Reading Reviews for The Fourth Daughter
  
91 Reviews Found

Review #1, by cherry_pop94 The Stable Hand

20th July 2015:
Hello Cassie! I'm here for the House Cup 2015 for Ravenclaw! But also to read more of your lovely story.

This was a wonderful chapter, though it was a bit shorter than the others so far. I really enjoyed the introduction of Godric Gryffindor here. It's interesting that he works in the stables, given his canon character, I think this is a very interesting way to put him in here.

I really like how Godric exists in Dezzy's 'real world' while Salazar exists in her sort of 'fantasy world' even though it's real too, just in a very different way. It puts them in very separate parts of her life, but they still both affect her.

Godric's character was a real highlight of this chapter. He seems chivalrous, proper, but also not afraid to call the princess by her nickname when she requests that. He seems bold as well. You've characterized all the founders so far very well and I can't wait to see what you do with Rowena!

Thanks for sharing your writing!

Stefanie

 Report Review

Review #2, by Felpata Lupin The Second Night

7th July 2015:
Hey, Cassie!
I'm back!!! :)
Ok, I wasn't expecting Salazar at all... And I'm just so intrigued by the story and eager to know where this is going.

I love the characterization so much! Dezzy's passional temperament, Adella's tender heart even if she tries to be the authoritative one for her sisters' sake, Bea's rebelliousness, the youngers' enthusiasm... I loved them all!

I'm still wondering about the founders' role in this (should I expect some romance between Dezzy and Salazar? How is Rowena related to the sisters? Will Helga appear more? And Godric?)

I really can't wait to know more, so expect another review from me soon!
Lovely work so far!
Hugs and kisses,
Chiara

Author's Response: Hi Chiara!
I'm glad I've got you intrigued!
Oh, it's so nice to hear that you like all the sisters. Dezzy is a lot like me, so writing her always feels pretty natural. I think you've got Addie down pat, though, and that makes me really happy. She seems stern, but she does love her sisters more than anything, and is just trying to do what's best for them.
The founders each play a pretty specific role in the story. Helga will appear more, and Godric and Salazar will appear a lot as the story goes on. As for Rowena, she'll come along in a few chapters, and you'll find out how she's related to the girls then.
Thank you so much for the review! I wasn't expecting it at all, so I was really glad to see you back to this story!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by Felpata Lupin The Pavilion

3rd July 2015:
Hi Cassie!
Here for our swap!
I've been willing to start this since I read "Just a governess", but for one reason or another I never got to it... Well, I'm here now!!!

This was really beautiful! I loved the descriptions, particularly of Dezzy getting ready for the ball at the beginning (even if it was just a dream... how sad...) and of the enchanted forest at the end. What is that place, by the way? Who is looking at them? Their father? Or Helga? Or their mother's spirit (but I doubt she would've stayed behind, would she? And wasn't she a Muggle?) Or someone else?

I loved your characterization of the twelve sisters. You managed to give us a tiny bit of all of their different personalities, which is amazing to do with so many original characters at once!

It's so sad that, in his mourning, their father is practically forbidding them to be happy... I know he doesn't realize how much he's hurting them, and that he probably loves them dearly, still his attitude towards them is just so cruel... Isn't it bad enough that they don't have their mother beside them?

I'm very curious to know what happens next. And there are so many questions that I want answered... For example, their surname is Ravenclaw, so I suppose they're related to Rowena somehow? Is Dezzy a witch? Mmmh... I'll definitely need to keep reading...

Thank you so much for the swap!
Tons of hugs and love!
Chiara

Author's Response: Hi Chiara!
I'm so glad you enjoyed this! I love writing dream sequences, and for some reason it just felt right to start this story with a dream. I'm glad you liked the sisters, too! It was definitely hard to fit all twelve girls in one chapter, but they're so much fun when they're all together. I always like writing group scenes with the sisters, and it's definitely gotten easier over time.
The King has really been changed by his grief, and is so focused on not feeling that pain that he thinks cutting out memories of his wife will make everything okay. Unfortunately, that means he doesn't see his daughters a lot, and doesn't really understand how much he's hurting them.
They are related to Rowena! She comes in in a few chapters, as do the other Founders. Also, just to clear this up now, Dezzy isn't a witch. This is AU, so the Founders don't form Hogwarts, and they actually don't all have magic.
I'm so glad you enjoyed this, and thank you for the review swap!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by cherry_pop94 The Fan Dance

3rd July 2015:
Hi Cassie!

Here for our review swap! I loved this chapter! It was so sweet, especially at the end with the fan dance. It's a really beautiful scene with all the movement and colour. I think you could have used some more description here, as those big gowns and fans are definitely a really vivid scene, but overall, it was well done.

The beginning of this chapter was really bittersweet to. I really like Helga's character, she's so nurturing and sweet to the girls. I'm also really looking forward to Dezzy's interactions with her father in later chapters. They're got a really interesting relationship here.

Thanks for the swap!

