Guys and Broomsticks has a lot of work to finish. By the time I get to the Albus Potter story I have years of work to get it in good order.

I doubt there will be a month without a chapter, and they are going up faster than that now, but I have a full time job and a lot of other things to do.

Reviews really do help encourage me and most other authors, since we don't get paid. A review after each chapter will probably get the next one coming a little faster.

I'm glad you like the story! Thank you for the review.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #6, by anonymous Battle Day

10th September 2013:
You used the words bollo*ks too much. Its irritating while reading.

Author's Response: In which chapter? It is not used in chapter 1. I do use it occasionally. The word was suggested by my British Beta as being a typical swear word used in Britain.

Thank you for taking the time to review.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #7, by Tim Ch 33 Happily Ever After, almost

31st August 2013:
I have looked forward to reading all the new chapters and look forward to any new ones.

Author's Response: Bad Guys and Broomsticks is coming.
Jet


 Report Review

Review #8, by FriendofMolly Ch 30 More duties but a vacation too.

6th August 2013:
Jet,
Now that Riddle is gone, there's a whole wide world of Magic to be explored. I guess I never thought of just how connected the Magical Community is. Just as it makes sense that they have a centralized core. Just as we here in the US have separate state governments, but we still have our Fed's. If that isn't close, I would say the UN is a better comparison. Thank you for broadening our Magical World. I look forward to the next.
FoM
PS I do hope (actually I have a feeling), that we will get a more in-depth view of the Valley at a later date. To the next! I have to compliment you on Ginny's maturity and how she is adapting to the new life she and Harry share.

Author's Response: There are parallels between the governing of the Wizarding Community and the Muggle works, and some very large differences. There are also some complexities in the history of Magic that will take some time to explore.

We will get a little better view of the Valley by the end of this story. It doesn't really get to be a big focus of the story until Albus and his soulmate,
Oh, that's another story, and one that will take quite a while to get to.

Jet LaBarge


 Report Review

Review #9, by Mackh Ch 28 Some progress

22nd July 2013:
Well written. Some of the technical explanations are a little
More detailed than what I would expect but still well done and imaginative.
Does it continue after chapter 28?

Author's Response: 33 Chapters.
I am working on the next story right now, Bad Guys and Broomsticks. There is a rough outline for 4 stories covering the 19 years, and more covering Albus's Hogwarts years and beyond.
I have to watch not to get carried away with the technical stuff.
Jet


 Report Review

Review #10, by nevilleslonglostbrother Ch 26 Sectumsempra Cuts and House Elves

21st June 2013:
Hey... So I have read your whole story and you are clearly a really smart person that knows the whole world of Potter. I have enjoyed the whole thing and was a bit put out when I got to the end. Are there going to be more chapters up any time soon??

Also love how much thought you've put into the house elves, the forgotten heroes of Hogwarts!! Although I too had nightmares about house elves with meat cleavers ;). Hopefully get to read more soon

NLLB

Author's Response: Had a delay posting for a couple of reasons. I have two beta readers going over chapters 27 and 28, and I hope to get to the end of book 1, 33 chapters, within a very few months. I am guessing we will be posting every other week or so. Of course then there is Broomsticks and Bad Guys, the story about Harry capturing the last of the Death Eaters and Ginny's Quidditch career. And then the story about the Birth of the Potter children, and the final of the 19 year stories, Raising Albus. I have an Albus story that I am working on too.

If you like independent house elves I think you will love the house elf that becomes Hermione's, Harriet Tubman. There is a lot of story about house elves. Freedom is a complex idea, especially if you are a creature that is very social. Humans are not all that different. Really alone people are usually not happy people.

What is the difference between Winky and Dobby? At one point in the outline I have Albus pointing out that Dobby was not "Free/Abandonee" but "Free/voluntarily Harry's house elf" or something like that. I'm still working on the wording. Albus points out that if Dobby was alive he would almost certainly be living at Grimmauld Place with the other Potter/Weasley house elves.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #11, by shannon Funerals

3rd May 2013:
This chapter made me cry so much, amazing writing arwh feel so sad for the characters

Author's Response: I tried to write this chapter with a lot of pathos, and then when a beta said I could do better I did a major re-write. I'm glad I made you cry. Some of my favorite stories have chapters that make you cry.

