Reading Reviews for An Abundance of Harrys
  
23 Reviews Found

Review #1, by DoctorUnderwood An Abundance of Harrys

10th March 2014:
I'm just going to accept this story as canon, ok?

Author's Response: lol, feel free! Head canon ftw!

It was just a fluffy little idea that popped into my head, so I'm glad you enjoyed it. (Plus, it gave me a chance to write a sorting hat song, which I've always kind of wanted to try :P)


 Report Review

Review #2, by HollyStone73 An Abundance of Harrys

17th July 2013:
LOL!! I love this!! Super cute! I absolutely love that everyone chose to name their children after not only Harry, but Ron, Neville & Hermione as well! I especially love that Teddy was pretty nonchalant about it all. That he didn't realize how famous Harry actually was. The story about the mom writing to Harry about being a godfather was cute too. I love this and thought you did an awesome job with it!!

Author's Response: This is one of those plot bunnies that crawls inside your head and won't let you focus on anything else until you've written it. It was actually a lot of fun to write, though. I'm glad you enjoyed it and found it cute. :) Thank you for your review!



 Report Review

Review #3, by Penelope Inkwell An Abundance of Harrys

17th July 2013:
This is so cute! I bet that totally would have happened, too. Everyone’s name would have been Harry (or Ron, or Hermione, or Neville--yay, Neville!--etc...). I really think that was such a clever idea.

I’m sure Harry would have found it tremendously awkward, too, to run about for the rest of his life meeting other Harrys and knowing they were all named for him :D

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! This was just a little plot bunny that hopped into my head one day and wouldn't leave.

I agree that Harry would have been quite chagrined to know that so many kids were named after him. And yay Neville indeed! I love Neville :D


 Report Review

Review #4, by No_oneKnows An Abundance of Harrys

13th October 2012:
That is SO cute!!! I don't normally read Next-Gens so I wouldn't know whether this one was unique or not but it certainly did seem like it was! I never thought of what could've happened after the war and kids being named after Harry is just such a funny idea!!

Even though this is only a one-shot, your characterisation was really good, too. :D

Well done!

Author's Response: Sorry for the late reply, but thank you so much for this review! I really appreciate that you took the time to read and leave some comments. I don't usually write much next-gen, so I'm glad you thought the characterization was well done. This was just a fun, fluffy, little plot bunny that popped into my head so I'm really glad you enjoyed it. It was a lot of fun to write. Thanks again for reading!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Owlpost68 An Abundance of Harrys

24th August 2012:
This was absolutely brilliant! It's such a great idea lolol. It makes so much sense for that to happen too lol, I still have a smile on my face giggling. The sorting hat was great, I thought you kept its essence without feeling like it was repeating something its said before. Also, Victoire and Teddy were done great, both very cute and just how I imagine them. I liked Teddy's friend too, lol eating whatever was in sight just like any of the Weasley's :D Alright, so basically, I love everything about this, I'll see if you've written anything else like this, and if you haven't you should :)
Great job!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! I'm glad it made you smile :)

I don't write much next-gen or very many ocs, so thanks for your compliments on Teddy, Victoire, and Cadmus. It's very much appreciated.

I don't know if I have anything that's super similar to this...probably the closest would be Hero. It's a short story collection, and currently has three pretty short chapters about pre-Hogwarts Ron. It's got a similar cutesy feel, I think, so you might enjoy it. (Yay for shameless plugs :P)

Thanks again for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by ScarletEye158 An Abundance of Harrys

17th August 2012:
Haha what a brilliant story! I really liked how cute and fluffy this was :)

I also just wanted to congratulate you on your Sorting Hat song! It was really good and I know it was probably really hard to write! (I've tried and failed miserably :p)

The fact that there were so many Harrys at Hogwarts is so realistic and I can't believe I hadn't really thought of it before! That sure would be interesting to know that so many people were named after you :p

I really liked how you characterized Teddy and Vic. They were so cute! I really liked that even though they were still pretty young, they wanted to seem as normal as possible and tried to tone down the attention they were getting from other people. Anyways, nice job! This was such a cute one-shot!

And also, thank you so much for all you did in the House Cup this year!