Stefanie

Author's Response: Hi Stefanie!
The fan dance was really interesting to write! All the dances I go into detail about are, actually. I have to choreograph them first, and then try and put the dance into writing, which is always really tough. But I'm glad it turned out okay!
I love writing Helga when she's with the girls. She's just has such a great maternal instinct, and knows exactly what the girls need from her.
Thank you so much for the review swap!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Beeezie The Pavilion

3rd July 2015:
Hey, here for our swap! :)

I love "The Twelve Dancing Princesses" - it's always been one of my favorite fairy tales, so when I saw this retelling, I couldn't resist. I hope there's a TAR for reviewing Puffs and I'm around for it, so then I have an excuse to come back and read more of it!

Because this story is well, well worth reading more of. I loved your prose - it took me away to a very different time period and created a very vivid picture in my head of Desiya and her sisters. In particular, when they found the magical world behind the wall, I wanted to close my eyes and wake up there. It's so beyond beautiful, and I kind of want to make a blend of it but know that I couldn't do your vision justice. :P

My heart went out to the girls. You've definitely portrayed their father in a nuanced light, at least thus far, and I love that he's not just a villain for its own sake - but at the same time, it's also very clear to me that he's pushing his personal grief onto everyone else, including his daughters, in a very unfair and inappropriate way.

It's not just that they can't dance - it's what that symbolizes. When Desiya thinks about it and speaks with her sisters about it, I get the sense that they were far closer to their mother than her father. The fact that Clara is making excuses for poor behavior and Addie is so concerned at the idea of breaking one of his rules - and, even more so, that they all behave a bit like startled rabbits - speaks volumes to me. I was happy to see them find the beautiful pavilion and finally be able to dance, and I'm so intrigued about who was watching them!

That said, I do have a little CC.

I like that you've set this in the Founders era - I think you're doing an excellent job of capturing the time period, and how Rowena fits into this Ravenclaw family is so intriguing!

However, I did wish that some things had either been a bit more explicitly spelled out or not included just yet. I'm not quite clear whether this castle is Hogwarts, but if it is, it would have been nice to see some more significant identifying details for the reader to make that clear. And, if it isn't, I would have similarly liked some clarification to that end as well.

Similarly, the mention of Helga as their governess makes me unsure whether this is an AU or a story in which Helga is their governess before or after her time at Hogwarts. To make it a bit more clear, I'd to see a tiny bit more information about her - age, manner, maybe some hint of magic if this isn't AU. Not more than a sentence or two, just something to give me a better grounding early on, even though I'm sure you go into further detail later.

All in all, though, I loved this. It's beautifully written, and I'm so happy there's so much posted. :) Thank you for the swap!

Author's Response: Hello!
I'm so glad you liked this! And enjoyed my descriptions. Since this is based on a fairytale, I have an excuse to make this really descriptive, which is always fun.
The King's grief has definitely pushed him away from his daughters, which is really sad. He does love them, but I think in his grief after losing his wife, seeing his daughters is painful for him, and he wants to get rid of any pain he might feel instead of dealing with it and working through it.
The girls were very close with their mother, and since she taught them to dance, it's something that could keep them close to her after she's gone.
So, I've edited the Author's Note for this chapter to explain this a little, since people have been asking. This story IS AU, so I've messed around with the Founders ages and relationships a lot. They don't all meet and form Hogwarts in this story, and the castle where the girls live isn't Hogwarts, either. I think that becomes much more clear in later chapters, but hopefully it's clear now that I've explained it a bit.
Thank you so much for the lovely review! This was a fun swap!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Gabriella Hunter The First Suitor

19th June 2015:
HELLO!

This is Gabbie stopping by with our little swap and it's good to be back! I've been meaning to return to this story for a while but was caught up in A Spoonful of Sugar. Hahaha. I forgot just what kind of trouble Dezzy and the girls were in this time! D':

I was glad to see Salazar showing up again and I'm curious to know what's going to happen to him after all this. There is still a lot of mystery about him and I'm dying to find out what it is, he seems otherworldly and kind of makes my skin crawl. I know that Dezzy likes him and he seems charming but something about him is making me stay on guard. Hm...

I was glad that the girls were able to have a little fun though. I know that they're not sure what might happen during their father's competition but it was nice to see them happy and then that ending happened.

Why do you do these things?!

I was horrified by the fact that not only is their father oblivious to what they want that he would actually consider marrying Dezzy off to a walking skeleton! What?! I am so worried for her right now and in my mind, I want her to run away from him or toss up her hands and shout. I know that it might not happen but I really, really liked the fact that Dezzy was so strong at the end of this chapter. I'm rooting for her and I hope that she'll be able to see Godric again, I'm worried about the other suitors that are going to show up.

Great chapter! I'll be back!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi Gabbie!
It's always fun for me to write Salazar. He's just so different from Godric, and his effect of Dezzy is always really interesting to explore.
But, yes, the girls needed a little time to breathe and relax and just be silly. I think throughout this story, I have moments where I suddenly remember just how young they all are. Addie is only nineteen, but she acts so much older that sometimes I forget that while I'm writing her.
Lord Whitaker is really stuffy and old and boring and basically everything that the girls were dreading in a suitor. But I really wanted him there to push Dezzy into the realization that she really, really loves Godric, and isn't going to give that up without a fight.
I'm so glad you enjoyed this! I hope to see you back here soon!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by cherry_pop94 The Second Night

16th June 2015:
Hi Cassie! I'm here for our swap and to read another chapter of this lovely story.

