Reading Reviews for Consequences
  
18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HPG Consequences

4th October 2012:
I really love this one-shot! I read it before and I never got to review with my pen name now.

Awesome job.

Please read my one-shot, Photograph. It involves Petunia :3

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for coming back to review!

~Cassie


 Report Review

Review #2, by kathy Consequences

23rd September 2012:
Loved it! I have this exact same idea in my head: Petunia facing Lily. What a amazing coincidence that i should find this! haha I really did like it. Your writing was so insightful and real and believable. The twist at the end was perfect. Never saw it coming but when i read it thought it fit so naturally that i thought "well, obviously it should end that way! how else would it?!"

Great job, thanks for sharing your own Lily/Petunia confrontation scene!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your review! I'm glad you liked the writing and the ending especially!

Thanks again!

~Cassie


 Report Review

Review #3, by Remus Consequences

15th September 2012:
Perelandra here from the review swap! :)

I HAD to read this. HAD TO! I've always been curious of a Petunia and Lily confrontation myself so this felt like the ONE I needed to read. Just so you know, I'll be reviewing this as I read along.

I definitely like how you paint Petunia here. She's afraid of the choice she made and knows very well that it really wasn't an accident. However, what it feels like for me is that she's afraid of Lily's wrath more than anything else. Petunia had walls up built by jealousy and that wall prevented her to look and love Harry as her sister's son. Looking back, Harry was the constant reminder of what she didn't have.

Ah remorse! Glad that she admits that she was horrible to Harry! I never thought of her as evil...just an angry woman that took out her feelings about life on an innocent person.

"I don't understand why that's always had such a different meaning for me than it did for you,"--that line right there made me cringe for Petunia.

You just totally made me tear up! What is it with authors giving me stories that just made me cry? Haha! That part where Petunia tells Lily about Harry kissing her or that he needed her.it was like a stab at the heart.

You seemed to have channel an angry Lily very well. Everything that she says to Petunia are like rocks and it makes me feel slightly bad for Petunia. It's like a train wreck that you can't look away. I'm glad that Lily didn't forgive her! I wouldn't have! What Petunia did to Harry was cruel and unforgivable.

"And then she told the biggest lie she ever had.

'I don't need her. I never wanted a freak for a sister anyways."


I can't help but to love and hate that line all at the same time! She just can't help it,can she? But then again, its only to make herself feel better about the whole situation...

Anyway! I absolutely LOVED this! Like I said, it was like a trainwreck and I couldn't look away. Cheering for Lily all the way but feeling slightly bad for Petunia. You managed to move the story with mostly dialogue and very little description which for me would be a 'bad' thing but it felt right here. There wasn't much to describe save for how Petunia was feeling at some point. It was what Lily was pointing out what was important and not the setting or imagery. When it comes to characterization, both sisters felt spot on. Even James from afar made me giggle a bit. Haha. However, I'm glad that even he was angry enough to wish to test the killing theory.

Anyway! Long review but I had to tell you everything I thought about it. Definitely a 10/10! :)

--Rosie

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review :)

I had to write it. It was literally a compulsion. I hadn't written in over 3 years but the more I tried to keep it in my head the worse things got. I didn't sleep well for days and I couldn't concentrate on anything else. Finally I caved and since then I haven't been able to stop :P

While what Petunia did to Harry may have been a mistake, it definitely wasn't an accident. One doesn't neglect a small child for years by accident. And she definitely fears Lily most at this point. She loves her sister and missed her over the years. She has to know, however, that their reunion isn't going to be one where they hug and act like it all never happened. Too much has happened. And you're exactly right. Harry was definitely a reminder for Petunia of everything she had always been jealous of.

Honestly, my opinion of Petunia changes day by day. And as much as I honestly wasn't liking her the day I wrote this, I too don't think she's evil. I think she's jealous and petty and misguided, but not evil.

I love that line, I don't know why :)

To me, this whole one shot is a stab in the heart. I can't imagine how difficult it must have been for all of them (Petunia included) during Harry's toddler years.

I'm glad you liked my angry Lily! I tried to make their conversation as believable as possible. A lot of people seem to be glad that Lily didn't forgive Petunia. I just couldn't see how it would be plausible that she did.

She can't help it, no. It was the only way she could piece herself back together after the heartbreak she just endured. Fake it til you make it.

It is a train wreck, isn't it? That seems like the perfect way to describe this whole scenario.