-Amanda

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! I'm glad that you liked it. Thanks especially for the comments about my sorting hat song. It was a bit tricky to write, and I'm rather proud of how it turned out.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing! I hope you enjoyed the cup!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Moonyxluna An Abundance of Harrys

3rd June 2012:
This was such a good idea! I never really thought about the after effects of the Wizarding war like that, but now that I think about it, it makes a lot of sense that every new parent would be naming kids along the lines of Harry/Ron/Hermione.

I loved your Sorting Hat song! I think you did a great job making it flow well and giving it the same familiarity from the books.

Teddy was sweet looking out for Victorie, and I liked how proud you had him when he was explaining Harry's relationship with The Lupins. I loved how the tables sort of turned on him after he tried to get Gryffindor Harry to ask Victorie all the questions, and Victorie just sends him right back to Teddy with more interesting news :p

This was a very enjoyable read! It was such a neat idea, as well. Great work!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! I'm sorry that it took me so long to get back to you.

Thank you for commenting on the sorting hat song! I'm rather proud of it, actually, so I'm really glad that you thought it flowed well and had a similar feel to the canon versions.

I don't write much next gen, since I prefer to work with established canon characters, so I'm really glad that you liked how I wrote Teddy.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Snoopyy An Abundance of Harrys

7th May 2012:
A very original story I have to say so myself. I have never thought about it much, but I do supposed a lot a people would have named their kids Harry because of the war, I just never thought about it that much. You portrayed Ted perfectly in every way and the little eager Harry was so like a first year who was meeting kids who were related to his namesake. This is very fluff and I loved every moment of it I just want more just like it. One thing I do have to say is that it has to be longer next time, I really enjoy your writing and all of these short one-shots are making my longing even worse. Shame on you, shame on you putting me though all this. However I am enjoying every one and that I suppose is something to be happy about, who wouldn’t be happy about it?

A very nice well written one-shot, nice job.

Snoopy x

Author's Response: The plot bunny for this story just popped into my head one day. I had it on my list of ideas for ages before I actually got around to writing it.

I usually stick to canon characters that we know more about, so writing Teddy was a bit of a stretch for me. I'm really glad that you liked the way he was portrayed. I'm a firm believer that the world needs more little fluffy bits to it, and I'm happy to help the crusade :P

I keep meaning to write longer stories...honest! I have several that I've started to plan out, but they never really work or I get distracted, or I don't have the motivation to work on them or a thousand other reasons. I do apologize for being a bit of a one-shot wonder. I'd like to change that at some point.

Thanks so much for all of your kind compliments about this story and about my writing. It really means a lot :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by MiSTY_VoLPe An Abundance of Harrys

19th April 2012:
haha this story made me laugh! well written and interesting!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! I'm glad it made you laugh :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by momotwins An Abundance of Harrys

18th April 2012:
Loved it! I can't believe no one else has thought of this, I bet there's tons of Harrys in Next Gen, named for Harry Potter. Such a brilliant idea, and so well-written of course ;) Not that I expected any less from you, dear! Great job. Fantastic job on the Sorting Hat song, too.

Author's Response: Thanks, WTM :) I'm so very glad you liked it. I was a bit concerned about my sorting hat song, so thanks for mentioning it. Your reviews always make my day.

 Report Review

Review #11, by padmoonyfoot7 An Abundance of Harrys

12th April 2012:
Very good, love the whole obsessed with the Potters and Weasleys thing, it's quite funny!!
Keep up the good work!!

padmoonyfoot7: over and out!!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing. I'm glad you enjoyed this story :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by unknownhorcrux An Abundance of Harrys

12th April 2012:
Oh how I love bumping into nerdfighters.

I love this story - it's clever, funny and extremely well thought through. A great original idea, with an awesome title (Katherines is such a good book. But I can't choose my favourite of the John Green books... especially now that TFiOS is out...)
Anyway, great story and DFTBA!!

Author's Response: As do I! You should look me up on the forums. We can chat about all things nerdy :P

Thanks again for the amazing banner. It's so wonderful and much better than I was hoping for :D

Thanks also for reading and reviewing. I'm glad you enjoyed this silly little one-shot.

