234 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Gabriella Hunter Thoughts and Words

10th November 2015:

This is Gabbie from the forums here for our review swap! I'm stopping by relatively quickly because I was actually hoping to give you your review first. I'm always so late when it comes to swaps and it makes me feel bad!

I feel like both Devlin and Harry are circling one another and trying to form something that can push them together. I don't know if it's really going to work or not but sometimes, when I'm swimming around in Devlin's mind, I'm overwhelmed with how perceptive and smart he is. He's a very complicated character and I can never really grasp what's going on in his mind, his control over his emotions are really impressive. What I thought was interesting here is that he's not exactly sure of anything at the moment, he seems to be wavering. I'm not sure if it's going to last but I really like the fact that he and Harry sat down to talk about the photograph. I wonder if Devlin will truly believe that he wasn't abandoned now but I can't be too sure.

Speaking to snakes is a strange way to bond, I think but I thought that this scene was great. It not only got Devlin to open up a little more but we learned a little more about Harry too. He's not nearly as good at Parseltongue but there's this really interesting bond he has with his snakes. I like that they have personality but at the same time, it just makes Devlin seem even more mysterious and for some reason, it's just going to linger in my head.

I was really eager to find out more about that photograph too. If Devlin was the one who put it there, that means that he might not be completely under Voldemort's control. Hm. Geoffrey didn't even know about it and he's kind of a shifty fellow sometimes when it comes to keeping Devlin safe. I'm not sure if I can trust him either but I'm not going to forsake him completely. With this ending though, you get to see that Harry has some hope but where do they go from here? We shall have to swap again soon!

Thanks for the read!

Much love,


 Report Review

Review #2, by Gail Welin The Informant

10th November 2015:
Hi there, I'm here from the review tag on the forums!

Wow, what a strong first chapter! And what a cliffhanger!! My brain played a dramatic *dum-dum-duum* as I just stared at the last line and thought "no waayy!!"

I feel so sorry for Harry, having his son kidnapped AND tortured then having to listen to how Voldemort wanted to have him healed just because he wanted to make him scream. That's just sick.
I hope Devlin's going to be okay, that he's going to escape before too much damage has been done... Or that Harry and Sirius will come and save him!

Harry is obviously not used to interrogating using violent methods otherwise he'd know you don't hex a person right after you ask a question; let them either answer or tell you they won't answer, then hex the crap out of them :p
I wonder about that Death Eater though. He's pretty smart and says quite a few wise things (like anyone can be cruel or howif he's important to Potter, he's important to Voldemort)... So I can't help but wonder what his agenda is, I'm pretty sure he has one. Also, I wonder if showing him any kind of memories was a good idea... What if it can be used against him?

Oh! I love that Sirius is still alive! I really, really love the thought of that!! ♥

Alright, I'm adding this story to my (long) reading list.


 Report Review

Review #3, by TreacleTart Into the Fog

10th November 2015:
Hey there !

I'm here for our review swap and more of Devlin's story.

I felt that pretty much everything that happened this chapter was pretty much what I expected to happen. Just because they've taken the boy away from the Death Eaters doesn't mean everything will change right away. You did a good job of making that clear. I wonder how long it will take to break him down.

I did like seeing that he remembered his name and who Harry was even if it had a bad connotation.

I did spot a few typos in this chapter, but nothing really major.

I think I've said this in every chapter of this story that I've reviewed so far, but this is really unique and I can't wait to learn more.

Really good job so far!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Gabriella Hunter Unforgotten

9th November 2015:

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review for our swap! Thanks for another lovely review for Audrey, it was very nice. :D I was really curious about how you would feel about that chapter but the one after it is the one that has all the angst. Haha.

So, more things are happening in here that I can't really wrap my head around! I think that the way Devlin reacted to the truth was just really powerful, it certainly wasn't what he expected but his body wasn't able to handle it. That's some serious shock to go through and he felt physically ill, ill enough to even revert to his wolf form. I was hoping that he and Harry would get a little closer in this and it certainly seemed like it in the first half of this chapter, he allowed Harry to comfort him and he needed his father for the first time. I was upset to see him in so much pain though but what I love about your writing is that your characters never do what you expect them to. Their thoughts spiral around in so many different ways, I'm never sure what they're going to do or what they'll say. Devlin's wolf mind is completely different from him and I'm upset that this primitive side of him is taking over. I wonder what's going to happen with Geoffrey too, he had a break down as well the moment Devlin collapsed. Their connection is pretty strong but there's something so strange about it too, i hope we learn more about it later. I am eager to learn more about everything that's happened though and Devlin himself, who remembers certain things but can't recall others. I have to wonder what Voldemort did to him, he already had him believing that Harry abandoned him and the end of this just proved that they had never stopped looking for each other. Very intense way to end the chapter!

