Reading Reviews for Infinity
  
27 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SeverusLove Infinity

23rd March 2014:
Wow...

I'm just really amazed right now.

How did you even-

No words.

Author's Response: This review is leaving ME with no words. ♥ I don't even know what to say to you! I'm just really happy that you enjoyed the story, and thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by EnigmaticEyes16 Infinity

26th February 2013:
This was amazing. I can't even fathom writing a story without the letter E, or how long this must have taken you, but it is truly spectacular.

I love the Snape/Lily pairing and how Snape is still pining for Lily so many years later, although he seems to respect her son a bit more than what we see in the books. But then again, maybe he did secretly love Harry for being Lily's son, he just couldn't show it, especially after everything Harry found out about him and his feud with James.

I think it's been such a dilemma for Snape to have Harry in his life, it's clear he protects him for Lily but hates him because of James. And then on top of it, he knows he's the chosen one and he must die at the right time and so on. It's a lot to keep to oneself.

Anywho, this was a lovely, yet sad, story and you did such a wonderful job with it.

xxEnigmaticEyes16

Author's Response: I'm so glad that you enjoyed this! Although (and it almost feels like cheating to say it) this story didn't take me very long at all -- about an hour, if I remember correctly. I got really sucked into the task! It felt like a puzzle, and I didn't stop until it was solved. ;)

Snape seems to be my go-to for writing one-shots, and especially ones where he's a bit melancholy. I love this ship, too, as long as it's unrequited. I'm not sure if he loved Harry, but he was very loyal to protecting him for Lily's sake, and I don't think anyone can dispute that.

I just can't imagine the son of the woman you love, looking like the man you despise... and knowing that your love married him. Poor Snape. ♥

Thank you so much for such a lovely and unexpected review! :3 I'm thrilled you enjoyed the story!!


 Report Review

Review #3, by The Misfit Infinity

18th December 2012:
I WORSHIP YOU.

Seriously, the fact that my "E" key is broken and I've yet to receive a replacement (I copied & pasted one "E" and use Ctrl+V whenever I need to type one) makes fanfics difficult to write, so I tried out the Gadsby challenge and I could not get past two sentences. So the fact that you've written five hundred words has me in awe. Seriously.

Now to the fanfic: awww. ♥ Severus' thoughts while he was dying! (Side note: that freezer is going to have to be industrial-sized.) I absolutely loved the way he thought of Lily, and considered Harry hers alone, and hated him for looking like a carbon copy of James... it's all stuff we know from the books, but you really bring it to life in this one-shot, and somehow manage to make it unique. I have so much love for your writing, seriously. How you manage to bring Severus to life just blows me away.

I especially loved the paragraph where Severus' thoughts go off on tangents- And I am so angry... (Did you know...) It just signified how much, despite everything, even his internal monologue is interrupted by his obsession and love for Lily.

The only thing that I could possibly criticize (and I'm probably nitpicking here) is that "tortuous" is actually spelt "torturous". Yes, I know there's one little "R" missing, but I honestly can't find anything bad.

This is flawless. ♥

Author's Response: -faint- YOU ARE TOO NICE TO ME, I SWEAR.

This was one of the more fun things I can ever remember writing -- and not because of the plot itself, because it's, yet again, one of my little unrequited Severus/Lily pieces, nothing more. But this was such a challenge, and I had to think so hard while writing it, and I had to KNOW what I wanted to say... and it was just a blast. I want to try this challenge again soon, and maybe write an even longer story! This would have been perfect for you and a broken keyboard. :D

I think I unintentionally put James somewhere in all my Severus/Lily stories, but it's really like I said to you earlier: James is a large part of that ship. I love thinking of how Snape might have viewed Harry, too, while protecting him. Alan Rickman played him so well because of all his hidden knowledge, and sometimes his facial expressions in the movies will spark inspiration for things like this. I was watching PoA with a friend yesterday and absolutely dying of adoration at all the Sirius/Remus/Severus back-and-forth there. BUT I'VE LOST MY TRAIN OF THOUGHT.

