Reading Reviews for The Bravest Man I Ever Knew
  
23 Reviews Found

Review #1, by TidalDragon Along Came Darkness

25th March 2014:
A shorter chapter, but definitely interesting seeing your perspective on how the idea of Death Eater-hood really entered Snape's mind. It also includes an almost touching bit of naivety on his part about Voldemort truly sparing Lily.

It seemed like that was the primary purpose of the chapter, along with introducing some other Slytherins who I'm sure will be involved in some way in the story later, but I'm interested to see how we'll move on to the "core" you mentioned in you A/N from here.

 Report Review

Review #2, by TidalDragon She Loves Me, She Loves Me Not, She... Loves Me?

25th March 2014:
Howdy!

So I really liked the beginning of this chapter where you paid such attention to Snape noticing all the small details about Lily. You really build up the feelings he has for her and the attention he pays to her well. I thought that set up nicely the transition to his thoughts about dark magic and muggle-borns, etc. which conflicted completely with Lily. It was a nice touch too to tie in the pair of them being in sync, knees touching, etc. at the beginning and then using dark magic as the schism that separated that.

I'm not sure how I felt about Snape's realizations about it being the potential wedge that would come between them or about the finish, but perhaps that sets up well how he could possibly have done what he did in "Snape's Worst Memory" so maybe it will grow on me later in the story.

One more chapter to catch up, so hopefully I'll be able to!

 Report Review

Review #3, by TidalDragon Close Call

21st March 2014:
Loved starting with the excerpt from the Potions essay! I'm a sucker for references to outside "documents" in stories to begin with and the content about the growing potion and the Jack and the Beanstalk tale was delightful.

The ups and downs of Snape's mood and perspective as it pertains to Lily in the chapter are also well done. Her character seems to flow very seamlessly from the source of his sunshine (even when he's carrying her books) to well feeding his quiet pain because you do a nice job of describing her behaviors, tone, etc. (in terms of both adjectives and level of detail) as he sees them. Then that grinds abruptly to a halt where things turn to an uncomfortable subject, or she says something that causes him pain.

This is made more interesting by the contrast with Lily, who (except in the last three paragraphs) seems keenly aware of when she had irritated him, but largely oblivious about just how positively she affects him at other times. If you are indeed going for the fact that Lily is indeed clueless about Snape's other-than-friendly feelings then I think it emphasizes that point very effectively.

The last three paragraphs might be my favorites of the chapter though because I think they are where a glimpse of the undying nature of Snape's affections for Lily shines clearest. It is here that she hurts him most of all, but at the same time it is here where he proves unable to deliver on his initial intention to do something cutting right back. I thought that was a great note to end on in a strong chapter that basically drove straight at its point the whole way through.

 Report Review

Review #4, by TidalDragon Potions Class Sucks

21st March 2014:
Okay! So the journey back to Potions class brings back something I remembered from an earlier chapter!

I definitely get that Snape's passion was always DADA (more the second DA, but still), but I guess I always thought he at least enjoyed Potions based on his careful notations in the book in HBP and his aptitude. BUT this chapter actually did manage to open me up a bit in your direction.

I can definitely get where Snape would not see eye-to-eye with Slughorn, who could easily have been "just another" person to marginalize him. Coupling that with Slughorn's open attitude toward blood status, especially as HEAD of Slytherin and there's bound to be some antipathy.

You also paint an intriguing portrait here of Snape's HBP notes and potion tweaks as less evidence of raw brilliance and more the actions of a grinder (though that was oddly offset a bit by his more cavalier attitude toward studying).

I hope this is making any sense at all. I suppose the upshot of it is that I am really continuing to enjoy your takes on characters and the challenges they are presenting to "easier" or more common portrayals (including some of my own). They are steadily becoming another link in the chain of events since I've joined the site that makes me want to re-read the series again and really THINK about it hard in addition to enjoying it, so kudos.

See you in Chapter 5!

 Report Review

Review #5, by TidalDragon Doxy Pox and Dogs

21st March 2014:
Hello again! I'm finally able to get back to my own reading list a bit after wrapping up my recent batch of review requests, so I thought I'd pick up here since you have left me so many thoughtful reviews recently!

