Reading Reviews for 730 Whispers
  
27 Reviews Found

Review #1, by catharsis one for each night

15th January 2014:
This story is fantastic! The raw emotion of it is brilliant for starters, but the use of the second person has worked so well here. It adds to the story perfectly. 10/10!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! ^__^

 Report Review

Review #2, by navyfail one for each night

26th July 2013:
Lavender Brown was most certainly a quite annoying character but a character we still didn't know nonetheless. I really like where you went with this story. The way you worded things and the small details really made this one-shot exquisite.

That dream with picket-fenced house, husband, and daughter was very sweet. When she realized that it couldn't happen, I felt her pain. Everything kept adding up into a pile but yet she didn't fully break. Instead she kept moving on.

What surprised me was that you took the fact that she was a Gryffindor and built on it. You gave us a reason why the sorting hat placed her in that house. And the best part has got to be that you didn't end up changing her character at all. Instead you gave her a background story. Right now Lavender's character is admirable.

Thank you Gina for this lovely piece. I enjoyed reading every minute of it. This is definitely going in my favorites.

10/10
~Sama

Author's Response: It was really fun writing Lavender - her character sort of popped out of nowhere. I remember I felt like writing something 'different' and I had a spare banner. For those few hours, I walked in her shoes, and I finally understood her. Lavender's inner strength could be so mundane in a different point of view, but in her own, framed by her past, it's really quite something. And she doesn't have to be a hero or have a great moment where she overcomes anything; she is admirable for being Lavender :D

♥ thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by spreaddapoo93 one for each night

28th November 2012:
It's absolutely, gobsmackingly beautiful. The imagery is very raw and stark; I'm completely in love with the (disturbingly) gorgeous image of Rumpelstiltskin coming to give her aborted child back...
Probably your heaviest fic that I've read so far (:D), but I loved it just as much. I'm glad you were able to take probably one of the least liked characters from HP and weave this out of it, because it is in a way true. There are so many things we take for granted in a person, that we sort of forget that they are human and have just as much good as the bad.
Thank you for the phenomenal read! 10/10

Author's Response: Ah, thank you! It has this strange quality of being rather heavy and hopeful at the same time - sort of the reverse of what happens with a lot of angst (the brick of angst, I like to say, that smacks you in the face halfway through a oneshot).

Writing's been the best thing at getting me to think from the perspective of others and relate to them; as the occasional socially inept blunderbus, it's been invaluable :'D


 Report Review

Review #4, by Violet Gryfindor one for each night

2nd October 2012:
[insert mess of emotions here]

This mess of feels includes many OMGs and flails because this is a brilliant piece of writing and I don't know what else to say. The voice you've achieved here is impossible, how you've made Lavender Brown a sympathetic character, a girl caught up in her dreams of normality, so different from the other girls in her year at Hogwarts. In the books, we see Hermione and Ginny (and even Luna) as the heroes, but Lavender is that annoying girl. However, here in just over 700 words, you make her something much more. Something real, something sad, just as strong as the others because she has survived and isn't afraid to still want everything.

This story made me cry! Maybe that's why I'm flailing so hard. That scene in the lavatory was so evocative, and the use of the fairy tale allusion was painfully perfect. She passes over it, perhaps because the war hardened her, made it easier for her create distance from that horrible moment. It seems like the world did all it could to destroy her dream of picket fence and happy domestic life, but the fact that she perseveres reveals a strength that I don't think anyone saw in her.

I love the use of the second person in this story. It's a voice that's hard to pull off, especially when it's also from Lavender's point of view, but it works incredibly well for this story, making the reader feel very uncomfortable, placing us in Lavender's shoes. This may sound crazy, but I almost find the ending frightening, the way she smiles coyly and responds "why, everything". It could be inspiring, that she's still ready to find her place in the world, regardless of what has happened to her. But it still holds a hint of menace, as though her experiences have woken something dangerous within her. There's a lot of bitterness there, but what will she do with it? What will she do with herself? It's a great way to end it, leaving the reader with as many questions as answers.

