Reading Reviews for Livin' La Vida Loca
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ginerva_molly_weasley Marriages and Paperwork

18th June 2012:
This made me laugh so much! I don't read much very often anymore but things like this really make me want to!

I love ScoRose so I dont read much where they generally hate each other at the beginning because its so overdone but I seem to like the way you're starting to go with this story!

The fact that Harry wants them to pretend to be married is utterly priceless and Rose's personality is just spot on which is what makes this story really enthrawling to read. I can see good starting blocks of humour and drama in there especially with the beginning of the first chapter being thrown into the middle of an argument is brilliant.

The paperwork, oh the boring paperwork that almost ever job has! It was good to see it mentioned although why she'd say that paperwork would be better than pretending to be Scorpius's wife is beyond me! I love Scorp :D

 Report Review

Review #2, by LyrisLovegood Marriages and Paperwork

18th June 2012:
Hey this story caught my eyes. I really like the concept of this and the originality you have come out with :D

I love this first chapter so far especially the way Rose being stubborn even though she knows it's her job to do what her Uncle/Head Auror tells her to but her rebelling against him is actually quite funny!

I really like this and the relationship between Rose and Scor.

Keep up the good work :D

Sorry it's short!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Moonyxluna Marriages and Paperwork

26th May 2012:
Hi! I'm here from the Puff review thread! :)

This was a very exciting first chapter. I liked how you had sort of a normal start explaining the ministry, and then zoomed in on 'oh but wait!' the argument going on in Harry's office. I thought that was neat.

From my first impression of Rose, I kind of think she's a brat. No offence, of course, but cursing and downright refusing to do a job your boss asks just gives me that impression of disrespect for her superiors -- Part of it could be because Harry is her uncle and she's grown up with getting away from him -- but if she's working as an Auror that's not something she can really refuse from her boss. I did like how you mentioned how she knew what she was getting into -- it gave me more of the sense that there's some bad tensions between Scorpius and Rose that need to be addressed.

Im not really sure what to think of Scorpius yet for the same reason; even more so that he's not related to Harry, why he would be downright refusing to do a job with his bosse's best friend's daughter -- doesn't seem like the best way to get ahead in the world. I think a bit of a back story is needed as to why the pair despises eachother so much, if that makes sense?

I'm interested as to how you plan on getting them to do the job (because of your summary, it looks like they won't be able to refuse forever :p ) and the stuff about Hermione going against Percy in the campaign for Minister of Magic.

This was a very neat set-up chapter! Teddy was really sweet as well. I think my favorite part was 'locking Hermione in a room with a 'T' graded paper -- I think several people would be harmed from that ;) good job!

 Report Review

Review #4, by AriesGirl40 What an Idiot

26th April 2012:
Ya know something, I can't wait for a back story on these two. Why would Scorpious think Rose agreed , just to make him do Potters bidding? He sounds like something ticked him off about Rose in the past. Poor girl is confused. Good chapter, got me thinking :)

Author's Response: I didn't mean to make you think :P Glad you liked the chapter and don't worry, I'm adding in bits about their past as the chapters go on. Thanks for the review and I'm glad you liked it.

Snoopy x


 Report Review

Review #5, by BettyMaeStrange Marriages and Paperwork

22nd April 2012:
I Was Not Magnificent here for the review swap. ;)

Wow! What an interesting idea! I rarely read Scorpius/Rose fanfiction, and I really liked this original take on their relationship.

Your descriptions were very well done, and I enjoyed the small details made throughout this chapter: the witness reports, the posters for the MoM, etc., that made it really feel like an Auror department, and added emphasis to the hurried movements of all of the Aurors - you captured the atmosphere of the department and the job really well.

One thing that hit me straight away, was your odd sentence structure. There are a lot of places where a comma or semi-colon could have been used to break up the sentences a little and also make the story a little more fluid.

For example:

It was a pretty average day on the 2nd floor of the Ministry of Magic in the Auror department[,] as far as most people were concerned. There were a few visitors walking through[,] looking for family members who had been captured[,] and most of the Auror[ - not needed]s were hanging around waiting for orders. The most unusual thing that was happening was coming from behind a large black door at the end of the long corridor[,] labelled with a gold plaque [which - should be 'that', unless using a comma before which] read 4 simple words.

