Reading Reviews for Door Into The Dark
137 Reviews Found

Review #1, by caps shild Dead Ends

5th April 2015:
PLEASE UPDATE! I really miss this story

 Report Review

Review #2, by cap Dead Ends

5th March 2015:
Can you please update I really love this story!!

 Report Review

Review #3, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap There Are Worse Things Than Being a Werewolf

16th January 2015:
“Now run and have your bath and make sure you use plenty of soap.”

^ HAHA. Growing boys need to be told how to shower. Oh Alice. Poor Sirius! I loved how you handle his story. Horrid. Painful. Disgusting. Uh, his family really just disgusts me. And then the ending. Remus is really understanding. I never realized they all had their own problems. I mean Sirius had his family who abused him. James may have grown up with money, parents who loved him but he was left alone from his father as he was growing up and a boy needs his father. Plus, his parents are old. That's always hard for a child because he has to deal with them getting sick and hurt earlier on than his other friends. He had to be somewhat lonely growing up. Peter obviously has issues sans-father and his nervous mother. They're a little motley crew that sticks together.

 Report Review

Review #4, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Christmas

16th January 2015:
Oh Sirius. My poor Sirius. I wish I would have read this around Christmas time! It warmed my heart. I love Remus's parents (and that little owl). I honestly forgot James's parents were so old so when you described them before I was like 'oh snap!' Sometimes James can be a little bratty, only child syndrome, but at least he's not a bad seed. He's just a little mischevious and misguided.

 Report Review

Review #5, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Infiltrating the Enemy Stronghold

16th January 2015:
Finally a chapter that he me leak tears of laughter! Haha. This was actually really funny even with the dark undertone and introduction of Voldemort. I love the way you play out their friendship. Oh and finding a picture of Narcissa in dear old Lucie's trunk. Priceless. And creepy.

 Report Review

Review #6, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap You Can't Always Get What You Want

16th January 2015:
You've got to hand it to old Minnie, she really knows what she's doing. I loved her interaction with Remus. I was glad you didn't have her say yes to the book because I feel like that's the route a lot of writers would have taken. It would have been wrong because that would have shown she pities him and McGonagall doesn't. Sure she feels for Remus but she knows in order for him to have a chance he needs to be treated like other students. Their heart to heart was endearing.

 Report Review

Review #7, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap The Whomping Willow

16th January 2015:
Oh man. It just gets harder to read his story and we're only in the first year. I think the story gets me because he's just so young. It's unfair. He only had a few years where he got to be a normal child and I hate to say it like that. Obviously we know thanks to Sirius, James, Peter and Lily he had friends and a better life until they were all gone. It's just upsetting. His story is completely depressing and that's why I'm always tearing up towards the end of the chapter. Plus you write everything so vividly I can picture everything and feel his fear.

 Report Review

Review #8, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Some People Just Can't Be Friends

16th January 2015:
Harsh Severus, way harsh! Finally Remus has some friends. He deserves them. I loved Lily in this chapter only because she had that typical snooty little attitude girls have at that age. She'll be friends with Remus because he has a cute owl. Haha. Sounds like something you would say at 11.

 Report Review

Review #9, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap The Deepest, Most Desperate Desire of his Heart

16th January 2015:
Remus makes friends, Deeds cries. What are you doing to me? You know the best part of this chapter for me was getting a little insight in each character. Obviously each writer writes Sirius, James, etc a different way and you're trying to stick to canon but I always feel like everyone tweaks them a bit. Plus, your main focus is on Remus so it's them through his eyes. Remus is so compassionate at such a young age he tries to see good in them all (like Severus). An he notices so much because he is a people watcher since he doesn't have many friends.

 Report Review

Review #10, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry

16th January 2015:
This was the first time I was ever interested in a sorting hat ceremony (besides the book of course). Normally I find them cliche and boring. I liked young Severus. So proud, rude and attached to Lily. I felt bad for Remus sitting alone and being passed by all the other children. He doesn't know how to socialize but that's not his fault! He reminds me of me when I was younger. I would just sit in the corner afraid to speak to anyone and didn't know how to start or keep a conversation going.

