Reading Reviews for Kisses Are For Second Dates
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Siriusgirl Kisses are for Second Dates

4th September 2012:
Hi!
Thanks for your submission
Theodore/Tracey is a pairing of my imagination, so it's reading another story about this pairing is interesting. I thought you did a great job. Theo's subtle wit is very believable from him, he is said to be clever and a loner. I'd like to have seen a bit more from Tracey's personality, but that's just a minor thing. Well done! Results should be up soon, so stay tuned!

Author's Response: Sorry for the long delayed response, schools been crazy. But thanks for the review, I'm glad that you liked my piece, it was definitely a fun to write. Thanks for the contest too :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Aphoride Kisses are for Second Dates

18th July 2012:
Okay, I admit it! I'm an absolute sucker for anything vaguely romantic which involves minor characters. So as soon as I saw that you had a romantic one-shot about Tracey Davis and Theo Nott... here I was! :D

I really liked it. It was so sweet and simple and just... adorable. You didn't try to use poetic language or make comparisons to anything like the moon or the sun or anything like that and you really didn't need to. It was so realistic - I can see this happening in my mind in the set of Hogsmeade, you know?

Both Tracey and Theo were really good characters. I get the feeling there's a lot more to them than you mentioned in this story, simply because they both have fathers in Azkaban and that must be pretty hard - and it was nice having that little mention, that little bit of information to fit it in with the HP books. Maybe you could write more about them - maybe an angsty one-shot or something? I dunno, but I think you've developed the characters well enough that you could if you wanted to.

I loved the Auror novel, by the way. A magical murder mystery - it would be so cool! :D

And the whole 'kisses are for second dates' thing was so well done. I was worried for a bit that it was going to be a bit unromantic and not-sweet and jarr the flow of the piece, but you fitted it in so well! :)

Aph xx

House Cup 2012! :D

Author's Response: Hi again, thanks for reviewing another one of my stories.

I'm glad that you liked it. When I wrote this I was working on two very angsty stories, and so this was sort of like a nice break from all things doom and gloom. I didn't want to write anything fancy, with all this symbolism, it was just going to be a simple fluffy date between two minor characters that I could basically do anything with.

I don't think I'll be doing anything else with Tracey or Theodore in the near future, but maybe in a very long time (when I finish one of my WIP's) I might turn this into a short story or something that follows them up until the final battle, or something.

Anywho thanks again for the reviews (this one and the other two you left me)

-Liz :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by VioletBlade Kisses are for Second Dates

17th July 2012:
Hi there! VioletBlade from the forums with your requested review! :D I know it's dreadfully late, and for that, I apologize! RL kept getting in the way whenever I thought to clear my thread! But, better late than never, eh? :)

Plot:

It was a very sweet, fluffy story on a first date! It made me feel warm and fuzzy inside even though the characters are technically the bad guys of HP! Hehe! But hey, they need a happy ending too, right? Anyway, I think it was a very good blend of romance and the awkwardness that comes with a first date, especially if they've never really talked before! It also flowed very well and was well-paced I thought. The date did seem to go pretty quickly, but other than that everything seemed good! I also absolutely adored the ending-- with her telling him the line Pansy had first said when she was preparing Tracey for the date! It was so awesome! :)

Characterization:

Can I just say that I love that Theodore Nott is a bookworm?? xD I think it's so cute when guys like to read! And it was total role-reversal with the girl usually being the bookworm, not the guy! :P

Anyway, I think if there's anything to improve upon here, it would just be going more in depth with your characters. I know it's just a fluffy one-shot, but even just quirks they have that make them seem more of their own person would be good! (Like Theodore and his love of reading! ;))

Otherwise, I do like how you've made the characters into somebody, since they didn't really get any deep mention within the HP verse! I've never thought of Tracey Davies and Theodore Nott as a pairing, but it makes sense and is actually quite cute!

Grammar:

Despite the ominous warning about your grammar being bad, I actually didn't find too many things that needed fixing! :D

“There you’re gorgeous,” she declares. This here just needs a comma between 'There' and 'You're'!

“No sign of him yet,” Millicent responds in a hushed whisper" This just needs a period at the end of this sentence dear! :)

I grin, “What’s the fun in realism.” This should end in a question mark, not a period dear!

Well, that's about it! Thanks for the fun read, I needed a light, upbeat story and this was perfect for that! Thank you for requesting the review from me, and do come back anytime! :D

~VioletBlade

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the nice review.

It's even better because it was so late :P I'd totally forgotten the request, so this was sort of a suprise for me, and I do love my suprises.

Anyway I'm glad you liked my story. I needed some Fluff in my life when I wrote this (my two novels that I was doing are extremely angsty) and so this was a nice break from the norm. On top of that it was diferent writing some minor characters for a change, especially becuase these two are mentioned so little. It was basically like writing two OC's except everyone knows their names already.

The grammar was much worse about a month ago when this was first posted :P You're seeing it after several edits, and run throughs, but hey if all you found was punctuation errors I guess I'm on my way.

