Reading Reviews for A Hero's Wand
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by k Birthday Gifts

28th October 2014:
Very good. I believe it can be expanded a bit more though.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I imagine that it could be expanded, but I did only intend to write it as just a quick little story. Thank you so much for reading.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Cannons Birthday Gifts

14th December 2013:
Hey,

I saw your blog on the forums so I thought I would come and check out your author page and I recognised the banner for this story and I remembered reading it before. So I want to say that I enjoyed reading it, and i thought it was a great little moment you chose to write about. I cringed though when I thought of what happens to the wand in CoS. :P

Author's Response: Aww thank you so much! I'm glad that people are noticing it, and that you liked the story. Thank you for the review! :D
brithewriter


 Report Review

Review #3, by Keira7794 Birthday Gifts

1st July 2012:
Hello :)
I'm just dropping in to read your great chapter for the 'Ronald Weasley Challenge'. The idea behind the challenge was to give Ron his time in the spotlight - perhaps giving an insight to his future decisions.

You did this brilliantly! :) The idea of having his wand being his priority on his birthday (and why not?), then having a big disapointment as he gets Charlie's old wand instead.

You portrayed Ron really well - it was just like I imagine Ron to behave. Your characterisation is great - Ron evokes sympathy but he also keeps a boyish charm that is common in 11 year old boys. Molly and Arthur portray a great family atmosphere - I love that all the kids rush to see Arthur when he returns home.

I also really liked Fred and George's unique present of every type of Berti Botts - it's something I can easily imagine them doing and it's also relatively cheap, which would be key to the Weasleys.

Other then Ron, I loved how you portrayed Charlie. He knows what Ron must be thinking and instantly slips into 'older brother' mode by creating a story that will make Ron like his newish present.

A great entry! The results should be up soon. Keira :)

Author's Response: Thank you! Glad you liked it! I love writing Charlie!

 Report Review

Review #4, by maskedmuggle Birthday Gifts

18th May 2012:
I really liked this! The plot itself was just so lovely, but the way you managed to characterise each Weasley so well really made it fantastic! From the beginning, all the dialogue and actions said matched really well with the characters and felt so realistic, such as when Percy said "Ron you arenít a child any longer." and Percy goes: "Hardly, there is nothing wrong with enjoying your food." Just one example, but I really thought you did well with the characters throughout.

I loved the presents opening - I thought it was so sweet that they all had given Ron presents and watched while he opened them - the Bertie Botts picture was such a clever idea, and all the presents from the twins, Percy, Charlie and Bill were very realistic as well and great ideas. And the wand bit at the end, the conversation between Charlie and Ron and the idea of being a hero and doing more with it was just lovely. All in all, I loved the plot and the characterisation was brilliant :) A very nice story :)

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much! I'm so sorry it took me next to forever to get to this.

 Report Review

Review #5, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010 Birthday Gifts

17th May 2012:
That was a great move that Charlie made convincing Ron that he could be a hero with his old wand. It's an interesting take on how Ron came to be in possession of both Scabbers and Charlie's old wand. This story is very well written and for a one-shot has great characterization and flow. While reading this i could actually picture an eleven year old Ron getting excited at the thought of finally getting his own wand and the dissappointment he felt when he realized that he was stuck with yet another hand-me-down. Great work!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it. I was kind of in a writing the characters at a young age phase, so its really nice to hear that it was taken so well. :D

 Report Review

Review #6, by rosmione Birthday Gifts

10th May 2012:
hey! Wow! I loved it! I'm a big fan of pre-hogwarts and a lover of the Weasleys! Your characterisation was really good. I really loved Charlie - most people leave him out - he wasn't in the films... Bill was great and I loved Percy. I thought he really cold, just how Rowling wrote him!

well done on writing such a great story! Please feel free to review one of mine (I'd love some advice from such a great author!) Thanks for writing it so well!

Rosmione xx

Author's Response: Aww, thanks so much! I wrote this one a while ago for a challenge. I always seem to write better under the pressure of a deadline, idk why lol. I love Charlie, and since he's been left out of the books I find him much easier to write.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Cal585 Birthday Gifts

3rd May 2012:
Nice story! I liked the family atmosphere and was dreading Ron finding out that he'd only get a 2nd hand wand but thankfully you resolved the issue well :)

One thing that confused me. Ron saw the small, thin box and knew exactly what it was and got all excited about it. But then later realises what it is after receiving Scabbers, implying that he didn't know in the first place? Or am I getting confused and the box was one of the other presents? Or did he think the box contained a new wand? Was just a little unsure on that point, but otherwise a really good story!

Author's Response: Aww, glad you liked it. And that is actually a good point as I was a little iffy myself while writing it to tell you the truth. ;D Lol. I guess its that when he first sees it, he knows that he will be getting a wand that day, just not that it would be Charlie's until he opens it. Like maybe it would be a new wand, or an empty box where he could put his new wand? I think that makes better sense. Lol :D Thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Miss Muggle Birthday Gifts

2nd May 2012:
Aww so sweet! Ron's reactions are just perfect. I couldn't blame him for wanting a new wand, but he is so cute looking forward to being a hero :D Fabulous idea!

Author's Response: I am really glad that you enjoyed it. Thank you so much for reviewing! It means a lot. :D

 Report Review

Review #9, by Voldy Needs a Hug Birthday Gifts

2nd May 2012:
This chapter was okay. You might want to include more dialogue and descriptions of the characters and their surroundings. You also have some spelling, grammar, and punctuation mistakes that you might want to fix.

Good luck,
Voldy Needs a Hug

Author's Response: Thanks, I'll take a look at it.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login