Everything I read of yours is much too good to be healthy, and this is no different. I'm in awe of your style and talent, your ability to explore a character's history and consciousness in a perfectly-contained narrative of this length, so polished and evocative. I feel the flails coming back again, so I'll stop rambling before they do. Amazing work with this, and the best of luck with the Dobbys! This one definitely deserves to win! ^_^

Author's Response: Susan :33 eee -flails back at you- I am like sideways on the floor beside myself.

I had this realization that if there were one thing to describe the majority of my writing, it's that it's practically all about strong women, and all strong in different ways. I've always felt HP gives a one-sided view of that, giving the spotlight to the best and brightest, and then in the shadows are the emotional girls, Lavender, Cho, Fleur, etc. - and I suppose they can't all be not-annoying but there's such little sympathy for them. I certainly hated them when I had first read the books.

I've never written anyone like Lavender before. What I love about it, is that I don't have to change who she is. She's older and jaded but as Lav-Lav-like as ever with her dreams and demands. But now, they've suddenly got a whole other meaning because it's tied to her perseverance. It's amazing - just me witnessing it through reviews - how people have responded to that. To say, 'how brave' instead of 'how silly' when Lavender is still being Lavender.

Bahah, I have always found her a bit menacing. She is a very 'watch out world' type of gal, and especially now more than ever. I remember as I was writing, I was thinking that she doesn't need to be necessarily inspiring, as she isn't looking for anyone's sympathy. I wouldn't even consider her actions hopeful (and life doesn't reward her hope). She's just stubborn, but that is very dangerous indeed - or even strangely admirable.

AHHH thank you so much Susan :333 ♥ I have melted into goo again.


 Report Review

Review #5, by PhoenixPulse one for each night

4th September 2012:
Well hello there!

So while I'm waiting for Capers, I thought it would be a good idea to go and stalk your author's page and browse through all your stories. This one stuck out to me the most, so I decided to give it a go. I'll stalk more of your stuff soon. I hope you don't mind. ;)

Anyway, on forward with your review! This was uh-mazing! I love the way you characterized Lavender in this. You gave her another side that not many of us would think she could ever possess. When we hear the name Lavender in means of canon, we think of the usual, annoying girly that stole Ron from Hermione. You however, made her into something more. You made her character very intricate, and it's amazing to see her as a more mature lady. She grew up, and you gave her the ability to shine as a Gryffindor, the sorting that was meant for her.

Anyway, I'll leave my review there. I gots geometry homework to do, but I'll be stalking more of your stuff! So yeah, I'll be flooding your unread reviews section more often. ;)

Author's Response: Eeek, hello again! I've been unfortunately super busy as of late :C I've been pretty burnt out from work and I'm writing as much as I can, but it's been slow going.

D'aw thank you so much! I've grown a fondness for writing characters that are rather er, annoying in canon. And I wanted to give her her own growing up. Not necessarily overly sad, and she arguably never grows out of her Lavender-ness -- but I want to cheer her on despite that. There's something rather admirable and brave about just being able to accept one's lot in life.

Thank you for stopping by again :3 ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by tangledconstellations one for each night

28th August 2012:
Hey lovely,

Thought I'd drop by to give this one a little review!

Lavender is such a unique character. I know what you mean about her being super annoying in the books, but then despite that she was a person in the same way Harry and Ron and Hermione were. It was kind of nice to have her story here, how you imagine it to be.

Your writing is so hypnotic and super effective - I kinda wish this was longer! Nevertheless though, this was lovely and has made me rethink the Lavender in my mind :) beautiful!

Laura xxx

Author's Response: Eep, thank you! :) I have a soft spot for all of the minor characters in the books, especially as I've tried to look at the HP wars from different perspectives over the year. Glad you enjoyed it! ^__^

 Report Review

Review #7, by Erised one for each night

18th July 2012:
Again, this is just awesome. Although it was somewhat jumpy in its topic and writing style, it didn't detract from the story and reading a fic from Lavender's point of view is really refreshing to see.

The way you played her character was absolutely superb. You managed to give her a depth that's unseen in the book and gave her a real reason for being in Gryffindor. Her situation with her fertility was really heartbreaking, but knowing that she would pull through it gives the reader a light at the end of the tunnel.

