Reading Reviews for On
  
28 Reviews Found

Review #1, by padmoonyfoot7 On

6th September 2012:
Oh my Godric, I am just like crying. Well trying to hold it in, because I'm in the sitting room and my family would think that somethings wrong. But nothing is because this story is amazing and written beautifully.
I love the way Tonks reacted to everything Teddy did and how Remus looked to her all the time to see her reaction and then smile.
I loved how Harry kind of knew that they were there, like he could feel them there. He is a really great godfather, and really supportive of Teddy.

Teddy was really cute and really like Remus and Tonks. The way when the boy ran up and said that he was cool, he sort of got more confident and made a friend, was just really amazing.
I just super loved - like the highlight of the story - when Teddy saw Remus and Tonks, just for a moment, and his brow furrowed, though then they dissappeared. Hopefully they pop in at other times in his life and he sees them then too.

Keep up the amazing work!!

;D

Author's Response: Oh no! Don't cry! *hands tissue* Oh. I completely understand. I get a few - okay, a lot - of crazy looks when I laugh or get all emotional reading fanfiticon :p

I just love Remus and Tonks so dearly and I was so sad when they died in the books that I really wanted to make everything happy for them on Teddy's special day :)

I think he knew! He just had to have known they're always there for him no matter what!

Thanks so much for reviewing, I'm so glad you like it! :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by Emily On

25th August 2012:
Oh my God I'm crying so much I hate you no not really I love you I'm just dying What is air OMG I'm so sad thankyou for writing this it's beautiful

Author's Response: Aw, don't cry! *hands tissue* Thank you so much for the review! I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Darla On

1st August 2012:
I want you to understand how much I love this One-shot. It moved me to tears. I honestly have nothing else to say other than this was absolute beauty.

Author's Response: Thank you so much♥ I really love how this story turned out too! I'm glad you loved it!

 Report Review

Review #4, by I_trusted_Snape13 On

20th July 2012:
asdfgjkl; I'm like sobbing now! This was completely, totally, one hundred percent, rivetingly beautiful. Remus/Tonks was always my favorite ship and this completely did them justice. I loved how they were with him, but not. And that they got to see him off for his first day at Hogwarts. Teddy was adorable and Harry took his role as Godfather and handled the situation perfectly. I just loved every word. Teddy making him friend was so cute and I loved how Remus could not be scarred and feel aged and how Tonks could move freely...gah, I just adored this. You deserve so much higher than a 10/10. Brilliant job!

Author's Response: aw, *hugs* don't cry!

I'm sort of speechless at how to thank you enough for this! I'm so happy you loved it, espeically as a Remus/Tonks shipper! They're my favorite too.

Harry was so fun to write as a godfather! Again, thank you so much for your kindness, it means so much to me! I'm so happy you liked this!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Elenia On

18th July 2012:
WHY HAVEN'T I READ THIS BEFORE?!

Wow! I'm in shock! This was so beautiful! I'm all teary-eyed her because of your wonderful one-shot.

Go! Write more stories like this!

Okay, calming down now d:

But seriously this was one of the best one-shot's I've ever read. You deserve every praise word in the world for this.

Remus and Tonks were just perfect, and little Teddy ♥ And Harry! Seriously, I don't even have the words to describe how wonderful and canon everyone was! (Which sort of sucks because I should be leaving you a review here!)

Urgh, I'll go away now, but know that I loved this so, so, so much! Expect a PM once I gain my ability to write reviews again (x

Take care, sweetie!

~E

Author's Response: I DON'T KNOW!

haha :p I'm glad you like this! I was really happy with how this came out so it means a lot to hear you enjoyed it :)

and everyone stayed canon♥ that's so fantastic to hear! I love all of these characters so much and I always worry that I completely mess them up.

Again, thank you so much for the lovely review! I'm so happy to hear your opinions for this♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by magnolia_magic On

29th June 2012:
Hi Julie! I've heard a few people mention how much they loved this story, so I thought I'd come by and read it for myself. And I'm so glad I did!