Let's swap again!

Much love,


 Report Review

Review #5, by Gabriella Hunter The Archives at the Hogwarts Library

7th November 2015:

This is Gabbie from the forums and I'm here for our swap, so sorry that it took a minute for me to get to you! Thank you so much for the review you left on Audrey, it was great! There are two more chapters left if you had wanted to catch up because after the eighth, the story just gets ridiculously angsty.

Anyway, this!

It's been a while since I've read this story and I always feel so badly about it because I love it. Real life is such a pain though and I never really have time to read as much as I want to anymore. I'm going to try and swap with you until we've both caught up on each other. Hahaha.

Devlin is just as complex as I remember and I'm very curious about what will happen to him after this chapter. There was a lot of brilliant detail here and there, his emotions are just so sharp for someone so young and you get a much clearer idea of the people around him. I wish that he would find it in himself to trust Harry more but I think that that's going to take a while, if it happens at all. There's this sense of tugging and pulling between them, neither of them has made the right moves but they can't do well without the other. Devlin wants to distance himself so far from everyone and everything but I like those brief moments that he has when he slips up. He's not sure what to make out of certain people or things so when he's being genuine, I find it really interesting.

The thestral bit had my skin crawling a little with just how wonderfully written it was. I certainly didn't expect it but Devlin having an attachment to a creature that is known for causing bad luck and it's ties to death, is a great parallel. I think that that scene really brought on an ominous feel to the remainder of the chapter and you set it up very well.

The meeting with Snape broke the trust that was between the pair though. I don't think it's going to be easy getting into Devlin's mind either and I'm curious to know how they'll actually accomplish it. Devlin feels betrayed and lied to but even though I know that Harry is only trying to do what's best for him, he may have gone about it the wrong way.

But that revelation! Devlin has been told over and over again that Harry gave up on him and that he wasn't loved but that newspaper clipping has really shook him to the core. Voldemort of course has lied to him for his entire life but I wonder what his reaction to everything will be in the next chapter?

This was a great read and I hope to see you soon!

Much love,


 Report Review

Review #6, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010 Midnight Routines

27th September 2015:
Tasha here for our swap.

Yay for reunions! Yay for cliffhangers! I'm really not kidding I love cliffhangers lol.

You've done it again. You captured the grief of losing a child so well and the torn emotions between not wanting to believe someone is alive when you thought they were dead and the hope that it might just be your lost child. Either you have been though something similar for which i want to say I'm sorry you had to go through it or you've done your research for which I have to say Well done.

As a side note I like that you've kept Sirius alive as I refuse to accept the fact that he is dead. I look forward to seeing how Devlin reacts when he discovers that Harry is his father. I'm also curious to see why Voldemort allows Devlin to call him Grandfather and not My Lord as he requires of his followers.

On to the next chapter (I really should start reading more than one at a time.)

Peace Love and Tacos


 Report Review

Review #7, by Panda Weasley  The Informant

23rd September 2015:
Hey, GingeredTea!
I really enjoyed this chapter. I normally don't read fics like this, but I thought this was really well written and will probably read more in the future. I felt that you had original ideas and through your writing I could really picture what was happening. I liked how you started with Devlin and then switched to Harry focusing on the pain he feels and the war. It was an interesting contrast and the two sections fit together perfectly.

I noticed several places where two words would be combined and needed a space between them. Other than that though I didn't notice any mistakes or errors, and there is nothing I would have changed besides those few typos.

Excellent work!

 Report Review

Review #8, by TreacleTart Midnight Routines

22nd September 2015:
Hello there!

I'm here for our review swap! I read chapters one and two a while back and after the big reveal that Devlin was still alive, I was excited to see what happened next.

The first thing that really registered for me is how hard it is for Harry to accept that his son has basically been brainwashed. When Geoffrey is telling him that he won't recognize his child, he just sort of excuses it away. He seems to think that if he can just get a hold of the boy, he can reverse everything, but I have a feeling it isn't going to work that way at all. Unfortunately, I think it's going to break Harry's heart.