You have done interesting things with a lot of characters in this chapter, really dodging the typical characterizations. Mr. Evans in particular was a fun one, trying to dabble in potion-making in the kitchen. I also found Lily interesting in that she is quite a bit more mischievous. I'll confess it's not how I imagine her, but I wonder given what you've set up with emerging feelings between she and James, whether maybe he's rubbed off a bit or have you always seen her this way?

Despite the relatively light-hearted subject-matter of the chapter you also managed to let Snape's inner intensity shine through. It was interesting to see a Snape who was less capable of controlling his reactions and concealing his true feelings as well (during the exchanges with Lily's parents).

There were a couple places where the description in a paragraph and the transitional language to the next scene felt a bit redundant (getting to the second-hand robe shop), but all in all I thought it flowed pretty well and never got stale even though this chapter was some bit longer than the earlier ones I had read.

I can't promise I will be as quick as you catching up on this, since I've got to really get cracking on a couple of my challenge pieces, but I do plan on carrying this through what you have so far!

 Report Review

Review #6, by TidalDragon I'll Put A Spell On You

7th March 2014:
Hello again!

Just like I was surprised by where last chapter ended up starting, I was also surprised by this one. I had figured it would pick up with the moment Snape realized he had beyond-friendly feelings for Lily, but instead it was a spat.

I think I was struck most by the tone of the chapter though. Even this early on in the story, shifting back to when Snape and Lily were still friends, you inject an air of inevitability about Snape's love being unrequited that could stand independent of the prologue. You do a careful job balancing James continuing to pursue Lily with the same persistence he showed at school in canon, while at the same time alluding to Lily's as yet unrecognized (?) interest in him and Snape's reaction to it.

I did find it a bit odd that Snape claims not to like Potions and that it is Lily's favorite subject. I suppose this is never said outright in canon now that I think about it, but I always figured that Snape favored Potions after HBP and that Lily's talents in Charms might make that her favorite subject. Maybe I'm biased because I always preferred the subjects I was best at. At any rate, I'm interested to see if later in the story Snape's career in Potions is addressed again and if it is somehow a tribute to Lily's memory.

Just noticed the date stamp on this bad boy and wanted to give you some encouragement to come back and finish it at some point too. I think you had a good idea here and (selfishly) I'd like to be able to see how it winds up in the end, especially as it's the first Snape/Lily fic I've tried.

Author's Response: Hey! I'm so glad you've come back! I really hope you continue on with it! :D

I really wanted to show this moment on how they're actually very good friends, with the unrequited feel. Though I hope to add a memory scene of some sort to show when he realized he fell in love with her.

Seeing as how they'll be returning to school, I haven't got the chance at this moment to really explore James and his abilities to attempt at wooing Lily. It is, after all, their fifth year, and I think that's where he'll get his most obnoxious and actually start liking Lily himself. Liking liking, of course.

I'm a little surprised a most readers haven't picked up on this yet (don't feel bad if you didn't get it right away) but Snape wants to be and a DADA professor. He's more stuck with Potions. I have him as a very good student in Potions, one of those classes that might come easier to him than others, but the fact that Lily loves it more, and helps him in class was what I wanted. I wanted little things in the Advanced Potions book he'll be writing in later to be because Lily shares information with him. The other notes, such as the spells and stuff, would be his longing for DADA. :) I hope this clears it up a little.

I fully plan on finishing this one up! :) I've just been a bit wrapped up in the current stories I have, but this one still has ideas and plots that want to be written! So thanks for that! I definitely encourage you to catch up and keep with it! :D I would love to have a Lily/Snape sceptic hang around to let me know what they think! :D

Thank you so much for the amazing reviews! :) they make my day! :D


 Report Review

Review #7, by TidalDragon A Prologue and The End: Part One

7th March 2014:
Howdy!

So I am not normally a fan of Snape/Lily because I'm such a big fan of James/Lily, but I'm giving it a try! Broadening my horizons.