Like I said, I've heard nothing but great things about this one-shot, and after reading it I can see that they were all true! This was so sweet, and I love seeing Remus and Tonks happy in the afterlife. Your description of it was just lovely :) And the conversation between Teddy and Harry was great...it's just how I imagine Harry would be as a godfather.

I know this isn't much of a review, but I just wanted to let you know how much I enjoyed this! Keep up the great work :)

--Maggie

Author's Response: Hi Maggie!

O.O You've heard people mention this!? I don't even know what to say, I'm kind of in awe.

When I thought of this I really wanted to give Remus and Tonks their ideal afterlife. You know, take all the things that they were insecure about and make eveything perfect for them.

Even though they weren't physically there for Teddy, I wanted to make sure Harry told him how they'd always be in his heart and in their thoughts. I think Harry would just be this awesome godfather!

Thank you so much for this review! It made me smile a lot :) I'm so glad you enjoyed it!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Roots in Water On

22nd June 2012:
I really liked this one-shot- it's unique and well written. I hadn't given much thought to the possibility of Remus and Tonks watching Teddy from the afterlife, even though I've read many from the perspective of James or Lily.

I must admit that at first I thought this was taking place in an alternate universe but I quickly realized that it was still taking place in the canon universe and I liked the way you used the impossibly fast transitions between locations to help cement this idea.

I loved the interactions between Tonks and Remus- they seemed just like they were in the books. I particularly liked Tonks' nervousness for Teddy's big day- her comment about how she had almost missed her own first day of Hogwarts was so perfectly in character and it certainly had me smiling!

As well, I liked the interaction between Teddy and Harry. I've always thought that Harry played a large role in his upbringing and this certainly seemed to be the case here. The mirroring between what Remus had said to Harry back in his third year and what Harry was now saying to Teddy was very well done and I really liked how Harry managed to describe exactly what his parents were doing. It showed that Harry had known Remus and Tonks really well.
Finally, I liked the hopeful ending you gave to this story. It was nice to see Teddy being accepted and his metamorphagus abilities being recognized as amazing as they actually are. As well, Teddy's eagerness to go off with his friends (or soon-to-be, anyway) but still being worried about his guardian figures was very nicely normal- it definitely showed that, yes, life could go back to normal after a war.

All in all, I think that you did a fantastic job with this story and it was a pleasure to read it.

Author's Response: thank you so much for such a detailed and lovely review! I'm really blown away by your praise for this it really made my day to see this!

You know, I never even thought about those James and Lily stories when I first came up with this, but it does relate, doesn't it? I haven't read too many of them but I may have to look for some :)

I've gotten that reaction a few times. I wanted to make the afterlife their 'perfection' and I think I made it a little too real :p But I'm glad things did make sense eventually!

I'm always a bit nervous I don't capture Remus and Tonks as well as I want to so it's great to hear you think so as well :)

I just see Harry being this fantastic father figure for Teddy, I know exactly what you mean. I was a bit worried that the quote would take away from the flow of the story so it's so fantastic to hear otherwise :)

Again, thank you so much for such a thoughtful and detailed review! I'm really just in awe by this and it's making me smile a lot! Thank you so much!♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by Lillylover22 On

27th May 2012:
That was beautiful 10/10 : )

Author's Response: aw, thank you dear! I'm glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by academica On

12th May 2012:
Hey there! I'm here with your requested review :)

I thought this was really sweet, and it's definitely (in my mind) a realistic and heartwarming view of the afterlife. I think Remus and Tonks would definitely want to be there for every milestone as they watched their son grow up, even if they couldn't physically help tie his shoes and assist with his homework. It really touched my heart to watch Remus and Tonks interact, as well as to watch Harry and Teddy together. It's great that Teddy's unique abilities helped him make friends right off the bat instead of alienating him as "weird".

I do think this story might benefit from a read-over by a Quick Beta, especially if you've got a little bit of time before the deadline for the challenge. I noticed a few sentences where the phrasing was awkward, as well as a few technical mistakes sprinkled throughout the piece. It's not a huge problem, and the story was still quite readable for me, but I know how much the little things can count in a challenge, so I figured I'd mention it as something for you to consider.