Thank you for the review.

Jet LaBarge


 Report Review

Review #12, by FriendofMolly Ch 26 Sectumsempra Cuts and House Elves

1st May 2013:
Jet,
Even though I reviewed at the other site, I couldn't resist. I understand the House Elves as well as Wizards being upset. You gotta love
Dobedo, his enthusiasm is contagious. Harry has always had an Elf to defend him, starting with Dobby. So this should free up Kreacher for this management pursuits. I do remember when Kreacher went after Dung with a cast iron pan. But this just might change things for the better. I loved the rest.
FoM

Author's Response: House elves are going to be a big part of the story. Harry really isn't trying to change everything, but between he and Hermione trying to make the Wizarding Community more just

and Albus, but that is another story.

Thank you for the review!

Jet


 Report Review

Review #13, by Tani Ch 26 Sectumsempra Cuts and House Elves

1st May 2013:
It's pretty good,please continue!!

Author's Response: I have a new team of Beta readers, and we have just re-worked Chapter 21 and are working on 22. I've got too much into this to stop, an outline and rough draft of all 19 years and key chapters going on to well after Albus graduates from Hogwarts.

Thank you for the review. Tell me please what works for you and what does not.

Jet LaBarge


 Report Review

Review #14, by Harrypotter24 Auttumn at Hogwarts & the start of Auror Training

28th April 2013:
Hey if you are still looking for another beta I could do it

Author's Response: Give me a little more information about yourself.

I have too many Betas' right now, but I think some will drop out. Have you done Beta work or proofread for anyone else? What are your strengths?

I see you are new to this site, or at least are a new reviewer.

Thank you for the offer. See my revised Chapter 21. The marvelous descriptions at the start of the chapter were written by a Beta. We are revising from Chapter 21 through posted chapter 26, chapters posted without a beta, before going on.

Jet LaBarge


 Report Review

Review #15, by The_Free_Elf Ch 25 Decorating Grimmauld Place and New Security

4th March 2013:
This is good, but your right you do need a beta and id happily do it for you if you would like

Author's Response: I have lost my original two Beta readers over the years but have just picked up four more. Chapter 27 will be the first one showing their contribution.
You can always correspond by reviewing previous chapters. How would you contribute as a beta?
If you like free elves you will love Harriet Tubman when she appears in the story. What 'freedom' means to an elf is more complicated than you might think, however.
Jet


 Report Review

Review #16, by DaniPotterhead Ch 24 The Attack at Godric’s Hollow

2nd February 2013:
I am hooked on your story !! what happens next ? Can't wait for the next chapter x

Author's Response: There is a chapter that should be up in a couple of days. Then I am working with a couple of new Beta readers, and it may take a couple of weeks to get up to speed with them.

The first book goes to about the first of July, not a year but a little longer, 33 chapters. Then there are three more books to go to get to the 19 year epilogue. Then there is a 2nd generation story in the works. You will be waiting for years to see this finished!

I'm not going to tell you what happens next. That's too general a question. If you look at some of my answers to questions you will see that I do give a lot of information if you want to know something specific.

Thank you for the review.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #17, by FriendofMolly George and Angelina’s wedding, Ron and Hermione’s first time

6th December 2012:
Jet,
The picture of just what Almost Happily Ever After looks like is everchanging and fascinating. Hannah and Angelina are the example that Magic doesn't keep from having the same complications that Muggles have. Yet it only opens those who accept it to greater happieness. I can't wait for the next. Harry and Ginny at Hogwarts as a married couple. And just how Ron will try to circumvent the rules to be with Hermione.
FoM
PS I don't know if I should leave my review at just one site, or both. I just might cut and paste at both. ?

Author's Response: It is always delightful to hear from you!