... Which makes it fitting that you wrote a paragraph about Snape's tangents. Whoops. :3 And thank you for catching that error! I think it should be illegal to have words as similar as 'tortuous' (winding) and 'torturous' (painful) in the English language, but so it goes.

Thank you so, so much for such a fantastic review!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #4, by too_many_nargles Infinity

18th November 2012:
I /love/ one-sided Snape/Lily! This is beautifully written, and well crafted. I really liked the way you've characterized Severus here, and it must've been so hard to not use the letter e! You have a serious talent for angst, obviously :P

Author's Response: One-sided Snape/Lily is one of my favorite things to read, too -- it's awesome to find other people who enjoy it, too! :) And I'm very happy that you enjoyed this story. I tend to write about Snape a lot, and he's one of my go-to characters when I'm setting out to write a new one-shot, for whatever reason. This story was written in about an hour really late at night, and I just wanted to try writing a story without the letter E, for that challenge; therefore, ol' Sev seemed to be the easiest route!

Thank you so, so much for taking the time to review this for me. I really do mean it when I say that it means a lot to me that you did! :) Hoping to see you back by here before too long!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Lady Asphodel Infinity

10th October 2012:
Wow this is really good and congratulations on the Dobby Awards. :)


-Asphodel

Author's Response: Thank you for reading this! I'm rather fond of it, and am glad that you enjoyed it, too. :) And thank you for the congratulations, as well! I'm so honored!

Hoping to see you back by here soon! ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by No_oneKnows Infinity

3rd October 2012:
jfwiefwfw writing a story without the e, i didn't know it was possible! But you certainly showed me! and you showed me in a really stunning piece!

I think you wrote a fantastic story with your obvious limitations and honestly, this was amazing. The fact alone that you could compose a story without the letter e is amazing but still :) WOW.

Author's Response: I didn't think that is was possible, either! I remember quite vividly that I set out to tackle this challenge because I was feeling a bit frustrated with my works in progress, and just wanted something /new/ to work on. I saw this challenge and literally just started typing away; I think the whole thing came in something like an hour and a half!

I'm so happy you enjoyed this, though, even with that handicap; that really makes me feel good. ♥ It's definitely something I think is worth trying, if you're up for it!

Thank you so much for yet another sweet review -- you're really making my week over here! ♥ Hope to see you back by my author's page quite soon!


 Report Review

Review #7, by TyrannicFeenix Infinity

17th August 2012:
Wow that was good. How did you manage it? See, I couldn't even go one sentence without E. The most common letter in the english language so far as I know. This story is amazing. Even without this little blighter you still manage to convey the emotion and regret beautifully (oh god another E word, and one of my favorites). Really amazing work.

TyrannicFeenix

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm not quite sure how I managed it -- I'm fairly positive that that was a bit of midnight writing, in addition to being frustrated with whatever WIP I was working on at the time. I didn't even consciously sit down to write about Snape, but just sat down and let words come out. And he emerged from them. :) And after writing this, I do not take the letter E for granted anymore!

I'm so, so happy that you enjoyed this story. ♥ And that you read it at all, really! It means loads to me that you took the time to do so. I hope to see you back again soon! ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by CassiePotter Infinity

8th August 2012:
This was gorgeous, Jane! I loved every second of it! The way that's it's so real, and so personal, makes it really heartbreaking. Also, I loved how much Severus is tied to Harry, and it's all because Lily was Harry's mother. And the end was perfect! Wonderful, absolutely wonderful one-shot! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: What a pleasant surprise to see your review on this one-shot! :) I'm so happy you enjoyed it -- I'm flattered at the things people have said about this story. Especially when you consider the fact that I wrote this in about an hour one night around midnight! :P

I think one of the biggest things I personally got out of this story was how Severus and Harry were so inextricably tied through Lily. I loved that sort of realization, and I'm glad that you did, too! ♥

As always, it's fantastic to see that you're such an enthusiastic reader of, well... everything I write. :D I honestly can't tell you what it means to me, to have that kind of support. Thank you so much for leaving me your opinion on this, Cassie!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #9, by Moondanser83 Infinity

29th July 2012:
I was going through the classic challenges thread when I came across the link to this story, and I am glad I decided to check it out.