The only other thing I noticed is that I felt like you referred to Remus by name a lot more than Tonks. While it was plenty clear to me who you meant by 'she', I think it might shift the balance a little if you change some of them to her name.

I loved the ending of this story, with that little hint that Teddy sort of knows his parents are watching over him from afar. I thought you did a great job of characterizing everyone, but Remus and Tonks were my favorites, because I could see little echoes of a long, happy marriage in their interactions. I do think you could have included a little more imagery in the part where they enter the train station, but I think you did a good job of connecting that with the similar scene from canon. Overall, this was a really simple, lovely read for me.

Very nice! I hope this review is helpful :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks so much for such a detailed review!

I'm so happy to hear you thought it was realistic-- (well, as realistic as topics of the afterlife go)- I wanted to make it ideal enough for them, but still retain a good enough sense of their characters.
I would just have to think Harry would embrace parenting and god-parenting in such a great way, growing up without them.

Thanks for mentioning it, I will have to look at the quick beta section. I do have some time before the deadline and I agree with the every little thing counts :)

Do you know what it is with her name for me? As much as this is my favorite ship and I love them, I can't grasp Remus calling her 'Tonks' after they get married, and it just sounds awkward to me with Nymphadora/Dora because she disliked it so much. So I avoided it; when I totally see it now after you mentioned it; it makes it unbalanced. I'll have to take a look at fixing that.

He just has to know how much they love him and will always be there for him! Just has to. Oh, I'm so glad the characters seemed like themselves. I always try to do them justice and give them at least a little happiness whenever I write them.

Thanks so much for this! You've given me a lot of great things to look at in improving this piece; it was extremely helpful :) Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #10, by TooMuchMagic On

10th May 2012:
This one-shot was short and sweet, just lovely! And how Tonks and Remus wouldn't miss Teddy's first day at Hogwarts, even from the afterlife, was so touching and bittersweet. :') Wonderful writing, thank you for sharing.

Author's Response: aw, thank you!
I'd like to think they wouldn't want to miss it, but then again I just love them a little too much ;) I'm so glad you liked it, thanks so much for reviewing and letting me know!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Ronsgirl29 On

1st May 2012:
Oh my goodness, I love this oneshot! It was so sad, yet it's reassuring that loved ones can still be with you even when they are gone. I thought it was adorable that you included the same quote Remus once told Harry.


Overall, I just loved every bit of this! Great job
Ronsgirl29

Author's Response: :) Thank you! I was really happy with the way this turned out so hearing someone loved it always makes me so happy.

I think the line 'the ones that love us never really leave us' was sort of the driving point behind writing this, and it's great to hear the emotions I was trying to put into the words came though :)

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by ScorpiusRose17 On

1st May 2012:
Monnyxluna...

This is fabulous!

I am just simply amazed by this story! It was so sad, but in such a great way that you really made the emotions of Remus and Tonks come through that I had tears in my eyes just reading this.

I really like how you made them ponder what color hair he would have and that it matched his Mom. I was happy to see a mature Harry stepping up to the fatherly role that had been granted to him by Remus and Tonks.

It was so sweet. I loved Harry and Teddy's interaction. I loved watching Teddy stand his ground and talk to the other boy, making a friend right away. You did a wonderful job capturing the moment. I also thought that it was very moving how Teddy even looked in the direction of where his parents stood.

Your writing is always so inspiring to me. Your descriptions are amazing and you make such a vivid picture that it is so easy to see what you are telling. I love how you love writing your stories. It makes it that much better and that much more believable.

Keep up the superb work! =)

-SR17

Author's Response: Hey dear, thanks so much for reading this! Aw, *hands tissue* I'm so glad you were able to feel that way about this, it means so much to hear it!

Remus and Tonks are my OTP and I just love writing about them (along with snily, but I could never write it) so to hear all of their emotions and personalities came across in the way I wanted the too means a lot.

