Reading Reviews for For my Youth
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Elenia A beautiful home, a beautiful child.

13th May 2012:
(Swap!)

Oh, I really liked this! Such a beautiful story and yet so bittersweet. I really enjoyed reading this.

I liked your characterization of Dominique, she was very different from what I've read before and that was a good thing.

Your writing is very beautiful and I love all the details and description you give. Good work!

~Elenia

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :) Glad you thought she has a nice character, you're too sweet! :D

 Report Review

Review #2, by BeaJerry A beautiful home, a beautiful child.

6th May 2012:
Oh wow, I love the ICTC reference! One of my favourite books ever ;3
This was a really interesting turn on Dominique's character, and I found it very realistic, if not slightly sad. You get so many celebrities like her nowadays, and I liked how you sort of introduced that to the Wizarding world.
Really great one-shot!
Bea xo

Author's Response: I LOVE ICTI!! The dad is so clever o.O. I'm glad you found this realistic, and it was meant to be sad ;). So super glad you liked it! :D THANK YOU!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Starkidfaith A beautiful home, a beautiful child.

6th May 2012:
I really loved this! I like how you wrote Dominique, it was different than most stuff I've read before. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! Glad you enjoyed it! :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by ginerva_molly_weasley A beautiful home, a beautiful child.

6th May 2012:
What an extremely haunting piece. It was enchanting but at the same time there was that bittersweet tinge to it which I couldn't help but love.

Dominique could easily be seen as one of the 'forgotten' characters because she could fall into the shadow of Victoire but at the same time fall into the shadow of Louis as he's the only boy.

The idea of her being so close to nature is really nice as it shows that she's different and loves the idea of being outdoors in a soothing place which is familiar. The idea of her also being whoever her family wanted her to be such as the boy or the girl who was close to nature was interesting as it showed that she was easily influenced.

Also there is some sensitive themes in here (which im not sure are 12+ so wont mention) but I think you managed to tackle them really well and to me make it believable as to why she feels this way when all her other cousins are moving on with their lives and becoming parents.

Well done!

Author's Response: Awww thank you so much! I love it when people infer things from my work, makes me feel like an actual proper author. I didn't think half those things you said in so many words! I'm glad the themes were believeable, again thank you SO much for reviweing!!!

 Report Review

Review #5, by _bliss A beautiful home, a beautiful child.

29th April 2012:
this was quite an interesting story, pretty well written :)
just wanted to point out that you've written Victorie when it's Victoire and Griffindor instead of Gryffindor :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I realised this and will get around to fixing thay. Glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #6, by slytherinchica08 A beautiful home, a beautiful child.

12th April 2012:
First of all I must say that I really liked your description in this! You started off very strong with it and continued it throughout the chapter as well and it was wonderful I felt. It was such a sad story as I continued on learning of her life and what she had widdled down to as she watched her sister and brother both with their own families and she had none. I really felt this was a beautiful oneshot and was very well written. I think this bit "It their secret, their home" is supposed to have a was in between it and their. But that was the only mistake I spotted! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Thank you so much, oh I deleted that when I was changing the tenses. I'm so forgetful :L. I'm so glad you liked it!:D

 Report Review

Review #7, by charlottetrips A beautiful home, a beautiful child.

5th April 2012:
That was unexpectedly beautiful. Unexpected because I think I've only read one other thing by you and it was different from this. I really was taken aback by your descriptions and the way you made Shell Cottage and the surrounding area come alive.

The syrupy sunlight splayed out over the gently foaming, never ending sea, picking out purples and green in the inevitable grey and dancing over each curl, each movement, making the huge expanse of water seem alive. It rippled and reflected off the jet black rocks that lined one side of their cove, and streamed off them as is they were dark, brooding mirrors. Looking out, you could almost taste it, grit and burning salt, saccharine strawberries and honey, like spun gold. - I adored this description of the sea, so different from what I've read before and the sea is just breathing.

Doom's regrets are so clear here and the way we run through her memories shows the parts she hates the most but the parts that she cannot forget. I see why she is at where she is now and the tie-in with her mother's lessons in herbs to the bitterness she feels now was brilliant.

Favoriting!

xChar

Author's Response: Thank you so much! This kind of made my day a little, thanks for favouriting *squeals*

 Report Review

Review #8, by EverDiggory A beautiful home, a beautiful child.

3rd April 2012:
One thing that I absolutely cannot get over is that your writing style and choice of words are completely, entirely hypnotic. It was like a spell. It was quite, quite beautiful.

The emotions that came across with this one-shot was absolutely amazing, I'm in awe! I've never seen anything quite like this, especially not with Dom!

Thanks for the fantastic read!

xoxo

Ever

10/10

Author's Response: A spell eh? ;) No but Siriusly thank you so much! That has totally made me squeal! I'm so happy you liked not just my story but my style, it, it means a lot!!! Thanks again! :D

 Report Review

Review #9, by Miriel A beautiful home, a beautiful child.

29th March 2012:
Hi there!

Here's Miriel and I came across your stories via the Review Tag thread over at the forums.

This story caught my attention because it's different from the stories about Dom I usually see. In most stories she's young and beautiful, doesn't have sorrows or a dark side. In this case you made her a regretfull elderly woman who looks back on her youth.

Dom seems to be hopless at first, but I think in the end it's her family and her home that give her something to cling to, although she feels as if she wasted her whole life so far. I think that's a nice thought.

The stile you are writing in is fitting, too. Dom's memories are like pieces of a puzzle, they come into her mind without an order. This fact is displayed by your choice of words and sentence structure very well.

All in all, I enjoyed this story a lot!

Miriel

Author's Response: Thank you so much, that was totally what I was going for. I'm so pleased you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #10, by mekamissey A beautiful home, a beautiful child.

29th March 2012:
I absolutely loved this story. I really liked how you fully captured Dom's emotions. It wasn't what I was expecting, but that made it even better. Great job!

Author's Response: Awh, thank you! I was worried that because she didn't actually like use it in a potion it wasn't right, but I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login