Reading Reviews for forget-me-not
  
42 Reviews Found

Review #1, by aquabluez17 Living

2nd March 2013:
Awww!! Poor thing!! I'm glad the ending was happy, really!

I would have loved to know more bout Leigh but its alright. He seems like the sweetest person ever haha. So she didn't try to kill herself! Yay! lol. That would just be too sad.

Well this was a great story!! Im glad you wrote this!

Until your next story!

Mya

 Report Review

Review #2, by aquabluez17 Learning

2nd March 2013:
oooh!! Molly!! Im glad shes getting better :P

Looks like shes becoming more of a likable person like this compared to before.

Great job! I really loved the characterization and the internal struggle you showed with Molly not remembering

 Report Review

Review #3, by aquabluez17 Waking

2nd March 2013:
aww thats so sad. poor Molly. I liked the story plot and character description you hav added.

I do feel that maybe a bit more emotion on Molly could help the story and reader feel more connected w her.

I wonder whos face Molly keeps seeing

 Report Review

Review #4, by manno_malfoy Living

24th October 2012:
YAY! MYSTERY MAN HAS APPEARED! And he was so worth the wait!

This chapter was absolutely beautiful! You've worked with emotions really well here and I was so excited that I was rooting for Molly throughout. The previous chapter, Molly's acceptance of her new self was rather subtle and was shown in how she was enjoying the new things she was getting to experience. This time though, she seems sure about what she wants and that makes her such a strong character. I really, really like strong characters, especially those aren't commonly admired.

I love Audrey's reaction to seeing the sketch! That scene was described really well I could see and feel everything! I'm also happy that Audrey apologised for coming in between Molly and Leigh. They never really should've because it never really was Leigh's fault.

I absolutely adored the reunion scene! It was epic and romantic I was just very happy for the two of them. I loved the way you described the rain and the cold and how you've described Leigh through Molly's eyes and how she was feeling! It really helped the scene make an impact! I'm also happy to see that Leigh is okay with exploring new Molly along with Molly. It shows how he truly cares for her.

I'm kind of sad we never really get to know what happened the night of the accident because I was really curious but I suppose that's okay. Molly is a different person now and she doesn't really care about what's passed.

The epilogue was rather cute! I loved the part where the paramedic gave Leigh painkiller when he started to talk about hexes. It's really funny!

I am very glad I've come across this story because I truly enjoyed it! You've done a wonderful job with it, really! :D

 Report Review

Review #5, by manno_malfoy Learning

24th October 2012:
WHY ISN'T THE BOY INTRODUCED IN THIS CHAPTER?! WHY HOLD HIM OFF? I WANT MYSTERY MAN NOW!

Okay, I'm calmer now. Wish I had gnomes to throw off when I'm angry; I'm kind of jealous.

What I really liked about this chapter was how you picked things that happen routinely -mornings, night-outs, and family gatherings at the Burrow- and showed how Molly was acting differently towards these things. It really develops her as a character and it's fun to see that she's starting to adapt to things and embracing the fact that the accident may have changed her.

I like how she and Lucy have bonded a little this chapter and how both Lucy and James are trying their best to be supportive.

Although this chapter felt like a lot of dialogue and little description, I felt that it kind of worked with this particular story. Molly is just trying to get to know the people around her again and they're testing her to see if she's still the same person. And I think you're doing a great job with showing how she feels about all of this.

NEXT CHAPTER! Mystery man better be there!

-Manno

 Report Review

Review #6, by manno_malfoy Waking

24th October 2012:
Hello! So I've just finished listening to the podcast of this story on HPPC and I thought I'd come by and leave a review (and continue on with the other chapters because I really want to know what will happen next).

I really like the idea of the story, and most importantly, the execution. The way you've blended humour and confusion together in the beginning was very entertaining and made things very realistic. You've also written her state of disorientation really well and without making it confusing to the readers, so that's really great! :)

The party scene was wonderful as well! I'd die if I had to re-get to know my family. It took me at least ten years of annual visits to get to match all the names with the faces. So I really do sympathise with with Molly. It's so sad that she doesn't really feel like old Molly, and that James talks about her like she's kind of gone just so they'd differentiate between the two. And it really isn't his fault that there isn't any other way around it, you know -because when he talked to her like she's old Molly she was hurt too- but it's still sad. I also like the idea of their being best friends; it's not often that you come upon a Next Gen story where Molly isn't boring and the least liked member of the family.