HE JUST HAD TO HAVE SEEN THEM! Maybe it was like that moment in the movie where Harry thinks he saw Voldemort in the muggle suit? Because, you know, Voldemort would wear a muggle suit to platform 9 & 3/4... :p Except, this was meaningful. haha.

anyways...

Your reviews are fantastic, you really are too kind. I love responding to them, even though about 98% of the time they leave me so speechless all I can say is "Thank you thank you!" so, thank you so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Akussa On

30th April 2012:
Hi!

First thing, I have to say that your banner really caught my eye; it's breautiful and after reading this story, it's fitting!

I really enjoyed this short piece. I found it was a wonderful moment and I was so touched that Remus and Tonks fond a way to be near their son on this important day. You captured all the characters perfectly and I especially liked the interactions between the characters. They were believable and sweet.

Great work, it was a touching read and I enjoyed it a lot!

Author's Response: Hi!

I agree, nostalgia did a brilliant job with it, it was exactly what I was imagining. (but i'm awful at any sort of graphics so I could never make something so fantastic)

When I wrote this I kept thinking about the line 'the ones that love us never really leave us' (the summary) and I would just have to think at an important moment like this Remus and Tonks would want to be there for Teddy.

Thank you so much! I'm so glad you liked it, thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Siriusly3 On

30th April 2012:
Wow, I read this before but I don't think I reviewed. WHY, this made me shiver and cry and it's just lovely. It's so sad and so beautiful, when Teddy says 'I wish they were here,' I just love this, (if I reviewed before this will be AWKWARD) it's wonderful writing and a lovwly idea, good luck with your challenge!!

Author's Response: god, thank you! *scrolls down* I don't think you reviewed before, you're good!

But thank you! Really, this is so nice of you♥! I'm glad I was able to get the feelings across to you that I was trying to acheive! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #15, by EvannaBlackthorn On

30th April 2012:
That was a wonderful read, a lovely piece of writing. I really enjoyed it! What I loved the most was how you captured the emotions of the characters. And you made little Teddy sound so cute too! :3

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you liked it, I really enjoyed writing it :) Little Teddy was intersting to write since I've never written someone at that age before, so I'm happy he came off sounding well. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #16, by AndrinaBlack On

26th April 2012:
Hi! Firstly I have to tell you that I found my way to your page to sort of return the favor. You recently reviewed one of my stories, but you also around a month ago reviewed one of my stories without maybe knowing it. Yeah, I don't know how much you followed everything April Fools related on the forums, but some of the staff had alternate accounts and LittlePaddocks630pm (with one T on the forums :P) was me. For fun and a bit more believability I wrote a story for the account too. So this is my little thanks, because I feel almost like I've cheated a review from you.

And to the actual story... I really liked this piece. It's beautiful and sweet and sad at the same time. And it's an interesting concept. First I thought it was really AU with them having survived the war, then I thought they had survived, but were hiding for some reason and maybe acting to the rest of the world as some other relations to Teddy. But then in the end when Harry and Teddy were talking I realised that they weren't alive after all. That's somehow beautifully symbolic or something, with Harry telling him that they are in his heart and then they are there beside them, but sort of in his heart.

The only little critique I have is that, I don't think Andromeda would want to miss Teddy's first day either. She was the one raising him after all (at least I seem to remember that that's been confirmed). But I liked Harry being there too. Your writing flows well and looks to me at least gramatically correct and didn't spot any typos or anything else like that either, so it was easy and pleasurable to read. You did a good job with this! :)

Author's Response: Hi!

Weren't you the one who was posting about your story being rejected by Voldemort for not having enough awkward Draco hugs? Well, you fooled me. I saw a few posts about how big April Fools day was around here so I was expecting something, but I didn't realize to watch for alters! It was a lot of fun though, you guys did a great job with it.

how about an acutal response! :)

That bittersweet mood was really what I was going for so I'm happy it came across that way. I kept thinking about the line 'the ones that love us never really leave us' and that's kind of how this all came to be. That and I just love Remus and Tonks :)

As far as Andromena I completely see where you are coming from. I didn't write her in because I wanted to really give Harry the moment to pass on 'they'll always be with you', and I think it would have taken away from the moment. I'd like to think she got him all ready and Harry drove or something.

