Reading Reviews for Face for the Brave
  
26 Reviews Found

Review #1, by 1917farmgirl Face for the Brave

20th March 2014:
NEVILLE!!!

You know, right from the very start, in book one, I've always loved Neville! And I also knew he was important and would do something big by the end. Don't know how, just always new. So it surprises me that I always forget to read stories about him, as he's such a great character!

I really loved how you wrote this story! Neville was so in character I felt like it was just a missing scene from the book. And I loved the thought process you had him go through, especially where he was thinking he wanted to be brave like his parents.

It is always interesting to me to see Harry portrayed through his friend's eyes as well, and that was very cool in this fic.

I LOVED when Neville broke free from the spell. There was no magic, no spell, that did that. It was just Neville reaching inside himself and FINALLY seeing and understanding his full potential that did it.

As for the writing, you have a very fluid, easy to read style that is a treat to read.

Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful fic! I vote you write MORE Neville as you are so good at it.

Thanks for writing!

- Farmgirl

Blackout Battle round 3 review 14/20.

 Report Review

Review #2, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing Face for the Brave

15th March 2014:
Hi!

So I decided to check out another of your stories!

I loved this with all it's Gryffindor goodness! I love Neville and I think you did a great job of showing the change in him from the nervous and forgetful first year to the truly amazing and brave man he became.

Again, I commend your descriptions... I pictured the whole thing in my head and actually shivered at the description you used of Voldemorts red eyes and the deadly shadow that appeared there.I loved the lines you gave to Neville too, perfect!

I just noticed one tiny typo: "Where was he why you all fought against me so valiant and strong?" I think you mean while you all fought against me?

Anyway, this was a great one-shot! I really enjoyed it and it made me feel really proud of Neville!

Lauren :)
Gryffindor vs Slytherin Review 14 of 20

 Report Review

Review #3, by Akussa Face for the Brave

14th March 2014:
Hi! I'm here for the blackout battle!

You know, I have tears falling on my cheeks right now. And yet, I feel the warm glow of pride in my chess at the same time. I just loved this story so much. Neville finally admittting and acknowledging just how brae he is, just how much he is like his father and mother. A true Gryffindor.

I like how you re-wrote some of the dialogues of this memorable scene. The way I see it, this is what Neville understood in the action, in the raw emotion of the scene. He didn't get all those poetic ways Voldemort tried to worm himself into the crowd; how he tried to break them with his words. He got the jist of it and understood just enough to get his courage up and fight for his fallen friend.

I really enjoyed the narrative, it was different and carried on pure emotion. You got Neville's character spot on and I really enjoyed this greatly, great work!!

 Report Review

Review #4, by PolyJuice_ Face for the Brave

13th March 2014:
Blackout Battle~

Ooooh, I love your writing, I'm glad I get a chance to review, so here we go!

Aah. *squees* Neville, you're just so adorably cute, are't you?

I loved every bit of this story, from his self doubt in the beginning, to the desire to prove himself that later stemmed from that, even to the courage he finally let out.

This is one of the best Neville stories I've read in a long time, I really liked the little inclusion of his Gran, as we all know how much her approval really means to him.

Anyway, I absolutely adored this story!

Liz

 Report Review

Review #5, by love_is_magic_ Face for the Brave

7th March 2014:
Hello!!

Wow, this was just amazing. Neville is such a great character, and I love the way JK wrote him; growing from a timid boy to an amazing leader of an army, eventually revealing that he could have been in Harry's place. You did a great job with him. You even put in some of that inner development in this story! He develops from a boy who didn't think he belonged in Gryffindor, to one who finally realises his potential, killing Nagini like the awesome person we knew he was all along! I think his character is horribly underwritten in fanfiction and you definitely did him justice with this piece :D You somehow made me love Neville even more!

You use such great description. We all know this scene, but you somehow make it new. It's amazing!

Random bit of CC, when Voldemort is speaking into Neville's mind, you wrote 'then' and I think you meant 'than'.

