Reading Reviews for No Comment
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by forsakenphoenix Mangos

6th July 2012:
I think it's hard to write fifty one-shots of the same pairing and not get a bit repetitive. You do a lot of flashbacks to memories, which are never the same so that's nice, but it's the story line around each memory that is so different.

I really like this take - having Harry being interviewed and the flashbacks relating to the questions being asked. Just a quick correction - the interviewer's name is Romilda. You spelled it wrong throughout the entire fic and it was a bit distracting.

I really loved how supportive Ginny was in this fic, how she's always been supportive of him, and it gets him through the day. Though if I was Romilda, I'd be really frustrated with Harry's constant no commenting. The poor woman just wants to write an article!

Speaking of Harry's interview...I'm not sure how I felt about Hermione throwing him to the wolves, so to speak. That just doesn't seem like Hermione to me, to pass off talking about their role in the war because she wants a private life. She would understand that Harry wants a private life too and she wouldn't force him to do anything he didn't want to. If anything, it should've been a mutual decision between the entire trio to do an interview together or something. Though if none of them want to talk about it, then they shouldn't have to. /endrant. Sorry, that just frustrated me a little bit.

Anyway, I really liked the memories of Albus and James when Lily was born. They were so cute and I love how they're a bit of a blend of Harry and Ginny. Plus, Harry's pride at how perfect his children are...that's so sweet.

I do think this could do with some editing too (as most of your fics, I just forget to mention it once I'm done with the rest of my review). There were some awkward sounding sentences and some misspelled words (aside from you spelling Romilda wrong).

But other than that, this was a really sweet one-shot. I liked it.

Author's Response: It is hard. It's really hard, to find new lines, new things, new ways of saying I love you, of showing it. So memories are rather helpful and I like writing them, so that makes it an added plus :).

Oh thanks, for that I could have sworn I spelled it right, but I'll have to fix that. Thank you :)

She is frustrated with him! but in many ways so is Harry, he came to answer questions to make people not worry about the after the war things, (even though it's years later) not to talk about his love life.

Ginny will always support him. She is there for him as much as he is there for her.

I hope this doesn't upset you. if it does I'm very sorry I meant that in no way.

I don't like Hermione, I read so many stories where she is so perfect when sometimes I just see her as selfish sometimes, I needed a reason for Harry to do this interview. I wasn't going to bash Hermione, because I see no reason to, I decided that as a small part to the story she would force him to do it.

I can understand the frustration, but I don't feel that it was such a big part, and let's face it Hermione is bossy. :)

I don't like writing Albus and James as a big part, that's why I only really write memories of them, for some reason I don't like making the kids a huge part of the story, but when I do write them, I like them as little kids.

I'm sure it could use some editing, but I don't really tend to go back on it. I write, edit, send it to my beta, re-read it, and then post it. That's sometimes all I want to do :).

Thank you so much, and thanks for all the reviews, they are really nice to see and have. Thank you :)

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #2, by apocalypse Mangos

19th May 2012:
First, I think I'll just laugh at Romilda! Hahahaha! It was SO funny the way she was trying to get an answer out of him. So very well done! :) And you know what? This is my first Harry/Ginny in ages! I don't remember when was the last time I read this pairing but I'm SO glad that I foud this story! You've done a great job with Harry's characterization, he was almost exactlt like we know him from canon. And then Ginny! Ah. The love he has for her? Loved it description! A marvelous job with the details and the memories of their lives! Albus and James are SOOO CUTE! This was a beautiful story; beautifully written; beautifully executed and beautifully managed! Great, brilliant job! I loved it to bits! Favourting now! :)

Author's Response: Oh thank you! Everyone seemed to really love Romilda, she was the stories favorite. I'm glad you picked my story up, and really wow your review is just making my whole year, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you.

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #3, by Miss Muggle Mangos

13th May 2012:
Ha! I can totally picture Harry giving this interview. He's too modest for his own good. I love the flashbacks with each question. They're just perfect little snapshots into Harry and Ginny's life.