Salazar is so charming he's got me swooning over here. But his charm here doesn't come off as fake or slimy at all, it seems so genuine. Like he really is just very lonely. I hope it stays that way and he hasn't any ulterior motive or whatever. Honestly, the way you've written him, he could charm the pants off a nun!

And Dezzy and Salazar! So perfect, especially if their mother is Rowena. So many people ship Rowena and Salazar (me included), so this is so perfect since your story is sort of AU there's no weird age thing either.

Anyway, I'm so excited to see where this goes. You've told such a pretty fairy tale story here!

Thanks for sharing!

Stefanie

Author's Response: Hi Stefanie!
Salazar is definitely a charmer! I'm glad you didn't think he seemed slimy or fake or anything like that. Their mother actually isn't Rowena, but she is a relative. I won't say how she'll come into the story though. I don't want to spoil it!
I do mess around with the Founders ages, but that will be more clear a little later on when the rest of them come into the story.
Thank you so much for the review! I'm glad you enjoyed this!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by cherry_pop94 The Pavilion

31st May 2015:
Hi there Cassie! Iím here for our review swap.

Iíve had my eye on this story for quite a while now because Iím sort of working on a similar thing Ė rebooted fairy tale. Fairy tales are already so steeped in magic, that it seems perfect to write stories on them based in the HP world. Plus, the Founders era is perfect for mediaeval tales.

Your first chapter is really excellent. The description of Desiya is quite good and the setting as well. Youíve done a good job of showing this mediaeval castle in just a few sentences. One thing though, they didnít wear corsets until the 16th century. At this time, the women would have worn much looser clothing that didnít show off the figure as much. Still though, I thought this was quite good, especially the long curly hair. I thought that was a lovely touch and sets a very vivid scene.

The names you chose for the 12 princesses were all lovely, especially the touch about naming them in alphabetical order. I actually quite feel for the father character. Iím certain that he loves his daughters very much, but it must be so hard for him to lose his wife. Children often forget in tragedy that their parents are human too and need time to grieve. Iím sure the father is absolutely devastated by his wifeís death and is trying his best with his daughters, though his best doesnít seem to be enough.

And with 12 princesses, youíve done a splendid job of differentiating their personalities! Beaís inquisitive, Clara feels a world of responsibility, Desiyaís a dreamer, Gertieís sweet and innocent, Adella is sternÖ I love them all very much!

Iím curious, youíve said that this is an AU. Will there be mention of magic? Youíve already talked about the enchanted castle (obvious that enchantment didnít totally wear off yet, what with the secret passageway) and Helga has been mentioned as the girlsí governess, but are they witches?

Anyway, this was a really great first chapter and Iíll definitely be reading more of this! Adding it to my currently reading list now!

Thanks for sharing this!

-Stefi

Author's Response: Hello!
I'm so glad you chose to read this! And it's so cool that you're working on something similar!
I really don't have a specific time period in mind when writing this story, because I kind of want it to be a story where you could picture it happening in different times and places, so I didn't stick with super strict guidelines to keep it in line with a certain time period. I kind of add little bits of different times all in one story.
I'm so glad you like the names! I made up Dezzy's name, and the rest were ones I found after researching popular girls names from different time periods. It's really interesting to hear your thoughts on the girls' father, because if you decide to keep reading, seeing some more of him might change your opinions of him.
It's both hard and really fun to keep track of twelve sisters who are all quite different. I tend to focus on the older ones for that reason, so I'm glad you think they all have unique personalities!
This is AU, because like I said before, I mess around with time and place for the setting. I also change around the Founders' ages, and magic exists, but not all the Founders have it. I've tweaked their characters to fit with the Twelve Dancing Princesses retelling, so they don't all meet and decide to build Hogwarts in this story.
I'm so glad you enjoyed this! Thank you for the great review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by Princesss The Pavilion

29th May 2015:
Ever since I was a kid I have always loved this fairytale as one of my favourites. It would never had occurred to me to mesh that with the Hogwarts world but now you've written this I see that it is a perfect match so thank you so much for writing this! I especially love that you have put this in the founders era.

The writing is really great, it gave a real feel for the piece. There are parts that could be slightly improved if you wanted to but otherwise it is perfect as it is.

The mystery at the end of this chapter will definitely cause me to continue to read, I need to know who was watching them. So far I am really loving this story as it realy is my personal cup of tea.

Overall a great story, thanks for writing it!

Author's Response: It's so nice to hear that you love the Twelve Dancing Princesses fairytale! It's one of my favorites, too. Most people that I talk to have never even heard of it, which is sad, because it's such a good one!
I'm really glad you enjoyed this first chapter. It was tough to introduce so many characters in one go, but I tried to put in a little mystery and whatnot to make things interesting.
If you do decide to keep reading, thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed this! And thanks for the review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by Gabriella Hunter The Moment of Peace

24th May 2015:
Hello!

BOO! Its been a long time since I've dropped by with a review for your story and it feels like a crime. You've left me countless reviews for mine and I have a long way to go before I can catch up!

You left me with a cliffhanger in the last chapter and I'm really glad to see that we're jumping right into the middle of it now. I was really nervous for Dezzy but my heart kind of burst out of my chest when Godric revealed that he loved her too! Ah! I wasn't expecting it and I have no idea what might happen to them after this! This scene was wonderfully written and I'm really happy for them but I'm worried about what her father will think if he finds out. Will he have Godric banished? Killed? What about the competition? What if Dezzy ends up married to some awful jerk? I hope you won't let that happen!