This story reads like poetry. The pain of it tangible in every word. And in that pain the beauty of love twisted up in jealousy and obsession is piercing. I applaud you. And all done without the letter 'e' - amazing.
~Moon~

Author's Response: Oh, that's awesome -- I'm so happy you came by to check out this story. :) And I'm even happier that you liked it enough to take the time and leave a review!

I was definitely going for a poetic feel with this one-shot (at least as much as you can 'go' for something at midnight), so that's a really awesome thing to hear. It started out as a faceless narrator, actually, and gradually formed into Snape unconsciously, so all your comments about the emotions -- gah. I am just speechless right now.

I'll never take the letter E for granted again, that's for sure. ;) Thank you for taking the time to leave me a review on this -- it really means so much to me that you did!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Debra20 Infinity

18th July 2012:
Heya!

Your Snape/Lily stories have been praised to me more times than I can count. So here I am. I know I'm starting little but I do plan to review your novel Snily. On to the review then!

This little piece is very very heart touching. It might be me, but did you portray Snape to care a little for Harry? Or at least he seems concerned about him if he dies and won't be there to be able to protect him. A major factor in this is Harry being Lily's son of course, but there's something about the way you wrote it that to me shows a little bit of concern for Harry outside his love for Lily.

It feels a bit strange to read Snape's thoughts in a poetical way. It is certainly new and not how I picture him but the way you've managed to pull it off is incredible. His trail of thoughts seem to break every time you introduced the parentheses. There's a great variety of emotions going around him. And you managed this in exactly 500 words. Unbelievably!

Author's Response: Hey! Wow, you've heard things about my Snape stories? That's... pretty cool, actually. :P The novels in question are actually Snape/OC (though, of course, hints of Snape/Lily are touched upon), but it you ever wanted to check those out that'd be really awesome! And reviews aren't necessary, of course; if you read them at all, I'm a happy, happy girl.

I think Snape cared for Harry out of obligation and guilt -- I don't think he ever genuinely felt anything for him, not really. He's such a complex character, and I can't even pretend to know everything about him, but I am a very firm believer that he only protected Harry because he was loyal to both Dumbledore and Lily's memory. That's why he was so horrid to Harry in the books -- he looked like James, and Snape couldn't stand it. That's how I see it, anyway. ;)

I'm so happy that you enjoyed this story! This was another story that I wrote in a pretty short span of time, and at midnight, no less, so your comments about the poetic style and emotions really are so appreciated. And I love writing these 500-word stories! :D Thank you very much for taking the time to leave me a review on this! ♥


 Report Review

Review #11, by Cavell Infinity

14th July 2012:
Oh my. This was just... amazing. I am bowing down in front of your mindblowing skills. This was a fantastic story, and you did so, so brilliantly writing this and just... gah. I can't think of anything to say. So much Snily, and I don't ship it! (Usually a Jily fan for as long as I can support it) I applaud you for making such a gutting 500 word story.

--Linn

(ACK! I tried to avoid using 'e' in any of that above! SO HARD. I will never take it for granted ever again! The present tense was just so Snape and his thoughts so distorted - it still made sense, don't worry about that - and to think of Harry even at a time like this, he really was a true hero. I am so glad always doesn't have an 'e' in it. This one-shot wouldn't be the same without the always. That last sentence. Wow)

Author's Response: I am bowing down to YOUR skills -- that was a fantastic review, and all without the letter E! It is easy to get into a rhythm of it, isn't it? And then it's that much nicer when you can type afterwards without /thinking/ so much. :D

I'm so happy you liked this story! I started just typing words, without thinking of who the words belonged to, and Snape was a very natural piece of the puzzle, towards the middle of it all. He slipped it very nicely. :P I'm glad 'always' doesn't have an E, too! ♥


 Report Review

Review #12, by forsakenphoenix Infinity

1st July 2012:
Rachel, first off, I must commend you for writing this entire story without the letter 'e'. I've already used it 11 times (12!). I'm always amazed at how talented you are and to write this not only without the letter 'e' but also within 500 words! It means you must be concise and you have to carefully think about what words you're going to use.

I love the repetition of 'always.' Seriously. That line gets me every time and to see it here, in this context, it's beautiful.