Your writing style is excellent, and the description really added depth to the story as a whole. I also enjoyed the structure of the story, as we see Lavender's change from a silly little girl to a strong young woman. It was really great to see.

Fabulous stuff!

Author's Response: Eee thank you! This one-shot was a huge let's-try-everything, and I had very few plans about it, but I ended up loving Lavender. It's become sort of this theme in my writing - I love writing about different ways people can be strong, especially the lesser-liked characters, and flesh out the bravery between the cracks.



 Report Review

Review #8, by hedwigs_theme one for each night

5th July 2012:
Hi I'm here from the review thread (potterweasleygranger).

I really enjoyed reading your story, it's incredible!

I love the way you wrote this. It's so unique, in fact I've never read a story like this on HPFF yet!

I wish I could be more helpful in this review but as hard as I try, I can't find any constructive criticism to give you. I guess that's a good thing :D

10/10

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it ^__^

 Report Review

Review #9, by Lumos_Nox one for each night

28th June 2012:
This is completely amazing. I'm trying to think of praise high enough to describe this story. It flows like water and it tells a whole story in just a single chapter and all the descriptions were perfect and wow. That's it. Just wow.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :3 I'm quite proud of this oneshot!

 Report Review

Review #10, by academica one for each night

27th June 2012:
Hi! I'm here for TGS Review Challenge #1 :)

I was a little floored by this! I love how smoothly and casually you turned the corner from your discussion of Lavender's girlish clinginess to her loss of the baby in the girls' lavatory. I was so caught up in how perfect that one-word characterization of Lavender is, what with her clinging and grasping of life's small trinkets, that I was really shocked to see the dark turn. I really liked it, though - way to turn a character that fans often joke about into a dark, complex young woman.

I liked your use of the scars, too - it's not just a problem of vanity, but truly something that has changed Lavender's life and stolen more than her girlish appearance from her. My favorite part was probably the ending, though. As much as she annoyed me in canon, I'm happy to see this version of Lavender pick herself up and become the Gryffindor the Hat always knew she could be.

Wonderful work! I'm happy I stopped by! :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: Eep, thank you so so much :3 I created my headcanon Lavender as I wrote this, and I loved exploring what might have been in her mind and how she handled the war.

I really wanted to be able to cheer for Lavender, because she wasn't much of a character to cheer for in the books, and that's what ended up happening when I wrote it. I was worried the ending would be too abrupt, and I'm glad it's fitting!

♥ thank you!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Charlotte Addison one for each night

18th June 2012:
hey! :) my friend recommended you to me for making banners? So I'm just wondering if you're taking any banner requests at all? xo

Author's Response: Nope, not at the moment, sorry!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Maybe one for each night

8th May 2012:
This is amazingly written! It reads just like poetry. I read it so fast, drinking it all in, because it flowed so well. Poor Lavender, but I'm so glad she's moving on. You made me feel bad for judging her. As you pointed out, she was only a teenager and she wasn't in the same situation we see our main characters are in. She didn't have to grow up as fast as they did, at least not until the war.

The way you said she needed a companion so as not to appear alone was brilliant. I feel bad for her now; that's why she was so clingy.

I loved this!

Author's Response: I hope you didn't feel too bad! Heh, it's something we're all guilty of, of course, and it's quite eyeopening to look on the other side once in awhile. Kind of like how understanding a villain's background doesn't excuse them, but they are more than just bad, and we can sometimes sympathize. Lavender was silly - this much is probably still true - but she was more than that too, and I really enjoyed giving her that chance to shine ^__^

Thank so you much! :3


 Report Review

Review #13, by NaidatheRavenclaw one for each night

5th May 2012:
Oh my goodness, Gina, this was incredible. I was looking through the Diadem noms and this was in it several times, so I decided to take a peek and I'm so glad I did. All of your writing is stunning in its own way, but this has to be one of my absolute favorites.