I thought the most touching thing about this chapter was the end. We know so much about Dezzy and her sisters but this last moment between herself and Addie was just beyond sweet. It's strange for siblings to see that they might branch away from one another and I was really touched by how worried Addie was of that. The distance would probably hurt her and it reminded me of Astoria and Emily for a moment. The worst thing is having your family taken away but I think that they'll stay strong, they'll have to with what their father has decreed.

I'll be back for more!

On my end, Abandon misses you and I have a new story up called "A Wedding". There's also a one-shot called Charlotte up there as well and plenty of other things to read! Hope to see you soon!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi Gabbie!
I really do mess with poor Dezzy's emotions quite a bit. I knew from the beginning that she and Godric would come to love each other, but it's not going to be easy for them. There are a lot of people who won't approve of their being together.
I loved, loved, loved writing that last scene. I think Addie has to be so stern and strict a lot of the time just because she knows someone has to make the tough decisions for all the sisters. But she really does have their best interests at heart, and I wanted to show that here.
Thank you so much for the great review on this! I'm so happy to see you back here again!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by Shadowkat The Pavilion

12th May 2015:
"What is this place," she asked.

Wait for it.

Wait.

A second more...it's Narnia! XD

Okay, now this is interesting, obviously AU ...which makes me curious what exactly will we expect? I've been meaning to check this out, and now you may consider my internet effectively peaked. I'll have to come back later, you've simply left me with no other choice! Curse you and this spell you've placed, using my natural overly curious nature against me! Curse thee! XD

Author's Response: You're the second person to say that this reminds them of Narnia! Haha. I'm a HUGE Narnia fan, so I'll take that as a compliment!
Yes, this is AU, and it's based on the fairy tale The Twelve Dancing Princesses by the Brothers Grimm. If you know that story, that will give you some idea of what will happen in this story.
I'm so glad I caught your curiosity with this, and I certainly hope to see you back again! Thank you for the review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by marauderfan The Pavilion

1st May 2015:
Hey Cassie! I've seen this mentioned all over the place before, probably as it placed in the Keckers a few years ago, and I'm not sure how I've never read it before because I LOVE anything founders-era.

Okay, I know this is probably not even meant to be a major point, or that funny, but THEIR NAMES START WITH A B C D. hehehe :D ... but my silly observations aside, the opening to this is wonderful - I really appreciate your descriptions as I can so easily imagine this beautiful ball room and their fancy gloves and things, it's such a great image.

Omg, there are more alphabetical names. Haha, I love that more than I should.

THERE IS A SPIRAL STAIRCASE HIDDEN BEHIND A SECRET PANEL IN THE WALL. This is like all of my childhood dreams come true.

And it goes to a snowy forest? It just keeps getting better and better! Pretty sure they've ended up in Narnia.

Okay, now that I've gotten my capslock reactions out of the way, I can provide you with some more useful thoughts. I love the way you've started this. It has such a lovely old-fashioned feel, but it's not too stuffy which is something that can easily happen writing old timey things. Considering you've introduced so many characters in the first chapter, I'm really impressed with how you've managed to incorporate tidbits of their personalities so I feel like I can already distinguish between some of them. I'm really curious how they're all related to Rowena Ravenclaw, and interested to know more about their father. And of course, ALL THE THINGS ABOUT THE SECRET FOREST WITH THE SPIRAL STAIRCASE. Who's watching them? (my bets on Mr Tumnus)

Anyway, I think this is a wonderful start, and I've not seen any other fic quite like this, so I'm really excited about it. Thanks for the swap!!

Author's Response: Hello!
Haha, yes their names are alphabetical! Their mother thought it was funny, and their father thought it was practical to name them that way. (Also it helps me keep track of them all!)
Oh my gosh, your excitement about the spiral staircase and everything else they find is awesome. That's how I felt when I was writing it!
I'm really glad you like the tone of this. I'm trying to get that old-fashioned, fairytale feel, but have it feel a little modern at the same time, so it's easy to connect to the characters.
You'll find out how they're related to Rowena in a few chapters, but the other founders will come into the story even sooner!
Thank you so much for the review swap! I'm so happy you liked this chapter!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by teh tarik The Christmas Gift

25th April 2015:
I, too, am SO glad that pompous, stuffy Whitaker is gone (for good, hopefully). UGH. Even if he really did earnestly try to find out the princesses' dancing secret, I doubt he would get close, given how interested he is in himself, and nothing and nobody else. And his view of the servants, and how being kind to them would mean lowering oneself to their level, or some awful stuff like that!

The rest of the chapter, after Whitaker, was fabulous. I LOVE the Christmassy atmosphere, the sweet heartwarming meeting and gift exchange between Godric and Dezzy (I would love to see these two have more scenes together! Though I know Dezzy won't be able to, not with Rowena watching her like a hawk). And the relaxed, cheerful scene between all the sisters, AND THE YUMMY CHRISTMAS DINNER FOOD. And old Rowena being a sourpuss as usual. On Christmas night as well! Bah, humbug to her. :P

Great chapter, Cassie! I'm so pleased I caught up with your fic at last. ♥ I'm also wondering how far into the story we are; are we approximately halfway or more/less? Awesome job; I've been following this fic for ages, and I've enjoyed every bit of it, along with the AU setting the characters so much.

