Reading Reviews for Just One Memory
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by 1917farmgirl Just One Memory

20th March 2014:
Aw.! This makes me all gooey inside!

This review battle really has me branching out. I don't normally read fics about Teddy, but that's only because they tend to be romances and that's not really my thing. But this? This was just sweet!

I loved how you showed that Teddy was both loved and adored by his grandma and Uncle Harry, but at the same time deeply felt the void of his missing parents. And he just lapped up any memories of them. That is such a human thing to do.

Teddy requesting a memory that was just his was super special as well, and that he actually got to remember it was SO COOL!.

A few things this fic also made me think of that I never have before: Does anyone really know what an Metomorphmagus looks like? For real? That was a very interesting concept to include, and made it fun to read! Also, I'd never actually thought about who must have helped Tonks have her baby, so that was a fun scene to add to my mental collection!

Thanks for such a sweet, simple and loving tale! You write beautifully and it has been a joy to sample some of your stuff.

- Farmgirl

Blackout Battle round 3 review 15/20.

 Report Review

Review #2, by love_is_magic_ Just One Memory

7th March 2014:
Hiya!

This looks like such a great story, I'm just gonna jump right in!

I love the connection between Harry and Teddy, neither of them knowing their parents and having to rely on what others tell them. That is such a heartbreaking but somehow consoling fact, that I'm so glad you pointed out.

One thing I noticed, though, was that you refer to Harry as Uncle Harry, when in fact Harry wouldn't be Teddy's Uncle... That's just a picky detail, though. I just thought I would let you know (:

I love the bit about Andromeda being able to see Tonks and Lupin in Teddy, looking past his ability to change appearance so willingly. That was a great touch.

Another random correction, and this one is super small, I'm not even sure why I'm mentioning it, but when Andromeda is talking about Teddy's birth she says 'Weasley's' and I don't think there's a need for the apostrophe. Again, SUPER small correction, but I thought I'd point it out if you ever did an edit (:

I love the sneaky mention of Harry and Ginny's adorable-ness! Exchanging sweet, loving looks and whatnot... are you trying to murder me with adorable?!

Ooooh, a hankerchief with A.B., eh? How mysterious! Hopefully I figure out what that means by the end of this story!

Another quick correction! Sorry, but I feel like, now I've started, there's no stopping... Here, you wrote 'happiest event any of had witnessed in a long time'. I think you mean any of them, or something along those lines.

Awww Teddy finally got his memory, and an adorable one, at that! I love the way you ended it, and just the entire story, for that matter! Well done, you really do have a talent for writing!

Christy

P.S. Totally didn't figure out what A.B. stood for, though I really feel like I should know... It'll probably come to me in the middle of the night or something ridiculous, like that!

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle 5/15

Author's Response: Haha well thanks for jumping in! :D I hope you enjoy the ride!

In glad you liked the connection. In reality, they're the reason I wanted to write it. To show another side of Harry in a way, but through Teddy, and in a very Teddy way! :)

I know he's not really his uncle. It's more of one of those things where you're really close to an older figure that isn't related to you, so you call them Aunt or Uncle. Like, I'm my godson's "Aunt", but I'm in no way related to him. I don't know if that's just something we folks do around here, but that's what I meant by it ;). Sorry for any confusion!

They are adorable aren't they? I love them as a couple and just want more people to like them! :) I'm glad you do!

Oops, small typo! Thanks for pointing it out ;). I'll fix it when I go through my editing spree here soon. :)

I'm so glad you liked it! :D That makes me so happy! And that comment! I'm blushing :3. Thank you so much! :D. And thank you for the review! It's so lovely, and helpful! :D

I'll ease your mind on the A.B thing. It stands for her initials, Andromeda Black. Something old she's had for a while and keeps as an old keepsake, even with her changed last name ;).

Thank you for reading/reviewing!

~Mae


 Report Review

Review #3, by ShadowRose Just One Memory

2nd March 2014:
Hello! I'm here for the Gryffindor/Slytherin Blackout Battle!

Okay, so I've definitely heard this on HPPC before, but I've never read it or reviewed it as a story itself. I really like the perspective of this story - it's a next-gen kid, but he's still pretty young, so it's got a bit of that childish aspect to it.

I really love how you've characterized Teddy - he's so young and desperate to be like his parents, to hold onto every shred of information about them that he has. It's so cute, and also very believable for a little kid who knows nothing about their parents - it's actually really similar to Harry, now that I think about it. I love how there are little bits of each of his parents in him, and you show those personality traits throughout the story. I like Andromeda here as well, she's a great mother figure and you can tell she still has Tonks on her mind when she's talking to Teddy, but she also loves this little boy with all her heart.