Honestly, though, that's all the critique I have for you! This was such an amazing one-shot, I thoroughly enjoyed it!

Christy

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle 1/15

 Report Review

Review #6, by ShadowRose Face for the Brave

2nd March 2014:
Hello! I'm here for the Gryffindor/Slytherin Blackout Battle!

I don't think I've ever read anything of yours before, but this was absolutely lovely. I love that this is from Neville's perspective, and I think you did a great job characterizing him, contrasting the nervous little boy he used to be with the brave man he's become. You capture all of those emotions - his childhood fear, his anger at Voldemort, and his rush of power upon breaking free of the curse - so well, and it felt so real as I was reading it.

I like how he compares himself to Harry - as the boy who could have taken his place, I can see why he might. It's strange to see this story from the perspective of someone who believes Harry dead, but I think you portrayed it brilliantly. I love his reaction - the building anger at Voldemort - and I think it works perfectly with his actions that follow.

I love the incorporation of the quotes as well, they really help tie in the theme of Gryffindor and bravery, as well as how much Neville has changed over the years.

The pacing and flow of this story was perfect - it definitely gave off the idea of a fast-paced battle. "and even a Weasley, if the hair was any clue" kind of suggests that Neville was basically running around everywhere and only caught a glimpse of what happened, which seems very believable in a situation like that, and I like that little detail thrown in there.

Overall, I loved reading a story from Neville's perspective, and I think you did a fabulous job writing this! I'll definitely have to check out some of your other writing soon!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

 Report Review

Review #7, by LilyEPotter Face for the Brave

1st March 2014:
Hi!

The battle from Neville's perspective! Though after going to school with Fred and George for five years, he might have recognized Fred as one of the twins.

It's as if Neville is redefining who he is in this moment and Voldemort and his Death Eaters have pushed him in this direction with their actions for the past year. It's amazing that after everything that Voldemort has done that he would believe that anyone defending Hogwarts would join him.

I like the subtle communication between Harry and Neville. It really seems that Voldemort might have won had it only been Harry or only been Neville, but that both of them acted together lead to Voldemort's defeat.

This is a great ending to the story, having Neville lead the second wave in the defense of Hogwarts. Definitely not what anyone on Voldemort's side was expecting.

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Bingo
Review 5 of 10
LEP:)

 Report Review

Review #8, by nott theodore Face for the Brave

1st March 2014:
Hi Selene!

Ah, you wrote a story about Neville! I haven't read many stories about him before but I actually really love him as a character so I couldn't resist this when I visited your author page! I've also just realised I haven't read any of your stories before and this was a lovely introduction to your writing.

I really loved your characterisation of Neville in this one-shot. He either seems to be portrayed as really brave or cowardly, so I thought you struck a really great balance with this story. He wasn't as fearless as he seems in the last book or film in this moment, but that's on the inside and so it makes sense that we wouldn't have seen that aspect from any perspective except for Neville's. That turmoil and fear made him seem really human and helped to bring him to life.

I loved the way that Neville compared himself to Harry at the beginning of this story, in a way that we haven't seen much of in the books but I can definitely imagine happening, especially if Neville has grown up knowing some of the things that Harry discovered during the books, like the connections between their parents, and also how close they are in age. It's really strange but effective to see this scene from the point of view of someone who actually believes that Harry is dead, the fear and tension that creates. Including the details about the deaths of Remus, Tonks and Fred, the shock that would have caused the 'ordinary' fighters.

The quotes were used really well too, and I loved the memory of what his grandmother had said to him, it was so well placed. His fear which was then overcome by his bravery was so brilliant, and I was cheering for Neville all the way as that happened. I think the themes you picked up on, particularly what it is to be brave, were really well written and I loved reading this!