This one shot is really dialogue heavy, which is unusual for me. I have one that literally only has 3 sentences of dialogue! I'm glad it came across okay though even without a lot of description.

I couldn't write a whole one shot about Lily without including James :) They're my OTP and I absolutely had to stick him in there.

I loved this long review! Thanks so much!

~Cassie


 Report Review

Review #4, by No_oneKnows Consequences

8th August 2012:
Hi there!

I haven't read a story about Petunia (since I never liked her) but this one really gripped me. I found it a very interesting idea to see how she'd face Lily after everything she's done.

In saying this, I found that you executed that very, very well! The characterisation was perfect and the part how Lily slapped James away added some bittersweet sentiments into it too :)

Your ending was perfect. I wouldn't be able to forgive anyone if they were to hurt my baby so I'm glad you pushed that point forward!

Anyway, lovely story, thanks for writing it :D

Author's Response: Hello!

My feelings about Petunia change from day to day. Some days I have a touch more sympathy for her then other days, because she obviously regretted her choices. Oh well.

Thank you so much! I literally couldn't write a one shot about Lily without giving James a quick appearance!

I wouldn't be able to forgive it, I know that. And Lily died for Harry, so I can't imagine she would be too keen on forgiving it either.

Thanks so much for reviewing! I appreciate it so much!

~Cassie


 Report Review

Review #5, by EverDiggory Consequences

5th August 2012:
This was brilliant! What a wonderful idea! You really had me absorbed in the story, I'm impressed!

It seemed to me like you really had the emotions down! I felt Lily's hurt, anger and pain. It definitely through me for a loop when she got all terrible at the end again!

I didn't see too many grammar errors, so that was good.

I adored how Liky didn't forgive Petunia, I've noticed people think she would, but I strongly disagree. The only thing that seemed off to me was Lily cussing once. It seemed odd because she was so dignified and didn't need to cuss to cut Pet deep. Maybe it's just me though!

I loved this! 9/10

xx

Ever

Author's Response: Thank you!

I really think that the only way that Petunia could have forgotten this entire encounter would be to revert back to her former self, kind of as a defense mechanism.

I've actually really been rethinking cutting that line out, or at least rephrasing it. I don't think I like how it fits with the story anymore, and you commenting on it only reminded me.

Thank you!

~Cassie


 Report Review

Review #6, by Cleopatraa Consequences

5th August 2012:
Seeing I havenít read a story like this yet ( Petunia facing Lily when she is dead) I had to read this because I like unique and original stories ( for me it is atleast) and you didnít disappoint me. I really thought this was original, unique, amazing and absolutely touching.

I honestly expected that they would forgive and forget ( which I dreaded) but thank god you didnít. You gave us so much more. Your ending was perfect after all some things you canít forgive and some people just never change.

I liked Lilyís character. In my opinion it was canon and Iím glad she didnít scream at her. Because her being so moderately calm showed us how very furious she actually was. I found it extremely funny that James wanted to test the fact if you are able to kill a person who already is dead. Lets hope for Petuniaís sake ( and Vernonís ) that they will never cross paths.

Like I said this was really touching and emotional and in my opinion it should deserve more recognition. Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review!

I'm glad you picked this because you hadn't read anything like it before! I hadn't either, but I always thought it was an interesting concept. Finally, after searching and searching I finally decided to just write it myself.

I feel like forgiving and forgetting would have been the easier option to write, but I just couldn't convince myself to do it. There are some things that, like you said, you just can't forgive. In my opinion, I do find it plausible that Petunia truly was sorry for what she did. But that doesn't make it okay. Some days I feel more charitable towards Petunia than others. Obviously the day I wrote this I wasn't feeling very much sympathy.

I absolutely love Lily and James, they're my OTP and I adore them. In my opinion, if Lily had yelled and screamed, it would have shown she was angry, but I don't think it would have had the same hurt behind it, and that was important to me. And I just couldn't write this one shot without James making a cameo :) In my mind he and Lily are so united that he would have had to at least want to be there.

Thanks so much!