Alexandra is remarkably calm considering the situation. I know everyone handles things differently, but she seems borderline emotionless to me. Maybe it's just that she doesn't want to allow herself any hope until her child is safely in her arms. That way if he does end up dead she won't end up crushed all over again.

I was surprised by how much Geoffrey does actually seem to care for Devlin. He knows the boy well and has clearly spent a lot of time watching after him. I'm glad that he was able to talk a bit of sense into Harry because Harry was certainly behaving a bit impulsively.

Now that Geoffrey has whisked Devlin away to the safe house, I have to wonder how Harry is going to go about de-programming him. I can't imagine that it's going to be easy to undo all of the damage that the Dark Lord has done. In fact, I wonder if it's even possible. Based on the little bit we see at the end, it seems the child is ready to fight if need be.

My only tiny bit of CC for this chapter is that there are a couple places where you switched from past tense to present tense within one sentence. It didn't happen a ton, but when it did happen, it threw me off for just a second.

All in all, I thought this was another successful chapter. I'm intensely curious about what's to come next.


 Report Review

Review #9, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010 Only Blood

22nd September 2015:
Tasha here for the review swap ;)

Yay for cliffhangers! Lol

I can tell you've done your research (either that or I haven't) Devlin has been hardened because of his treatment and seems to do anything he can to please Voldemort. Seems like a textbook case of Stockholm Syndrome to me but I'm not that familiar with it.

I did notice a couple possible typos or verb tense errors at the beginning but other than that I thought this was well written and I look forward to seeing what happens if and when Harry finally comes face to face with his son.

Great Job!

Peace, Love, and Tacos


 Report Review

Review #10, by CassiePotter The Informant

22nd September 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
This was an incredible first chapter! I'm completely fascinated! I've never read anything like this, and thought it was brilliant.
I think Devlin's character is really interesting. He's clearly very intelligent, even for a child so young. And also brave. He's definitely Harry Potter's son, and wants to be brave until the end. That being said, it made my heart break to read the way he was being treated. He's just a child and they're being so horrible to him. At the end, when the Death Eater was saying how they tortured him, I got chills. Really it made my stomach turn to think about.
I love the way you write Harry. He has so much more anger than when we see him in the books. He's suffered even more loss than he did when he was growing up, and it's a whole new kind of suffering. He's lost a child, and can't move past that. I definitely see why he's so angry, but I just hope he doesn't do anything he'll regret because he's being ruled by his emotions.
Sirius is alive! I wasn't expecting that! But it was a really nice surprise! I think he's a great addition to this.
I'm really intrigued by this Death Eater! I want to know how it is! Also, I think it was so interesting how he seemed so interested in seeing Harry prove himself and prove that he loves his son. Definitely not something I'd expect from a Death Eater.
Oh my gosh Devlin isn't dead! I did not see that coming! But it also makes me nervous. Because if he's spent so much time among Voldemort and Death Eaters, and is being tortured, chances are he's changed. I really hope he doesn't have any kind of hatred or rage towards his father because he hasn't been rescued...
This was really, really amazing. I thought it was so original and so captivating! I definitely want to read more!
Thank you so much for the review swap!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by ScorpiusRose17 The Informant

22nd August 2015:

Here for the review swap! :)

This was interesting. I really thought you did an amazing job characterizing Harry. It reminded me a lot of the anger that we see coming through in the OotP, but this was different in terms of situation and growth of the character.

Your descriptions are well done. I will admit, whenever I read anyone describing Voldemort I always have high expectations and I want to feel creeped out. I want to have that spine tingling feeling you get when you see something scary. You met that expectation so wonderfully in so little words! I am truly impressed.

You also did a wonderful job drawing me in to the story and I found myself eagerly wanting to know what is going to happen especially with the cliff hanger at the end. I will be adding this to my reading list!

Keep up the awesome writing and I look forward to reading more of your story! :)


Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

Thank you so much! I love hearing that the Voldemort/Devlin scene was okay, because I had to alter it a lot for the site (no child abuse).

Glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Gabriella Hunter Professor for a Day

22nd August 2015:

This is Gabbie from the forums dropping by with your review and its been so long! I haven't stopped by this story in ages and it's great to be reading it again! I never really forgot this story, since it's one of the most unique tales on the archives. Remember how you said you felt about Audrey Tang? Well, I felt the same about this. :D

So, it seems like Devlin is continually changing. I really like this angle of him though, he's not quite sure who he is at some moments but he's so sure of what he's been taught. I thought it was an interesting contrast with him meeting Dumbledore and the lack of awe and fear that comes along with it. I don't know if I would have been bold enough to ignore anything that the Headmaster said but it was clear that Devlin THINKS that he knows everything about a person just from first glance and that is a bit arrogant on his part, I think. He should be more careful about that but what I liked was that he held onto Harry's hand and kept close to his side. I would want them to get closer, of course but I think that there are still plenty of barriers between them, though Harry is still determined to look at him as his son and not the clever, broken thing that he is. Devlin is once more just as complicated, devious and fascinating as the last time that I read this and I'm blown away by your writing.

I think that you've created this dark, twisted universe with some elements that we all recognize and even adore. You break some down and give me something even better in return--the entire scene with the Unforgivable Curses was a great example. I don't think Devlin truly understood the depths to how evil they were until he saw them being used, I believe that he'll be thinking of that rat for quite some time and his peculiar fear of crowds.

It was great coming back to this and thanks so much for the read! :D

Much love,


 Report Review

Review #13, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010 The Informant

21st August 2015:
Review Swap!

First I chose this chapter to review since I haven't read this fic yet and wanted to get whole story before I read your newer one so please don't hate me *falls to knees begging*

Second I'm going to have to do review swaps more often. I keep finding new stuff to read thats outside of my norm. I prefer not to read the What if Voldemort lived stories because that's just not a world I want to live in real or fantasy but this first chapter is so well written it makes me want to read more.

Third I loved how you captured the emotion Harry was feeling when he found the picture and the trememdous amount of love in the memory.

Fourth I'm weird I love a cliffhanger! It keeps me engaged in the story and makes me yell at my computer screen. Only downside to them is I generally find myself up until 3am and it's no fun going to work on less than an hour of sleep.

So that's all for now and i look foward to reading the next chapters and once I'm done starting on the next story.

Peace Love and Tacos


Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

Thanks for starting at the beginning - it is a complex story and I genuinely wouldn't have been happy with a review if you didn't understand what you were reading. :)

I love review swaps for that reason. If I am smart I don't even look at profiles - just say "Yes" and force myself. More often than not, I end up really enjoying what I read. :)

If you love cliffhangers you will love most of this...I think there is a cliffhanger for at least the first 15 chapters...

 Report Review

Review #14, by The_Crookshanks_Saga The Informant

28th June 2015:
I hope this is ok for the swap :)

OK, usually I hate fics about the Golden Trio, but this one makes me reconsider my stance :D Definitely reading on.

I like how canon the characters are, and how Harry's different in all OC ways. Same with Ron-- and Sirius is alive?! How could you do that to my poor heart ;_;

I'm super-impressed by the flow of this, though you were moving all over the place it read like a waltz. I really enjoyed it.

The only slight problem was that there were a few discrepancies in tense. That's seriously it. Everything else about this was perfect.

Can't wait to keep reading!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Unicorn_Charm Only Blood

19th April 2015:
Hi there!

I am so sorry! I re-read the first chapter, got distracted by RL and the totally forgot about the swap for this chapter!

As weird as this may sound, I actually kind of like Geoffrey. He obviously cares for Devlin and is sharing this information with Harry, Sirius and Alex, so he can't be that bad. But then he is a Death Eater, so he can't be that good either.

Oh, speaking of Sirius, I'm thrilled you have him and apparently Remus both alive in this. :)

I felt bad for Harry and Alex here. I mean, it's great that they've found out that Devlin is still alive, but he's just so different than what they remember. He's almost kind of creepy from what we saw in Geoffrey's memories. He's incredibly powerful though, you can't deny that. Almost frighteningly so.

Really very interesting story and plot you have here. Again, I'm so sorry about that swap, I totally dropped the ball there. Thanks so much for doing it with me!! :)

xoxo Meg

 Report Review

Review #16, by Penelope Inkwell Midnight Routines

18th April 2015:
Wow--it's been a while since I'd read the first two chapters of this story, but most of it came back really quickly!