I would love to have a cut and paste review at both sites. Many different readers, and the sites handle reviews differently. I know that when I am looking for stories to read I do look at the number of reviews to see if it is worth looking at, so you help me get readers by reviewing.

As you might have noticed we have a Irish Beta helping LadymBlack and me keep from being TOO American. He is going over chapters, and what looks like a new chapter on HPFF is just re-posting of an old chapter with his mostly minor corrections. The only thing that may be a change in the story is having Harry get real picky about people calling Tom Riddle by his given name and not Lord Voldemort.

I have just re-read all the Potter books and my story, and LadymBlack is re-reading then with her usual thoroughness. We will get back to posting new chapters eventually. Meanwhile I'm way ahead, on the second story.

One thing almost all the authors I have read seem to agree on is that Fred comes first, and Fred comes less than 9 months after his parents wedding. "She began to wait and worry, so we wedded in a hurry." I'm not sure why. Northumbrian thought he was being original!

Ron and Hermione are going to have some issues with McGonagall. I think you will like how they are resolved. I wrote about Ron and Hermione's wedding in the new version of the story.

I think the new version is much richer than the old one. Hopefully Im learning. Always good to hear from you.

JetLaBarge


 Report Review

Review #18, by The same kid again. The Wedding

23rd August 2012:
Tell me what that site is you posted it to!!!

Author's Response: I can't give you a link, but FanFiction dot net. Same name. LadymBlack also. Slightly different wording in some cases.

 Report Review

Review #19, by PheonixFawkes The Wedding

19th August 2012:
You can't - I don't want to be getting the feeling, that you could have possibly though of ending this right here. No son, you have to follow through. That's pretty much been the whole plot. What if J.K suddenly decided to stop writing the books without killing either Voldy or Harry off? Finish this. Soon. Get on it.

Author's Response: The next chapter has been up on another site (Fan Fiction) for some time but having a hard time getting through the censors on this site. Another chapter is waiting for a final OK by my beta, Ladymblack, and she has sent me still another to look at.

We've got years of material to go through! 30 years' worth outlined, some better than others.

JetLaBarge


 Report Review

Review #20, by whskykitty74 The Wedding

25th July 2012:
What a wacky wedding! I love it! can't wait for the next chapter

Author's Response: Thanks to my beta LadymBlack for suggesting Aunt Muriel and the Wedding cake among other things, although I will take full credit for the chaos that ensued. How many ways can teen age girls write the same Harry and Ginny's Perfect Wedding? I'm glad you liked my version.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Marauding hippogriff Greeting the grieving

26th June 2012:
I had to laugh at the names "Tom Dick and Harry." It's well written, although you could use some more words like 'can't' rather than cannot, or 'I'll' rather than 'I will' to help it flow a little better. Just a suggestion :)

Author's Response: I usually answer reviews much sooner, and am not sure why it took so long.
I am trying to use more I'll and can't instead of spelling them out. It is more normal speech, and I am trying to make the speech sound more natural.
Names are interesting. It's not always easy to come up with good ones, and you want to have them mean something or have a little joke or do something with them if you can. Glad you liked them.
I really appreciate reviews. Thank you.
Jet


 Report Review

Review #22, by phoenix9279 Funerals

16th June 2012:
Beautifully (re)written chapter. Amazing to see your writing improve this drastically during the rewrite.

Author's Response: Thank you for the compliment on The Funerals. My beta rejected this chapter as incomplete, and I owe her a huge debt of gratitude for turning what was a rather ordinary chapter into something pretty special. I write pathos pretty well, but needed her to point out that I needed to expand the chapter.

A word on how we write. Maybe 5% of the actual words are written or rewritten by LadymBlack. She has taken several small sections that one of us was unhappy with and re-written them, vastly improving them. And she is excellent at canon, and at punctuation and grammar. I think her biggest contribution, however, has been to tell me when I needed to go back to the drawing board, to add or change a scene or section.

In this case the part with the shrouds, the expanded scenes at the graveyard, Corriander, all were added by me, but after she suggested that I needed more of that type of thing.