~Cassie


 Report Review

Review #7, by CharlieDay Consequences

28th July 2012:
Hi, It's me here with your requested review!
I really liked this, it flowed beautifully, and I understood it really well. It was very simple, yet very very powerful. Stylistically, it actually quite reminded me of JKR's writing.
I also thought it was a very unusual concept, as Petunia is not very often written in fanfic, although she is a fascinating character.
This was not only a very good story, there were very few problems with it. The only things I thought were that although your dialogue was very good, there was a lot of it, and though I personally don't mind it some people aren't such big fans. However, I think that dialogue was really the whole point of this one-shot, so that doesn't really matter. The other main issue was not a big thing, but at one point you say 'sorry (word which I'm not allowed to say in a review)' isn't really much of a british expression... I don't know, you could think about changing that.
Both Petunia and Lily were extremely well characterised, and Petunia was particularly good. I think the last line just perfected her character. The way she sort of cut of her nose to spite her face was perfect.
Overall this was a very wistful fic, and I am very glad to have had the chance to read it.
Charlie

Author's Response: Thank you for stopping by!

I'm so glad you think it flowed well. That's usually my biggest issue, so that's a relief.

I agree that there is a lot of dialogue, but like you said, it is necessary. And I'll have to look for that expression and see if there is a way I can fix it.

Thank you so much!

~Cassie


 Report Review

Review #8, by TenthWeasley Consequences

26th July 2012:
Hello -- TenthWeasleyWriter here, with your requested review! :)

I think that this is a really interesting concept for a one-shot, and I'm glad you chose to write about it. Most of my stories have come about because I wanted to read something and couldn't find a story I liked, so that's always a good motivation for writing! And I've always been a bit curious about this particular scenario, too: What Lily would have said to Petunia, and if she would have forgiven her. I was always under the impression that Petunia cared for Harry and was unwilling to show it, myself, but your spin on things was really neat, because it just shows how differently people can interpret the same portion of a book.

I do rather like how your story didn't have a happy-ever-after, all's-well sort of an ending. With the premise you set up in the beginning, I wondered which route you were going to go, and I definitely think you chose the more realistic one. And Petunia picking herself off the ground at the end, trying to force herself to think that she would be all right -- very, very much a thing that she would do. You wrote her character quite well in this! I've only read a handful of Petunia-centered stories before this one, but I think you really got her accurately here.

Only a few things I spotted:

their eyes instantly found each others -- The "others" in this sentence should change to "other's."

ďNoĒ was all that Petunia could manage to whisper -- This is one example of something I saw in places throughout the story, but whenever someone speaks and you use a talking verb after their sentence (said, declared, stated, muttered, etc.) then you need a comma between the word and the end quotation mark. Even if they're through with their sentence, it's grammatically correct. So a comma would come after "No." :3 The only exception is, of course, if it's a question or an exclamation, but you didn't have problems with those.

This was a very interesting story, and I'm glad I read it! Thank you for taking the time to request a review from my thread! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for coming and reviewing for me!

My interpretation of Petunia changes based on my mood each day...obviously this day, I wasn't feeling very kindly towards her.

I couldn't give this story a happily ever after. I almost wanted to, but I just couldn't see it as realistic.

I'm glad you liked the characterization of her.

Thank you for pointing out those mistakes! Usually my basic grammar is okay, but things like with the commas are definitely not my strong point. I'll be sure to fix that when I edit.

Thank you so much!

~Cassie


 Report Review

Review #9, by house elf Consequences

23rd July 2012:
I love it! Such an interesting idea, and definitely something that could have happened. Lily would do anything for Harry. Petunia wouldn't. I really like the ending, too- some people never change. :-(

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your review! As his mother, I think it's only logical that Lily would do anything for her son.

Some people never change...you're absolutely right.

~Cassie


 Report Review

Review #10, by luciusobsessed Consequences

22nd July 2012:
Hands down, one of the best HPFF stories I've ever read. Amazing banner, definitely going into my favorites. I have to say, you had me hooked onto every word...no, not even that. You had me hooked onto every letter. I really felt different reading this story. It really opened my eyes to how James and Lily must have felt, watching over Harry and his mistreatment. It broke my heart thinking about it so deeply, but it's the truth, and it's inevitable. This was such a beautiful story and I'm definitely going to recommend it. It deserves the spotlight! I love love love it! xx

Author's Response: Thank you!

I don't know why this story still makes me uneasy even when people tell me they like it. I think it might be because this was my first piece back in fan fiction in 3 years, and my style has changed a lot. Everything I write lately is out of my comfort zone.

It is such a sad but true story.

Thank you so much!