It's kind of interesting to read this, thinking of Snape dying, and while it's not difficult to follow, necessarily, it is a bit rambling? Out there? Not that it's a bad thing, but you can tell that his mind isn't completely there - I am going mad.

My favorite part was when he kept repeating I am so angry and then I am so sorry. The first part of that - anger towards Harry for looking like James (and the whole '...of all that I wasn't' - oh my heart!) and how it was like he was being mocked...that was my favorite part. I loved it.

This is just so, so beautiful, Rachel and, you know my thoughts on Snily, but his devotion to her, the oath (always), has left me a sad, but mushy mess. Succinct and perfect. Lovely, as always.

Author's Response: It should be illegal to respond to two reviews of yours in a row. I am giving you lots and lots of virtual hugs right now, because your compliments just encourage me so much, and it's reviews like this that make me feel I'm doing the right thing by writing. :)

I took on this challenge at midnight, if I recall -- from eleven to midnight, rather, after a long day of being frustrated by a few of my WIPs. I tend to write one-shots when I don't feel like working on anything else, so there's that. :D And Snape comes naturally to my fingers (well, that sounds a bit haughty -- he's quick to come to mind as far as ideas for writing him, let's say) and I actually started this without consciously thinking of a narrator. His voice developed over the course of a few paragraphs, and this is probably the most editing I've done while writing in recent memory!

The fact that you, in particular, found this accurate -- that's really encouraging. :3 To hear such things from a writer I admire in turn is always so lovely, and it's really what keeps me going. Thank you so much for reviewing this for me (and sorry for the wait in responding)! ♥


 Report Review

Review #13, by WitnesstoitAll Infinity

12th June 2012:
I see what you did there. ALWAYS. Very, very clever. I am still a bit stunned that you wrote this withoug any e's. If it were me, I'm fairly sure I'd still be on the first sentence. :P Honestly, the wording didn't at all seem like you had to settle for terms to avoid the letter at all. It was gorgeous, sort of distorted -- but it is snape's dying thoughts so I suppose that distortion is to be expected. All in all, this one shot reminds me why you are so fabulous. You managed to write a gorgeous one shot with a serious limitation on your writing.

In closing, I want to point out this line because it is my favorite (you know what a sucker I am for pretty words): "You still imprint all I do, and am, and want. It is for your son - Harry is only your son, Lily, and you cannot fault my mind for thinking it - that I am still in this world at all, as you wait in your unknowing always. It is for you."

All in all, this is fantabulous.

Author's Response: I will start out this response by saying how very, very glad I am that 'always' didn't have an E in it. That would have been massively tricky to work around. :D I kind of like the distortion, too -- and it's really great that it doesn't seem to wonky or misplaced, either. That's actually a huge relief!

Ooh, people always seem to pick out some of my favorite lines. And I think Sarah liked that one, too! Baww, you guys. ♥ Seriously, thank you so much for taking the time to review this, Mel. It means so much to me that you're willing to stop by my author's page. :3


 Report Review

Review #14, by Cacoethes_scribendi Infinity

4th May 2012:
Fantastic story! Loving that lack of __s! Tragically, this gushing about your brilliantly original story is gonna stop right now; it's ridiculously hard not using that ubiquitous consonant! This is brill!

Author's Response: This review made my LIFE. :D I commend you so much for tackling this challenge in your review -- and bravo for succeeding! Not an E in the bunch, and now you can see how much you take them for granted! :P

Thanks so much for this -- you are so awesome. ♥ I'm really glad you liked the story, too!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Toujours Padfoot Infinity

27th April 2012:
I loved the style of this! I like how you've been experimenting with your one-shots, changing the styles. It displays your amazing versatility as an author very well. I especially liked Severus's thoughts in parentheses - for some reason, this one in particular: (Did you know that I was sorry?) There's just something heartbreaking about it, his endless guilt and regret. It's so sad. But it's /so/ Snape.

I also loved this: It is for your son - Harry is only your son, Lily, and you cannot fault my mind for thinking it - that I am still in this world at all, as you wait in your unknowing always. It is for you.