When James mentioned her being in the middle of the street, in the middle of the night, all I could think of is that scene from the Notebook where they were lying down in the middle of the street. Don't ask me why! But it's probably the way Molly was thinking about that boy just a few sentences before that.

Anyway, it's time to go read the following chapter! I can't wait to find out who the boy is and what Molly (really) was doing in the middle of the street!

-Manno

 Report Review

Review #7, by lilypotterfan123 Waking

31st August 2012:
Jenny, I love this first chapter!
You know, when I read that Draco would be MoM I immediately thought, oh dear god! Which was a nice touch I think. Molly's inner thoughts too about the light and what the healer's said were funny too. It's great how you can make this sort of a situation seem funny. Even though really, it's not too good about her forgetting everything, even her family.

From what James said, Molly seems a bit frightened of who she once was and if she ever found out I'd love to see how she reacts to her former self.

10/10 Jenny,
Bex :)

Author's Response: Hey Bex, wow, you made me blush! Thanks so much, I'm so happy.
I try to inject humour into everything, it's one of my worst writing habits :( I'm glad you like my fic, thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by spreaddapoo93 Living

25th June 2012:
A very pretty ending... I liked that acceptance of herself that Molly takes on, and the idea of change being good, to not need to fight for what's lost in the past, but look to what one has at that moment.

A nice, short read - I enjoyed it thoroughly. :)

Author's Response: Thanks, you've really hit the nail on the head there. While I would not be at all happy with losing my memory (I frequently have nightmares about it), the saying goes 'No use crying over spilt milk'. Molly's acceptance is the right mindset- she can't change what has happened.

Thanks so much for reading my short story, and reviewing xx


 Report Review

Review #9, by spreaddapoo93 Learning

25th June 2012:
A very intriguing development of the only man she remembers! I liked the family encounter; so hilariously Weasley of them! And very nice integration of the food fight. It's been too long since we've seen food fights... The old pastime which no one cares to remember anymore... (*nostalgia*)

Anyway, to the important bit... Where's my promised hot chocolate and cakes? Do I get some with cyber-cinnamon, 'cause that'd be AWESOME! :)

Author's Response: Food fights are very uncommon nowadays... hmm. I put it in to provide a little light humour and show how Molly has changed, so I'm glad you liked it! :D

Thanks so much for the review *gives hot chocolate with cinnamon and also marshmallows and cakes* Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #10, by spreaddapoo93 Waking

25th June 2012:
Hey!
Just finished reading your first chapter; it's adorable! :) And I thoroughly enjoyed your characterisation of Molly - I haven't read anything with her as a main character; it was a nice, fresh start.

Author's Response: Thanks! I chose Molly because she isn't used a lot in fanfiction, and I wanted to give her a little adventure of her own.

Thank you very much for the review! :D I'm glad you liked it :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by CloakAuror9 Living

22nd June 2012:
Jenny! Hello there, my lovely friend, I'm so sorry for taking so long with the review. My internet has been down for the last two weeks and its still down. :(

I CAN'T BELIEVE ITS FINISHED! You really had everything working and then they get back together and I'm like 'Yes, I can't wait for chapter four!' but when I got to the end I was a bit sad to realise that there would be no such thing as chapter four.

Anyway, its been a short but fun journey with Molly. I think its a good thing that she never got her memory back again because I prefer this Molly now compared to the old one. This one seems a little bit more lively and adventurous than the old Molly.

Thank you Jenny, for being such a wonderful author and giving us a sweet short story! :D I really really enjoyed!

I have decided to not squeeze you any further,
Izzy xx ♥

Author's Response: Hey Izzy! Long time no chat! :(

I'm sorry there isn't a chapter four, I felt if I continued it then it would get too cliché and fluffy for words! I like the new Molly too, and I'm glad you do ;)

Thanks so much for the review, and thank you for not squeezing me any more! I'm not sure I could take it! :D

Love you, Jenny xx


 Report Review

Review #12, by Aguamenti123 Living

14th June 2012:
Oh my wow. I actually love this, so much, you nearly got the waterworks going then! I really love everything about this, but I'll narrow it down a bit more, because yeah. I love the contrast between old Molly and new Molly, and the way which you brought in old characters, and Molly's relationship with her family. Really well written, too :)
- Olive xx

Author's Response: Thank you so much :)

I tried to make the Mollys as different as possible, so I'm glad you liked it!

