Reading Reviews for The Month I was a Hipster
  
82 Reviews Found

Review #1, by heartjily4ever Day 4

22nd May 2013:
Hey this is a really good start to your story. I'm excited to see where it will go, and I already love Millie. I was a bit dubious at first with the title, but it's much better than I thought it would be. Keep the good work up :D

 Report Review

Review #2, by MissMoneypenny Day 4

27th April 2013:
Hello!

OhmyGodric, this is the best story ever! Millie is a hilarious character and I love the whole hipster thing being her way of getting over a break-up.
It's a brilliant start- keep it up! Banter's incredible, characters are perfect, and I want more!

Update soon!

Miss Moneypenny :-)

P.S Sorry this is such a short review. I just can't do the story justice... Maybe if you update I'll review some more... Hint, hint :-)
*adds story to favourites*
Bye!

 Report Review

Review #3, by PotterJAM97 Day 4

5th April 2013:
Hey! Hi! Hello! Hola! Bonjour! (Wait...is that hello? Well, close enough.) okay, I read your story, and I think it's HILARIOUS. And original. And hey, it addresses a super-duper important topic in our, well, world: the hipster epidemic! I seriously think you should continue, because this is so great. Plus, I kinda wanna know what happens...so look and add more?!
-J

 Report Review

Review #4, by EnigmaticEyes16 Day 1

10th January 2013:
Hey hey hey! This is an interesting start to a story! It's certainly not everyday you read a story where the main character cusses out the professor. Very non-mainstream indeed, lol.

And by the way, I totally laughed out loud (for real) when I read Millie's full name. I'm curious as to what sort of parents she has for them to name her Mildred Skye Walker. I also assume that this evil Professor Clearwater is in fact Penelope Clearwater? But that could just be a coincidence. Although if it is, I'm curious as to what got into her. She seems very Snape-like, except for the fact that he never took points off his own house.

Anywho, this was a lovely chapter and I'll definitely be back to read more.

xxEnigmaticEyes16

 Report Review

Review #5, by ohmymerlin Day 4

8th January 2013:
Hi there! I'm here to review your story from the Mean Girls Quote Challenge! :)

Firstly, I already LOVE this story, it is amazing and when you posted saying you put the quote into this I got so excited. :p

Secondly, you used the quote in the story really well and I loved the way you did that! I love Millie's wishful hipster-ness, it's a very unique idea. :)

I also love Berkley and Sherri, even though they're very odd and critical of Millie, they seem to be very good friends. :)

And ew, Turk. I really don't like him. He's just eugh and yuck. And James, he seems kind of interesting. He doesn't seem to be a major jerk but I think he's a bit cocky. But I think he thinks he does it in good-nature even though it might hurt some people. I don't know if that makes sense but he seems to be a bit oblivious.

Okay I don't think that whole paragraph makes sense but meh.

Anyway, thanks for entering my challenge and good luck! :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by RUMBLEROAR13 Day 4

25th November 2012:
I love your story. Please update soon or I'll cry.

Author's Response: Thank you! And I'll try :D

 Report Review

Review #7, by Alex Day 3

23rd November 2012:
You could call it something like "Going against the current" cause she doesn't want to do anything mainSTREAM? Get it? Hahahaha, just a suggestion. :D love the story by the way, update soon!

Author's Response: Haha that's a great idea! Maybe I'll try to fit that in somewhere if the opportunity presents itself :) And thank you! I'm glad that you're enjoying this story! I'll try to update soon :D

 Report Review

Review #8, by my_voice_rising Day 1

22nd November 2012:
Haha, this is entertaining. Is Millie going to start using an Instagram and smoking American Spirits and drinking PBR and riding a fixed gear bike? :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! And we'll see :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Serendipity1234 Day 4

22nd November 2012:
I'm liking Millie more and more as the story goes on. I like how she wants to be her own hero. I think that's awesome and I love independent characters :)
I also really liked when she told off Turk -it was pretty funny.
Berkley is amazing, of course, and I love him ❤❤
Update soon!! (And Wonderland!)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad that you're enjoying it - and that you like Millie! That makes me happy :) Writing her comeback to Turk was really fun - glad that you liked it!
And gah everyone loves Berkley and that makes me smile like an idiot haha.
I'll try to update soon! Wonderland is the next story to be updated and then there'll be a new oneshot and a short story collection about Lucy Weasley to look out for :D


 Report Review

Review #10, by ValWitch21 Day 4

20th November 2012:
Why did the hipster burn his tongue? :)

This chapter was so much fun to read, I can't wait for you to update sole more of it! And that Mean Girls quote is epic -- but then again, the whole movie is epic!

