Reading Reviews for A Load of Duffers
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SnatchtheSnitch3 One

5th January 2014:
You should definitely keep going. I know this is officially 'abandoned' but maybe you should rethink that. The first two chapters are very good. But one thing keeps nagging at me-Who is the main character? I can't seem to figure it out, and I know you probably wanted it that way, but man! It's getting to me.

Author's Response: You know, this story keeps coming back to kick me every time I think I've managed my plot bunnies. I'm deeply considering getting back into writing it. You might just find out who the main character is after all! Thank you for the review!
~cb ")


 Report Review

Review #2, by tangledconstellations One

1st July 2012:
Hello again!

I've always been really interested in Hogwarts when Harry's away. I'm actually midway through the planning stages of my own 'DH' Hogwarts story. It's such an awful, twisted time I can hardly imagine it in contrast to sparkly, magical 'Philosophers Stone'. I felt your interpretation of it was really interesting, almost as though life at school just kept going on and on, and I guess it did. One tiny criticism though - I felt as though things were a little too ordinary. I guess we do have no way of knowing though how life at Hogwarts was, but instead of normal things occuringI really got the impression it was so different and restricting and really quite abusive. But each interpretation to their own :)

The development of your character was also really interesting. They're so detatched it is striking, as though they haven't come to terms with anything that has happened, suggesting so much underlying pain. It's interesting that they dont know whether to be good or bad, because this age-old good vs evil battle has existed for infinity, and I hope in the end they settle upon a middle ground. I like that they've got contrasting emotions and are really quite isolated - I really feel for this character, but at the same time I can't connect. Developing this further in the next chapter is going to be really interesting :)

A great second chapter! Update soon!


Laura xxx

Author's Response: Thanks for the lovely review! I really appreciate the criticisms and compliments! I haven't really gotten a grip on the character yet, so to speak, which is why I've abandoned this story until things settle down with my other story. However, I'll probably come back. Thanks for the review!
~cb ")


 Report Review

Review #3, by tangledconstellations Prologue

1st July 2012:
Hey!

Well, I was totally sucked in by your whole idea - but I have a dispute! I think Hufflepuffs are great! xD

This was a really great first chapter though. I've got a feeling I'm going to love getting to know your character, as they're ever so fiesty and funny. There were loads of really funny lines in this, and as a writer that just CAN'T do humour myself I really envy you :} In a way the fact that your character is trying to go against being a 'Puff kinda makes them more of one. I want to pat them on the head and give them glitter and glue to play with. ...kidding!

This was a fairly short first chapter though, but I see your next one is a bit longer! I'm looking forward to you sinking into the story line :)

Laura xxx

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the lovely review! I in fact am a 'Puff on Pottermore so don't worry, I have a great respect for them! Thanks for the lovely review! The chapter was short because it's only a prologue, don't worry ;)
~cb ")


 Report Review

Review #4, by Gratel Prologue

1st July 2012:
I think your story's great :] It was consistent and pretty moving.
I think it was interesting that you wrote about a different part of Hogwarts. The Hufflepuffs probably did seem to be the most "obscure" house compared to the other houses, so seeing a story from a Hufflepuff's point of view was interesting too.

The way the main character talks seemed very angry but also funny, to me. The character seemed angry, but the readers can still be comfortable with him and they can still understand the character.

I think you also made a good point about how the students were sorted. It made me think of the "stereotypes" for the houses. There was more to the students than the House they were sorted into. (For example, how Hermione said the Sorting Hat thought about putting her in Ravenclaw because of her intelligence, or how Snape was Dumbledore's ally, even though Snape was in the Slytherin House. Not that they should've been changed into another house...)

And last but not least, it was interesting that he wanted to be the villain and the hero so I'm hoping to read about that too. I liked reading about the character's conflict. He wanted to "be someone." I would definitely read the next chapters.

It was a funny, moving, enjoyable story =)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! I really enjoy reading long reviews because it makes me smile that someone would really take the time to tell me all they thought about the chapter! Thanks again! Glad to hear you enjoyed it!
~cb ")


 Report Review

Review #5, by xxstaindrosesxx Prologue

28th May 2012:
Haha! A load of duffers and the sunshine brigade. That was absolutely hilarious and I could definitely see how other students might think that.

I really enjoyed this from the start. It's funny, and the fact it is written in first person does not distract from the story at all.

Anyways, good job, and now I'm on to chapter 2.

Author's Response: Hahaha aww thanks so much! It's nice to hear that somebody thinks I'm funny ;) Glad to hear you liked the first chapter and thanks for the review!
~cb ")


 Report Review

Review #6, by Miss Muggle One

27th May 2012:
Evil ending! I like how this shows a lot of how Hogwarts was during the Deathly Hallows book. And both sides, too. It's very interesting and I hope to read the next chapter soon!

Author's Response: Thanks a lot! I'm glad you liked it as this chapter was kind of all over the place as I was writing it.
~cb


 Report Review

Review #7, by Miss Muggle Prologue

27th May 2012:
I love the rant on Hufflepuffs! I wonder how the character will be a hero and a villain. I must read on :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much! And you'll just have to wait and see... ;)
~cb


 Report Review

Review #8, by Elise Prologue

11th March 2012:
I liked it, it was a great introduction :P

I love the contradiction because really who says a puffer alays has to be cheerful, the house you are sorted into shouldn't define you.

I look forward to reading more if you continue :D

xxx

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I don't know exactly where I'm going with this, but I've got a rough outline so it's good to hear that someone thinks it's got potential!
~cb ")


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login