DFTBA!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Siriusly3 An Abundance of Harrys

11th April 2012:
I'm not logged in but whatever..I HAVE to review this. It's so funny! This Harry kid reminds me of Colin Creevy. The baby Hermy is too much, I remembered Krum calling Hermione Hermy and could just imagine her face when Victorie told her :L. As if people wrote to Harry asking him to be children's godfathers, this mother sounds like a right loony;)
Aw, it was really sweet how Teddy is proud of his parents being Auror and agent. The abundance of Harrys is such a funny idea:D Great story !

Author's Response: Aww, thanks for reviewing! I have this great image in my head of Teddy and Victoire telling Hermione about 'Hermy' at Christmas. She'd just sit there looking dignified while Harry and Ron burst into laughter, remembering how Hagrid's brother, Grawp called her Hermy. Oh, good times :P

Yeah, little Harry definitely has a bit of Colin in him, but I think he's just a bit overexcited at the moment, and he'll (mostly) calm down as time goes on. His mother on the other hand...well, she's a few twigs short of a broomstick, I'd say. ;)

Thanks again for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #14, by TheGoldenKneazle An Abundance of Harrys

10th April 2012:
Hi there!

I loved this so much! It's a very original idea, and one I'd never thought of before - how many kids would be named after the war heroes just a year later.

I loved your characterisation of Teddy; he was exactly the way I'd always thought he'd be, with a short attention span, Gryffindor qualities, and a shy attitude concerning his famous adoptive family.

I absolutely LOVED this Harry kid that Teddy talked to aswell! He was brilliant, you showed his excitement and pride so well, with his showing off about his siblings' names. They sound so cute; I can just see a family outing with all those kids not going as planned!

Also, I am in awe of your sorting-hat-song-writing skills - it was an absolutely brilliant poem, and seemed exactly like something the Sorting Hat would sing! It summarised all the houses' qualities so perfectly, too :D

I know I've said this a lot, but... I loved it! :3
~TGK

Author's Response: Sorry it took me a bit to respond, but thank you so much for this review! *hug*

I don't write much next gen, so I'm glad you liked Teddy's characterization. And little Harry was so much fun to write, so I'm glad you liked him as well :P

Thank you for mentioning the sorting hat song! It was rather tricky, and I was second guessing how accurate the descriptions of the houses were, so I very much appreciate your kind words. I have even more respect for the great Jo Rowling after writing that song. They're hard to do...well, at least for me :P

Thanks again for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #15, by rogovjm An Abundance of Harrys

9th April 2012:
This was a great one-shot, so original and hilarious. I feel bad for all of the Harry's though. They must become a joke at Hogwarts!
-J.

Author's Response: Yeah, I can't imagine it would be very fun to be one of those Harrys, poor guys. Ooh, that's almost a plot bunny :P

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #16, by how2loveamarauder An Abundance of Harrys

8th April 2012:
LOVED! Seriously, I never even thought of how much impact it would have at Hogwarts! You really made my day thank you! :)

Author's Response: Thanks, that's sweet :) I'm glad you liked this silly little one-shot so much. Thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #17, by no namer An Abundance of Harrys

7th April 2012:
hilarious!
i can actually imagine everything in the story happening
poor harry! getting letters from random people asking him to be the godfather of their children!
i loved it!
kan x

Author's Response: Thanks :D I usually try to write stories that I could see fitting into canon, so I'm glad you could imagine this really happening, even if it is probably a bit ridiculous :P Thanks so much for your review!

 Report Review

Review #18, by BKL8008 An Abundance of Harrys

3rd April 2012:
Found you on the recent adds list, and I have to say, this is sheer genius! I would imagine there would be a slew of Harry, Ron, Hermione, etc., namesakes in the years to come! Poor Teddy! Looks like he has his own Colin Creevey now! Masterful and hilarious!

Author's Response: Hi there :) Nice to meet you! I'm really glad that you stumbled upon my story. It means a lot that you took the time to read and leave a review.

I'm glad that you liked this story. It was just a silly little idea that popped into my head one day. It was a lot of fun to write though :P

I think little Harry is just a bit over-excited by being at Hogwarts and meeting people who are directly connected to his namesake. I think he'll calm down a bit as time goes on, but yeah, there's some Colin in there. :)

Thanks again for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #19, by the goblets chosen one An Abundance of Harrys

3rd April 2012:
good it so interestin and fun E

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Aphoride An Abundance of Harrys

3rd April 2012:
Oh gosh, this was lovely! It's such a sweet little one-shot - I really, really enjoyed reading it. It was the perfect length, with the right pace and the scene fitted so well.