I love Millie. She's so awesome -- although she already was, before being awesome was too mainstream.

Anyway. Have I said how much I was enjoying this story? Well, now you know.

(He drank his tea before it was cool.)

:)

Author's Response: THAT IS AN AWESOME RIDDLE AHHH I STARED AT IT FOR SUCH A LONG TIME TRYING TO FIGURE OUT THE ANSWER BUT I'M NOT A RAVENCLAW AND WAS THEREFORE AT A LOSS. But that's amazing and I love it. Thank you for sharing :D
I'm so glad that you enjoyed this chapter! Thank you! It was a lot of fun to write and that Mean Girls quote just made it all the better for me. One of my few hipster claims to fame is that I saw Mean Girls in the movie theatre before it was cool and all that ;)
And I'm so happy that you love Millie! Seriously, I'm always afraid that people are going to find her annoying so yay! I'm happy camper!
Thanks for reading and reviewing! I'll try to update soon :D


 Report Review

Review #11, by DS Day 4

14th November 2012:
I want to read more! Keep at it!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'll try to update soon! :D

 Report Review

Review #12, by DS Day 1

14th November 2012:
What an awesome story! I actually laughed out loud a couple times! Now everyone is looking at me like I'm crazy! Go you! I can't wait to read more

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad that you enjoyed it! :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by peanuts11 Day 4

8th November 2012:
I love how this story doesn't have/conform to cliches. Millie and Berkley's friendship is so endearing. Despite her messups, however plentiful they are, he always looks out for Millie. I love the depiction of their friendship. it's so realistic because friends are always there for you, even when you come up with harebrained schemes. You are also so good at characterising all the characters we've encountered so far.

I also love the pace of the story, sometimes characters who are dealing with breakups seem way to preoccupied and hurt and then it seems to take up most of their lives and narrative, which can be quite annoying but with Millie, you can see that she has other things to deal with as well.

Love when she says "slaggy boyfriend thief that she is" - made me chuckle haha.

My only criticism is you need to update more haha

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so glad that you enjoyed this story and that it didn't really have any cliches - that's something that I'm working really hard at. I love Millie and Berkley's friendship too and a lot of readers seem to as well which makes me happy. It's something that I'm really proud of.

And I'm so glad that you like what I've done with Millie's character and how she's dealing with the break-up. I mean, it's definitely something that's on the back of her mind and this whole hipster thing is her own way of distracting herself, but I didn't want it to define her. So thank you!

And I know I'm so bad at updating haha. Let's hope that 2013 is a better writing year for me :)

Thanks for reading and reviewing! I'll try to update soon!

~Jess :D


 Report Review

Review #14, by AlexFan Day 4

7th November 2012:
I completely forgot about her going to get the Hippogriff feather.

By the way, her telling off Turk was absolutely brill. I loved her comeback. I swear I'm going to use that one day.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad that you liked her comeback; I spent a lot of time coming up with it haha. And I know it's been a while - sorry for the wait; I'll try to update sooner next time. But I make no promises because I have to update Wonderland and then I have two challenges that I'm entered in. So we'll see :D

 Report Review

Review #15, by LittleMissPrincess Day 4

7th November 2012:
i haven't signed in so that i can review again ; ERMAGERD I HAVE JUST DONE THE HIGHEST OF FAILS :O
i TOTALLY mean't Wood. /:
gosh, thats embarrassing.
okay good day (:

Author's Response: Don't be embarrassed; it was an honest mistake! You have a good day as well :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by LittleMissPrincess Day 4

6th November 2012:
awh YES! you updated! (:

egads. you have no idea how happy i am about that whole planned showing-off scene thing (though it admittedly failed) but still! it was really lovely. and have i ever mentioned how amazing Berkley is?

And who is this smith? i like this smith. i think smith likes her - or james and tuck are just being prats.

anyway, please oh please Jess don't take forever to update this story :( waah. we all love (millie) you. :D

hana(:

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so sorry for taking so long to update, but I'm glad that you enjoyed this chapter!

I'm glad that you enjoyed the showing off scene; it was extremely fun to write - as is writing Berkley. A lot of people seem to like him and that makes me very happy!

I believe you have a name switch here! Honoriah Smith is a girl; she's dating Ferris Nott - Millie's ex-boyfriend. I think you mean Wood? Alaric Wood? He's Oliver Wood's middle child and a very nice boy. Maybe he likes Millie, maybe not; I am neither denying nor confirming :)

I'll try not to take too long to update although it may be a month or so because I have to update Wonderland and I'm entered in two challenges on the forums. But I will do my best!