Author's Response: I love how you wrote this review, it really made my day, I mean I Love Harry and Ginny to the max and you just put my thoughts into words, and sent them back to me.

Thank you.

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #4, by RosieQueen Mangos

21st April 2012:
I loved this so much!! Your characterization of Harry was wonderful! Harry definitely doesn't enjoy his fame, and you made that really obvious. Romilda was hilarious, and naturally, as a reporter, she became agitated at Harry's lame responses. "No comment," typical Harry. This was one of the most hilarious interviews I've ever read. :D

~Rosie

Author's Response: Wow thank you, I'm glad you liked Harry. I'm also really glad you liked Romilda, most of the reviewers did too, which was really exciting. I'm surprised you found it funny, while it was supposed to be funny, my comedy really lacks in my writing.

Thanks so much though.

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #5, by Cirque Du Freak Mangos

19th April 2012:
Hiya! Its HopelessRomanticx with your review. :)

First of all a little critique (You can leave some of these out if you want, just suggestions!) :

"glass of [firewhiskey]" -- capitalise Firewhisky.

"Or shed just pull me away[,] and once we were gone far enough[,] she would kiss me[,] making me..." -- here I don't think you need any of the commas.

"says [Romlida] Vane" -- typo of the name Romilda (this you need to change throughout the story)

"she asks[,] her quill" -- comma is not needed here.
"I feel is [an] very evil smile" -- change to 'a'.
"Albus look a bit [skeptical]" -- Britpick, sceptical.
"mouth to reply[,] knowing" -- remove comma.

Sentence structure:

"and nobody would ever ask me again" -- this feels a very awkward add-on to the sentence I would rephrase it differently like: "and nobody to ask me them ever again".

"feed James and Albus as quietly as the boys could never be because Lily was asleep" -- this sounds really awkward, I would rephrase this so what you're saying about James and Albus is clearer.

I feel like the whole paragraph is a bit vague and unfinished so maybe rewording it and switching around sentences so that Hermione's intention would be clearer.

Characterisation:

I actually like how you've written Harry - his mannerisms and responses are what I would categorize with older Harry, even if it is hard to imagine. The drinking comment at the beginning is quite interesting, and its not at all OOC, because I would imagine Harry have a lot of stress and he would need to relieve that somehow.

Hermione, I think, was a bit off, because I would imagine that she would be a lot more sympathetic to Harry and not push all of their experiences onto his shoulders, because they went through it together (& for Ron, I think, it would be important considering their kids and how they'll grow up). I think that sense of unity would be especially important in a first interview. Not to mention that Hermione would be that extra push to get him to talk about it openly.
Also, the bit where Hermione 'awkwardly pats Harry on the back' I think was more of a Ron move - I think Hermione in nature would have been a bit more chipper than that.

I think Ginny was done really well - I particularly liked how charming she has learnt to be, really, because brash behaviour can't settle Harry or the paparazzi in their favour. I think its clever you gave Ginny that forethought and put it to good use, in a way.

In General:

First and foremost I absolutely love the idea of the time jumps correlating directly to Harry's memories when he was asked similar questions or to the relevent parts of his life so far. That was a really good concept and I think you worked well with it as I slowly saw the pattern throughout reading this so well done! :)

I know you were worried about flow and it does start off a little bit choppy at the beginning, but I think that's because there's not a lot in that first scene and you switched so quickly to the next one. But it improves greatly throughout if a little confusing at the tea scene where it doesn't feel like it correlates enough to Romilda's question.

I also think that towards the end where the memories were becoming longer you needed to make up for that when he was supposed to be doing the interview with Romilda as that felt a bit choppy - so more description there about how Harry's feeling at that point, whatever is in the cafe, what is the view exactly, that sort of thing. :)

All in all, it was an absolute pleasure to read and I'm glad you requested! Feel free to request from me again in the future!

Cirque.

Author's Response: Wow thank you for the amazingly long review, that was really nice to take so much out of your time to do so thank you very much.