 Report Review

Review #11, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap The New Arrival and the Big Departure

16th January 2015:
This story is such an easy read. I love young Remus. You've captured him so well. Ah, to be young again and fascinated by anything and everything! His parents bring tears to my eyes though. Their suffering is just horrible and the way they love him so much--I feel like I have read in the past so many stories in fanfiction where the parents are awful (not his just in general) and it's like why?!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Bella dacastro Dead Ends

3rd December 2014:
Can you please continue with this story it is my favorite fanfiction I've ever read (and I've read A LOT of them). I love how you portray lupin and I can really picture him and the other characters in my mind. I really hope you continue with this story because it is amazing and you could be a professional writer. PLEASE UPDATE!

Author's Response: Thanks very much! I really appreciate the review. I am so sorry for the delay in updates. I have by no means abandoned this story. Trust me, if I had the time I'd be writing away at it! But the Christmas holidays are coming up, I hope to have a few free hours to work on it then! I will update as soon as I can. I promise!

Thanks very much again for the review. I am so glad you like my story!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Brightpaw Dead Ends

19th May 2014:
Yay! You're still writing this!
I love that McGonagall flies, that's great! I wonder about that broom Remus chose, hopefully we'll find out more. What they need is a detention in the trophy room if they want to find out about Riddle... Super great chapter per usual!

Author's Response: Thank you! I am glad you liked it!!! I loved that McGonagall flew too, according to Pottermore she was a Quidditch player in her day.

You're right with the trophy room, that is where they will find out about Riddle, but it won't be for a good while yet (I have big plans for what happens when they do find out. *Spoilers*).

Thanks again for reading and reviewing, I really do appreciate it! Sorry for the long delay, I promise it won't take that long for the next chapter! :-)

 Report Review

Review #14, by bella decastro Fear of a Name

1st May 2014:
please upload again i miss this story

Author's Response: Next chapter will be up this evening! I SWEAR! I am so sorry for the long delay!!! I hope it will be worth the wait! Check back this evening :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by MusicOfTheNight Fear of a Name

2nd April 2014:
I love this fanfiction. I feel like all of your characterizations are spot on. Dumbledore is so in character which is hard to do in most fanfictions because of his depth. Also I really love your portrayal of Snape-I really see how Snape and James were enemies and James wasn't just a bully (which Sirius says in books but for some reason people portray Snape as a victim). Lily is wonderful and I love her already. However, Remus is my favorite. You have made his story come to life and its wonderful and heartbreaking and inspiring at the same time. I am so excited to see what you do with this story.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I really do appreciate it. I am so pleased you think that Dumbledore is in character. I was panicking when I was writing him because as you said, his depth, I worked so hard to get it right because it didn't want to destroy the character as a lot of fanfics tend to do.

I am also glad that you like Snape and James. I wanted to explore that in more detail, show that nasty side to Snape that Harry saw in school, while at the same time trying to show the nice boy Lily was friends with. With James I was trying to show him as good, but just a big pig headed and full of his own cleverness, but that will die down as he gets older.

I am so glad you like Remus. He is my absolute favourite character. I want to do him justice because I was so angry at how much the films pushed him into the background as if he didn't matter.

I know I haven't updated this story in months and I do apologise for that, I have just been very busy in school, but Easter is nearly here and I plan on getting more chapters written and up then! :-)

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, check back for more soon :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by adoranymph Fear of a Name

21st February 2014:
So sorry it's been a while since I've reviewed, life is a busy thing, as you know. I've been behind in my fanfic WRITING too so that needs some doing. But I really liked this chapter. It was kind of a quiet one but it was a really clever way of working slughorn into the picture. And I felt so bad for poor Remus too! :( looking forward to more, and I should have more moonlight up soon, it's coming close to the end after all.

Thanks again for posting another awesome chapter :D

Author's Response: Thanks a million, glad you liked this chapter. Yeah, I know it was kinda a quiet one, where not a lot happened, but you can't have action packed chapters all the time, can you?

