Reading Reviews for The Winds of Azkaban
  
105 Reviews Found

Review #1, by foreverfleur Of Memories to be Saved

19th May 2015:
What a great, great ending! Not too sappy, just happy enough. Again--I keep coming back to this word, I know--but organic is how I like to describe your plot line. It is just so rare to find a Draco-Hermione short story as natural in its development as yours.

Your story is so great in fact --- it just leaves me wanting more. How I wish you would continue the threads of this story in a sequel that chronicles the trials and tribulations they face as a couple, as Draco reintegrates into wizarding society. Obvi, no pressure! I can barely update once a year, but thought I'd put that out there... and I'm sure I'm not the first to suggest it. Ha!

Anyways, I am a full-fledged fan Dark Whisper. Bravo on a job well done! I look forward to reading more of your work. --ffleur

 Report Review

Review #2, by foreverfleur Of Heat and Apples and Falling in Love

19th May 2015:
Is it weird that for the first part of this chapter, when you were describing the cold... I couldn't get the final scene of Titanic out of my head, when Jack and Rose are on that darned wooden plank. Yes? Ok. Needless to say, that I thought back to a film as visually stunning as Titanic, while reading your descriptions, should say it all. You have a very fluid, almost cinematic way with words and dialogue, in particular, that is really wonderful to read.

This was another great chapter. It was fun to see the relationship develop over things as simple and silly, as apples and newspapers. Again, I really felt their relationship to be developing in such an organic way.

Perhaps you've considered this before... but one thing I think I would have liked to see you develop more is Hermione's experience at Azkaban. Apart from her interactions with Draco, and the Staff, who seem amiable enough towards her, I wonder if being in that environment does not also have a negative effect on her disposition? Because she herself was not a prisoner, is she immune to the feelings of torment imposed on those sentenced to Azkaban? I would expect for some reason -- especially, if she was visiting Draco at his cell -- for her interactions, their interactions to be colored a bit more by the dreadfulness of their surroundings, psychologically in particular. Anyways -- that's just a random thought I had that in no way diminishes how much I have enjoyed this story thus far.

Here's to another brilliant addition! Why are there only three?? Looking forward to reading the final installment, all the same. --ffleur

 Report Review

Review #3, by foreverfleur The Fate of the Malfoys

19th May 2015:
This is one of the most original frameworks for a Draco-Hermione romance I have ever read. Merciful Obliviation! How simple, how brilliant!

I thoroughly enjoyed this first chapter. It was well-paced and drew me in from the moment I started reading. Never once did I feel like you rushed their relationship, nor did I feel anything to be out of character.

In fact, I absolutely loved your characterizations of the entire Malfoy family. Narcissa and Draco are two of my absolute favorite characters to write--in many ways they are so underdeveloped in the books that JKR leaves us ample space to really play around with them, to make them our own. I don't usually pair Narcissa as happily with Lucius in my own stories as you do (minus the 'death penalty thing'), but goodness--you had me rooting for them for the first time in a long time! Such unconditional love--and most of all I believed their softer side.

When Draco calls Hermione out for not believing him that he thought he deserved a lesser sentence--that was such a powerful moment. Of course, Hermione has her prejudices! Her coming to the realization that perhaps she doesn't know Malfoy at all, it was such an organic pivot point in the chapter, in their burgeoning relationship and a flawless one at that.

My favorite part in this chapter though was when you drew the connection between Narcissa's relationship with Draco, and Lily's relationship to Harry. I had this incredible AH-HA moment while reading it that just made me reconsider everything. I've always thought Narcissa's one redeeming factor to be her love for her son, its that which humanizes her most. But, I never had ventured as far as to connect her with Lily in that way. Beautiful leap, and very effective!

Wonderful story so far! I am so glad I stumbled upon this and look forward to reading the rest. --ffleur

 Report Review

Review #4, by Jennisa Moniq Of Memories to be Saved

18th May 2015:
Such a nice story :))). Love it love it

Author's Response: Jennisa Moniq,

Hello! Thank you so much for commenting. I'm so glad that you enjoyed this one. I had fun with the plot twist! :)

Thanks,
Sincerely,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #5, by tbeth Of Memories to be Saved

17th May 2015:
Wonderful. Clever and lovely. Sigh, my fangirl heart is happy. Thank you. Great job :)

Author's Response: tbeth,

Hello. And thank you so much for commenting. Yes, I too have a fangirl heart, so I know exactly what you mean. LOL!

I do love these two together.

Thanks so much for the compliment and for taking a chance on this story.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #6, by Andromeda16 Of Heat and Apples and Falling in Love

16th May 2015:
That was beautiful! I was on the edge of my seat the entire time. So happy his sentence was changed! Please keep writing!