I loved Teddy! He really seems like a real twelve-year-old boy waiting for his best friend (or close friend) to be sorted, you know? I can imagine it so clearly. I like how he clearly suits Gryffindor - being brave and boisterious but also so oblivious - how he doesn't understand that having Harry Potter as a godfather is a big deal, lol. Victoire was also lovely, although there was less of her - she didn't really seem to get it either, but I liked the way she was obviously really proud of her family and the family tradition of being in Gryffindor.

Haha, so many Harrys! So many! I love how Harry jr has siblings who are all named after the heroes, and how his mum wrote to Harry sr asking him to be godfather! I've seen a couple of stories were people have tried to do similar styles of hero-worship, but I think you've done it the best. It's not serious, it's not silly - it just kinda is, but instead of focusing it all on Harry, you included the others as well which made it funny rather than just like 'oh, another Harry *yawn*'.

And the Hat's song! So good! Kudos to you for that - I avoid them at every opportunity because the idea of writing one terrifies me. Yours was brilliant!

Ooh, I really enjoyed this!
Aph xx

Author's Response: Thanks so much for this very sweet review! I'm so glad you enjoyed this story.

Thanks especially for mentioning the hat's song. It was kind of tricky to write, so it's nice to get positive feedback on it :)

I'm so glad that you liked Teddy! I don't think I've ever written him before. I wanted him to be a bit of a typical confident, boisterous kid, but with a bit of underlying sweetness (like how he was looking out for Victoire in his own way). Victoire didn't get much page time, but I'm glad you liked her, too.

Harry jr (good name for him :P) was a pretty ridiculous character. He definitely has a bit of a Colin Creevey-ness to him, but to a lesser extent, I think.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing. This review was just wonderful! I really appreciate your comments and feedback :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by magicmuggle01 An Abundance of Harrys

3rd April 2012:
Hi. Here with your requested review.

This was a good one shot. It would of course stand to reason that alot of expectant mothers would name their newborns after some of the heros of the final battle, and Harry would be no different.
This Harry sounds very much like a Colin Creevey, and I think he's latching onto some of the next gen crew.
An excellent one shot and 10/10 and adding to favs. I think you could get a sequel out of this, say a couple of years later.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your review! I really appreciate it.

Harry definitely has some Colin in him, though I think he's just a little over-excited right now. I have a feeling he'll calm down a bit more than Colin ever did.

Thanks so much for the favorites add! I'm glad you liked this silly little tale :P No plans for a sequel at this point, but I've never been good at planning ahead.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Hermione389 An Abundance of Harrys

3rd April 2012:
This is a very good chapter - I love the sorting hat's song! I tried to do one a little while back with one of my stories and it was OK-ish, not as good as yours though!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! I'm so glad that you mentioned the sorting hat's song (and that you actually liked it!) I have even more respect for Jo Rowling now. Those songs are pretty hard!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Brittanique An Abundance of Harrys

3rd April 2012:
Before I say anything about this story: John Green is amazing. Nerdfighters FTW.

Okay, and onto your story. I thought it was quite funny, to be honest. I'm not usually one to read next-gens anymore but I quite enjoyed this.

It was definitely something that never occurred to me before but, now that it has been brought to my attention, I do believe that there would be an influx of Harrys, Hermiones, Rons and so on. It is kind of strange I never thought of that. And to think I used to write next-gens! Go me?!

Anyways, yes. This was very well written and thank-you for casting your awesome light on my obvious obliviousness.

Good work!
Brittanique

Author's Response: Thank you for your jokes review :) John Green is indeed amazing (and French the llama-tastic). It's lovely to meet a fellow Nerdfighter. Keep being awesome!

Anyway, thanks so much for responding to my status and for taking the time to read this story! I always get nervous when I first post something new, so getting a review right away is so nice and helpful.

I'm glad that you liked the idea and found it kind of funny. It just popped into my head one day and thought it was funny :P Since Victoire was born on the one-year anniversary of the end of the war, I figured she'd be in a class full of "baby-boomers," all the kids who were conceived and born right after the war ended.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing! DFTBA!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login