Thanks for reading and reviewing! :D


 Report Review

Review #17, by Rumbleroar goes roar Day 4

6th November 2012:
Haha really enjoying the story so far! Loving the characters! Keep it up :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Glad that you like it! :D

 Report Review

Review #18, by iyanarulz792 Day 3

1st October 2012:
Well, the only other title I can think of right now (after an entire 24 hours of being awake) is: Hipster Awareness Month. So tell me if you like it or not! Great story, by the way.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! And it's a very lovely title; thank you so much for taking the time to come up with it! That's so sweet of you :) I think though I'm going to leave the title alone because most people have been telling me that they like it as it is. But if I change my mind, I'll definitely consider your suggestion (and if I end up using it, I'll certainly credit you :D)
Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by Rumbleroar goes roar Day 3

11th September 2012:
aha oh I really enjoyed this chapter! This story is very addicting! Can't wait to read more :)
Also I really like the title of this story!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad that you enjoyed it! :D

 Report Review

Review #20, by MaryAnn Day 3

4th September 2012:
Very interesting story so far! Hilarious and original.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'll try to update soon :D

 Report Review

Review #21, by AlAndAl Day 3

21st August 2012:
Here's your review that I promised!
I honestly am in love with this story! I need you to update soon because it's so hilarious and original! I love the whole hipster thing, it's pretty funny to see someone try so hard to be different.
The writing is excellent and I also like that it is next gen. (I'm a bit of a next gen junkie so this is awesome). I'm going to favorite this story and keep tracking it because I love it so much. Keep up the great work :D
-Allie

Author's Response: Thank you so much for stopping by! I'm so glad that you enjoyed it; this story can be a challenge at times but I really love writing it! And your review is much appreciated!
I'm a huge Next Generation junkie so I know exactly what you mean, haha.
Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

~Jess :D


 Report Review

Review #22, by atellam Day 3

14th August 2012:
Back. ^_^

I loved this. It was positively hilarious, and I loved that her name was Buckbeak. That made me laugh so hard, haha.

Berkley is brilliant. I adore his character and it's only the third chapter. Seriously, I ship them. I probably shouldn't, but I do.

Meep. How can this be the last chapter? I reviewed everything now? This is crazy. You'll just have to update Wonderland so I can leave you more reviews :P

Keep up the magnificent work, Jess. You're a brilliant writer, and I'm increadibly jealous.

- Adele :)

Author's Response: Hey again! I can't believe that you've reviewed everything I've ever written on this site; your support is so amazing and I'm incredibly honored!
I'm so glad that you enjoyed this chapter; I had so much fun writing it - especially since I've had the Hippogriff thing planned for a while. It's funny, because I spent a long time thinking about what to name the Hippogriff; I went on google, looking up ideas, suggested names for them, blah blah blah. But then I was like, "Screw it; her name will just be Buckbeak." And I'm really happy with the results because the clicheness of it all (the original reason why I didn't want to use it) actually worked in my favor. I'm glad you appreciated it :)
Berkley. I can't even really put it into words how much I love that boy. He can have such questionable morals at times, but he's so complex and fascinating, I just can't even >_< But don't worry, I have more than a few Berkley/Millie shippers out there so you're not alone!
I'll try to write more of this soon! I have a oneshot I have to finish before Spetember 21st for a challenge I signed up for on the forums but once that's done, I'm updating this! And Wonderland is already in the queue (as you already know :D)
Thank you so much for leaving me such lovely reviews! I don't know what you are jealous of, being the wonderful writer that you are! :)

~Jess :D


 Report Review

Review #23, by atellam Day 2

14th August 2012:
Urgh, Berkley sounds like a babe. Plus, Hunter Parrish? (Fairly confident that's him) You must be trying to kill me. D: He's delicious. ^_^

I like James. He's different from Wonderland, and while I still think I like Wonderland!James better, I do like him here. Hopefully there's more of him later so I can decide which I like better. ;)

Oh my godness, one more chapter and I've reviewed everything you've posted on here. That's crazy!

To the last chapter!
- Adele ^_^

Author's Response: Thank you! You know, it's funny because when I first wrote Berkely, I thought/hoped that people would like him, but I never really anticipated the large fanbase he's acquired! Everyone loves him! I love it! He's such a blast to write; I'm very proud of him (and yes, that is Hunter Parrish! *swoon*)
I'm glad that you like this James; I'm so used to writing the other one that I've had a hard time writing him because I don't want them to be the same character. This James isn't as squishy or adorable as Wonderland!James but I think (hope) in time you'll grow to like him just as much :D
Thanks for reading and reviewing!