This was such an intense chapter. I mean, the last one was, as well, of course. I like Geoffrey. I'm glad Devlin. He really seems to care about Devlin, even to the point of risking his own life. On some level he must feel like it's better that Devlin is back with his family, right? Or he could have just walked back to the Death Eaters and never showed up at the safe house. It also makes sense, though, that after all this time Devlin would be pretty brain washed. And being brainwashed by Voldemort, of all people...

I still don't feel like I know a whole lot about Devlin, but I like how you juxtapose these images of him as a tired little kid with others of him being kind of mouthy and even a little creepy. It definitely sets up how messed up his upbringing has been, and what a challenge it will be for him to acclimate.

The idea that he would reject Harry, though, is just really heartbreaking. Hopefully he comes around. After all they've been through, they deserve to be a family!


"Now that there were no eyes to preform in front of..."
--"preform" should be "perform".

There were no eyes to see him, not even the boys.
--"boys" should be boy's

Very intense chapter. It certainly makes me curious (if a little apprehensive), but I'm holding out hope that things will be alright in the end! Thanks for the swap!


 Report Review

Review #17, by krazyboutharryginny The Informant

18th April 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
There's a lot of stuff I really, really like about this first chapter. My favourite thing is that Sirius is still alive. I think you've done an awesome job of showing what Sirius and Harry's relationship would have been like if it had been allowed to develop further.
I also love the changes you've shown in Harry's personality since the loss of his son. The line "Harry Potter was no longer so Golden" totally captured my interest. The fact that he himself if aware of the ways in which he's changed is great. It's almost scarier, in a way? When characters are unaware of the ways in which they are changing and becoming more vicious, you get a sense that they're just out of control. When they're aware of it, like Harry is, it's more frightening because they're obviously still in control, but their minds have gone somewhere dark.
That scene with the lilies was so beautiful and touching. It's hard to get a sense of Devlin from the opening scene aside from the fact that he's very brave. That scene showed that he was a sweet and thoughtful little boy.
I'm interested to know who this Death Eater is, and whether he's really unimportant, as Harry thinks he is, or whether he's something more. I think I'm going to come back and continue reading this when I have time.
Awesome first chapter!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Startafire The Informant

18th April 2015:
Hello there!

Sorry it's taken me so long to get back to you for the review swap as I got caught up in some stuff. Anyway I'm glad I took the time to read this writing because it's very well written and little Devlin had my heart souring for him. He's definitely Harry Potters son. He's brave, strong and I love he won't give into the dark lord.

From what I've read so far the bond between father and son seemed very strong. I was beginning to worry Harry had given up on him but then he finds out he's alive! I particularly enjoy your description of Voldemort, you make him just as eerie and scary as he should be, especially from a six year olds point of view.

I'm left wondering and hoping they rescue him soon, hopefully he's okay! Amazing first chapter.

- Ella

 Report Review

Review #19, by Pixileanin Professor for a Day

17th April 2015:
Hi there! It's great to be back into this story!

It's also pretty creepy, the way that Devlin draws parallels between Dumbledore and Voldemort. I suppose it makes sense, because a boy would do that, and they're both supposed to be incredibly powerful wizards. But still... creepy.

Always questioning, this boy. I cringe at how his childhood must have been in order to end up this way. Gives me the shivers, in fact. And eek, all the suggestiveness with the Slytherins and what they were going to tell about him. Good lord, this poor kid.

And oh my god, the missing toe! I didn't know what to think of the whole knut/rat thing, and then wondered why Harry would go an pet the rat like that... like he cared about it... That was truly great. I saw what you did there. Not sure why or how it ties into the story, but I really liked it.

So this line had me wondering the most: "Dubhan wondered briefly if Potter knew why Lily Potter had been given the chance to step aside."

I have a feeling that you will be expanding on this little nugget, and I am very intrigued as to where you're going to take us with it. I have something (else) to ponder over now. Hmm...

I love the way that Devlin is so sure he knows what all is going on around him. He is, after all, a very perceptive and smart boy. But I love the way you turn things on their heads for him. He is still a child after all, and he won't get things as fully as he thinks. So when Harry explained his worries to Devlin, it just rang so true to me. There now, little boy. You're not as all-knowing as you think you are. And I also love the way you just cut Devlin off. He doesn't even get to retort back about anything.