-teh

Author's Response: Hi teh!
Yes, Whitaker is gone for good! But, unfortunately, there will be more suitors in the future... His view of the servants really is awful. I don't even want to think about the things he would say if he found out that Dezzy was in love with a stablehand!
The Christmas scenes were so much fun for me to write, even though it's a few months out of season! Haha. But I loved imaging such a fun, peaceful day for the girls, full of good food and laughter and time spent together. Plus, the gift exchange between Dezzy and Godric really made me smile while I was writing it.
I'm so glad you've read, reviewed, and thoroughly enjoyed every chapter of this story! It means so, so much to me! I really can't thank you enough! I'm honestly not sure how many chapters the story will be once it's complete... I post chapters as I write them, so I really can't say how long the story will end up being.
If you want a little something to tide you over until I update this, my one-shot Just A Governess is about Helga's friendship with Dezzy's mother :)
Thank you so much for the fantastic review, teh!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by teh tarik The First Suitor

24th April 2015:
Hi again Cassie!

I'm slowly making my way through the rest of your chapters! :D

Uh, skipping to Lord Whitaker, because he is such a bore bahaha! Some poor woman actually has to marry him? This is unjust. :P And I can't help feeling furious at the king and Aunt Rowena for subjecting them to so much stress and inflicting all these suitors on them. I'm pretty sure more undesirable suitors will show up...sometime. :P

I absolutely love the enchanted forest and the pavilion scene. Some of your descriptions were beautiful. I loved the images of crystal flowers and gold fish swimming beneath the bridge. If you could add even more description to the whole scene, that would be great, because you've got such a mysterious and beautiful setting to develop. And ah, Salazar is as unreadable and as unsettling as ever.

I'm still wondering what is his game. I'm definitely more of a Dezzy/Godric shipper than a Dezzy/Salazar. :P

Such a lovely chapter, Cassie! ♥

-teh

Author's Response: Hi teh!
Lord Whitaker is definitely not the most attractive guy in any sense of the word. I feel bad for the poor woman who actually end up with him, too! As for the king and Aunt Rowena, their both a bit blinded by their feelings (must run in the family!), and can't really see how miserable this whole plan is making the girls.
I'm so glad you liked the pavilion scene in this. I'm really trying to keep the magic alive, especially since we're twenty-some chapters into the story by now. Oh, Salazar... He's nothing if not mysterious.
I'm so glad you enjoyed this chapter! Thank you for stopping by this story once again!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by teh tarik The Moment of Peace

21st April 2015:
Hi Cassie! ♥

I am so back to reading this story! I'm sorry it's taken me ages, and I had to re-read the last chapter to remember where things were at. But I'm so glad to be back in the lives of Dezzy and Godric and Mistress Helga and all the other dancing princesses.

Oh my goodness, this chapter! The Dezzy/Godric ship has finally come to town and I love it. These two are so sweet together. ADORABLE. LOVE their conversation, and their confession of feelings for each other; I thought you wrote all of that so beautifully, and I'm hoping to see lots and lots more of these two together.

I also love the fact that despite Dezzy/Godric being slowly realised, you haven't forgotten about the other girls, and Dezzy's relationship with her sisters. The way the sisters treat each other is such a big part of this story, and I'm glad that Dezzy is receiving so much support from them! I also love the development of Addie's character with that bit of heartfelt conversation between Dezzy and Addie.

This chapter ends on such a wonderfully positive note! I loved this, and I'm so glad to be reading this story again. ♥

-teh

Author's Response: Hi teh! It's so lovely to see you back here again!
Yay Dezzy/Godric! I love writing them because it's just so fluffy and cute and romantic. And a nice break from all the drama happening in the rest of Dezzy's life! I'm so glad that you liked the way they confessed their feelings for each other, too. Dezzy has never really talked to men before, let alone fallen in love, so it takes her a while to figure out her feelings, and she honestly has no idea what she's doing when she tells Godric.
That moment at the end of the chapter with Dezzy and Addie was also very fun to write. Addie always has to be so stern and maternal, that I thought this would be a good chance for her to be more vulnerable and have Dezzy to lean on.
I'm so happy you enjoyed this chapter! Thank you for the sweet review!!!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by teh tarik The Challenge

24th August 2014:
Hello Cassie!

After a long time, I'm finally back to read your latest chapter. :D And such a wonderful chapter this is! It starts off with that awful, tense dinner scene with the family, and that the lovely warm, fluffy Christmassy scene with Mistress Helga, and it got way more intense toward the end! I love Mistress Helga more than ever; the girls really, really need her - right now she's the only spark of brightness in their dreary lives. The Christmas decorating was absolutely wonderful, and the cookies and cocoa...gah!

And waah, this is where your fic starts to tie in with the twelve dancing princesses' fairytale, espcially with the challenge issued by the king. I love that we get to see the princesses' opinions about the whole challenge, or at least Dezzy's. In the original fairytale, there's none of this; the princesses are just dolls - ethereal and beautiful and silent. But I love that Dezzy is able to feel outrage at her father's decision.