Two years, seven hundred and thirty whispers: the wolfman is dead, but you are not. This was one of my favorite lines. Truth be told, I loved each and every line, but that one stood out. Wow. You've melded this so well with canon, with Lavender being attacked by Fenrir and all that, but youíre right in saying she's just as much of a veteran as anyone else. I absolutely adore her characterization. Every part of it is so perfectly her. I also loved the imagery with Rumplestilskin. It did fit her, in a way, especially with the elaboration you had next.

This was simply incredible. Gorgeous work.

-Naida

Author's Response: Ahhh, thank you so much ♥ I was quite proud of this after I wrote it, but I seriously did not imagine so many people would respond to this fic. I love looking into minor characters, and lesser-liked characters like Lavender (although I hadn't thought much about her until this oneshot), because it's like doing a double take when I write it. There's so much to explore.

Thank you so so much for the review ^__^


 Report Review

Review #14, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap one for each night

1st May 2012:
I've only read one other Lav story before and it's humor based. I like it but it doesn't dig deep into the Lav that was impacted by the war, what could have been, how she felt growing up in her teen years and what happened or how she felt post-battle.

I thought this was really interesting to read. I do think she's a bit of an annoying character but then if you really think about it she was one of the few characters in the books that was just being her age. Ron, Harry and Hermione (and Ginny, Luna, Neville, etc) had so much going on and were forced to grow up quicker than others and had to do all these things that Lav was the opposite of them, she just wanted to be liked.

"One day the boys will adore you and your figure will curve the right way instead of wrong and you will be someone special."

^ That was my favorite line. It's so sad how so many girls think like this. I know I do, so I really connected with that part.

Author's Response: Indeed! Even if Lavender isn't the most likable character, I like to remind myself that not everyone can be a war hero (I honestly would not have been), but that there's a girl who went through war in her, and she has a story to be told as well.

I such a normal feeling, to want to feel special, just by /someone/. To be wanted, or even a little bit important in someone's eyes, especially when everyone around you seems to be saving the world. I'm glad you could relate to it :)

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #15, by MercyWaters one for each night

25th April 2012:
Wow. This is absolutely phenomenal.

I've never read a fic centered on Lavender, as I've always found her to be unimportant and a bit annoying, but you did an excellent job on this. You gave me a new perspective on her. Your wording is fabulous and sounds so poetic and beautiful, my favorite line was "One day the boys will adore you and your figure will curve the right way instead of wrong and you will be someone special."

That just struck me--it sounded so beautiful, yet so painful. It speaks of loneliness and not feeling good enough, something I feel most of us can relate to. The voice you gave Lavender was excellent, and I love how you've written this in the second person. It's difficult to find second person in general, yet alone one written as beautifully as this. I also liked how you didn't reveal to us who the narrator was until the very last line. It leaves the reader in suspense and draws them in, wanting to know more.

This is definitely going in my favorites. It's short and sweet, yet amazing. Lovely job, and keep writing.

Bri, xx

Author's Response: Ahh, I'm so glad you like it ^__^ I love that I've been able to change so many people's views on Lavender, especially because it wasn't my intention, and it surprised me! I just sort of wrote her as how she seemed in my head.

I love that you love that line! It's very teen Lavender to me. I think that's what she'll always want, some part of her, but at the end, she'll okay if she doesn't get that. There's plenty more to want in the world. When I wrote this, I was able to see how Lavender had hopes like everyone else and overall, it's just to be loved.

♥ thank you so so much for the review :3


 Report Review

Review #16, by lia_2390 one for each night

23rd April 2012:
I /cannot/ even.

Is there nothing you cannot write, woman? Goodness!

The first thing that struck me about this one-shot was it's tone. It's very frank, but not accusing - and a bit dry. I almost expected to see 'and in retrospect...' in there somewhere.

Second thing. You wrote Lavender Brown, a grown-up Lavender Brown! You packed a whole lot, about a previously disregarded character in less than 724 words. You gave her life, and you gave her enough life to make me feel sad at the right moments, and speechless in others.

Like here:
He wanted to give your firstborn back - the one you had crying in the loo when you were seventeen, given up with a hush-brewed potion, black and bitter, all in the name of being Cormac McLaggen's last shag of Hogwarts.