Author's Response: Andromeda16,

Ah, thank you for saying that! I don't normally do suspense, but had tons of fun with the twists to this story.

Thank you so much for the compliments!

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #7, by Andromeda16 The Fate of the Malfoys

16th May 2015:
Such a wonderful and well written story! Great work!

Author's Response: Andromeda16,

Awe, thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for commenting!

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #8, by neil chandler Of Memories to be Saved

9th May 2015:
You made me cry and for me that means you have a gift of writing from the heart. Thank you. Love it.

Author's Response: Neil,

Awe, I made you cry? Wow! That means you must have a wonderfully big heart. Thank you so much for telling me. It is a true compliment as a writer, really.

It is your comment that has me re-reading this story and finally seeing all of the grammatical errors! Yikes! So the edited version is in the queue.

Thanks so much for taking a chance on this story and for commenting.

Thank you, sincerely,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #9, by Heliah Of Memories to be Saved

26th November 2014:
One of my favorite stories on HPFF! I have reread it several times. Thank you for your wiring.

Author's Response: Heliah,

Well, thank you so much! That is a huge compliment as there are so many wonderful stories here. I'm glad you enjoyed this story with a twist! I enjoyed writing their emotions and exploring the consequences of Obliviation.

Thanks for leaving me a message!
Sincerely,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #10, by ArtyGirl Of Memories to be Saved

6th November 2014:
I love your writing. This and Delilah... can I read your writing every day of my life? Seriously.

Author's Response: ArtyGirl,
Awe... what an amazing compliment. That is so very sweet of you to say. It makes me want to write more and more and more. Thank you!

There will be more of Delilah soon.

Thanks again,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #11, by Silenceislouderthanwords14 Of Memories to be Saved

12th August 2014:
"I don't know what is going to happen. But my love for you... is why I come back. And I'll continue coming back until the end, knowing that I was loved by you for a thousand days."

Okay, let me start off by saying, this quote made tears come to my eyes. It was so beautiful, and so heartbreaking, at the same time. And every time Draco called Hermione his angel I melted.

This story is so beautiful. I felt every part of what was going on, from start to finish. every smile, every heart break, the anxiousness of Draco to find Hermione, I just kept getting pulled in every single sentence.

The Adam and Eve references were pretty great, in my opinion. It made so much sense. I love how you put the Eve was Adam's helper, because that's what she was created to be. Not just someone to boss around. I love it!

I shed a tear or two after every chapter, and I haven't loved a story so much to have done that. This is pure, beautiful, wonderful Dramione, and it just makes the ship that much more special to me.

You have so much talent as a writer!! I love, love this story :)

Author's Response: Silenceislouderthanwords14,

Wow, this review is just breathtaking and leaves me rather speechless, but I shall try... :)

You picked up one of my favorite lines in this... being loved for a thousand days. It was so bittersweet, really. Thanks so much for mentioning it.

And yes, she was an angel in this. Not just his, but to the many freezing men in Azkaban. She didn't have to do it, but her character cannot help but care for others, no matter what they've done, they are still people in her eyes. And prisoners are easily forgotten as people go on about their lives.

And yes, Adam and Eve... I'm so glad that you agree. Eve was created to be a helper, not one to be bossed or owned.

You lend generous compliments to me as a writer and I appreciate them so very much. It is wonderful to know that I was able to evoke emotions from readers and that they 'feel' the story.

Thank you so much! And my apologies for taking so long to respond.

My heart thanks you.
Sincerely,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #12, by marauderslover15 Of Memories to be Saved

29th April 2014:
I am so happy with the ending! It was so romantic in a way & beautiful! And the idea of "love" was just great! 10/10!

Author's Response: marauderslover15,

Awe, thank you! I'm so glad that you enjoyed this story and gave me wonderful compliments and a generous 10! :D Thank you!

And yes, "love" is the most important thing of all. No one can take the love you feel for someone away... even after they are gone. Love remains, after everything else has gone. It is certainly the most important thing. Draco had it right all along. ;)

Thank you so much!
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #13, by marauderslover15 Of Heat and Apples and Falling in Love

28th April 2014:
SO sad. My stomach is twisting right now. Their love is so pure. To actually love someone without any physical contact and to be there for the lowest times. BEAUTIFUL!

Author's Response: marauderslover15,

Ah, yes... the plot twist. Now it is her that will be forgetting everything. It is so sweet that you mention loving someone without physical contact. There really is something to be said about it. It makes every touch that much more meaningful.

Thank you! :)
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #14, by marauderslover15 The Fate of the Malfoys

28th April 2014:
The first chapter was so beautiful. I feel so burden with their feelings and how Hermione no matter what will never be good for Draco and how he wouldn't remember her. This chapter was priceless.