I'm thrilled with all your thoughts and feelings on this story, I'm glad as a whole you enjoyed it, I'm glad you gave me a honest review, and I don't know when but one day I'll go back and edit it, but that's not today, and not tomorrow :)

Thank you though,

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #6, by Sapphire_Skies Mangos

19th April 2012:
Personally, I think its a huge risk writing Harry, especially in the first person, because we know him so well from the books, I dont think Id ever be able to write him as completely as Rowling does, so I take my hat off to you for bravery! Unfortunately, I did think you slipped up on a couple of occasions, but really, I am incredibly nitpicky when it comes to Harry characterisation and I confess to not reading much written from his PoV, Hogwarts era or Next Gen. What I think I found the hardest to digest here was that Harry sounded rather immature at times. He sounded more like a teenager, with his constant refusal to answer the question and frequent longing for a drink, rather than a mature man in his mid twenties with a successful career and three children. Had you set it when he was younger and still fresh from his long struggle with Voldemort, it might have sounded more apt than it does now, a decade or so later.

Which brings me onto another point. While I like the structure of the story, having the questions and then Harrys memories, I do feel that it was a little implausible in the set up of it. I personally find it unbelievable that the wizarding community are still scared and want to know what happened ten years later. A decade is a very long time and a lot of things can happen. As I said above, I think it would have been a better idea to set it earlier, not only for characterisation purposes, but so the scenario is more believable. However, then you wouldnt have as many adorable moments between Harry and Ginny to fall back on, which is the main point of the story. Perhaps it would have been a better idea to have Harry either find an article where hed been asked those questions, or think about one where he refused to answer, and think about how he would answer those questions now

Dont get disheartened by all this, I do think that in the right circumstances that this could be a lovely little fic, its light-hearted, fluffy, sweet and funny at times (I also love that Romilda is the reporter! A very apt career for her!).

Author's Response: In so ways yes, I agree with you, writing Harry is really hard, and it's hard for me too, I always find myself wondering is this right for him. I think in many ways that works for me though gives me challenge.

I'm going to this out right. I agree with you, you are right, and I was actually planning on setting it in an earlier time before, but then my hands go the best of me and soon Romilda was asking about his kids and such.

I'm also there is a 3% chance that I'm going to go back and re-edit it, because while I want my work to be the best and for people to enjoy every second of it, I'm just happy in a lot of ways were it is right now.

I have to say though, I loved your review, and I thank you for taking the time to review it.

Thanks again,

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #7, by Melissa Mangos

18th April 2012:
This was so sweet and good! I loved it!

Author's Response: Thank you, thank you so much!

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #8, by Aphoride Mangos

15th April 2012:
First, can I just say that your Author's page kinda scares me, lol. It's so big and long and intimidating - but very, very impressive. Even more so, in a way, coz it's all Harry/Ginny.

Anyway, I really liked this! It was so sweet and so /Harry/ and it just made sense. I can see him refusing to talk about any of it after the war, because it's too hard and difficult, you know? And he was always kinda private. I thought he was pretty much perfect, tbh.

Ginny was amazing too - pretty much spot on as well. I liked the reference to him telling her everything - it reminded me of the bit in the fifth book where she tells him about being possessed by Riddle, although I don't know if that was intentional or not ;) Either way, it worked really well!

Lovelovelove how Romilda is the reporter. She seems like a less evil Rita Skeeter, lol. (By the way, in England it's just 'tuna', rather than 'tuna fish', but that's a tiny thing!)

James and Albus are so cute! So adorable! :D

The whole idea of this was great and really original, I think, putting it as his first interview after the war. So, yeah, I really really enjoyed this.

Keep writing Harry/Ginny! It's just so perfect! :D
Aph xx

Author's Response: That is the first person who has ever called it scary! I'm kind of happy you said that, it really made me laugh! Yeah it does surprise people that I only write one pairing, but they are my comfort zone.

I'm glad you liked it. I think Harry is kind of a private person, except with his few close people, but he doesn't like putting anyone in a bad place, and for this he really doesn't like talking about stuff like this.