Your writing is so thorough. I get so much internals and descriptives, and the action is all actiony when it needs to be. And the little things. Now you have me dying to know what the Galleon is all about...

Great chapter! So glad we swapped tonight!

 Report Review

Review #20, by TreacleTart Only Blood

15th April 2015:
Hello again!

I'm here for our review swap!

This chapter was really interesting. Geoffrey provided some very unusual memories to Harry, Alex, and Sirius. It seems that he was right in saying that the young Devlin they remember is dead and gone. He is clearly moving down a very dark path quite quickly. The choice of name change really represented this well. I'm sure that must be a massive shock to them, but at least he's still alive.

I did notice that during this chapter you switched back and forth from past to present tense quite a bit. I found it a bit disconcerting and it honestly pulled me back out of the story a bit. I don't know if this was a purposeful style choice, but I think it would read better if it was all past tense or all present tense.

I also wondered how Alex knew that Harry and Sirius were at Grimmuald Place with a Death Eater. Did Ron send her there? Did someone owl her? Was a patronus sent? Forgive me if this is actually in the story and I just somehow missed it.

I will say that the pace of the story moves rather nicely. I was immediately drawn in on the first chapter and the second chapter has definitely maintained my interest. I think you have a very intriguing plot and a good set of characters. I can't wait to see what you do with it!

Thanks again for the swap!


 Report Review

Review #21, by TreacleTart The Informant

14th April 2015:
Hi there!

I'm here for our review swap!

Upon reading the summary of this story, I was immediately intrigued! What if the Potters and Voldemort had lived? What if the war had continued? I just couldn't resist.

The beginning section about Devlin really pulled me in. I was immediately entranced by the brave action and thought process of this little boy. He seems so mature and collected for his age. I felt so bad for him that he was captured by Voldemort, but I feel hopeful that Harry will find and rescue him.

I noticed that you've kept Harry and Ron as Aurors, but in this case they seem to be rounding up the Death Eaters as the war is going on. The revelation that this particular Death Eater knew anything about Devlin was surprising. Since Harry thought Devlin was dead, I assumed he was as well...particularly since we see him get tortured in the beginning.

Now that Harry knows he's alive, I imagine he will stop at no ends to find his son. I wonder if he will be able to maintain the moral high ground or if he will start bending his morals a bit in order to get answers.

I have a bad feeling about this Death Eater being so forth right with information. As far as I can tell, he really has no reason to give Harry any information at all and odds are he will be tortured or killed by Voldemort for doing so. I'm almost wondering if this was a trap?

I thought this was a very unique AU. I'm always a bit skeptical when I read something that drastically changes the original plot, mainly because it's so hard to do well, but you've done a great job here! You've managed to keep the characterization of each character pretty similar to who they were in the books.

I'm really interested to see where this goes! I may have to add this to my currently reading list now!

Great work! I really enjoyed our swap!


Author's Response: Glad you liked it! I should really say "Skeptical AU people: read this. It is awesome." because every skeptic ends up saying exactly what you have. LOL

Oh, the Death Eater is up to something, I'll give you that. ;-)

Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Dirigible_Plums The Informant

14th December 2014:
Hey, I'm here for the review you requested in the review swap :) I have to admit that I am quite excited to read this. I've seen it a few times around the site and always thought it looked interesting (unfortunately my attention span appears to be unnecessarily short which is why I didn't read this before).

Wow. This was powerful from the very beginning and already has me intrigued. I think you were very talented in your depictions, particularly of Voldemort. His deceptively calm manner, the way he had the others bend to his whim without really doing anything. I'm not sure why but the mere way he twirls his wand seems so sinister.

Naturally I'm still confused.There's no question that this is AU and a lot of questions have been unanswered as of yet. For example, I found myself wondering what year it is, why Voldemort is still undefeated, how the sequence of events turned out. Since you've clearly made the decision to keep Sirius alive how has this diverted from the books that follow?

All in all this seems to be a great story. Your writing is consistent and styled well, the concept seems amazing and that cliffhanger at the end is reason enough to read on. Aside from a few grammatical errors- simply a few missing apostrophes and the wrong 'than/then' at one point- this has shaped up to be a wonderful chapter.

Dirigible_Plums xo

 Report Review

Review #23, by Veritaserum27 Midnight Routines

28th November 2014:
Hi there!