I thought you launched off at an interesting starting point. When I read the chapter I was definitely expecting either the moment where Snape discovers Lily dead or the moment he himself dies, but his visiting her grave site was unexpected, but I thought it was a good thing.

The most compelling part for me was when you combined his actions with his words and his emotions, having him spill his heart/soul a bit while tracing the letters of Lily's name. It was interesting for you to paint more of that different side of Snape that was only revealed in bits in canon and for you to give us as readers a glimpse of the raw emotion he experienced in the aftermath of Lily's death.

Originally, I found some of Snape's words to be a bit off (not that I claim to be able to write him, just a feeling), but I actually ended up thinking it sort of fit with the raw emotion he was probably experiencing.

I wonder about how much the James and Sirius hate would have bled over into this moment, but given how intensely he harbored that hatred deep into canon it's certainly possible.

I'm going to promise myself to stay the course and see how it develops despite how weird it feels for me to read something Snape/Lily.

Author's Response: Woh! Someone's reading this story again! :D This makes me so happy! :D

I LOVE Lily/Snape, but I'm a big fan of James/Lily. Though I don't want to give you a false idea of what this story is about. This is still technically a Lily/James story (for it does follow the stories) but it shows what happened between Snape and Lily between then, and if he's ever been given the chance along the way ;).

Haha nope! It's for a visit to his beloved! :D I really wanted to work on my description and detail. I wanted little dialog (which didn't work out that great) but it was fun (in one of those sad, sadistic ways).

I wanted it to be believable that he's still young here, and that he hasn't thought everything through. He hasn't had time like he has now where he is alone and older to think everything through.

Oh, he still hates both of them! ;) But I wanted this to focus a lot more on Lily and him. :)

Yay! I hope you like it and are able to catch up! I have planned chapters to come. I just have a rule on how I update my stories, and it's not this one's turn quite yet. ;)

Thank you so much for stopping by and giving this a try! :D

~Mae


 Report Review

Review #8, by LilyEPotter A Prologue and The End: Part One

1st March 2014:
Hi!

This chapter is so incredibly sad! I had to find a tissue several times. Very poignant. In this case, poor Snape, having to sneak to the graveyard to see Lily knowing that no one would want him there. When Snape asked why they had chosen Black as their Secret Keeper, I wondered why he didn't know about Wormtail especially since Wormtail did have the Dark Mark. The grief that he feels at not having been able to save them is heart-breaking as is his belated realization that Lily was correct and he should have listened to her. His promise to look after Harry if he is a wizard is nice, but shouldn't he check on Harry even if he were a Muggle? There is some irony in the reason that he left Lily's grave.

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Bingo
Review 6 of 10
LEP:)

Author's Response: Really? :D Awesome! (Not that I take pleasure in making people sad or anything... xD)

I never imagined him getting to attend the actual funeral. So this fits perfectly in my mind. It was initially going to be a song fic, based off the song "If I Die Young" by The Band Perry, and was going to be one chapter, but I decided it'd make a great story! :)

I think, in that time with everyone being so new, not everyone was told everything. Like how Peter was set out to give them away. Since he disappeared for so long after Voldemort's death, no one would be there to tell Snape otherwise. That, and his hatred for Sirius and James would blind him. :)

If Harry is magical, he'll have a more opportune moment to see him around (as a teacher definitely), and if not, then maybe once in a while, but not nearly as much. That's more or less of what I meant. :)

Thanks for stopping by! I'm glad you liked it!

~Mae


 Report Review

Review #9, by Wildmoon Along Came Darkness

26th October 2013:
This is great so far. I've always wondered about his thought process in becoming a Death Eater, and I hope you explore it a lot more on his journey. Hope to see more soon!

Author's Response: Hi, thanks for the review! I haven't been around in a while, but that's because I had no computer of my own anymore. I have one now, so I hope to get back to this (and all the others, too)!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Konstandin1990 Along Came Darkness

22nd September 2013:
what. no more of this story. what a shame.