I sat staring at this for a full 2 minutes. Very smooth.

Third and most important: YOU WROTE SECOND PERSON! You pulled this off brilliantly, Gina. I love it!

Lia

Author's Response: BLUSHING. /BLUSHING./ I have my little squeeing fingers up and, well, squeeing. I had no special thoughts on Lavender until I wrote this, so it gave life to my headcanon as well, and it's been fun building the post-Hogwarts world one minor character at a time 8D

Yess, I did want it to sound a bit sassypants! I can see a lot of people having told Lavender how annoying she is, and this is kind of like her obscene gesture back, like ha! I'm alive, suckers. But at the same time, she just wants to find her place in the world, and there's that bittersweetness.

:3 that Rumpelstiltskin bit is my favorite part. Also the first part that I wrote, and the part inspired by the banner.

EEP YES I DID. IT'S NOT SO SCARY AFTER ALL. I didn't plan it that way though, it just happened and I rolled with it xD

Thank you so much! ♥ :3


 Report Review

Review #17, by EverDiggory one for each night

23rd April 2012:
I have been meaning forever(!!!) to leave you some reviews;P

Sorry 'bout that doll!

I think this was great, you really captured Lavender in a way I've never seen.

I don't know what it is (I still,still can't place my finger on it) but the way you tell the story...you make it so much more than a story!

Your writing pieces never fail to make me sigh in awe.

This was short and sweet.well,not necessarily sweet like a happy story, but you get my point;P

xoxo

Ever

Author's Response: Being able to affect anyone in a way is awesome ^__^ I'm glad you enjoyed it and found it sweet. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #18, by maskedmuggle one for each night

22nd April 2012:
Woah~ that was definitely something special and so wonderful. I just adored this different perspective of Lavender, and as you point out - she is as much a war veteran as everyone else, and it really was just fantastic to see such depth and intensity of character in her.

I loved the realisation of what it means to be a Gryffindor and you managed to convey really well how the war affected and changed Lavender. Your writing is beautiful, as always, and it was a real delight to read this! :)

Author's Response: Ahh, I'm glad you like how I wrote her :) I love exploring minor characters, and I have sort of a soft spot for the ones I used to dislike (like Cho and Fleur), because after writing them, I understood them a lot better, and it helped me sympathize.

♥ thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Aiedail one for each night

22nd April 2012:
Your audience leans forward. Are you running away? No, no, you tut. You are growing wiser.

CAN THAT JUST--UGH--BE MY WHOLE REVIEW OR SOMETHING because i don't know how i'm even going to express my appreciation for this.

It takes me a while, reading this, to understand which scars are which--which are those of the potion-forced abortion(s)--which are those that the "wolfman" left--but that kind of complicates this story in a beautiful way. You liken scars to brush marks, that scars paint a person, and in the way you can see individual scars it's what, overall, the picture is saying, that has the biggest voice--Lavender as a person is the sum but not quite total of her scars. I see that here. In a way it doesn't particularly matter, which scars are which. It's what she does with herself because of them, the way you've written it that makes this a startling and beautiful, haunting piece.

The idea that Lavender uses her "silliness" as a coping mechanism is completely believable. We see it everywhere without taking time to realize that that's what we're seeing. People are all flesh and bone, malleable glut of atoms, and can be rearranged, probed, hurt in soft spots in small ways, torn open, hurt in big ways. People who guard themselves with a brash exterior are paradoxically, I think, the weakest. Like when you have callouses so you stop noticing when they burst open; callouses are damaged goods. They're effective until everything breaks.

This piece explores that, and I appreciate its honesty but also mildly lyrical qualities. That line, the one I quoted for lack of a better way--and not just because I don't have one but because I don't believe it exists at all--to start this review. It's something I'd analyze, say, in a poem-centric class, talking about the volta which is fancy jargon for the "turn" that the thought takes. It's there and you don't see what corner you took but we know you're on a different street and they're necessarily linked. The link is a bit of a mystery. Some of the best poems, I think, are mysterious but open to exploration. They're "bottomless," we say. This line particularly has that quality. I think because it's strangely specific but also doesn't talk about just one thing. There's that lovely interaction, the calmness and tongue-in-cheek attitude of Lavender but there's also your wisdom as a writer.