So sorry I have not been reading Moonlight lately, just do not have the time, but it's Easter holidays now, which means I can update this fic with a new chapter and catch up with Moonlight - win, win! Yay! :-)

 Report Review

Review #17, by GinnyWeasley_13 Some People Just Can't Be Friends

5th January 2014:
I have thoroughly enjoyed reading this story so far. Something I have found myself really appreciating in your writing is the spot on characterisation for all the characters, you have really managed to bring them to life. Your depth and detailling with Remus is wonderful and I find myself eager to read more as this story presumably stretches out through later life. I really enjoyed the way you wrote Lily, very warm and friendly but also moral like Remus is, a truly caring individual from a young age. I like that you have made her and Remus friends, in many fanfics I have read possible friendships between them are ignored, which I find a bit ridiculous because they have so much in common. I applaud you for showing Snape's early jealousy and bitterness. Dumbledore was also written very well. I am impressed with your writing style and am finding your story very readable. I shall look forward to reading the rest of this story and have plans to check out your other stories after this. Overall I'm very impressed, Remus is probably my favourite Potter character and I have enjoyed your characterisation of him immensely!

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I am so glad you are enjoying this story. I do feel really bad that I haven't updated in a good while now, it's just that I am having a bit of difficulty writing things in order. I'm currently writing bits between Lupin and Tonks further down the line and I'm just in the zone with it and I don't want to stop because once you get out of your routine with a story, it is so hard to come back to it and I'm afraid of losing some of my ideas and stuff.

I am so glad that you like the way I did Remus. He is my favourite character in the books and my favourite fictional character in general (him and The Tenth Doctor).

I agree, I always saw Lily and Remus as friends, especially since they both become prefects in 5th year, it also sets up some interesting material with James that I want to explore later on, not that I am saying Remus had any romantic feelings for Lily or anything, but that does not mean that their friendship does not go unnoticed.

I am so glad you find Snape and Dumbledore believable too. It is very important to me to get the characters right, I mean JKR wrote the most wonderful characters and it would be just criminal to get them wrong, or to have them do something that is so completely out of character, you know?

Anyway, thank you so much for your review, it made my week!! I hope you enjoy the rest and I swear to you there will be another chapter added soon, promise! :-)

 Report Review

Review #18, by sarahe Fear of a Name

4th November 2013:
This chapter is great! There is so much going on, I love it! The Death Eater thing is big, because that will be going on for a while. I almost feel like it is a little early, because they're only 1st years, but I'm sure you know what you're doing :)
I loved the birthday part too, because it really shows Remus' character well with the birthday present thing. And then how you tied it all back together with the part in Slughorn's office, that was excellent!
But when are the James, Sirius and Peter going to find out Remus' is a werewolf!? I know that will be big, but I feel like its coming up. (Then again, I'm probably wrong and it's in like 10 chapters..) THAT is was I'm really excited for!
But anyway, thanks for the amazing chapter and keep up the good work!!!

Author's Response: I know what you mean about it being a bit too early perhaps, but the war did start in the early 1970s after all. I wanted it to be something that was always there, always stalking the marauders, because that will play a big factor in them wanting to join the Order of the Phoenix. I am also using it as a strong factor in Frank Longbottom wanting to become an Auror as well, I have a lot planned for that character see and he is nearing the end of this school days and I just want the war to affect him in such a way that it turns him into an Auror, you know? I hope I know what I am doing, I have a plan and I am sticking to it, we shall see, hopefully it will be alright!

I'm glad you liked the bit in Slughorn's office, that idea just came to me out of nowhere and I really liked it so I ran with it and never looked back!

With regards to the marauders finding out Remus is a werewolf. That will be during the first term of second year. I already have that whole section written. They find out in two phases really, first that he is a werewolf, and then later on in second year what being a werewolf really means (that bit it actually quite dark, I will admit that).

There is not much left of first year about 3 chapters I would say, then one chapter on the summer, then we are into second year! Happy days!