Sian :)

Gryffindor vs Slytherin Battle review 1/10

 Report Review

Review #9, by anythingcouldhappen Face for the Brave

1st March 2014:
Hi :) I'm reviewing this for Blackout Bingo :)

Oh Neville. I love Neville. He is such a fantastic character. Out of all of the HP characters, I think we see the most change in him. You couldn't read this/the seventh book and think of him as just the bumbling little kid from the first book. He really does belong in Gryffindor!

This was a great way to show the bravery he has. You did an awesome job describing his courage, and I liked how you used flames. It linked his inner courage with the flames of the hat, which was really cool! It was awesome to see yet another perspective of the moment of Harry "being dead".

Awesome job!

Sam

 Report Review

Review #10, by Erised Face for the Brave

17th July 2013:
Hiya!

Goodness, this was just beautiful. I actually had goosebumps by the end of it! I love Neville's point of view and how you portrayed him even then questioning himself after all he'd done up until that point. It was brilliant and I felt as if I was right inside Neville's head.

The transformation of Neville with his anger was really well written and really demonstrated how the Gryffindor in him was always there to begin with. Voldemort was so chilling too and you wrote him so well! It was as if JKR had written it herself.

The descriptions and dialogue were beautiful and that ending - I loved it! It was just so powerful and hopeful in contrast to the rest of the story.

Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you for the bit about Voldemort! You have no idea how much I struggled with that man, honestly! I've never been able to get a grasp on his character according to the books and basically sat down and watched as many of his scenes in the films and read him in the books to try and figure him out. And he worked out well this time!!

Thank you so so much for this stellar review! ~Selene


 Report Review

Review #11, by ScarletEye158 Face for the Brave

8th March 2013:
Wow, this was beautiful. Neville is such an interesting character and one of my favorites < 3 You did a really good job writing him!

I liked how you used the quotes throughout the story to show how Neville thought about Gryffindor and what defined them. He must have thought about it a lot throughout his life and the fact that he thought about it that much in that little part of the war shows that it meant a lot to him.

You had a lot of really good descriptions in here. I particularly liked this part:

"Something inside him grew stronger, a burning wishing to burst forth as he gazed upon the faces he knew; these were his friends, these were his peers."

I could literally feel the heat while thinking about how angry, upset and exhausted he was. I couldn't imagine having to go through that.

I also really liked being able to see Neville's perspective about the war. It's always interesting to see how other people react/think of certain things and after reading Harry's POV so many times throughout the war it's really cool to see how someone else thinks of it :)

It was really sweet how Neville finally felt like a true Gryffindor after he put the hat on for a second time. Something just clicked inside him and he realized what it truly meant and it was very powerful and cool to me how you used fire as a metaphor for him.

all in all, really good one-shot. I loved it :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I've never really written Neville more than a brief side character before this this was most definitely out of the box for me. The fact that he is one of your favorites and you complimented me so says a lot to me.

This story made me think about different characters and how they alter Harry's story is so many ways. Without Neville the books could have ended drastically different. Because of this, I have a few other one-shot ideas brewing that I would like to pursue.

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review.


 Report Review

Review #12, by adluvshp Face for the Brave

8th March 2013:
Hey there Selene!

Wow, this was a very well-written one-shot! Such "brave Neville" stories are becoming a little overused on HPFF now (as I have noticed) yet I really liked this because of its upbeat and animated narrative. You gave your original touch to the over-used plot so good work there.

I enjoyed this glimpse into Neville's mind during the wizarding war. I liked how you started off with Neville reflecting upon how he didn't think he was brave and such. I also enjoyed the concept of a "fire" blazing inside him - it was a powerful description and I liked how it remained consistent throughout.

I loved how the action unfolded too as the story progressed, and enjoyed the way it ended. I really liked the last sentence and how it sort of tied up the entire piece together.

Though this was short, you had captivated in the story from the start till the end as the manner in which you presented the events was very interesting.

So over all, the plot execution was great, pace was perfect, flow was smooth, and characterisation spot-on. The grammar and all was okay as well, and it made for a great read. I don't have any CC to give you =)

Great job! 10/10

Cheers!
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Oh Aditi thank you! I'll admit at the time of writing this, I was nervous because I was seeing several of the 'brave Neville' types coming through the queue.