I have an ambivalent relationship with house imagery. I think people use houses in very bland ways in a lot of writing; not fanfic because I don't stumble across a lot of house imagery in fanfic, I don't know? But in books, and stuff, the house is archetypally significant for its reflection of an emotional state. If a house is in shambles it's mirroring someone's emotional instability. If a character goes around cleaning it up, they're trying to clean up their act. To me, this all seems very cut and dry. It's not uncommon, the way you've used it--a house as a symbol of fertility and the root of a home...but what I find powerful and what indicates to me that you're a writer whose subconscious understanding of a person is so extensive as to embody them, needs, wants, everything--is your manipulation of this, the artful, quiet carrying over of the trope to a later point, one where we know what it means. I dislike Nathaniel Hawthorne's characterization but appreciate his method of suggestion; it's masterful, all the literary critics talk about it--and that's what you've done here.

Anyway. I won't ramble on forever. (Hey, prof, can I write a stylistic analysis of mah fran's fanfic piece?) Suffice it to say, I'm a big fan of your work and YOU (h)

Author's Response: LILY ASFHGDLGLDJ;; When I first saw this review, I had to look away because I was like, omg I'm going to start squeeing ridiculously as I read this, I need to prepare my body. And I was still not prepared.

I hadn't thought about the vagueness of the scars, actually! I swear you describe it better than me in your review, heh. Lavender really is this knot of scars by the time she gets out of Hogwarts, but it is important for me to make her exactly as you say - the sum but not quite total of her scars. She is still so much her earlier self, but transformed. She can stick to her guns - it's one of those traits that aren't necessarily good or bad, but it's rare and there's something admirable about it. I find it interesting how her mannerisms can change from silly to strong just by seeing her a little of her point of view. Maybe not even strong, but it definitely resonates differently.

Also omg, you just went poetic in the middle of your review so I am just going to sit and admire that paragraph for awhile.

I'm also going to nod while you go on about poetry because I hear your professor voice through this review and it feels like there's going to be a quiz later. Hee but really it's seriously so flattering to be able to hear someone say erm, stuff like that for the lack of a better description. I think about a lot of different things as I write, but just in terms of characters. I don't know what words are going to come out of it. When I wrote that line, it was just very Lavender to me. It became a bit of a rubric for her voice in the rest of the oneshot. The house imagery was very Lav too. That girl-of-traditional-dreams, not even just a white house, but a white house in a big blue bow. I hadn't thought about it, but I felt unconsciously that that bow is really important, the way I see it in her head. It's always been there. In a way, the moments I chose for this fic is kind of like looking into 20-year-old Lavender's mind and seeing what memories and emotions she holds on to, where her mind might wander when she's cooking or running a bath.

I'm still sitting here like, oh my god Lily did literary analysis on my fic and she's probably thought about this way more than I have, and I still don't know if I thought about half the things you mentioned or if I just imagined that I intended something like that, but that's the beauty of interpretation 8D I LOFF YOU SO MUCH I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DOO ♥


 Report Review

Review #20, by shoveitsunshine one for each night

20th April 2012:
I adore this characterization of Lavender! The writing style was also very lovely. Excellent work.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by chocolatehell one for each night

17th April 2012:
HELLO GINA! It's Wendy from tda! :)

How do you do it? You can write anything from scandal-y Albus/OC to angsty second person! I think it's great that you wrote about Lavender; it seems like most of the fics here portray Lav-Lav as a crazy, cheating ex-girlfriend. So your fic was really refreshing to read. =D I also liked how you really gave her more depth and showed that she was a Gryffindor.

Obviously, I loved this! xD

Author's Response: Awh, hey Wendy! :) I love minor character stories! Especially Post-Hogwarts. It's interesting to think about what the war was like through different eyes.

I actually started just rambling because I wanted to write something that might fit my banner XD Lavender actually grew into her Gryffindor shell on her own - I didn't plan that whole bit to be cohesive until nearly finished the piece.

