Reading Reviews for Peace
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by slytherin_scorpio a life in the skies

14th December 2012:
i really enjoyed this! yes its sad, but how empowering; i mean that it brings the boys' emotions to life. i loved this, wouldn't change it.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Bobby a life in the skies

20th May 2012:
Great story! Just what I was looking for!

Author's Response: I'm glad to hear it! I think it may have been just what I was looking for when I wrote it, as well. I'm so pleased you enjoyed it! Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #3, by james girl a life in the skies

27th April 2012:
I loved it so much! I think my cry now because justin died though. Theo and Justin were always some of my favorite side characters...can you make some more fics about them?

Author's Response: Aww, this review made my day! I'm so glad that you enjoyed this story. Writing it was a great experience, so it's nice to know that people have been enjoying it. I always liked Theo and Justin, as well! Especially Theo! He always seemed really attractive in my mind, I don't know why. I don't have any immediate plans to write about Theo and Justin but your lovely compliments make me want to! I don't know if I will, as I've got a few other fics on my plate these days, but I might be writing some more drama/romances in the future. (:

 Report Review

Review #4, by Beeezie a life in the skies

24th April 2012:
I can honestly say that I have never thought about Justin and Theodore as a couple before, but I really enjoyed this. The way you described their relationship was definitely believable, and Theodore's reaction to Justin's death broke my heart. I thought that you captured the emotions of someone in the situation of losing a loved one really well.

My only issue with the story was that I felt like you skated over Theodore's background a bit too much. Because we don't know much about him, I don't think that it's inconceivable that he would get together with a muggleborn, but I would have liked you to address it more than you did. I don't think that you needed much, just a little more than you had.

Other than that, though, great story. :)

Author's Response: To be honest, I don't think anyone has ever really thought about Justin and Theo as a couple, haha. I never did either. I just knew that I wanted to write Theo and then Justin just sort of popped into my head so I wrote them. We don't know a whole lot about either one of them, so I guess it seemed less far-fetched than if I had written say Theo and Draco, or something. I'm glad you think I captured the emotions well! This story definitely has a lot of them, although I tried to portray them more... I don't know what word I'm looking for, except that I just didn't want to portray them as being too sentimental or, well, gushy. I just wanted to portray their relationship as best as possible.

You know, this is a type of feedback I get on a lot of my one-shots, lol. I'm notoriously vague and I always skim over background things. I guess I didn't feel as though I needed to add it in, but I can see where the knowledge would be wanted.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I really appreciate it and I'm glad you enjoyed the story! (:


 Report Review

Review #5, by NeverKnew a life in the skies

14th April 2012:
Brilliant. Absolutely brilliant!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I really appreciate it!

 Report Review

Review #6, by TallestTower a life in the skies

12th April 2012:
Hello wonderful, talented girl!
For your first slash fic I thought this was just so beautifully subtle, which really suited the way it was being told through Theodore's emotions - the focus was on their relationship, friendship/love as two people rather than two men, if that makes sense. It wasn't like the focus of the story was the fact that they were gay, just more that they were so close and understood each other which was really lovely and I hope gives you the edge in your competition. ;) Like, there was an allusion to the difficulties of their friendship as seen by other people, but that could just have been the slytherin/hufflepuff divide, depending on how you read it. It just seemed fitting because that wasn't what mattered to Theo so it wasn't the center of the story.
I love the structure of the snapshots of their friendship - the way you wrote the moments really worked because they weren't over detailed or over explained but like fleeting moments but you still got the sense of their relationship ♥
I love theodore nott as well, he's always been a bit mysterious which is great for creating possibilities and I like this one, as sad as it is!
But yeah just overall, so beautiful and the moments of their lives structure works so well in telling the story of their relationship whilst also giving it this nostalgic, personal, reflective feel.
GO ERICA and go me for actually writing a review no entirely in capslock. you must be preti special. xxx

Author's Response: Yay Helena! This review makes me so happy, because this is all exactly what I intended with this story. I didn't want to directly point out and shove it in everyone's faces that this is a slash fic. Because I think that cheapens it a little bit. I mean, if it were like Theo/Pansy or something, there would be no need for that, so I really wanted to get across that there was no need for that in this fic either, just because it's slash. I wanted their relationship to develop like any other would. And I guess in my head, they were a bit secretive with their relationship, but it had a lot more to do with the Hufflepuff/Slytherin divide you mentioned, rather than with the fact that they were gay. Which I think makes more sense, I guess. I mean people probably weren't fully accepting of them as friends because of the house divide, so they wouldn't really be out in the open about the true nature of their relationship.