There are a lot of similar points like that I could make throughout the story, and also a few grammar mistakes, too - may I suggest asking for a beta? They're great help, and they've helped me loads in my stories. There are a lot of things I rarely notice when writing, and they're great at nit-picking and finding small errors. One other thing I noticed as well was that sometimes you use present tense when the rest of the story is in past - I'd watch out for that. ;)

I'm not entirely sure what to think of Scorpius or Rose at the moment - you've supplied quite little on their actual characters - and also why they hate each other, but I'm certain that'll be expanded on over the next chapter or throughout the story. ;) One character I instantly liked was Teddy - I think it was the flaming hair that got me, and just the way he's lazily scribbling in his notebook; I think that was a great characterisation of him. Well done!

As I was reading (and I know it says it in the summary) I was a little lost about what was actually happening and why they were arguing and what Harry has asked them to do, but then I read the last line (a very punchy one, I might add) and I was very impressed. The chapter was quite short so the suspense wasn't dragged on for too long, and you told us everything we needed to know. That was very well done.

Over all a very interesting story and I look forward to seeing where it's headed. Well done!

Bethan. xxx

Author's Response: wow, this just made my review look really pathetic xD Thanks for all the advice this is a real help. I do need a beta, but no one ever wants t be my beta so I've normal just given up with them and make my own way ahead.

Thanks for the review :)

Snoopy x


 Report Review

Review #6, by feathers101 Cotton Candy Hair

15th April 2012:
This story is a brilliant idea! I really liked the last chapter, can't wait to find out what happens.

Author's Response: Thank you, next chapter should be up soon :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by soph Marriages and Paperwork

30th March 2012:
You write well and this sounds like an interesting situation. But Rose and Scorpius are pretty narrow-minded and childish teenagers. If they already graduated Hogwarts and then went through Auror training (which will have taken them a good few years) then they should definitely act more their age. Also, be more professional. Harry is their boss, not someone they can shout at and then just refuse to do their work.
So, yeah... they're really immature and just didn't give off the vibe of 'Auror'. But apart from that I like the idea of two undercover Aurors having to do a job together. And acting the married couple. This could be interesting, hilarious and evil-laugh-inducing. Or it could just make me exasperated at their ridiculous behaviour. I hope it's the former ;)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Deltaris Marriages and Paperwork

30th March 2012:
This is a really interesting concept. I've seen plenty of Rose/Scorpius, but never anything that starts after they're in Hogwarts. I quite like the idea, it's a refreshing change.

However, I do find it a little hard to believe that Harry would've stayed on the Auror force so long. We know that he does after the final battle, but I've always felt like it was more out of obligation and not knowing anything other than fighting, than actually wanting to fight.

I did notice a few run on sentences:
With a final scowl at Scorpius[,] I barged past him
as I looked over at Scorpius[,] who was glaring angrily
witness had put 'Purple Chicken[.]' [N]ow I highly doubt the

And this sentence:
You would be better off putting Mum and [a]n old exam paper graded with a D in a room for 5 hours
-The grading scales are different in this world. There is no D grade, so perhaps it'd be better to change it to a Troll? And (this is just a pet peeve of mine, not all that important) the general rule when writing numbers is if it's less than 100, you write out the words. (Or less than two words, or less than some other number, depending on where/how you learn it. I learnt the 100 thing.)

I think this could definitely be very good. It's all a matter of how you explain the new Death Eater rising and how things have changed since Harry's Hogwarts days. I'd say this is a pretty good start :)

Del<3

Author's Response: Thanks for poiting out the mistakes. I really need a beta reader, but no one ever wants to do my stories so I'm stuck using word which is painfully useless.

I'll change the grade to Troll just so it wont bug you anymore because I'm a nice person ;)

And I never learnt the less than 100 thing o.o So I always use the numbers instead of writing it out. But I'll take that into concideration for next time and probrsbly edit it.

And once again thanks for the wonderful review and I'm glad you liked it.

Snoopy x


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login