Author's Response: Hopefully there will be soon now that I have a laptop of my own to use and write with. :) Sorry about the delay!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Konstandin1990 Along Came Darkness

31st August 2013:
nice. very nice. more please.

Author's Response: Thanks! :) Hopefully soon!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Konstandin1990 Along Came Darkness

7th August 2013:
outstanding. keep it up.

Author's Response: Thanks! :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Konstandin1990 Along Came Darkness

16th July 2013:
very nice. keep it up

Author's Response: Thanks! :) Now that I have my own laptop again, I hope to do so soon!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Konstandin1990 Along Came Darkness

22nd May 2013:
you r killing us here. these stories r too short. I know they say 'more is less' but come one. next time, longer please. keep it up.

Author's Response: Keep in mind these are supposed to be journal-like posts. Keeping in theme with the recorded dates. However, if I would drag these chapters out, it wouldn't be as nice as it is. It would get boring and dull because we all already technically knows what happens. Just be patient, and I promise to deliver. :) Thanks for the review, though! I'll see what I can do about the next chapter.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Konstandin1990 She Loves Me, She Loves Me Not, She... Loves Me?

30th April 2013:
I like the way you write. You make the impossible sound so appealing. It's great how you characterize Snape. As a sort of Yin - Yang figure. Like that old native american proverb goes " There are two wolves that reside in every mans heart. One is good the other evil and the one that you feed the most wins". I like it, that you haven't portrayed lily as the good side of Snape, but more like the 'fuel' for his good side. Basically she keeps the dark wolf in check. Love it. Keep em coming.

Author's Response: Aww! Why thank you! :) I really try to go for the opposite of what most think about characters, but that's mainly because I don't believe that most characters are the way others think they are. :) I've always thought there was a good side to Snape, and she is the first sign of good he had introduced in his life. I'm really glad you like the story, and that's a really nice quote. I've never heard it before. :) Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #16, by AlexFan A Prologue and The End: Part One

28th April 2013:
Alright, I have just enough time right now to review all of the stories that were put in the comments so I don't have enough time to read and review every single chapter of this story just yet but I will if I remember to come back to this. I was planning on reading and reviewing every story of yours but because of time . . . anyway, moving on.

I started to feel so bad for Severus when he was crying and as much as I still dislike the man, I started to pity him and feel sorry for what he'd gone through.

And then he blamed James for getting him and Lily killed because they trusted Sirius and that pity mostly went away. My immediate thought was "and Severus is back people." He just really never learned to let go of all of the hate, did he. James outgrew his bully years and became a nice person but Severus just really can't let go of anything.

I felt the need to defend Sirius whenever he was mentioned and smack talked about even if it did make sense in the context. NO ONE CAN INSULT SIRIUS!

There was this one part where I just started laughing even though it wasn't funny. Severus said how he would protect Harry no matter what and that he'd look out for him and I started laughing because while he did look after Harry, he did it in such a bad way.

"I will protect your son by treating him like the gum stuck to the bottom of my shoes."

Oh Severus, I don't think he ever really got the hang of expressing his feelings towards people in a way that showed it was caring.

Anyway, great job on this!

Author's Response: "I will protect your son by treating him like the gum stuck to the bottom of my shoes."

Oh my goodness that had me laughing! xD

"And maybe, if he's lucky, I won't scrape it off and dump it." lol

Anyway, I take it you're a Sirius lover then? ;) Well, it's good to know I got you to pity Snape even for a split second. It shows that he can have his weak moments you know? ;)

Thank you so so much for stopping by to review! I was pleasantly surprised you chose a WIP. :) I hope you some day get a chance to read the story just to enjoy it as a whole. :) Thank you for the lovely review! Have fun with everything else!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Konstandin1990 A Large Problem

22nd April 2013:
very good. keep it up

Author's Response: Thank you for leaving a review! :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by Konstandin1990 Potions Class Sucks

12th April 2013:
Bloody loved it. out of all the HP fan fiction, by far the best. keep it up.