♥ thank you muchly loff!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Icouldn'tcomeupwithanawesomename one for each night

6th April 2012:
Beautiful.

Something to think about.

Author's Response: Thanks! :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by Snapdragons one for each night

4th April 2012:
:( Why do you write so pretty? ack. This is actually gorgeous and I love it to pieces. The combination of the imagery and second person and the fact that it's Lavender all made this so great.

(And I love the fact that it's Lavender, because poor Lav Lav does get such a bad rep in fanfic which isn't really fair. here's hoping not everybody stays the same as they were when they were 16. :P /rant)

I still am not a giant fan of Lavender, but I think you did an excellent job with her here - you can still see the same Lavender that we know and yet she does seem (rightfully) older and more mature and guh.

Like the day you cut your gleaming gold hair and spun it into straw. Rumpelstiltskin had come a-knocking. He wanted to give your firstborn back... This whole paragraph hnng. It's so subtle, dealing with it so delicately, and has this fairy-tale quality to it and it might have been one of my favorites in the whole story.

And then I loved how you had gutsy Lavender responding an how she was a Gryffindor, really. There is plenty of time to lie dead but only so much to live. ♥ ♥

And that last line - perfect! ack. I seem to be a tad incoherent in this. Your fault. :P But I really did love this completely - beautiful and thought-provoking and guh. lovely work ♥

(p.s. the banner is equally stunning!)

Author's Response: Ahhh ♥ to be completely honest I chose Lavender because she was blond, but I think that's worked out for the best~ And certainly Lavender was on the sillier end of the Hogwarts girls, but indeed, I should hope she grew up too! ;D

Everyone's been pointing that section out! It's the first part I wrote and everything grew out from there. I was like, okay, Lavlav hasn't got the best luck with Cormac ditching her, but she's cutting her hair which means she's moving on (and she had to cut her hair because her hair was cut in the banner; this is how I get my muse :P). Then the rest is history~

It was odd actually, because I didn't have to think very much to figure out what made Lavender special. All of a sudden, she just seemed like this really determined girl, even though most of the time it manifests as foolishness.

♥ :3 my heart swellls


 Report Review

Review #24, by Hidden_Horcrux one for each night

4th April 2012:
Bonjour there :)
I have to say, this was the first second person story I've read on HPFF and I think you did the most brilliant job of handling it. Usually, people don't quite get the concept of second person and tend to make things confusing for the reader.
Lavender Brown is probably one of the most annoying characters in the whole series, yet OC's like her kind of draw me in. Like there's a tale waiting to be told and now you've told it, there's enough room in my heart to take her in and appreciate her as much as I admire the main characters.
The banner is absolutely stunning and I think the story suits it perfectly, and it surprised me because when I imagine a 'Lavendar Brown' story, I picture a pink and purple girly banner that would suit what she appears to be but you've proven me wrong again Gina.

Reading ferociously as ever :)
-Hidden_Horcrux (Weaslebee on tda)

Author's Response: Ah, hullo! It was kind of nice when I started rambling onto my doc, because I didn't consciously choose second person. It just turned out that way.

Eep, I think that's the best complement ever, that I wrote something that can possibly change a person's view on a canon character. Writing these, in fact, change my own views. It all started with a very old Cho fic that I wrote for a challenge (not up anymore), and that's when I started looking at the lesser-liked characters differently. Lavender's very fun, because she's still got that silliness to her, but it means much more now.

Thank you so much! ♥


 Report Review

Review #25, by Vivre one for each night

4th April 2012:
I thought this was fantastic. Very maturly written and it worked really well in the second person. I thought that you actaully got Lavender very well. All her insucerties sutbly shined through in the books but were never really pick up on so well done for that!

I like the Rumplestiltskin bit was very good, both unexpected, sad, and imaginative.

I loved how abstract yet real it was.

10/10 :)
~Vivre~

Author's Response: Thank you! :) My canon knowledge is really awful because it's been ages since I've last read the books, but I tried my best to remember Lavender and flesh her out from what we saw of her. I'm glad you liked it! :D

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>