I wish this was longer, but I wanted to capture that one specific scene, that pivotal moment in Neville's life and the War against Voldemort. It was so crucial and I wanted to do it justice. I think extending beyond that would've taken away from the moment.

Thank you so much for this lovely review. ~Selene


 Report Review

Review #13, by Debra20 Face for the Brave

8th March 2013:
Selene you always play with my heart when I read your stories. I think you are the master of perfect missing moments scenes. Every time I read one of your stories, I'm blown away by how you handle everything from the characterization to the feelings the characters have, or the plot. How do you juggle everything so well?

Neville is such a sweetheart. Until the very last moment he doubted himself, despite the fact that he has done so much for the students that remained at Hogwarts for their 7th year. That shows a side of him that I am loving more and more: humbleness. He doesn't realise how valuable he is and how fit for Gryffindor he is until the end. My baby

Author's Response: -Please excuse Selene while she goes behind the couch to have an "OMG SQUEEING BLUSHING ATTACK-

Pardon me! This review is one of my favorites in all my years of writing!! And that is saying something my dear! I'm not sure how I've managed it! I think I start with just getting the chapter written out and then going back repeatedly to flesh out the emotions and feelings. Which is probably why it takes me so long to get something written to the way I want it...

Neville was always a forgotten character to me, though I do love him dearly. He was always just shunted back into the shadows. But I wanted to do him justice in this one-shot, especially since he is the number one character for so many people. Thank you so much my dear for this review, you have no idea what it means to me.

~Selene


 Report Review

Review #14, by alicia and anne Face for the Brave

8th March 2013:
Now that was breathtaking, I actually got goosebumps.
You wrote that incredibly well and it was just amazing to read. They way that you described Neville and how brave he was, the way that the fire errupted in him and how he was taken over in wanting to defend Harry. He really is a true Gryffindor and this one shot cements that fact. You wrote Neville fantastically well and I loved that you ended it with Neville taking the sword out of the hat.
This was just brilliant and I really loved reading this.

Author's Response: Daaww. Thank you! It seems like a lifetime ago I wrote this, but I remember trying to do Neville justice. We grew up with him just as much as Harry, laughed with him and cried with him. It always made me sad to see him shunted aside by authors, forgotten and made lesser than he really is. While writing this, I realized that I too was guilty of that. I'm glad I could do Neville justice with this one-shot.

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! -hugs-


 Report Review

Review #15, by Celtic_Dreamer7 Face for the Brave

7th March 2013:
This was great! I loved how strong and resilient Neville was. He certainly grew throughout the series and his part in the battle certainly proved that he deserved to be in Gryffindor. I loved your descriptions of the scenes around him. Both Neville and Voldemort was written in character which was awesome. The flow was great and I really enjoyed it. Great job.

~Celtic~

Author's Response: Aww thank you Celtic! Voldemort actually gave me a challenge since before when I've written him I was never able to pull it off. I try not to let him speak because of it! And I couldn't do that this time. So it was a challenge for me to make him a character in character that I had a grasp on without quoting him directly.

Thank you for the review darlin! ~Selene


 Report Review

Review #16, by HollyStone73 Face for the Brave

7th March 2013:
YEA! I absolutely love Neville! This is awesome. I love that even as he watched Voldemort approaching he still was questioning his own braveness. Your words painted the picture exactly as it seemed to be happening inside Neville's mind. The imagery of an internal fire inside of him that reflected the fire of the sorting hat was brilliant! I especially love " He was a face for the brave". I feel like it was what we should have read in JK's version! I feel like it makes Neville's whole transformation from nerdy wimp to awesome hero complete!! Awesome job! Love it!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I used fire imagery as a representation of Gryffindor and strength, especially deceptive strength. There is no question that an out of control wildfire can do serious damage, but even a tiny candle can destroy a world. Neville was similar to a candle in my eyes. They knew he could be capable of many things but they viewed him as too insignificant to do it.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Jchrissy Face for the Brave

11th February 2013:
Ohhh this was such a big moment in the books. I think you did Neville total justice with putting us inside his head during this.