I don't know if you used 'always' coincidentally - something tells me you did not - and I think it's so brilliantly fitting here. Your imagery is simple but beautiful, and now I'm picturing Lily just floating out there with the stars, her own constellation. You've presented us with a picture of Severus that just melts my heart - he's so small and lonely and the only thing he's got is a boy who's not even his, who looks just like James. He lives for a boy he can't stand. The way you wrote this, with the exclamation marks and just the general feel of it, sort of reminded me of Shakespeare for some reason. Everything about it just really goes with the tone of Severus and all that he was, and I think you did his feelings toward Lily tremendous justice here. The ending, with him facing his own mortality and the Always was the perfect touch. You should be so proud of what you do, Janechel. You have the ability to floor people with 500 words.

:'(

♥ I need to stop reading sad, lovely things that give me feels before bed. I demand a fluffy review response. The fluffiest you can manage.

Author's Response: Style experimentation is /so much fun/, which is such a nerdy thing to say, but the more I play with words the more I love them. :) I don't know if the fact that I wrote this at midnight contributed to its emotions, but I'd think to think that sleeplessness lent a ready ear to this. And if not, I can pretend so!

You /get/ my stories. You pick up on every subtlety and every emotion and I just. You do not even know how appreciated that is. (Well, you might, but I must tell you anew!) It's one thing to have someone read something you wrote and another entirely for them to /read/ it, if you get my meaning. Thank you. ♥

I am a mirror crack'd.
I am fabric, with strings long ago
cut away, as a world troops on.
This family isn't my family without you.
Kin is not kin.

You want to know truth?

Without you, I am not who I am.


 Report Review

Review #16, by charlottetrips Infinity

25th April 2012:
And while Iím on your Authorís Page I thought Iíd read this amazing one-shot. I havenít started reading it yet, but Iím eager to see how you pull off an e-less story! Plus itís Snape/Lily and you canít go wrong with that!

This is amazing. I cannot believe you actually did it and yet you did! Congratulations on fulfilling the Gatsby challenge and all the factors that go along with that. The entire one-shot is so filled with anguished feeling. I like that you were able to show the conflict within Snape about watching over Harry, torn between the fact that it was Jamesí child yet also Lilyís.

This was beautiful.

xChar

Author's Response: YOU ARE FANTASTIC AND I DO NOT DESERVE ALL THESE REVIEWS. True statement. ♥ My gratitude for you knows no bounds!

I'm very glad you liked this story -- I loved writing it, mostly because it was a real challenge, and such a stretch of the old writing muscles. It's quite difficult, writing without the letter 'e'! I didn't even know, going into this, what I was sitting down to write. Words just started pouring out, and gradually, they took the form of some of Snape's thoughts -- which isn't terribly surprising, considering how much I love him. :3

Thank you /so much/. ♥ I shall never be able to repay the kindness of all these reviews, and really, really thank you for leaving them. You cannot imagine what you did for me this week. :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by firefly910 Infinity

23rd April 2012:
Jane, how do you do it?
How, everytime I read another of your stories do you leave me asking myself how you just get better and better?!

I am currently writing a one-shot about Snape and his feelings after Lily's death and I am now scared to post it 'cus this is just so darn good!!!

It sounded Shakespearean in the way you structured some of the sentences. Very emotional and unique. Bravo.

Round of applause for you my dear.

Author's Response: I don't know how I do it -- I just sort of sit down at the keyboard, and words start spilling out! :P If memory serves, I was struggling with my works in progress, and feeling quite frustrated, when I saw this chapter and decided to go for it. Two hours later, this was finished! And it freed the writer's block for a good stretch, so it's a win-win situation!

I want to read your one-shot when it's validated. You have to link me to it! :) I adore Snape, and now I feel I've converted you, if only in part. ♥

Shakespearean? I don't know if I am deserving of such a comparison -- thank you very much! You really made my day with this lovely and unexpected review. :3 I really, really appreciate your doing this for me, Callie! ♥


 Report Review

Review #18, by hedwigs_theme Infinity

20th April 2012:
Wow I can't believe you managed to write such a good story with out using the letter e. Amazing, I loved it!