Thank you so much for coming to review! Your writing (on both accounts :p) was really fantastic so it's really great to hear you enjoyed my work!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Dmlong On

24th April 2012:
Aww this was incredible! I'm not gonna lie, it made me tear up a bit. So sweet. Of course Tonks & Remus couldn't miss Teddy's first day. I loved it, great job! :D

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! Don't cry! *hands tissue*

They couldn't! They're such a favorite of mine, so I just love writing them. thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #18, by MrsJaydeMalfoy On

18th April 2012:
I LOVE this! It's so sweet and sad at the same time; more sweet than sad, though! I thought your description was absolutely amazing, and the flow was flawless as well! 10/10, and this is going into my favorites!

Author's Response: Thanks! that bittersweet was what I was going for, so I'm glad you thought that came through! It was definatly a neat peice to write. Thanks so much for reading, and letting me know you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Maybe On

13th April 2012:
Oh, this was so sweet. I could imagine everything so vividly; I liked how the scenery dissolves around them from their bed to the Muggle street to King's Cross, the idea of Remus and Tonks standing over their son and watching, Teddy changing his hair bubblegum pink like his Mum. I loved that part; how he's just like his parents!

The quote from PoA worked really well too - it's definitely something Harry would say, repeating the words of his own godfather. The little touch at the end of Teddy glancing in their direction was brilliant, I loved it. Great!

Author's Response: aw, thank you so much! I'm happy you liked the idea of it. I'm not even sure how it came to me but I'm really happy with the way the concept turned out. I would have to think, even not knowing them for more than a month of being an infant, Teddy would still pick up on a few traits of his mum and dad.

Oh, good! I was really hesitant about putting the quote in, because I always think they can take away from a story very quickly, but I'm happy to hear it worked! The quote was actually said by Remus (not Sirius) on the bridge, when Harry wasn't allowed in hogsmeade.

I'd like to think Teddy saw them at the end :) Thanks so much for reading, and taking the time to leave a review!


 Report Review

Review #20, by alicia and anne On

29th March 2012:
I love how you write Remus and Tonks in all of your stories, you make them seem so real and I love it!
You've given me goosebumps from this story it's so sweet, sad and beautiful.
And the ending is amazing! I loved that so much! He totally saw them. I nearly cried!
Loved it! :-D

Author's Response: aw, thanks! I really love them so I always want to write them well. They're one of my favorite ships and I wanted to write the happy ending they deserve :)

I think.. he thinks he saw them. I wish they wouldn't have died! why JKR!?
Thanks for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #21, by SilentConfession On

25th March 2012:
Hi! I'm here for the hufflepuff tag! I'm sorry it's been a few days! life gets too hectic sometimes! :S

This was an incredibly sweet look at an afterlife. To be honest, i'm a bit of an idiot and incredibly overtired but it took me forever to realize that this was actually in their afterlife. I don't know why i didn't understand but i simply thought it was as AU or something where they survived and i was SO confused till they got to the platform and i was like WHY AREN"T YOU GOING UP TO HIM!!?? Then it finally clicked. Anyway, i don't think that is any fault in your writing, i was just being extremely slow. =D

Anyhow, I thought this was a touching look at Remus and Tonks and i loved that in death they found their own perfection and all their insecurities were finally laid to rest. They deserve that perfection(other than not being alive for their son of course, which is a bit of a damper).

The first sentence was a bit awkward with the repetition of 'tighter'. Sometimes you can repeat things for style but i just didn't feel like it fit this story very well. I also noticed that 'soft' was also repeated a few times in the very beginning. Softly rolled over and a soft smile.