Thanks so much for the review, I really appreciate it. I am so glad you like my story! :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by bella decastro Fear of a Name

3rd November 2013:
ya new chapter I've been checking every week

Author's Response: I really do apologise for the long delay! Thank you for sticking with the story though, I really do appreciate that. I do hope you enjoyed the chapter when you read it!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Brightpaw Fear of a Name

1st November 2013:
I was so happy to see the new chapter!! It was great. I think seeing Slughorn thinking about Tom Riddle in this way is very interesting; I always love the little links to what we know happens in the future. And you're writing Slughorn really well!

Thanks for updating!!! I know it's really busy this time of year.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I am so glad you enjoyed this! It was a little bit forced if I am honest, so I wasn't sure if it was up to my usual standard or not. Better chapters are coming though, I promise! Thanks for sticking with my story though despite the long delay between updates, I really appreciate it!

 Report Review

Review #21, by sarahe Whispers and Lies

22nd October 2013:
Yes! I'm so glad your are going to keep writing this story! And I'm actually pretty happy that you're not planming to skip ahead at this time because I' m excited to see what come next! Thank you and I can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks so much, I am so glad you enjoyed this and that you like my decision not to skip ahead. I will have the next chapter up by the end of the week! Hope you enjoy!

 Report Review

Review #22, by sarahe Whispers and Lies

5th October 2013:
Dont give up on this story! Its one of my favorites ever! You would be making so many people so happy if you keep writing; youre an amazing writer! I cant wait to read more, even if it isnt exactly chronological. If your having problems with the next part, maybe you could manipulate the story to fit your needs. Skip ahead in time or do a flashback/future moment or just tell us time is passing and pick out the most important brief moments to write about until you get somewhere you can handl! Just please PLEASE keep writing!!!

Author's Response: Oh don't worry, I am not, nor will I EVER give up on this story, I love it too much and I enjoy it too much too! Never fear, it will not be abandoned. It is just that my time is very restricted at the moment with school, and I am having a bit of difficulty writing chronologically, I'm jumping around a lot when I new idea takes hold. I'm writing a lot about Lupin during the first Order of the Phoenix at the mo see, and a good bit about him and Tonks too.

I like your idea of flashbacks and skipping, but I don't really want to do that, because I've a lot of stuff I want to explore with Remus at the minute. I've the bones of the next chapter written, let's just say it involves Slughorn and Lily, won't say more. I just need to find the time to flesh it out and add proper detail. But hey, on the bright side, the mid-term break is coming up at Halloween, so I will have a week of freedom from school, in which to write hopefully the next 3 or 4 chapters (going chronologically). Just hang tight, and I am terribly sorry for the big long delays, but by no means has this story been or ever will be abandoned.

Thanks so much for the review! Really appreciate it :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by imy Whispers and Lies

13th September 2013:
great whens the next one out?

Author's Response: Hi there, I am so glad you like this story. With regards to the next chapter, I am just finding it difficult to write this story chronologically. I keep jumping ahead and writing bits in the middle and at the end. I've about twenty seven chapters written in the middle, some with Tonks, some around the time James and Lily die etc. I won't stop writing, don't worry, there just may be a bit of a wait between chapters at the minute as I am working on the middle of the story! I will try and have the next chapter up by next weekend if I can, I've got the bones of the chapter written, I just need to flesh it out! :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by bells decatro Whispers and Lies

12th September 2013:
I absolutely love your stories keep writing and never stop making this fanfiction. You put so much detail in you're writing it is as good as J.K. Rowling her self if not beater, i didn't now you could bring that much life into lupin. KEEP ON UPDATING PLEASE!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, don't worry, I won't ever stop writing this fan-fiction, I love it too much! I'm just finding it difficult to write it in chronological order, I keep jumping around the place, I've about 22 chapters written in the middle of the story see, that's why there is such a delay between updates, it's not that I've given up! Don't worry, I won't ever do that!

I am so just so happy you are enjoying this fic, and that you think it is as good as JKR's writing, that comments leaves me at a loss for words really. Just thank you, thanks so much :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by Alisha Whispers and Lies

10th September 2013:
This Is Really Good, Good Job!!

Author's Response: Thanks so much, I am so glad you like it! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>