Author's Response: I actually wrote this entire story in one go -- it just sort of flopped out. :P I messed up on using the 'e' quite a few times, but I always got across what I wanted to say without it, so it worked out!

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave me a review on this! It's amazingly appreciated, and I'm so glad you enjoyed it! ♥


 Report Review

Review #19, by javct Infinity

8th April 2012:
Wow. That was beautiful! I've only just started to ship Snape&Lily (being a die-hard James&Lily shipper) and this was a wonderful way to introduce me to the ship :)

Congratulations on writing such an impactful story in only 500 words! Also without any 'e's (honestly, writing a story without any 'e's would have been so difficult!) A lot of my favourite stories are from the 'every words counts' challenge :)

I absolutely loved this story, you captured Snape's emotions perfectly!
Jas

Author's Response: I ship Snape/Lily, but only in a plausible, Snape-is-pining way, if that makes any sense. :P But I'm really glad you liked it!

And thank you for your compliments, they're really making me smile. :) I love these 500 word stories, and somehow, a lot of them turn out better than my longer one-shots. Who knows why? I really write too many EWC stories for my own good. ;) And refraining from using E -- it's HARD!

Gahh, this review. It really makes me day. ♥ Thank you so, so much for leaving it!


 Report Review

Review #20, by kalkay Infinity

31st March 2012:
This is absolutely great! I loved the way you were able to adjust the sentence structure to make it more...artsy? to fit the 'Gadsby It Challenge'. You were able to portray such a great amount in so little words. Again I love it!
-kalkay

Author's Response: Thanks so much for coming by and giving this a read! And congratulations again on getting moved to classic challenges -- this deserved it, it's such a neat idea. :)

Artsy was not intended, but I am glad you saw it that way! I play with syntax and imagery on a daily basis, mostly unintentionally, and it's neat that you sort of picked up on that. :3

Thanks so much, Mikayla -- I'm really glad you enjoyed the story and came by to review it! ♥


 Report Review

Review #21, by slytherinchica08 Infinity

30th March 2012:
So sad thing.. i wrote a review for this last night.. then my computer started acting dumb and the review never went through.. and you would have loved it considering I tried very hard to write a response with no E's and after five minutes and only getting two sentences written i gave up. Oh well.. basically here is what my review said!

This is so sad. Just the idea that Snape loves her so much and thinks about her all the time is just really bittersweet. I found it so cute in that after her death he felt that saving Harry was his mission and that he would rather die then his mission fail. I love how he metions that he will be joining her in infinity and who knows what will happen when he gets there but he will at least finally be with her.

I thought you did a wonderful job with this piece and describing his love for Lily. His thoughts feel so real and meaningful and beautiful. I really enjoyed reading this! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Sometimes the review boxes are cursed -- I totally understand this phenomena. But really, I am extremely, extremely happy that you were willing to come by and read this at all!

Snape's emotions are always something I enjoy writing about, which might sound a bit weird, but it is the honest truth. :P And it's probably why he's so highly represented on my page!

Thank you so much, Erica! ♥ It was definitely a challenge, but I'm really glad this turned out -- and coherent, too, which is more than I bargained for! Thank you so much for doing this for me, as I appreciate it so much. :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by academica Infinity

29th March 2012:
There are no words for how much I love this :)

I'm always amazed to see various authors' takes on this challenge, and I love yours -- dissecting the eternal 'always'. I love how honest and raw this feels -- some of the word choice seems a little foreign to Snape (for example, 'mom' and 'dad' versus 'mother' and 'father'), but other parts of it just scream out to me as things that he wished he had said. For instance, I love that he apologizes, that he just keeps saying how sorry he is, hoping against hope that she might listen to him now even though she refused to do so even when she still possessed living ears and a living mind. I also love that he feels guilty for hating Harry and transferring his hatred for James onto a mere child. It just goes to show how grown up he is, even if it took him a long time to get there.

I liked the flow here -- it was desperate, disjointed. Snape does not speak with his usual eloquence, carefully choosing and releasing each and every precious word, but blurts out things he has always wanted to know in his final moments.

The ending here was wonderful as well. He finally succumbs to the chaos in his mind, choosing to view his demise as a chance to embrace relief and accept that he fulfilled his mission, that he did not disappoint Lily despite all that she did to hurt him, despite the one thing he did to hurt her.