The way he spent so long doubting that the hat had placed him in the right house, yet there he was fighting with more courage than most. I liked that he didn't know it was Fred that was killed yet. It just made it all feel more like we were right there and it was just happening.

The way that he sort of losses hope before building himself back up, how he's able to focus on the strength he needs to break through the curse, is so well done.

Neville seems perfectly in canon here. He still doubted himself but he's able to pull out the courage, to go through all that doubt and break it apart. I just want to hug him.

Your writing style is really easy to get into and there was nothing that ever jarred me back out. I felt like I was a part of the story until the very end.

And the way you took him from doubting himself being the brave one, a more than worthy gryffindor, was just so well done.

This was an awesome one shot! Thanks for sharing. ♥

Jami

Author's Response: Jami!! Thank you so much! I'm accustomed to writing AU so forcing myself to stick as close to canon as possible was a bit daunting! It was the right decision for this Neville and I enjoyed every second of writing this one-shot.

From what we know of Neville, we know that he suffered from his parent's being gone in ways similar to Harry but different as well. I wanted to do him justice.

Thank you so much for the lovely review hon! ~Selene


 Report Review

Review #18, by CherryBoom Face for the Brave

23rd October 2012:
Proud Gryffie here, Neville is so our hero! =P

Well anyways, it was really nice look at things from Neville's point of view for a change. After all, the poor boy was ridiculed most of his school years and yet he became a man he was meant to be, so strong and brave at heart!

I really liked how vividly you described the battle of Hogwarts, losing friends and the quiet despair of people who opposed Voldemort.

The flow in this one-shot was very good one and I enjoyed how you managed to portray with the words how Neville found his inner fire. There was a couple of little things that you coud check though:

"Something inside him grew stronger, a burning wishing to burst..." Double -ing sounds bit awkward here.

And then Voldy saying "Where was he why you all fought against me so valiant and strong?" should it be when?

But all in all, I really enjoyed this foray into the DH's last moments. Excellent fic!

By the way, thank you for all your work in the House Cup!

Author's Response: Its always a bit of a challenge for me to write from a character's POV that I'm not accustomed to and this was really the first time I wrote Neville, let alone in a staring role.

Getting this to flow just right was difficult actually! Its been ages since I posted this and I'm still trying to figure out how I wound up managing it since it sat on my computer glaring at me for so long as I tried to smooth it out. Somehow it worked though! XD

Thank you for pointing those out to me, sometimes those little errors slip through the gaps after you've looked at it half a dozen times. Thank you so much CherryBoom for the review!


 Report Review

Review #19, by luvdobby26 Face for the Brave

5th September 2012:
Hey, I'm here for the review swap :)

This was an excellent one-shot! All the emotions were there and they were perfect! I was almost in tears during it... and when he saw Harry alive, even though I knew that was coming, I laughed, cried and silently cheered :p

The writing is just... wow... this was such a powerful story and the writing was so powerful too. I mean... Oh my God, how do you write so perfectly and beautifully? This was such a clean read.

Neville, he is just ze best! I love him to pieces! He is one of my favourite characters so I was thrilled to see this was a story about him and the final battle. They are always the best!

So, overall this was brilliant one-shot and I'm adding it to my favourites.
Sorry this wasn't a very good review :( I left a few today, and after about 3 my(non-existant) reviewing skill just goes down and down :p

10/10

~ Eilidh xx

1OOTH REVIEW!! YAY!! :D

Author's Response: Congratulations on your 100th review!!! Though its probably much higher by now. I worked hard to get the emotions to come out just right in this one-shot. It was difficult because of the shortness of the scene being used, there wasn't much that could carry the scene other than Neville himself. And we really don't know much about the inner workings of Neville, only from what Harry had observed himself. And we all know Harry isn't always the most observant.