The little memory that comes to Teddy at the end was positively adorable. They're such a happy family together, and it just breaks my heart to know that they never got a chance to be a family for very long. I love the little comment about "just wait until he's a teenager" because, well, Teddy's almost a teenager now, and he has nothing but absolute adoration for his parents.

I love the ending - it's nice that the memory of his parents gave him the courage to introduce himself, and that he wants nothing more than to make his parents proud.

This story was absolutely adorable, yet gently heartbreaking all at once, and I think you did a great job with it!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: Ooooh! So glad you've heard it! (I'm sure I probably already knew that hehe) I also really enjoyed writing him that young. I LOVE writing children! They're so cute and so sweet to write!

I wanted that similarity between him and Harry, especially since he had helped raising him. Andromeda has been a character of interest to me since she was introduced into the books. She was definitely not the usual Black sister, and I loved that about her. She is a mother, and a wife, and a fighter. Now she's a grandmother who is trying to keep what little family she has left together! :)

"Just wait until he's a teenage" was meant to be my goosebump line ;). I wanted everyone to realize just what you realized, and go Aw! Haha :) I'm glad it worked with you! :)

I think he'd be a Puff if that would answer any questions. :) Like his mama! They're both very proud of him! :D

Thank you so much for coming by and leaving such lovely comments! They make me really happy! :3

~Mae


 Report Review

Review #4, by nott theodore Just One Memory

1st March 2014:
Hello!

Aw, when I saw this story on your AP I just know I had to read it and review. There aren't enough stories focusing on the next generation during their childhood and this one looked really cute, which it was, although I found it very sad and poignant too!

One thing I loved was the way you started it, with the section in italics, because it was a really effective way of starting it and seemed to capture the essence of this story while still making me want to continue reading. It's always sad to think that Teddy had to grow up without his parents and the parallels there between his life and Harry's, although I think Teddy's childhood would have been a lot happier than Harry's! But I think the fact that he never got to know his parents would have a massive effect on him, especially since they died fighting in a war he doesn't remember - even though he knows that it was for him as well, it must be hard to think that and believe their sacrifice benefitted him at all.

The characterisation in this story was really good and I enjoyed reading it, with the blend of his parents' characteristics in his personality. I like the way you used those aspects to craft his character, and I was so pleased he could have one memory of his parents as well!

This was a great, really poignant one-shot, well done!

Sian :)

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Battle review 3/10

Author's Response: Ooh yay! I'm so glad it caught your attention!

Cute, sad, and poignant! Everything I was going for! ;)

The italics was something I wanted to have. It is almost more of an inner thought, while being a voice that says exactly what this story is about. Yes, I do believe that Teddy had a much happier upbringing than Harry, but any child would miss their parents when they didn't get a chance to grow up with them. Like when Remus would tell stories to Harry about his parents, he always felt the longing to get to meet them.

I'm glad you liked the characterization! I've never written Remus or Tonks before, because I tend to steer clear from marauder type characters, but they were fun, and the love scene is among one of my favorite scenes I've written!

Thank you so much for stopping by and choosing this story to review for the blackout! I appreciate it very much! :D

~Mae


 Report Review

Review #5, by LilyEPotter Just One Memory

1st March 2014:
Hi!

This story was so very sad! I had to reach for a tissue several times while reading. Just the thought that Teddy only knows the facts about his parents and can't remember them as his parents is heart-breaking. When I thought about it, he was only a month old at the time.

I liked how the other little boy pointed out Teddy's blue hair as if no one else could see what color it was. Priceless!

I hadn't considered it before, but I guess it would be alarming if your baby all of a sudden began changing its hair color and eye color. Especially since Metamorphmagus are so rare. Definitely would have been unexpected.

Another heart-breaking moment with his filled-in memory of being held by his parents and seeing just how much they loved him and each other.

That was a lovely ending where he was able to board the train with at least one memory of his parents and at last having a connection with them so that he could make them proud.

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle
Review 1 of 10
LEP:)

Author's Response: Hey! Thank you for stopping by to check out this one-shot for the blackout! :D It makes me so happy to see this fic still gets love because I technically wrote it three years ago! It was the first thing I had REALLY written and submitted in three years prior to that, so to see that it's loved makes me happy!

Oooh yay! I love making people cry! ^^ Yeah, it was just a itty bitty baby when Remus and Tonks left. Even Harry got to know them longer! It's sort of like a whole Harry thing all over again, but Harry was the baby to bring peace, and Teddy is the baby of that new beginning.

Yes! Thankfully it was just his hair! Imagine if he had changed his nose, or hands! Remus would have freaked! xD

They did love each other, didn't they? It makes me so sad thinking about how they're actually gone! :(

Yay! I'm glad you thought so! One of my biggest worries for the piece was that it might be too cliche, but I'm glad it was lovely and you liked it! :D

Thank you so much for stopping by and reviewing this little one-shot! It makes it feel loved, it really does! ;)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Rew Just One Memory

28th April 2013:
Hey Mae! Poignant piece, and from a character whom we know so little about canon (other than his later snogging Victoire of course!). He does seem to be a nice blend of his parents, with his father's introspective side and his mother's slight insecurities. I can readily see his grandmother taking him in after Tonks's death.