Author's Response: Marauderslover15,

Ah, hello! Thank you so much for you lovely review of this chapter. Yes, a lot of emotion in this first chapter, sad that she will never be good enough and he won't remember her kindness... or anything, really.

Thanks so much for finding this story and taking a chance on it.

Much appreciated,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #15, by KF Of Memories to be Saved

19th April 2014:
I'm fairly new to the Dramione ship. I was very much against it for a number of years before I decided to explore it on a whim because I wanted to understand why it was so popular. I think that this story is the one that I've been craving to find since I started my exploration. I've been bookmarking Dramione stories recently but none of them have gripped me as much as this one has.

It was extremely beautiful and incredibly well done. What I've grown to admire about this couple in comparison to the other pairing I ship (Ron/Hermione) is that, if done properly, the Dramione ship exposes and neatly intertwines their shortcomings as characters very easily. Before I started bookmarking Dramione stories I said to myself, "If only these Dramione fics didn't play on goodgirl/badboy tropes and actually focused on crashing them together to develop as characters," and this is what I found with this story.

At first I didn't want to read it because I'm not a fan of drama or angst but I decided to give it a shot because it was popular, the banner was beautifully made, and the description sounded promising. What I really admire about this story is that it combines so many complexities at once and its done seamlessly. I've seen other Dramione fanfiction and they fall into the habit of writing bland, television esque versions of the characters in order to fill in the gaps of the personalities that we don't know in depth about either of them. What I like is that you keep them completely in tact and you actually understand their pitfalls that draw them together - their sense of pride and clinging to their own perspectives in fear that giving in will make them vulnerable. I love that.

I over identify with both of the characters personally so I enjoy it when I'm able to spot their shortcomings written out in accordance to each other because they serve as such a strong foundation. Hermione's major pitfall is her annoying sense of higher justice. Draco's version is that his pride for his honor and family "justifies" his behavior and his treatment towards other people. Both of them use them as convenient excuses. When they're smashed together you can get something quite wonderful.

By the second chapter you had already had me hooked and by the middle of it I was afraid of deleting my bookmark of this story because I wouldn't be able to stand seeing Draco obliviated. I couldn't do it. I wasn't crying but I had such a yearning for them to be together. As soon as I saw the ram patronus glide into that room I literally felt a gasp of relief. Not even a sigh, but literally a gasp. I'm dramatic. Lol.

You've done this perfectly and because of this story alone you've guaranteed a new reader if your other stories because this one was so god damn well written. I'm not a member of HPFF and haven't been since I was about 15 (I'm 22 now) and reading this along with a few other select Dramione fanfiction has been a rather pleasurable past time for me.

All of this was very beautiful and I'm delighted that you took on that writing challenge. I don't think I'd be nearly as attached to this ship if I didn't read this and see that it was actually possible for an author to weave all of the nuances to these characters and their dynamic that I've wanted to see written.

Thank you so much. I've bookmarked this story to my Firefox bookmarks and have given it an A+ and is the only fanfiction I've ever given such a high grade to.

- KF

Author's Response: Dearest KF,

Oh my stars, how do I thank you for this kind and generous response? You have humbled me and rendered me speechless. I think I might have to print this review and hang it on my wall. :)

Thank you sincerely.

I have to say that I am quite proud of you in your quest to seek out why people love Dramione so much. To many, it is their favorite ship. Most of those who don't like it, don't care to understand why. So for that, I commend you and thank you for taking a chance on my story.

It is wonderful to read of your thoughts and emotions as you read. This story certainly had its twists and turns and ups and downs.

As far as characterization: I love these two as they are... prideful and righteous to the core. And I too, can relate to them both, so I guess I "understand" them on some level and enjoy writing them without changing them.

Thank you again for all that you have mentioned and the compliments that you give me as a writer. Your high marks are truly wonderful. THANK YOU!

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #16, by Janner Of Memories to be Saved

3rd April 2014:
Thoroughly enjoyed this story.

Very well done!

Author's Response: Janner,

Ah, thanks so much for finding this story! I'm glad to hear that you liked it. I had fun writing the twist and the turn of events, the suspense, and angst. I just love these two together. :) Thanks so much for taking a chance on it and for commenting...

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #17, by Austenreader Of Memories to be Saved

23rd December 2013:
Thank you so much for writing this amazing and heartfelt story! You made me cry there! So much so that you made me remember the time when I had to give up someone in my life. Ahh. This is how writing should be, evoking feelings, stirring memories, even yearning for something I currently do not have. You are an amazing writer! Please continue to write more Dramione stories. I will read them all. Thank you again!