There was a few misplaced comma's i think that disrupted the flow for me and some of the wording of the sentences just sort of struck me as odd. For example: Looking back at him was a face that eleven years ago, shocked him. This may just be the overtired me speaking but i had to read over that a few times. It's not a huge deal or anything that takes away from the story in a large way or anything but sometimes you need to look at anything that disrupts the flow of the story. Speak it out loud to yourself perhaps? Also, dialogue. Um, here's an example > "Yeah. That's not all I can do." Teddy said, >> should be "Yeah. That's not all I can do," Teddy said. Comma should be after the do. That problem was littered throughout the story. It's not huge but just be careful with them, i always mess them up too to be honest. =D

I was so waiting for Harry to say that line and i wasn't disappointed. I liked their interaction and appreciated that Harry's actions and just his wisdom. He'd be the best person to get advise from because he knows what it's like not to have parents. I also really liked Tonk's nervousness and her worry. It really made her human and made her seem like a perfect mother.

Overall this was enjoyable and a lovely read. Great job.

SilentConfession, Hufflepuff

Author's Response: Hi! Don't worry, Hufflepuffs are patient, remember? ;) Sad to say sometimes but RL should always come first!

And seriously, getting a review like this is worth the wait. I don't even know where to start responding!

Don't worry, you aren't the first! I've actually had a few people say they didn't realize it was in the afterlife until the end. I didn't realize labling it 'AU' would make it seem like they weren't really dead, but it's really neat to hear people's interpretations.

I think if anyone deserves a happy ending Remus and Tonks do. (although I could just be playing favorites because Remus is my favorite character :p )

ah, yea. I will take a look at that and fix it!

comma's are not my friend. I overuse them wayy too much, it's one of my worst habbits writing is to throw an extra comma in. I will take a look at those, thanks for mentioning them to me!

Ah yes, the line. I was a little wary about putting a line in from the books/movies because I think it has potential to distract/take away from the overall story, but I think it fit too well here. Again, thank you for such a wonderful, detailed review! I really appreciate all of your advice and thoughts on this! Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Owlpost68 On

20th March 2012:
That was sooo great!!! This was an absolutely great idea, it was very heartfelt, and real. I feel like it was meant to actually happen. I can't pin down a favorite moment, it was all my favorite. Really great job, I can't emphasize that enough.
10/10!!!

Author's Response: hey girl! I'm really glad you liked it, I really don't even know where the idea for this came from, but I'm really happy with the way it turned out.
I wish it would have actually happened :) Although I wish Remus and Tonks wouldn't have died in the first place, but that's just my undying love for Remus Lupin showing through :p
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by house elf On

20th March 2012:
Awww.

I didn't even realise they were ghosts until they got to the platform.

I thought the characters were written really well, especially Harry.

Sweet, lovely, amazing :D

Author's Response: Thanks! I've gotten that response a few times, it's intersting. I didn't realize marking it AU would make it seem as if they weren't really dead! But I kind of like that idea :)

I'm glad you liked my characterization of everyone; thanks so much for reading and taking the time to leave a review!


 Report Review

Review #24, by watchoutfornargles On

19th March 2012:
Review swap :)

I really liked this, Remus and Tonks watching Teddy from heaven. It was a very good plot idea, and I really liked the story; you wrote it very well. I noticed one grammatical error, instead of "your" you wrote "you're," but other than that, great job :)

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm really happy with the way this turned out so its fantastic to hear you liked it! thanks for pointing that out, I'll give this another readthrough :) Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #25, by javct On

19th March 2012:
I'm not crying, I'm not crying, I'm not crying.
That was beautiful! It was so unique and emotional!! I've been intigued by Remus&Tonks relationship lately and this just confirmed my suspicions: I ship them!

Honestly this was amazing. At first I thought it was AU and Remus&Tonks were still alive but when I realised they were ghost I teared up!

beautiful story!
Jaz

Author's Response: awh, don't cry!
Thank you :) It means a lot to hear this was able to bring out that kind of emotion in my reader.
Yay for new ships! Remus and Tonks is my favorite one out there, and there are a lot of really brilliant stories on here.
I'm so happy to hear you liked it! Thanks so much for leaving such a nice review :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>