Wow, thank you, I wouldn't go for amazing, but I do love writing her, she makes me really happy, and I'm glad you thought it worked well.

Romlida is going to get Harry in the sixth book, reporter seemed to fit her, going after the story. Oh, I didn't know that, I'll go a fix that, thanks! :)

I will try, I do love writing them! Thanks again, this review was really nice.

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #9, by JessiesGirl Mangos

13th April 2012:
Hello lizmusic45

I found this story rather interesting; particularly the way you attempted to structure it. If I have to be completely honest with you I usually don't tend to enjoy stories that switch tenses too much over the space of such a short piece of writing; they always come across as too detatched which can be distracting for the reader. Personally however, I feel that this method really seemed to work well with the storyline. It reinforced the significance of each moment in Harry and Ginny's relationship that you chose to draw upon; nothing seemed out of place so kudos for that.

There were a few minor grammatical errors that I spotted here and there, nothing too drastic or distracting from the storyline though. I also really enjoy the fact that you chose to use Romilda Vane of all people to interview Harry; it's very rare that I get to see her make an appearance in a story so that made for quite a nice change.

You also did a very good job with Harry and Ginny's characterisation; I couldn't find fault with either of them and little Al and James were positively adorable!

You've got quite the unique one shot here; it made a refreshing change from the stories I'm generally more accustomed to reading.

x - JessiesGirl - x

Author's Response: Hello JessiesGirl,

I'm glad you liked it, and thanks for leaving me such a long review, that was very nice of you. I for some reason and quite found of them, when written well, I don't know if I did that, but I hope it didn't bother you to much :)

There kids are so cute, I have so much love for James, Albus, and Lily.

Thank you, and thanks for reviewing that was really nice of you :)

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #10, by Random writter Mangos

11th April 2012:
Only two words to say- No Comment :D
Good story
Keep it up

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I will keep trying, and I'm really grateful for all your nice reviews! Thank you!

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #11, by javct Mangos

11th April 2012:
Javct45 here with your review!

(Just casually adding to my favourites) Okay, I really enjoyed this! You had me laughing throughout most of the story and the last few lines were so funny!

You have separated the flashbacks from the present part of the story which is really good :) (I read lots of stories where you don't realise they've gone into a flashback, so it was good to see that you got it right!)

I couldn't pick up any grammatical errors so virtual cookies and hugs to you and your beta :D

Overall, I loved this! Thank you for yet another amazing Hinny story!
Jas

Author's Response: Ah! Thank you! I'm so glad you liked it, I mean since your writing is really good, so you liking mine is like amazing!

Thank you I'm glad you thought it was funny, that makes me really happy, because I'm terrible at writing humor.

All the hugs and cookies go to my beta, She rocks, I'd be lost without her!

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #12, by Aurorofthelight Mangos

5th April 2012:
You seem stuck on the number 43 so yes 43 times! This was another marvelous story - I am still highly impressed with these ideas you keep coming up with, LittleOne! :D This one was brilliant! An interview with Romilda Vane of all people! Loved how you had Harry answer her questions in his head but give her a no comment! Tuna Fish? I figured he'd say treacle tart! Magnificent job, LittleOne! Another entry to my favorites!

Author's Response: If I make the pleases any longer, it will become longer than my one-shot :) I'm glad you keep coming back, I do nothing that brilliant that should keep you coming, I'm thrilled every time I see a new review by you.

I am so sorry though about how long I've taken to reply back, my manners seem to have flown away, and I'm really sorry.

Well Tuna just seemed like on odd food that fit nicely, and everyone thought it was weird to have Romlida, I don't know, I kind of think Romlida Vane is like me with my crush on Daniel Radcliffe, except I'm happy, he's happy with his girlfriend Rose Cooker!

I'm weird!

Thank you, thank you so, so, so, much!

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #13, by Phillip Mangos

5th April 2012:
I'll take a line from Harry, no comment ;)
good job as usual! and 43 pleases

Author's Response: Ah but you did comment! :) Thank you so, much, I'd be lost without your reviews! Also, thanks for counting the pleases :)

Lizzie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login