It was a pleasure working with Neville, a character I usually don't use. There is so much about him, so many possibilities, waiting to be discovered by us writers.

Using music, mainly a few tracks from the DH Part 2 soundtrack for this one-shot, was very helpful. It helped me focus on the specific emotions I needed for him.

Thank you so much for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #20, by ginnypotter242 Face for the Brave

8th August 2012:
Hello!

This was an amazing one-shot. I love Neville, he is one of my favorite characters. You captured him so well too! His characterization was spot on. I loved how you had him thinking about bravery the whole time. It all fit together so well, and was just amazing.

This was one of the best Neville stories I've ever read. 1 million/10

Thank you for all your help with the House Cup. It was so much fun!

~Sara

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review Sara! I'm glad you enjoyed last year's house cup! Its pretty bad that I'm finally responding during this years...so enjoy this house cup too!

 Report Review

Review #21, by obliviated Face for the Brave

29th April 2012:
NEVILLE. Aww I just love this. It really feels like I'm inside Neville's head, and it really is him, not some empty uncharacteristic version of him. Like I got the whole cake, not just the icing. I just love the 'FOR HARRY!!' bit, and that ending sentence was just perfect. It's all very canonical, and just so hjsadhfjsdhfjks good.

I really envy anyone who can describe feelings well, so ... I envy you. Really, this was just gorgeous, I demand you stop writing so good, k?

Sincerely, some ninja.

Author's Response: You have no idea how many times I read over this specific scene in the book and watched it. It finally got to the point where I couldn't watch it for ages because my mind would go 'not again D:'.

Describe feelings so well?? OMG alkdjfahandf yes! Thank you so much!! That is such a compliment, obliviated! Thank you for this review.


 Report Review

Review #22, by Maxton Face for the Brave

27th April 2012:
very nice i enjoyed that part of JK's books

Author's Response: Thank you!!

 Report Review

Review #23, by starryskies55 Face for the Brave

10th March 2012:
This made me want to do a little victory dance for Neville! Yeah! I feel inspired and brave.

I love Neville, he is one of my favourite characters, and yet, he's not in much fanfiction!

I loved the continuing imagery and metaphors of the fire, it was perfect and it really captured Neville's emotions and related into Gryffindor well.

The references to the Sorting Hat were well rounded off, and without sticking to the book, your Voldy is very terrifying!

Amazing. :)

-SHPFFO

Author's Response: You guys are so sweet! :) I tried very hard to bring all the pieces of this story together in a tidy way and actually struggled with the fire metaphors at some points. So thank you, I'm glad you liked them! I'm very pleased you liked my Voldemort, since I've struggled terribly with his character in the past. Thank you for such a lovely review. :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by magicmuggle01 Face for the Brave

9th March 2012:
Excellent insight into how bravery can be found in anyone, all it needed was something to bring it to the fore. And in Nev's case it was pure anger towards their antagonist.
10/10 and adding this to favs.

SHPPFO.

Author's Response: That you so much for the lovely review magicmuggle

 Report Review

Review #25, by slytherinchica08 Face for the Brave

9th March 2012:
Selene! I really enjoyed this piece! I think you did a great job capturing Neville's emotions and thoughts during this time! Your first paragraph was wonderful (as were the rest) as it really pulled me into your chapter and to see Neville as he is. I think Neville's character is really one of the more complex characters she has created with the fact that he could have been the chosen one and I think that you did a great job showing the progression of his character in his thoughts alone. There was only one spelling mistake that I saw in which you use why instead of while. Other than that one mistake though this piece was really great and and enjoyable read. Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Sometimes those little typos just slip through the cracks, no matter how many times it gets read over. XD Thanks for pointing it out to me!

Neville is such an interesting and complex character. I would find it interesting to see stories where Neville was chosen instead. How would the world have been different if it was him instead of Harry. In a way though, he was still marked by Voldemort which made him the Neville of this one-shot.

Thank you so much hon!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>