~Cassie


 Report Review

Review #11, by Kira Consequences

18th July 2012:
Totally just added this to my favorites. Wow, just wow. This one really hit home for me because I really don't get along with my older sister very well. Not that I wouldn't take care of her baby, but you get the point. What a brave choice to make the ending so bitter and tragic! I have to admit throughout the whole thing I was expecting them to hug and cry at the end, but this is just so much more powerful. I love how you dug so deeply into the emotions of both Lily and Petunia. Such strong themes of grief, frustration, and jealousy here! Brilliant, just brilliant. I loved this story and really made me think about both of their characters and what it really means to be a sister. Thank you.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you!

I don't think there are a lot of people out there capable behaving the way Petunia did. It might just be me, but even if I hated my sister, I would never treat an innocent child that way.

In my head, that was always how it ended, though I considered the option of leaving it unresolved. They were never going to kiss and make up, it didn't work that way. What happened wasn't just something you could forgive and forget easily.

I think the emotions of this one shot are the most important part, and I'm glad you liked them. If Lily and Petunia's meeting was going to be anything, emotional would certainly be it.

I'm glad you liked my story!!

~Cassie


 Report Review

Review #12, by CloakAuror9 Consequences

18th July 2012:
I love how Lily stood up for Harry, even to her sister. I thought she was going to forgive her and cry with her! That was a real surprise -a fantastic surprise.

Good on ya' Lily for standing up to your sister. Somebody ought to tell Petunia how wrong she was. Sometimes I don't think she fully realises what she had done to Harry. Ugh. Terrible Aunt.

Anyway, I thought you did a good job with Lily's characterisation. It was pretty much spot-on, and her emotions were so canon. She's such a great mother, looking after her son like that even beyone the grave. And James, oh my, James wanted to come over here and test the theory of whether or not you could kill somebody who was already dead, but I wouldn't let him. That bit was amusing. ;)

I really enjoyed your story! I enjoyed the fact that Petunia got owned by her own sister -finally, after so many years. This one-shot is a treasure!

Slytherin For The House Cup 2012,
Izzy xx

Author's Response: Hello!

I never thought that Lily would just take what happened to Harry. It was so tempting to have her forgive her sister, but really, how do you forgive something like that? I'm pretty certain I couldn't.

In my head, Lily certainly isn't a meek character. She's strong, and she wasn't going to let Petunia walk all over her. I'm glad you thought she was canon, because that's important to me.

James had to make a cameo, he just had to. I love him too much to leave him completely out.

I'm glad you like my story! In my opinion, Petunia kind of had it coming!

~Cassie


 Report Review

Review #13, by Ravenclaw_Charm Consequences

6th May 2012:
I absolutely love this. I've never read anything like this, and I'm very impressed at how you pulled this off. Your writing is so beautiful, and you really keep your reader hooked until the very end.

Your characterizations of Lily and Petunia were fantastic. They were practically canon. I love their dialogue and Petunia's inner conflict. I actually cried a little when Lily was scolding Petunia for abusing Harry. I'm surprised she didn't forgive her sister, though, but at the same time, Petunia doesn't deserve forgiveness.

Anyway, amazing job! You're very talented! 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely review! I really really appreciate all of the kind things you had to say, and I am glad that you enjoyed my story!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Snowwhite93 Consequences

1st May 2012:
Love it! Back and better than ever!

Author's Response: Thank you! You really didn't have to do this!

 Report Review

Review #15, by MadamePuddifoot Consequences

7th April 2012:
Wow! To be honest, I was expecting a really fluffy ending where they made up and everything was good again, but I like yours far better! That ending line was just brilliant; it really summed up Petunia's character and showed that she really didn't change all that much. The actual plot of this story is so unique and creative; a brilliant idea! You got the characterisation of both Lily and Petunia spot on and the dialogue was really believable! I loved the idea of Lily and James always watching what was happening to their son and how James wanted to kill someone who was already dead. All in all, a great story which I am definitely adding to my favourites!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the kind review, I really appreciate it! I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Sara C. Consequences

27th March 2012:
I liked it. Thanks for writing such a unique story. It would be great if you wanted to to write a story about James confronting Vernon when he dies.

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I was considering making this a short story versus a one shot, but I hadn't considered a Vernon/James encounter.
Thank you for the review!!!


 Report Review

Review #17, by hiddenbyhair Consequences

26th March 2012:
this is great yet extremely sad, luv it

Author's Response: Aw, thank you!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Corleone Consequences

26th March 2012:
Holy crap!!! That was AMAZING! It was perfect and probably one of the best one shots I've ever read so thank you!

Author's Response: Thanks so much!!!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login