Lovely, Jane. Just lovely ♥

-Amanda
green with envy 2012

Author's Response: Amanda! I am always nervous for whenever you read something Snape-y of mine, particularly Snily, because you are queen of all things Snily. :3 I'm so glad that you liked this, though!

'Mom' and 'dad' are probably the two words in this that bug me the most, but I couldn't say 'James' or 'parents' or 'mother' or 'father' and it was more out of necessity than anything that they're in there. I think it's interesting that you picked up on that, actually, because I always sort of squick when I read that line. :D

I do think there's a sort of frenzied tone to this, and mostly because at this point in the canon timeline, Snape knows that he's going to die, and it's going to be soon. And he's died trying to protect Harry, which of course makes him think of Lily, and so all these things just come spilling out of him. I'm rambling now, but basically you got this down!

Ohhh, Amanda, I am just so glad you enjoyed this. ♥ And I'm so grateful to you for dropping by and leaving me a review -- thank you so much for taking the time to do so!


 Report Review

Review #23, by NaidatheRavenclaw Infinity

25th March 2012:
Hi!

So when I saw this initially, I became determined not to use the letter e in my review either, just to see how hard it would really be, but then I couldn't even right one sentence without it :P I mean, even the word "review" has the letter e in it. And if I told you I intended to write this sans e, I would be using e.

But after trying for a good five minutes to write a single sentence, I've become SO impressed at how hard it must have been to write this story. You couldn't even use the word "the"! It's incredible, to see all the beautiful word choice and imagery. It's hard enough to find the right words when you don't have to worry about a letter, but to do it all without the letter e is absolutely amazing.

And the content of this piece is lovely as well. I'm a huge fan of Snily when the two aren't actually together (basically anything where Snape is pining for Lily :P) and this was so captivating. I love how Snape didn't really blame Harry in this. It was more of a sad understanding that his pain was his own fault. And the end, when he said he would join Lily in death some day, I just got chills.

Lovely last sentence too, by the way, I'm so glad Always isn't spelled with an "e" :P You can't have Snily without sneaking in an Always somewhere!

Great one shot. You've done so many difficult things at once, and pulled them all off perfectly ♥

-Naida

Author's Response: So sorry for the wait in responding to this! School's been unbelievably like whoa this week, but I've tried to sort everything out. All in due time! Anyway, I am here now. :3

Abstaining from using E is so difficult! :P I couldn't say Snape, James, the, mother, father, be, or basically any past tense verb... I shall never take them for granted again! I would have been duly impressed had you managed it, and anyway, it's the thought that counts. :3

I am so glad you enjoyed this! 'Always' deserves an award for not having an E in it. :D And oh my gosh, did I really give you chills? I am so ecstatic now. You have made my day. ♥ Thanks so much for swapping with me, and for leaving such a lovely review -- I appreciate it very much!


 Report Review

Review #24, by maskedmuggle Infinity

23rd March 2012:
First of all, the fact that there is no E's in this is.. extraordinary, and very impressive, so congrats! And also that there are only 500 words in this - yet you still managed to convey so much! You are such a great writer, I really think you captured Snape's feelings and emotions really well. I love the idea of infinity and how Snape reflects on his feelings not only to Lily but also about Harry.

Also, that last word was just the perfect ending :) So fantastic work on this story! Really is impressive how you managed 500 words with no E! Great story :)

Author's Response: Thanks for dropping by, Char! ♥ Wow, this really made my day. I'm trying to come up with a response worthy of it. It's almost more difficult than writing without the letter E. :D

I'm not surprised this turned into a Snape story, although it didn't start out that way consciously. :3 Thank you so much for reviewing (again) -- you're awesome!


 Report Review

Review #25, by LilyShadowHaze Infinity

23rd March 2012:
It's really beautiful! I can't really say anything else.

Author's Response: Nothing else needed -- I'm glad you liked the story, and took the time to tell me so! I didn't start this story consciously with Snape as a narrator, but I'm not at all surprised it ended up that way. ;) Hope to see you around soon, and thanks again!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>