I'm super happy that you enjoyed the story! Thank you xx


 Report Review

Review #13, by Aguamenti123 Waking

14th June 2012:
Hello :) I love this idea so far, and can't believe I didn't read it earlier! Going to read more, so for now I'll just say I envy your ability to inject humour into things which could otherwise just be flat angst. Can I haz your abilities pleaz?

Author's Response: My abilities are limited, can I haz keeps them pleaz?

Unless you wish to swap your prose-writing for it? :P

Thanks, ma lovely :) xx


 Report Review

Review #14, by Vina Living

6th June 2012:
Nice stories, i love how you make Molly never remember her past anymore! This stories remind me a lot to the movie 'The Vow'!! The idea of never remembering huge chunk of your life is really fascinating but scary too!

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you liked my story. I haven't actually seen 'the Vow', but maybe it was unconsciously inspired by seeing an advert for it?

thank you so much for your review xx


 Report Review

Review #15, by CloakAuror9 Learning

3rd June 2012:
Jenny!

Well that was interesting! How could one forget to use the shower? Yet she can cook pancakes! Oh, the things losing your memory can do to you. :P

I love the food fight scene. She's really being more and more of a Weasley as the days go past! De-gnoming a garden like a boss? Check. Food fight with sister and mother? Check. She's a total boss.

Despite all the fun that was happening in the chapter, I couldn't help but wonder is the guy Percy was yelling at that night and the guy Molly was dreaming the same? Probably.

Molly's boyfriend perhaps? Maybe she snuck out with him a few times and the most recent one she got hit by a bus! :O This is genius! Someone tell me I was right!

As always, an amazing chapter! And I love your story!

Ta,
Izzy xx

PS: STILL. SQUEEZING. YOU.

Author's Response: Molly is a total boss, I really fell in love with her while writing this :)

:O I like to keep ya'll guessing, don't I?

Thanks for the review, and please stop squeezing, or I shall get sad. :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by CloakAuror9 Waking

25th May 2012:
Oh so supreme ruler, you have such oh so supreme talents. I'm still experimenting the different ways I can squeeze those talents and skills out of you. :)

You are a really fantastic writer, did you know? ;)

Let me begin with the summary, it was so true and it just triggered so many different memories from my life that I nearly cried.

From the summary, I drew out that the story was about someone remembering different scenes from their life and pointing out their flaws, mistakes and things like so. But I was wrong, I should've really expected something else from a person as fantastic as you.

The story was really well-done and I really like the way you spun things around. Molly Weasley not remembering things, getting hit by a random bus at night, a mysterious boy...jeez! Its only the first chapter and we've already got so many things to think about.


"Four and a thumb."

She smiled again. "You're a sharp one."

Yeah, like a butter knife.

Best line ever in the chapter! I was laughing so much at the sarcasm. I think you're doing a really good job characterising Molly, but I barely read stories with Molly as the main character so I'm pretty clueless about what type of character she is. :P

So far, I love the story and I am enjoying it very much! :D I hope you write more of this because its a story worth procrastinating for. :P

Ta,
CloakAuror9 xx
Recenseo 2012

Author's Response: No! No squeezing! It's not allowed! :O *commences major blushing* I love you so much :D

Awww, I'm glad you like the summary :(, but I promise I never meant to make you sad!

I'm glad you liked the different take on it- memory loss fics can be cliched, I think, so I hope you don't think I do that!

As Molly is next-gen, she's pretty much an open book, and I did choose her because she was one of the next-gens who was least written.

Thanks so much for such a wonderful review :) xx


 Report Review

Review #17, by WeasleyTwins Waking

21st May 2012:
Hi, WeasleyTwins here to review!

I would like to begin by saying that your summary just pulls at my heartstrings. So much so that I thought I was actually going to cry. It's simple, yet seems so incredibly true.