AND DEZZY CONFESSED HER LOVE FOR GODRIC ASLKDJ;LDFKS;L Sorry, these two are the sweetest. And FINALLY. Why did you just stop there, Cassie!? :P Ah, that was absolutely gorgeous. Now you've got to update soon! I want to read more Dezzy/Godric!

I really enjoyed this chapter, Cassie! Lovely writing as usual! Hoping to see a new chapter soon. :)

-teh

Author's Response: Hi teh!
I'm actually a little embarrassed about how long it took me to respond to this. Oops.
This chapter was kind of jam packed with stuff, but those chapters are my favorite to write and read! Haha. I loved, loved, loved writing the scene with Mistress Helga. She's the only really parental figure the girls have, and her surprise was just another way to show how much she loves them. She knows that she could get in trouble for the lengths she goes to be kind to them and take care of them, but she does it anyway.
And the challenge is finally here! I loved writing that scene because it was so emotional for Dezzy. She and her sisters are being taught to show no real emotions so they can attract suitors, so letting Dezzy get all her feelings out was a big thing for her. And she FINALLY realized her feelings for Godric! Yay! Things with that will develop some more in the next chapter, so you'll get more Dezzy/Godric there.
Thank you so, so much for such a lovely review. It means so much to me that you've stuck with this story!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by Gabriella Hunter The Challenge

22nd July 2014:
HELLO!

I'm back! I told you that I would be reading this next chapter and reviewing for you after that last one left me in a knot. Haha.

Dezzy's situation is pretty awful, I couldn't imagine sitting there with all of my sisters (If I had any, mind you) with my horrible aunt and scary father. I think that scene was written really well, the girl's unhappiness was something that was so clear but not over done. Some people would have went on and on and on about it but you just let the scene speak for itself and it was a great read. I feel sorry for the girls though and poor Clara, her spirit was all broken up about what Aunt Rowena had said to her.

The chapter had a great moment in the middle though with the girl's decorating the Christmas tree with Mistress Helga, it was a beautiful scene and I'm glad that the girls got some happiness out of it. Helga was being awfully bold with having them there though, I hope she doesn't get into any trouble!

That ending! How could you? Really?! I was feeling the love and being so happy for Dezzy and Godric and then you just had to throw in some feels. Hahahha. I think their father is taking things too far and I can't wait to see what the other girl's reaction to this challenge will be! Did their aunt put him up to this? Will he ever forgive them for dancing? Gah, I need to know.

And Dezzy confessed her feelings for Godric!!! How could you leave it there?! D': What will happen next?! Will we see Salazar again? Darn you for this! Hahaha.

So obviously, I loved this and can't wait for an update so don't hesitate to let me know!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: HI!
I always feel so bad when I stick the girls in a room with their aunt and father. The emotions and tension are always running very high, since they're feeling everything from awkwardness to sadness to anger (although it's usually just Bea who's angry). I tried really hard to make sure it wasn't overdone so thank you for noticing that!
I think poor Clara has more going on than people realize. She's so soft-spoken that I think she can be forgotten sometimes, but she really does play an important role in the Ravenclaw family. She is very mothering to the girls, and has a lot of compassion in her, but the flip side to being so sensitive to people is that she can get easily hurt herself. When Rowena tells her that she's wrong for doing the one thing that she really loves, it gets to her and she's not able to let that go.
Mistress Helga is one of my favorite characters in this story. She's so loving (and a lot like Clara, actually) and is very willing to take risks if it ensures the girls' happiness.
I loved writing that ending! I knew that when that scene came I wanted it to be a huge cliffhanger, because it's not something Dezzy, or Godric for that matter, is expecting at all. I wanted her to suddenly come to this realization that she loves him, say it out loud for the first time, and then leave it hanging there. I'm sorry that you didn't get his reaction but I couldn't pass up an opportunity for such a dramatic end to a chapter!
Hopefully I can update this really soon after the queue opens back up! Thank you so much for the wonderful review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by Gabriella Hunter The Nightmare

22nd July 2014:
HELLO!

I was just about to pop on over to read the current chapter when I realized that I hadn't left a review for this one! Gasp!

So I'm really feeling for Dezzy and the girls, Aunt Rowena's expectations of them are so high that she's intent on breaking them in order to get what she wants. D': I wonder how they'll break free from her? I want to hope for the best but she made me angry, telling Clara that she doesn't approve of her reading habits. And then Dezzy fainted from the stress of it all! What are they going to do about their father, I wonder, I noticed that she was thinking of his disappointment a lot and it made me so sorry for her. I hope he shows up in the next chapter so I can see how that develops.

The nightmare! Scary stuff! Poor Dezzy, I was really worried about her and the awful dream Godric just made me want to hug her. Does that speak of the future? Or is someone messing around in her head? The pull to go back to the pavilion is strong...I wonder if Salazar has something to do with that?! I'm going on to the next chapter now so see you then! Haha.

On my end, expect Abandon today or tomorrow and after that I'll try to get At Midnight or A Force of Wills up for you. Haha. D':

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi Gabbie!
Aunt Rowena really is awful, and is going to continue to push the girls to fit her expectations for them. Unfortunately, the girls' father doesn't see this as an issue, and so they don't have someone who can stick up for them. It's a really terrible situation, but the story will have a happy ending so it's not going to last forever!
I always find writing dream, or in this case nightmare, sequences really interesting, and trying to figure out what would shake Dezzy the most was a good opportunity for me to get to know her a little more! I think what we dream about can tell us a lot about ourselves, and in Dezzy's case that's definitely true!
I'm so glad you enjoyed this chapter! Thank you so much for the lovely review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by Gabriella Hunter The Nightmare

2nd March 2014:
HELLO!