~Jess :D


 Report Review

Review #24, by atellam Day 1

14th August 2012:
Jess, Jess, Jess!

I thought I'd check out this story as well, considering how much I loved your other ones. This is absolutely brilliant as well, even though this is only the first chapter. My sister runs a hipster blog (she isn't actually hipster, but she likes to think she is) and this had me laughing to hard because it sound like something she'd do. (Well, the wearing glasses she doesn't need on weekends, and wearing weird shorts over something else. It's all very strange.)

Oh! And I love the chapter image. ^_^ I love your faceclaim for Millie, beeteedubs. Who is she?

Alrighty, next chapter! Onwards!

- Adele :P

Author's Response: Hey there Adele! I'm so glad that you decided to stop by! Your sister sounds like a better fake hipster than the one I pretend to be, haha. (I'm actually debating whether or not I should accept defeat but I think my brother would be too smug about it for my tastes).
But anywho, I'm really glad that you're enjoying it so far! And ahhh I love the chapter image!!! Millie is actually a model from New Zealand named Ebba Zingmark :) I couldn't resist stealing her from another author; I mean, she's so perfect for Millie!
Thanks again for reading and reviewing!

~Jess :D


 Report Review

Review #25, by daretodream Day 3

14th August 2012:
Last chapter? Oh no...

Gwyneth. Absolutely, positively HILARIOUS. She is frighteningly cheerful, I definitely understood that. For sure. If I was Millie, I also would have wanted to run in the opposite direction. No one person should ever be that sweet and nice all the time. It can't be natural, honestly.

But Honoria Smith...so that's Ferris's new girl. I can't help but find her name slightly ironic (maybe it's just me?). But I agree with Millie. As happy as I am for her that she is getting away from having to do her patrols with Ferris, I wouldn't want him paired up with Honoria either. Bad behavior shouldn't be rewarded, now should it? And this is definitely a reward...

Seriously though Millie, a hippogriff. SERIOUSLY? Thank God Berkley was there to save you, or else you would be Buckbeak food right now, wouldn't you? Yes. Yes you would.

A HIPPOGRIFF. That's quite the trend though, honestly. If it catches on, there are going to be quite a few students in the hospital wing, especially if they all have the same knowledge of hippogriff's that Millie does.

Berkley saved her though, because what else are boys good for? And not only did he save her, he got her the quill that she wanted. Now THAT'S what I call a best friend.

Then again, he did heal her wounds himself instead of taking her to the hospital wing, so maybe we shouldn't give him to much credit.

I LOVED the last line. It was flat out hilarious.

I like the title, but I think that if you hate it that much and you think of something else that you like more, you should change it. It's your story and if you don't like something about it, make it so you do like it. Though I understand how hard it can be to think up new titles :/

Another SPECTACULAR chapter. I'm adding this to my favorites, so when you post a new one(hopefully soon) you'll be hearing from me again.

10/10

~Cassie

Author's Response: Hi again! Thank you so much! I think this chapter was my favorite to write so far and I'm so glad that you enjoyed it!
Gwyneth was a last minute decision but I'm SO glad that I decided to put her in; I love her and her annoyingly perky self and can't wait to use her in other scenes. But you're right, being so happy all the time is completely unnatural haha.
I mentioned Honoria in passing in the previous chapter (I'm not sure if many people picked that up haha) but I like how you pointed out that her name is ironic! I honestly didn't even notice that (it just goes to show how our English teachers are wrong when they talk about intended symbolism in books; sometimes they're just an accident). Although your explanation makes me sound much cooler than I am, I actually chose the name because of the word it rhymns with (as stated in chapter 2; I would write it here but it's a bit inappropriate).
And yes! The Hippogriff! I had this idea after I published the first chapter and it was so exciting to finally get to use it! Berkley definitely saved Millie's butt there and we'll find out if the whole thing was worth it in the next chapter.
I think Berkley definitely rides on the edge of the fine line between being a good friend and a bad one. I mean, he saved her but then didn't take her to the hospital wing. As amusing as it is, it's kind of messed up. But I wouldn't be too mad at him because his awesomeness and the last line (flare for the dramatics, eh?) make up for it.
I'm glad that you like the title! It seems that I'm the only one who doesn't, haha. Unless I think of something REALLY amazing (I haven't yet so far) I think I'm going to keep it as is. Thanks for the input!
So again, thank you so very much for leaving me three lovely reviews for this story (and for favoriting it); I really appreciate it!!! I'll try to update soon!

~Jess :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>