You know, I really enjoyed the minimalist description. It worked very well with the story, actually. Because Molly has lost her memory, it seems fitting that the description is minimal and only serves to set the scene without overloading the reader with too much information. I think this is what made the story flow so smoothly. You've got description and dialogue in a good mixture, neither dominating the story.

As for believability, honest to goodness, you had me dying laughing. The sarcasm really makes Molly's character pop. It's as if some of her former self has been retained even after the accident, yet she doesn't really realize it. I like that it seems like an unconscious thing and she's not really aware that she has retained something of her former self, if one may call it that. I think you've got a great plot started here. I see nothing that couldn't be considered unbelievable. It's all very natural, almost real - you create an atmosphere that suggests that this is canon. This shows your confidence as a writer and when that comes through in the style of your writing, I think you've done a great job.

Your writing style and the techniques you employ are lovely. I believe they work quite well with the setting and mood of the piece. Even though this is only the first chapter (that I've read, at least), I think this story has some definite potential. It's so very intriguing, the way you've used the sarcasm and minimalist description to pull readers in.

Overall, I thought it was a very good first chapter! Please feel free to re-request!

Shelby

Author's Response: (so sorry I didn't reply sooner, my internet died. I've managed to revive it, but I doubt it will live long...)

Hey! Thanks so much for the review, I am so incredibly happy you enjoyed it so much :D
*dances*

...I'm not sure if the minimalistic description was my intention, or just me being bad at writing descriptively, but thanks, I'm glad it works with the story!

I'm so glad you liked the sarcasm! I didn't want Molly to be really sad, and I thought happiness was unbelievable, so I settled for this mix of it with sarcasm- which was supposed to be from her original character.

Thanks so much for such a wonderful review, I'm so happy. Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Calypso  Waking

12th May 2012:
This is a really well written and intriguing beginning.

I thought you handled the first scene very well with the intial confusion as she woke up, followed by the worry as she finds she can't remember her name and then the panic of her family as the reader finally realises what trouble she's in. However, I liked that you interspersed the whole chapter with humour- it made it less angst-y and I laughed out loud when she was wondering whose family all the crazy red-heads were :P
You have also made her character very interesting because she is trying to reconcile whoever she was with whoever she now finds herself to be; I think it will be interesting to see how that resolves :)
Also, I really liked the discussion she had with James, that was really intense and sounded like a conversation that might actually take place under the circustances.
So yeah, I thought this was a really awesome start to a story- you have lots to work with and enough mystery to keep the reader reading on which I certainly will be!! :)
-Calypso

Author's Response: Thanks so much.
I'm happy you liked it, this first bit has undergone a lot of re-writing.
I'm afraid I can't write without humour- I get too worried that people won't like it! Humour is always there in everyday life anyway.

Thanks for such a lovely review, and I hope you carry on reading :D xx


 Report Review

Review #19, by SeverusSnape15 Living

16th April 2012:
Aww! I have to say, I love happy endings, and I do like this ending. The last line of the story is the PERFECT closer. It's completely wonderful, my dear!

I like the little epilogue that you made. It's very cute! I still wonder the full story of Molly's accident, though. It's not exactly clear WHY she was running across the street, and what they were doing, and I'd really like to know. I wished you'd said something about that that was clearer.

It's interesting how she didn't remember at all, and I like that twist. Usually people's memories come back to them in stories, because that's what the reader wants, but in this case, you did something different, but still gave the reader what they wanted. It was a very different story, and very original, I think.

Your paragraphs could still use some work, but it was better in this one. I think you took the time to just write your heart out with this chapter from the looks of it, but I'm not positive, haha. Well, I hope I was of some help. Feel free to request again/re-request if you make changes. ~Cierra.

Author's Response: Ah, I'm a sucker for happy endings, I'm glad you liked it :D

I didn't really explain her accident and why... I shall have to sort that out as well.

I didn't want Molly to remember everything- I was well aware of my straying into the dangerous cliche territory!

Thanks so much for your reviews, I shall definitely work on what you pointed out, thanks very much xx


 Report Review

Review #20, by SeverusSnape15 Learning

16th April 2012:
Hello again!

So, I think this chapter needed a little more. It was good, but it was pretty general. Usually, chapters are based on something, but this...well, it just seemed like it needed more. Again, with the paragraphs and description. There was a bit more description in this chapter than the last, but not much more. It still needs a lot of it.