Here for our review swap! Before I continue, I wanted to start off by saying that I think you've achieved an excellent balance between making this story very dark and carefully portraying real, vivid emotions with your characters. I really enjoy the undercurrent of a much deeper, darker story and you've managed to capture that without overdoing it - as is common with most dark fanfics - and published work as well.

Harry has real emotions, and bounces back and forth between the compassion he feels as a father and the realism that he's grown to know as an Auror. His brain tells him to take it slow with Devlin and keep his emotions in check, but his heart just wants to feel his little boy in his arms again. The opposing sides are setting the tone for the rest of the story - and I must read on.

Alexandra is another captivating character. I know you wrote this before the books were all published - WAY before, but to me, she is a lot like the Ginny character - not to a tee, but has a lot of the same traits. For one, she both balances and draws strength from Harry. They have a connection that is deeper than most spouses and they know how to read each other and react to each other. I look forward to seeing the two of them take on this next challenge that they will have once Devlin is back at home and adjusting.

Hmmm... it's very interesting that Devlin has a wand. I wonder why Voldemort would allow that at all. It sounds like Devlin has some serious powers - even without the wand.

I like the way you showed how Harry knows that Devlin is afraid - both in the beginning of the chapter and then you brought it back at the end. That is really important that Harry can recognize that in his son - and sad at the same time that his fear now comes from his own father.

Another thing that intrigued me is the fact that the death eaters were so easily captured. I feel like that is going to come into play later on as well.

Great job with this - I'm really curious to find out what happens next! Thanks for doing a swap!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Thank you for the wonderful review, Beth!

It is so much fun reading reviews on early chapters and knowing exactly where the reader is in the much larger plot! Thank you for the compliment on my writing - it is a huge one!

That's interesting, I don't think I have ever had someone compare Alexandra to Ginny before. I will be intrigued to see if you feel the same way as the story goes on. Regardless, I think they come together as both very strong people, made stronger by each other.

I itch to answer your other ideas but will hold myself back for the sake of your reading experience.

 Report Review

Review #24, by lindslo2012 The Man at the Table

10th November 2014:
Here for the review swap, and wow, what a good chapter.
I think it was very intense from the starts because now we are actually inside Devlin's head and seeing what he has been thinking. I am jealous of your talent to write great detail and surroundings because I am kind of bad at that I have noticed :)
I can see that Devlin is not in his best place right now. I mean who would be if they had been a puppet of Voldemort's for quite awhile. It's a surprise he is doing as well as he is! I can see that he remembers some kind of attachment to little Emma, but he is afraid to acknowledge it.
It's sad, the things that Voldy ingrained into his head for him to hear. I just hope that he will recover eventually, but I have a feeling there is quite a long road ahead of him.
I loved this chapter, I am glad we finally got to see inside his head.

 Report Review

Review #25, by Cannons The Informant

28th October 2014:
Hi, I am here with your promised review.

I thought this was an interesting start, it is always hit and miss with AU's for me so I was surprised to say that I enjoyed it. Despite the fact that there were quite a lot of things that had changed. It always takes a little while for me to get adjusted in AU but you held my attention for the full chapter and ended it with a magnificent cliff hanger!

So despite the fact that I will have to get my head around your new world, I really did enjoy this chapter.

There are so many things that I want to pick up on! I am excited by Devlin, there were two points in the chapter in which you indicated that he was powerful at such a young age. The first with Harry and then the second by refusing to scream when being tortured. Which is such a huge thing because as we know being tortured by Voldemort is no joke.

Add that to the fact that he seems to want to be able to impress Voldemort and the Death Eater mentioned that he actually managed to impress Voldemort. I am hoping that Voldemort actually takes Devlin under his wing and harness that incredible power he seems to posses. Seeing Harry come up against his own son would be so interesting. I know that sounds really crazy but it would be fascinating! Also as you mentioned he is only six, he seems well aware of his surroundings.

I am liking this Death Eater, he is not at all intimidated or shows and signs of being scared but there is something real about him. Unlike other Death Eaters he shows some emotion and regret almost where Devlin is concerned and he seems pretty paranoid about Voldemort as he wont say anything unless Harry proves himself to him. I am really intrigued to find out more about him.

The only thing I would say was the line break annoyed me, but that is pretty pedantic of me to mention I guess. :P

Anyway, this is a gripping first chapter.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>