Sometimes these things delay the publishing of chapters. I am in the midst of rewriting 14 and have added Michael and Rosemary's wedding, but have a major rewrite of 13 to do, again because of LadymBlack's very valid "you can do better than that" suggestion, that I have not been able to get to. The inspirations for the changes to 14 came; the changes to 13 are going to be work.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #23, by FriendofMolly Where do we live?

13th June 2012:
Jet and LadyM,
It never ceases to amaze me how you both are putting the story of AtB together so perfectly. It makes so much sense, that it could be just what JKR had in mind. I do look forward to how it all works out. One of the best parts, Arthur is going to finally be living with elekletricy(I'm making a stab a his wizard pronuciation of Edisons application). Loving it!
FoM
PS I'm still miffed that there was nothing left of the Burrow. At least Arthur has the right attitude. Making new memories. ;-)

Author's Response: Molly took the clock to Muriel's, and I have it in the story. LadymBlack and I are thrilled you reminded us of it. And other people have copies of some of the photographs, so Molly will be able to get duplicates of at least some of the photographs. Not much is left, but the property, the pond, they are still there, and the New Burrow and the property around the New Burrow will play an important part in the story.

Arthur is going to have his problems with elekletricy, but he is going to be living in a house with PLUGS! Much later in the story you will see that Hermione has gotten Arthur a wall display, and that Harry and others contribute all the PLUGS that they can find. Poor Arthur; as Muggles move to a wireless world will we lose all the plugs?

My outline goes far enough in the future that the children are starting to have children, making Arthur and Molly great grandparents. Lot of memories, mostly good.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #24, by FriendofMolly Bodyguards and a Hostage

13th June 2012:
Jet and LadyM,
I enjoyed this updated version of 10. Well enjoyed might be the wrong word. Intrigued, fascinated, worried, anticipating the next. I am afraid that along with rescuing the Ministry, Harry is going to suffer with each murdered family. I can't get solid fix on Al and his group. There is something else there. You are great at the mystery of it all. I must go on.
FoM

Author's Response: Al's not a villain. The Ministry needs the help, and Al and his crew are doing their best to provide it. He's a little short tempered and more than a little profane, but he's basically a good guy.

He's also a plot device to, later in the story, get Harry much more involved in the world outside of Britain.

In the end Harry and his team have to capture the remaining Death Eaters. You will see why and how as the story develops.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #25, by FriendofMolly The Elves Funeral and Harry’s talk with his Mum

4th June 2012:
Jet and LadyM,
Ginny is learning one of the hard lessons of being a parent, especially of a baby. The needs of the chid/children must come first. Of course she would have wanted to be with the rest of the family, but she couldn't. I don't think she heard what Harry said about being sorry that she wasn't able to go.
The Elves Funeral was good. I would have liked more details and more interaction with more Elves. Things do sound promising, as far the future of Elf and Wizard relations. One of my favorite parts of the AtB's is Harry finally getting to be part of a family on a permanent basis. That he takes pleasure in not only insisting that Molly and Arthur take ownership of the land, but that he wants to build up the Burrow into the home the Weasleys will enjoy and flourish in, for many Generations. Loved this one lots.
FoM

Author's Response: Ginny and to a less extent Harry are going to struggle with how much to be parents to Teddy until they become, in every sense of the word, grandparents to Teddy and (how much should I reveal, I do know who Teddy marries in my future)'s children.
Some families are exclusive, excluding all but the closest of relatives and not always all of them. Like the Black family, blasting people off the family tree. Others that I know of seem to add people. I know that we treated my wife's niece sort of like a daughter when she was living in our town, with a Christmas stocking on the mantle etc. My oldest son and his wife are becoming guardians of a 17 year old who is desperate to become part of a family, and I expect we will get her a Christmas stocking too. I see Molly as one of these women who find it easy to include people in her love, and who's family just grows and grows. If Witches and Wizards can live a long time she and Arthur ought to see great great grandchildren.
Lots more about house elves. This is a major thread of my stories.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>