Hey, I'm back! I'm really sorry that its taken me so long to get back to this story and leave you a review! You left me some really great ones and I wanted to return the favor! :D
So, I am so worried about the girls right now, I can't imagine what its like for them, having to suffer with both their aunt AND their father. The fact that he isn't concerned with how he's raising them and how absent he is from their lives just makes me so furious! I really felt terrible for Dezzy in this chapter, her aunt was really trying to shape her into someone that she isn't. I really liked that you showed how anxious and upset it was making Dezzy as the chapter went along, I had a feeling that all the stress was going to get to her at some point. And then, she faints! I was so worried that I thought she was going to be really sick! D':
And the nightmares...those were so scary and horrible to me. Her sister's walking away from her, Godric's cruelty and just the detail of it, I was able to really feel her pain. T-T
But you've got me curious about her sister's too, they each have such unique qualities about them and their own fears were subtle but really great to read. I can't wait for more! :D
I wonder what Mistress Helga has in store for them though? And what will happen with Godric? I can't wait for more, let me know when the next chapter is up so I can check it out!
Thanks for the great read!
On my end...I'll try to get something up soon, probably "Transparent" and at some point A Force of Wills. So, stay tuned!
Much love,
Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi Gabbie!
I'm so sorry it's taken me so long to respond to this but here I am! Haha.
Life with the His Majesty and Aunt Rowena really isn't pleasant, and the fact that their aunt is basically the one now raising the girls, and that she's doing it in such an awful way, is just one of the ways that this story is going to keep getting darker. Dezzy fainting was just the tip of the iceberg!
I love writing dream sequences, and this was no different! It was interesting for me to take things that Dezzy finds the most joy from and twist them into something scary. Especially the part with Godric, because he's been such a good friend for poor Dezzy.
I'll keep checking for updates from you and I'll let you know when I've finally written something!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by teh tarik The Nightmare

19th February 2014:
Hello Cassie! ♥

I'm a bit late in reading your latest chapter but at last I'm here! :P There's just been so much going on, both in RL and in the forums and I haven't found the time to read and review much over the last few weeks or so.

Wow, I loved this chapter! The girls' lives are becoming increasingly miserable under Aunt Rowena :( To the point that even reading is frowned upon by this merciless aunt of theirs. It's so sad to see how they're being trained, fitted and moulded into the roles of perfect wives and princesses - the purpose of their entire existences reduced to attracting suitors and subsequent marriage. It's so terribly sad how unloved these girls are :( I know I keep saying "at least they have each other", but in this chapter, it's clear that the strain of their situation is really beginning to affect them individually. Dezzy, in particular, feels so alone.

The nightmare was absolutely crepy. You wrote this so so well, my dear! That's the thing about bad dreams/nightmares - they cannot be controlled and they take elements of our lives which are familiar and good and twist them into terrifying things. And the worst nightmares often stay with us long after we've woken up, and they begin to affect our perception of the world around us, and we start questioning the things we've always considered to be good. That's how I see Dezzy's dream, and how frightened and unsettled she is. Her dream has really turned good, sweet Godric into a cruel mocking monster, made her doubt him in real life when she wakes up. I'm theorising a bit here: maybe the nightmare is somehow related to Salazar and that mysterious bracelet?

Such an intriguing chapter, Cassie! I really loved this, and I'm glad this has been updated. Hope to see the next chapter up soon, lovely! ♥

teh

Author's Response: Hi teh!
The girls' lives with their aunt and father is really terrible, and it was really important to me that it did feel tense and strained. It's not this huge sudden change that feels like the end of the world (even if Bea and Ettie try and make it sound like that), and the effects of the girls' new daily routines affect them very gradually. Honestly, a lot of it comes down to the fact that as they have things taken away from them, they just get too tired to really fight back. It's really sad, and sometimes it's hard to write, but their bleak everyday lives make the bright spots that much better for them. I think one reason Dezzy feels so alone is that she doesn't feel like she can always confide in her sisters without being judged or pushed into following advice, and that's part of the reason Salazar and Godric are so appealing to her. They both have a certain distance from what's happening, and can hear what she tells them with fresh ears.
I love writing dream, or in this case nightmare, sequences, and this was no exception! Dezzy's nightmare was interesting for me to write, and I wanted it to feel kind of like a sensory overload. There's just too much happening at once and she doesn't know how to cope. And then having Godric mock her really is what haunts her. Like you said, it makes her question what she has and what's real.
I'm thrilled that you enjoyed this chapter, and I hope you like where this story goes in the future!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by Hmscherer The Letter

16th February 2014:
Ahh I see sorry for the previous comment I thought you were going to make dezzy be one of the founders my apologies

Author's Response: No, Dezzy is not one of the founders, but they will all be introduced into the story over time. Thank you for reading and reviewing!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by Hmscherer The Pavilion

16th February 2014:
Raven laws first name was rewenya or something like that all the founders first names started with the same letter as their last names

Author's Response: Dezzy is actually related to Rowena Ravenclaw, which you will find out more about later in the story! Thank you so much for reading!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by Santa The Letter

28th December 2013:
My favourite clothes has to be "I'll make sure to let you know before running off and having eight children with anyone". Haha! (Paraphrasing, I know, but I'm in too much of a hurry right now to look up the actual quote. Nonetheless, it made me laugh! :D)

I like Helga more and more - I'm so happy to see that she's on the girls' side, and if she likes Godric, that makes me even more sure that he's a good friend!