Author's Response: Austenreader,

Hello there! Awe, I made you cry? *sends tissue* Thank you for telling me. It is a rare review that tells me something so personal as stirring a sad memory in their own life. I'm sorry to hear of your loss... and that is really what it is, even if you are the one giving up someone. It is heartbreaking. And really, you telling me that my story brought you to tears tells me that you have a wonderful heart.

I love reading (and writing) sad stories for the reasons you mention... evoking feelings, stirring memories. Oh, yes. I love them and it is a true compliment to me as a writer that I was able to do that.

Thank you so much for your heartfelt review. It is a gem to cherish.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #18, by Rae Of Memories to be Saved

2nd November 2013:
THIS. IS. PERFECTION. Oh my god. Dramione = BEST SHIP EVER. Why didn't this happen in the books? Holy wow. I cried while reading this. Honestly. This was the most perfect and beautiful Dramione I have ever read. I have only one complaint: the ending. Was it rushed? Something about it feels rushed to me. Like you were in a hurry to get the writing done. I don't know. And the Warden? Was he SO important to have the last few paragraphs entirely about him, and what he did? The Warden's deeds were surely something to be told, but after that, a final paragraph or two about something Hermione and Draco learned from each other. And the last sentence would be a quote from Draco that Hermione was remembering, or vise versa. Oh well. It was still perfection, even without the Warden's removal from the ending. IT IS STILL THE BEST DRAMIONE EVER. NO QUESTIONS ASKED. OK? OK. YOU ROCK AT WRITING DRAMIONE.

~Lots of love for you and Dramione,

Rae😘

Author's Response: Rae,

Oh, my, I'm not sure that this is perfection, but I must agree that Dramione is certainly the best ship ever! XD I love these two together and in my stories about them, I always try to make their relationship believable or at least possible.

Awe, you cried? *sends tissue* That is very sweet of you to tell me.

And ah, the ending. You know, I thought it was rushed too and even revised it a bit. But in the end, these two weren't allowed to touch for so long, that I couldn't withhold their relationship any longer. They suffered long enough. :)

And the Warden? Well, sometimes the slightest thing can make all the difference. It was my 'surprising little piece of the puzzle' that was quite important to explain how the tables had turned so much.

Thanks truly for ranking this story so highly on the list of awesome Dramiones on this site. THANK YOU!

Lots of love to you too and to our favorite ship! Thanks for commenting...
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #19, by Patty Of Memories to be Saved

28th October 2013:
great story and so well written! hope to read more from you soon

Author's Response: Patty,

Ah, thank you so very much for you review of this story. I'm glad that you enjoyed it.

More from me in the coming week.

Thanks again,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #20, by Danielle Felton Of Memories to be Saved

19th October 2013:
This was absolutely amazing! I'm obsessed with Delilah's and it makes me sad to not see updates :'( I'm impatiently awaiting your next chapter! :)

Author's Response: Danielle Felton,

Hello and thank you! I'm so happy to hear that you liked this story. It was nice of you to check out my other stories waiting for "Delilah." LOL!

Thanks so much for commenting.

There is more Delilah coming...
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #21, by In Love Of Memories to be Saved

7th October 2013:
I am in love with this story! The way it was written, the story line, just... ALL OF IT! Please tell us you are making a sequel or something?

Author's Response: In Love,

Awe, thanks so much! It is wonderful to hear that you loved it so much. But I will say... no sequel. Sorry. Their story continues in other stories, I suppose. :)

I just love these two together and I enjoy trying to conjure believable stories on how they could get together. Fun stuff to imagine! LOL!

Thank you so much for your review.
Much appreciated,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #22, by p0tter fan Of Memories to be Saved

7th October 2013:
Very well written! I only wish it had been longer.

Author's Response: Dear P0tter fan,

Awe, thank you so much! Longer probably would be better, but alas, good things must end. Although, I suppose the end of this story is really a beginning for these two. I'm so happy that you enjoyed it. Thanks for leaving a comment!

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #23, by p0tter fan Of Heat and Apples and Falling in Love

7th October 2013:
This is an amazing story!

Author's Response: p0tter fan,

Thank you! I'm so glad that you are liking it so far. I had a lot of fun writing that chapter, especially the little plot twist.

Thanks for commenting!
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #24, by Bailey Of Memories to be Saved

6th October 2013:
This is probably my favorite story! Excellent job writing it!

Author's Response: Baily,

Wow, really? There are a ton of wonderful stories on this amazing site. Thanks for ranking this one so highly on your list! And thanks so much for commenting!

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #25, by lindslo2012 Of Memories to be Saved

6th October 2013:
I LOVED your story!!! It was amazing... what good ideas you had. :)

Author's Response: lindslo2012,
Awe, thanks so much. I had a lot of fun writing this story... especially the little plot twist. Thanks for commenting. :)

Dark Whisper


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>