Author's Response: Oh wow! This really surprised me and made my whole day! (Hard to do since I watched Glee today, too ;)) Thank you so much for all of the kind words and I'll definitely be sure to do just that! :) Again, thank you! Your review has me smiling from ear to ear! :D

 Report Review

Review #19, by lionsgobrawrg.tumblr.com Potions Class Sucks

20th June 2012:
Why is Snape bad at potions? :/
Is there a plot development there?
Is he just being lazy? :(
i wish i could rate 8.6

Author's Response: I never said he was bad at potions, he just works harder at the class. :) It gives an excuse as to why he would make so many notes and such. Potions was never one of Snape's favorite subjects anyway, but it is simple enough to follow through with and get the instructions done. :) Thanks for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #20, by magicmuggle01 I'll Put A Spell On You

23rd May 2012:
Once again another wonderful chapter. And I think you have the characters down to a T.
I loved the bit about the Dragon Scale cauldron, how ever did youi come up with that idea?
Another full marks and moving on.

Author's Response: I don't remember how I came up with them actually. I remember I was desperately needing something that Severus would refuse to get because James suggested it, and I think that was the first thing that came to mind. I'm really glad you like the characters. This new chapter I'm writing I'm hoping it still stays true to them since I haven't written anything for this story in a while. Thanks for the read and review!

 Report Review

Review #21, by magicmuggle01 A Prologue and The End: Part One

23rd May 2012:
Wow, this chapter was so good. I have never read a better indepth version of Sevs feelings towards Lily.
Wonderful start and 10/10. Must move on.

Author's Response: magicmuggle, your reviews always make my day! I log on to see a couple new reviews and they're always from you! :D I'm glad you like this story. I'm waiting for two things to go through validation and this is the next thing in line to get a chapter update! :) Thank you so much for coming over to read and review!

 Report Review

Review #22, by anna A Prologue and The End: Part One

6th April 2012:
I almost cried reading this.

Author's Response: I am severely hoping you mean this in the good way, of course! :) Thank you for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Roots in Water A Prologue and The End: Part One

28th March 2012:
I just read your blog and hurried over- I've always found Severus Snape to be a very intriguing character and this interest naturally transfers over to stories about him.

Oooh- I found this a very interesting first chapter! In particular, I liked your prologue. I found it very touching and very true- and a very good place to begin. I especially enjoyed the sentence: "What better place to start than the end?" - it was the perfect transition into the first chapter. I just have one question: Did Harry write the letter?

As well, I think that you did a good job with the scene at the graveyard. At first I thought that he was going to see Lily alive and when I read your description about the destruction of Godric's Hollow I was prepared for a very emotional read (which you still delivered). I was almost relieved when I saw that Lily was dead for this meant that Severus had already had some time to absorb the information of Lily's death.

As I said before, I think that you did a good job with the interaction between Severus and Lily's grave. It makes sense that he would be full of regret and wishing that he had acted differently in the past, and you certainly brought his emotional attachment to Lily to the forefront in a manner that wasn't overwhelming.

I just have a few small corrections that can be very easily fixed: to begin, with "hard-ache" I believe you meant "heart-ache" and with "bravery as he did" I would add "showed as much" before "bravery" because I'm not sure that you can "go through" bravery like you can with heart-ache (this could, of course, just be personal opinion). Finally, with "their grave sight" I believe it should be "site".

As well, the sentence "Now to move on to his story" sounded a little harsh compared to the almost poetic flow you'd established with the rest of the letter- is there a better way to transition? It's just a minor thing but it stood out for me from the rest of the letter.

All in all I really enjoyed this first chapter and I think that you're off to a great start! It'll be interesting to see where you take this story- will you now go back to the beginning of his life or tell his story backwards?

Author's Response: Thank you for such a wonderful review! I'll be sure to look at those corrections definitely! I'm really glad you liked the letter because I think that is absolutely my favorite part I have written. As to if Harry wrote it, I can't say. That is one of the mysteries that is left in the story. :) You are right in saying that this will go back to the beginning next chapter. The End: Part Two will bill the ending chapter for the entire story, but hopefully that is nowhere in the near future because there is quite a bit to tell in his story.

Again, thank you so much for the review! I will definitely do the same thing for you! :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login