As for the king's letter, I can definitely see why it upset everyone. It was very harsh and cold, and I really hope he'll warm up to his daughters again somehow. Maybe his sister can help him with that? Speaking of Rowena, yes! It's finally been revealed. I kept thinking that she'd end up being a sister to Dezzy, but if they'd keep the alphabetical order thing going, that would mean that the king would have to have lots of daughters before getting to 'R'. So Rowena being their aunt makes a lot more sense, and I can't believe I never thought of it. I'm excited for her arrival, and to read more. Now I have to rush but expect me back again very soon. I loved this chapter as much as the other ones and I honestly cannot wait to continue reading this story. I love the whole magical, fairy tale, princess theme, it's really incredible and your writing is so lovely to read, so light and with such an amazing flow to it!

(And btw, since I forgot to say it in my last review: Merry Christmas! I hope you've had a lovely time!)

Author's Response: I loved writing that line so I'm glad you thought it was funny! There aren't too many times I get to write really funny bits in this story, so when I can it's a lot of fun!
Helga is the only real mother figure the girls have, and she cares about them more than anyone. She's one of my favorite characters to write!
The King's letter was difficult for me to write, because I wanted to get the harshness across, and really show how he's been changed by grief. He doesn't really show affection anymore, which I think is sad, but I think it's almost worse that Dezzy expects it from him.
I hope you like Rowena when you meet her! Thank you so much for all the reviews you've left on this story. They really mean a lot to me, and I'm so glad you've enjoyed reading it!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by Santa The Library

28th December 2013:
So the days before Christmas got extremely busy and I didn't even come close to reviewing all the chapters before that, but I'm back again now. And this chapter was definitely worth waiting for! I love how you further developed Dezzy's relationships both with Slytherin and Gryffindor. As for Salazar, I still don't trust him. I have a feeling that he's trying to make her fall for him in an attempt to trick her into freeing him from the pavilion. (i'm still very interested in finding out if he did something really terrible to be locked in there. Maybe it has something to do with why no one is magical anymore?)
So since I don't trust him myself, I can definitely see why Dezzy's sisters are worried about her being alone with him.

And like I mentioned in the last review, I really think having Godric Gryffindor for a friend will prove to be good for Dezzy. So I'm obivously thrilled to see how lovely he was to her in this chapter and that her sisters approve of them being friends. I am a bit worried that her father won't be as understanding, though, if he ever finds out. I love how Dezzy's sisters always make up these romantic stories, by the way! It's so cute and it always makes me laugh a little :)

Anyway, this was a really great chapter. I like this story even more for each chapter that I read, and I'm still so intrigued by it! it's really sweet and light, and easy to read, but also full of mysteries! I love that!

Author's Response: Hello!
I'm so glad you liked this chapter! I liked when Slazar and Godric are in the same chapters, because they're so different, and the contrast between the pair is really interesting, especially because they don't know the other exists. Salazar is really fun to write simply because I don't give you guys very much information about him, so I can hint at things without really giving anything away. And I love Godric! He's just what Dezzy needs, and really wants to be her friend and make sure she's happy.
Thank you so much for a great review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by Santa The Stable Hand

19th December 2013:
Well, I've got some times between wrapping physical Christmas presents, to get back to this one already! And the first thing that struck me about this chapter was that first paragraph - as soon as I read that, I just had to stop and read it again. It was absolutely perfect. I can't stop praising your descriptions, and I find myself falling more and more in love with them :) Sorry if I'm being repetitive, but I think that is a very important part of the story, because it helps the reader really get into it and visualize everything, and you're doing a wonderful job on that part!

And then you introduced Gryffindor, which made me really happy! I instantly liked him, and I do hope that Dezzy does make friends with him. She mentioned Slytherin's kindness, and I know she's a little infatuated, but I feel like Salazar is being kind for a reason. He probably wants something from the girls - maybe their help to escape the pavilion? I don't know, I just have a bad feeling about it. And now she's going there alone! I think it might mean trouble. Which is another reason why I really want her to make friends with Godric, because I feel like he could be the one to save her from Salazar, if needed.

I noticed one small typo, in the second paragraph: "see of Sebastian had returned" (if)

Anyway, this was another fantastic chapter, probably my favourite one so far! For each one that I read, i Just like the story more, and I look forward to whenever I'll have a moment to read the next one :)

Author's Response: Hi!
I'm so glad you liked Godric! He's really fun to write because he's such a goofball, and doesn't treat Dezzy like she's made of glass, just because she's a princess. It's a refreshing change from her daily life, and she really needs someone outside of the drama of being royal! Haha.
Thank you so much for the compliment on my descriptions! I love getting to go into detail about everything I picture in my head while writing this, so the fact that you've enjoyed it as well means so much to me!
Thank you again for the lovely review! I'm thrilled you like this story!
Cassie :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>