Thanks again for the review :) You're right better late than never.

-BoOkWoRm24


 Report Review

Review #4, by LyrisLovegood Kisses are for Second Dates

23rd June 2012:
Hey :)

First off I have never read any Theodore Nott/Tracey Davis before so I liked your one-shot very much. It's very cute but yet realistic. I love how she didn't kiss him on the first date as Pansy's words lingered in her mind. Also I love the ending. I think the chapter flows really well and everything was perfect.

Keep it up :D

Author's Response: Thanks for the review:) It was fun writing Tracey and Theodore because we don't really know that much about them, and it sort of allowed me to show another side to the Slytherin stereotype. Also it made me abe to show another side of Pansy. I figured she had to be nice to someone right? Anyway thanks again :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by WitnesstoitAll Kisses are for Second Dates

13th June 2012:
This was adorable!! And what an interesting pairing!

I always love reading about characters that I don't see much about, and so this sort of jumped off of your author's page at me. Tracy was a likable character, and you did a great job of pulling out her house qualities and biases to give her some depth. Same with theo! I thought their date was very cute and realistic. I think my favorite line was the last one. Pansy would be proud. lol. The dynamic between the Tracey and the other slytherin girls was fun and very realistic!

(team blue)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review :)

I can't take credit for the ship because I was assigned it in a challenge, but it was fun writing them. I wanted to show another side of the Slytherins without getting rid of the normal qualities, and from what you said it sounds like I did :)

Anyway thanks again for the lovely review


 Report Review

Review #6, by Mystique Kisses are for Second Dates

3rd June 2012:
Hi,

I really enjoyed reading this story. I havn't read any Theodore Nott/Tracey Davis stories before, but I'm glad that I read yours as it really opened my eyes to what their relationship could be like. In fact, I want to go write a story about them.

This was a really wellwritten story and I really enjoyed seeing a different side of the Slytherins. It was enjoyable to see a nice side to Pansy.

Mystique

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :)
It was nice giving a different sort of couple some spotlight. Especially because they're Slytherin's it was a different sort of thing to write. And you know even Pansy can't be bad all the time :P

Hope to see you around the BvB battle agian some time

-Liz


 Report Review

Review #7, by Beem Kisses are for Second Dates

3rd June 2012:
Loved it :) very cute story! Nice to hear from Tracey and Theodore!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Every underloved pairing should get some attention :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Mysterious Kisses are for Second Dates

26th May 2012:
I love this! It's really good. You have a talent for one
shots! Write more soon!:)

Author's Response: Aww thanks for the nice review. I'm working on my novels right now, but hey maybe I'll get another plunny some time and write another one :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by EverDiggory Kisses are for Second Dates

25th April 2012:
You are my next victim...of my random reviews!

First off, lovely style!

I liked this a lot, i was really pleasantly surprised! I didn't expect something quite like this i was expecting something terribly cliche, but it was a wonderful, unique read!

I've only read a few tracy/theo ...okay,one...but I think this was a nice insight!

xoxo

Ever

Author's Response: Thanks for the review :D It was a really nice surprise. I'm glad that you liked it and that I avoided the cliches well. If you ever need another victim feel free to stop by again ;)

 Report Review

Review #10, by thesinandthesinner Kisses are for Second Dates

20th April 2012:
I really enjoyed this one shot! It was sweet, original and quite realistic and I am huge fan of realism, and I'm very pleased that you didn't have them kiss quite right away! I also think you did a great job rendering a couple of Slytherin kids as regular people/humans and not evil or death eater's in training. In my opinion, not all Slytherins are bad. Tracey seems like a girl who I'd like to to know more about, I liked her a lot! xoxoxo

Author's Response: Thanks a bunch for the review. I'm glad you liked my take on Tracey. I had a lot of fun writing her character as the not so evil Slytherin.

 Report Review

Review #11, by rogovjm Kisses are for Second Dates

8th April 2012:
This was so cute! Usually people associate Slytherin with evil but this gave the perfect impression of a true Slytherin. The way that Theodore likes the quiet and the way he says "no one bothers me" was very Slytherinish. But it was sweet and showed the good, natural side of Pansy and their lives. Well done!

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review. I'm happy to hear that you thought my take on Slytherins was good. :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Siriusly3 Kisses are for Second Dates

8th April 2012:
This was so fluffy and cute. It's hard to imagine fluffy Slytherins but you've pulled it off! :) I like their relationship because it's quite different, they're quiet bookish people and oh, I like the little Draco quips. Aberforth (the bartender) is so typically himself and the setting of the Hogshead is perfect for these two. One thing I would say is that your spelling is a bit distracting! Butterbeer not butterbear and broomstick is one word :). But yeah, overall it's a cute date and wish I could have a second! xo

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I'm kind of embaressed by the butterbear but I'll go back and fix that now. Other than that I'm glad to hear that I did the fluffy Slytherin thing good. I was kind of worried aboout it. Thanks again for the review :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login