Snapshot writing has become a serious vice of mine. I love writing one-shots like that. Because it's sort of like getting all the big information from what could be a novel and putting it in a short fic. I mean, I could have written a novel about them and used all of these little snapshots in it. But I like this format. It's fun.

Thank you so much for reviewing, Helena. You know your reviews totally make my life worth living and stuff. :D LURVE YOU.


 Report Review

Review #7, by Rosadora  a life in the skies

11th April 2012:
Without a doubt, one of the best one-shots I've ever read.

Author's Response: Oh wow! That is quite a compliment! You have definitely made my day! Thank you so much for reading, reviewing, and for the lovely comment! I really appreciate it. (:

 Report Review

Review #8, by Aiedail a life in the skies

6th April 2012:
:(

That is for the sadness, not your writing, ofc. I love this way that you have of making things into scenes, and they're not overdetermined--it's not like they're saying, I'm here so you'll feel something. I love stories that do this...they're honest, and real, and not sentimental; pictures, portraits of life that all add up to something truly moving. I like that I can tell that, although this is a unified story, and everything is relevant, nothing feels like it's working very hard. And I know that all the details are working. My horse-riding trainer used to tell me that the magic of good riding was that it looks like you're not doing anything--because of that people say that you aren't, but really, you're flexing your calf muscle or something obscure and because your horse and you have gotten to know each other, and the horse knows what it means when you lower your heel or cluck your tongue twice in a row, it'll do what you want, and do it well.

So yes, I'm being a tad comic about your relationship with words, I suppose, but it just feels like an accurate description. Your language is concise but beautiful; I know a lot of people would have gone the treacly route, trod the path of purple prose, but you didn't, and because of that, this story really works. I see pain, and love, and wonder, and chaos and stillness and bravery in unexpected, but strangely realistic ways. It's amazing to me that a scene of yours can be four sentences long, or three paragraphs, and I see everything clearly, and I am moved by what's there.

I have never thought about Theo/Justin--I've seen Theo/Draco because of joloo's piece--but I like this. It makes sense. Or, I should say, you make it make sense. I like the idea that you're breaking down the Hufflepuff and Slytherin "guidelines," too, that Hufflepuffs are uninterested in Slytherins and that Slytherins aren't brave and think they're better than everyone and...well, I could go on forever (you know me), but I know you know what I mean.

Anyway. I think this is a wonderful, ambitious piece and I wish you luck in the challenge! I'd maybe even say you don't need luck. You've done your time with writing, and it's just paid off :)

MUCH LOFF ♥

Author's Response: Lilyyy!

Ahh, you are making my life with this review right now, ngl. This is exactly the feel I was going for. I didn't want to be overly sentimental or dramatic, I just wanted to show the development of a relationship between two people. And I'm glad you felt that all the sections were relevant, because at first glance some of the might seem just random but I wanted to show the little moments in their relationship, not just the big moments. Because sometimes it's those little things that tell you more about what's happening than like, the big dramatic revealing plot points.

I did a lot of editing and thinking to stay away from purple prose. I knew I didn't want to go that route. It would have been too cheesy, I think, to be overly descriptive and such like that. Even as is, there are a few sections that I find a bit too melodramatic, but overall I felt like I stayed away from too much purple prose.

I never thought of it, either, lol. I just knew I wanted to write Theo and I knew it needed to be slash, and Justin just came to mind. I liked that I could show the similarities in them even though they're from Hufflepuff and Slytherin, which are perhaps the most opposite houses. (LIKE LUCY/SCORP AND LOUIS/HUGO AMIRITE?)

Thank you so much for this gorgey review, Lilyeth! You're the bestest. (:(:(:(:


 Report Review

Review #9, by Siriusly3 a life in the skies

6th April 2012:
Wow. That is so sad, tears trickling down my face :/ This is so sweet, I've never ever imagined these two together ever. But the whole Slytherin/Hufflepuff things works because it's not overplayed and I like how they meet and I can imagine they both seem kind of lost until they meet each other. I like how you've played around with the time and the idea of death runs through it. I've never thought about these characters together or even separately but this is a great story :)

Author's Response: Aww, did it really make you cry? If it did, let it be known that I feel weirdly accomplished about it. I had never really thought about them together, either, but I randomly decided I wanted to write Theodore Nott, and then Justin just kind of popped up as well. Yeah, I didn't write the sections in chronological order, so I decided to keep them out of order, although I admittedly did switch the sections around like fifty times regardless, lol. Thank you so much for the review! I'm so pleased that you enjoyed it. I very much enjoyed writing for your challenge! I've always liked slash fic, but this was my first time writing it, and despite the story being sad, I really enjoyed it.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login