Was cooking one of the things that Molly remembered? If so, you'd probably want to specify this. Maybe something like "This was one of the only things that she could really recall" or whatever. Just a suggestion, because it just sounds slightly odd that she doesn't know how to work the shower, yet she can remember how to make pancakes without explanation. :)

I do like this story, though! I really want to know who the guy is...that's a very good twist to this story so far. It's interesting, keeping me on edge.

~Cierra.

Author's Response: I wanted this chapter to be Molly getting her bearings, so it is a bit filler-y. I'll see if I can flesh it out a bit more.

The cooking- you point out fantastic things! You are wonderful, thanks so much, I shall change that immediately! :D

Thanks for the review!!


 Report Review

Review #21, by SeverusSnape15 Waking

16th April 2012:
Hey! Cierra(SS15) here with your review from the forums! My apologies on taking so long. I've been busy lately. I'll have all of your chapters done by today.

So, the first thing I noticed was the fact that you called the Healers, nurses. Though they would have been called Nurses in regular hospitals, in St. Mungos, it would have been Healers. Then, later, Molly says 'my Healer..' So, that made it a bit confusing if you didn't know the difference. I'm sure you do, though.

Second..I love PostSecrets ;) Just had to say that. Anyways, I think it was pretty good..but try adding a bit more detail. How was Molly feeling when James said that to her? WHY was she hurting because of the comment? How did that effect her? Details are good, you can almost never have too much. Most of your paragraphs are a bit short, so try to group them together if you don't really have much else to say. But, as I said before, detail is needed. I want to know what everything looks like..

The beginning was a bit confusing, in all honesty. I didn't understand it at first, but I did after a little bit. This sounds like it'll be a nice story. I'll move on to the next chapter, now. ~Cierra.

Author's Response: Hello, it's alright, RL can be awful sometimes :)

I totally didn't realise that- in my head the nurses and Healers were supposed to be different, but it should all be Healers, thanks for pointing that out!

More detail, got it :D

And the beginning was supposed to be a bit confusing, because Molly was confused about her surroundings.

Thanks very much for the review! :D


 Report Review

Review #22, by ginerva_molly_weasley Learning

18th March 2012:
Haha this story made me laugh so much!

I actually love it mainly because it does show how Molly is developing a character so I loved how you're showing her getting little feelings which influence how she does things like that little thought that Lucy didn't like pancakes.

It's interesting that you made her forget even the simple things such as putting the shower on. It shows nice attention to detail but also reminds us of just how vulnerable she still is in relation to not remembering anything. Also including the fact that she might not be able to go back to Hogwarts is really good!

The fact that Molly has changed just so much because of her accident shows that she really doesn't remember anything about herself! Even forgetting to de-gnome a garden I found very funny. People saying she's more of a Weasley now that she was is hilarious!

I love this story!

Author's Response: Yay! Humour= my weak side. :D

I'm glad you like how Molly is developing as a person, and she's kind of growing up and finding herself out all over again. Yeah, the vulnerability I wanted to show- I'm always having dreams where I can't remember what's happened in my life and it's terrifying.

And the de-gnoming? When I read it first in the books, I could not believe that you chucked gnomes over the hedge. (SPEW, anyone?) and I wanted to show that. It is pretty weird.

Thanks for the tag! :D


 Report Review

Review #23, by Janner Living

15th March 2012:
Wow, if this story came second, the winner must really be something special.

This is just a brilliant piece of writing. Evenly paced, interest in every line, good characterisations.

Everything I've come to expect from you as a writer.

Well Done.!

Author's Response: I haven't replied for a while as I've been basking in the glow of this review. Thank you so much! :D

I'm exceedingly happy you like it, and thank you very very much for the review! :D


 Report Review

Review #24, by Lillylover22 Living

15th March 2012:
That was so cute. I loved it 9/10 : )

Author's Response: Thanks! It's fluff, I know, and I'm glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by Lillylover22 Learning

15th March 2012:
It would be so hard for her parents to see their daughter have a complete personality change 9/10 : )

Author's Response: I agree, I couldn't imagine what it would be like to know someone like that. Thanks for the review :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>