Only suggestion for improvement here is perhaps having Harry also at the platform with him. That was one of my favorite things about this piece, this commonality the two have of growing up parentless.

Author's Response: Oh wow! Hey, Rew! Thank you for coming by to check out the one-shots! :D It was a nice surprise for when I woke up. :)

This is the first story I wrote in 2010 after taking a three year break from writing. I entered it in a contest and it received a nice little first (aren't I humble? xD) But seriously, it was the kick-start of my writing again. I felt that, if I could write this cute little thing, I could do more again. :) I'm quite happy with the results of this story. It's always one of my favorite pieces and I actually, honestly do come back from time to time to read it.

One of the things I've always imagined about Teddy going to school is that he went with his grandmother. Yes, he and Harry have the 'parentless' connection, but we assume outside of this story that he and Harry have many of those moments. I was keen enough to bring that up, too ;). I wanted this to be a piece between Dora and her grandson. Mainly because somewhere I read an article that J.K said Harry was his godfather, and he often went there for dinner, but he still lived with and loved his grandmother.

I think this is an important time for Dora. The last time she had anything to do with King's Cross was many, many years ago, and this is very symbolic for her. In the time-frame given by J.K, this is around 2009, and Harry, though I think regretfully, had to stay home with Ginny to take care of their presumably 2, 3, and 7 year old. Teddy is obviously way older than most of the children, so there is really no need for other people other than his grandmother to take him to the station. :)

Thank you for stopping by and reading/reviewing! I'm glad you liked it! It's always been one of my favorites, and to see that it is other's as well makes my day! :) Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #7, by potterfan310 Just One Memory

18th July 2012:
This story is so adorable. I love Teddy.

I think the fact he remembered what they had said was just perfect. It's only natural for Teddy to be curious and I like the way you had Adromeda talling him.

Teddy has such a strong bond with his grandmother and you portrayed both of them wonderfully.

I will deffinatly be adding this story to my favoutrites.

-Potterfan310

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm really glad you got the connection of Teddy and Adromeda and that it came off really natural. That makes me really happy to hear that! Thanks for adding it to your favorites! Most definitely I want to thank you for the review! :D

 Report Review

Review #8, by magicmuggle01 Just One Memory

25th April 2012:
I love this story. Sometimes where Teddy is concerned you just can't help smiling at some of his antics when he was younger.
You can see the strong bond that he has with his Grandmother. I think you could do another story along these lines. How about one where Teddy as grown up and has a son of his own and their visiting Andromeda who tells him a story about how much Teddy was a handful when he was younger.
After reading both the story on mugglenet and this one, I can see the improvement in your writing. You have come along in leaps and bounds.
10/10 and adding to favs.

Author's Response: I could have swore I just replied to this... huh lol. Anyway! Thank you so much for your kind words! Honestly, I think this is my most popular story on here, lol. I'm glad it is getting the response it has, though. I have thought about, just a little bit, about the possibilities of continuing this story, but it probably won't be until much much later in the future (maybe a year or so). However, thank you so, so much! For the read/review/kind words/favorite/rating, and just everything! I'm glad you liked it!

~Mae


 Report Review

Review #9, by TeaLupin Just One Memory

30th March 2012:
Beautiful! I wish the story could continue because it was so well written. 10/10

Author's Response: Aw thank you! :D It is 8 in the morning here and I just woke up to this! Haha! Well, I have sometimes thought about making it continue later down the road, but hopefully sometime after I get all of my other fics caught up! lol Thank you so much for the review! :D

 Report Review

Review #10, by daliha Just One Memory

28th March 2012:
Aww this is soo sweet! It would only be natural for Teddy to be curious about his parents and I just thought this was an adorable way to show it :)

Author's Response: Thank you! :) I thought it would be a really nice take to see Teddy be curious of his parents. I like that it was his grandmother explaining things too, because normally, I think, it would have been Harry because they would have so much more in common. With his grandmother telling him I think it really makes it special. Thank you for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by SerpentineOffering Just One Memory

28th March 2012:
Awe! What a beautiful one-shot! This was an extremely good story! I loved it. This is the first story I've read about Teddy and I think I might start reading more because I found this quite enjoyable! You're an excellent writer and I look forward to reading more of your stories in the future! :) Thank you for a wonderful read!

- Bradi

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad I got you into the Teddy mood! lol :) You're really sweet for saying that, and I hope you find my other collections enjoyable! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login