Reading Reviews for A Brother's Plea
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by BKL8008 And the Response

9th December 2012:
I found the link to this one in the recommendations in the forums, in the Slytherin Common Room threads. I must say, this is an awesome read! Regulus & Kreacher are very well written, and I'd love to see more of what happened with them. Definitely going into my favorites list!

Author's Response: Wow, this was recommended in the Slytherin Common Room? Cool! I'm really glad you enjoyed it. Regulus has always fascinated me. It's a shame that we never got to meet him in the books. I'm glad you think I got the two main characters right. Thank you for this lovely and unexpected review! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Luna Dominique Potter And the Response

15th August 2012:
I have always been intrigued by Regulus's story, and I love to read about him. This story, this story that you wrote is absolutely perfect. Regulus is exactly how I imagined him, and all the other characters, too.

I didn't notice any grammar mistakes (yay for you! :D), but one time you used "alright", and it's actually supposed to be "all right". Sorry, that's just one of my pet peeves. XD

Again, job well done!

Author's Response: I'm thrilled you enjoyed this story! It's a shame that we never got to meet Regulus in the books but his story is just super fascinating! Yay for no grammar mistakes, and one word confusion mistake isn't too bad I suppose. Thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #3, by archer_of_the_wolves And the Response

20th June 2012:
Wow. This was so amazing. I always had a little respect for Regulus after hearing his story from Kreacher in Deathly Hallows, but this single one-shot may have just made him one of my favorite characters! You have such incredible diction and I think your characters are really well developed! I'm envious of your writing :) But wow... I sincerely think this is just stunning!

Author's Response: I've always been a bit saddened myself that we never really got to see Regulus in the actual books- we only just hear of him, mostly through Kreacher. I'm glad you liked my interpretation of him. And I'm flattered at your compliments! Thank you so much for leaving this review!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Maelody And the Response

23rd April 2012:
Wow. I set a challenge in my status over at the forums for someone to post a story they randomly stumbled upon on my status, and this story was one of the recommended ones. I'm glad they found it because this story is excellent! You really, really, caught my interest and had me almost in tears by the end for Regulus. Your writing is superb and I loved the relationship you had between the three, but most definitely Kreacher and Regulus. His mother gave me a good laugh, and his father gave me an inkling of hope that someone actually loved them, but the ending gave me absolute chills. This story was absolutely wonderful! :) 10/10!

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed this story! I had never written anyone of the Black family before (except Sirius), but this was how I always pictured this family. I'm absolutely thrilled that you liked the characters so much! Thank you very much for reviewing and letting me know!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Phoenix_Flames And the Response

23rd April 2012:
Hello there! So I was looking for something to read and hit random story and this is what I got, and immediately I was captivated just by the summary and I knew I had to read it! And I'm so glad I did.

I thought this was a great piece. I really enjoyed it. It was bittersweet to me in a few ways. We all know what happens to Regulus in the end - well, we know one thing and the rest is up to the imagination - but this gave him a brilliant character before Reg faces the final end. I thought you characterized him perfectly, and I could really understand his choices and his actions.

I also liked Kreacher. Odd, right? With how much I hate him in the books, movies, and such, I actually grew slightly fond of him. He was so loyal to Regulus. And seeing that thing be faithful to someone that has the right mindset and morals - even if they're deep down somewhere - is uplifting.

I don't know why this piece is uplifting to me. And bittersweet. I know what happens to Regulus, but I think it's Reg's determination that he formed throughout the piece that really makes me adore him and this piece. And his very different and unique relationship with his brother. I loved it! So much!

And it was beautifully written. I thought Kreacher was perfectly in character, and you SO brought the story to life!

All in all, such a great piece and I'm so glad I stumbled upon it! :)

Author's Response: Wow. Out of 76,000+ stories, mine came up on the random story button? That by itself is astonishing to me (with the statistical odds and all). Like on the title page, the main summary was given to me in a challenge on the forums, so I can't take credit for that part. :)

I've never actually written Regulus's character before, and I only read a few interpretations of him here on the archive. But I've always had an idea about him in my head, and I'm glad his characterization here (and subsequently Kreacher's) didn't disappoint you!

I honestly don't know how I came to choose to write a Regulus story, but I'm happy you liked it. Thank you so much for leaving this wonderful review! It was one I was not too certain about when I first posted it, but a review like yours makes me feel a bit more proud of it!


 Report Review

Review #6, by WeasleyLove102800 And the Response

24th February 2012:
Oh.My.God. You are amazing with cliffhangers!!! I wish this story would never end. Wow it is amazing like I said before. So can you put up the next chapter for Goodbye James Hello Derek?
Love,
WeasleyLove102800/Rachel Catenzaro
:p xoxo
10/10

Author's Response: Well, I didn't want to quote Kreacher's story in the books word for word. Sadly, we all know what happens after the last line. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts about this little piece! (When the next chapter is finished for GJ,HD, it'll be put in the queue asap!)

 Report Review

Review #7, by BettyMaeStrange And the Response

24th February 2012:
This is such a brilliant story!

I'm sorry I can't say much more than that, but there wasn't a thing I would change about it.

I thought the character portrayal of the Blacks was brilliant, and I really liked how Regulus' father wasn't the "typical" follower - he believes in Voldemort, but because he thinks he's right, not because he's some tyrannical fanatic, unlike how his wife seemed to be. She was a lot like Bella in away, which I thought linked nicely to the other side of the family.

Sirius' response was heartbreaking, though I can understand why he left the letters unread after living under such an oppressive roof as the Black's.

Regulus was brilliant, and really exactly as I had imagined him: independent, not too confident that he isn't willing to ask his brother for help, and above all, caring - as you showed with his interactions with Kreacher.

We never knew what Regulus himself thought, despite having joined the Death Eater ranks, and I've always believed that he was in it simply for the sake of destroying Voldemort and "getting to know the enemy", so again that's one of the reasons I enjoyed this.

The dialogue was perfect, the characters very well-rounded for a one-shot, and the portrayal of Regulus' desperation and determination was excellently portrayed.

Well done, and I wish you the best of luck for the challenge! :)
Bethan. xxx

Author's Response: I'm so happy that you enjoyed this story! This is the way that I thought the Black family operated, but I'd never had a chance to show them in any of my stories until now. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review! It has totally made my day! :D

 Report Review

Review #8, by rosepetal704 And the Response

23rd February 2012:
I was so excited when I saw this! I'd saw that you were doing a new one-shot, but I wasn't expecting it to be so soon after the update for Goodbye James, Hello Derek. I was just checking your page, not expecting anything new, and than I saw this! And my heart swelled with happiness!

Hey, I think I'm your first reviewer for this story! Yay! :D

Anyway, the story was awesome! Definitely just as great as I expected. It was quite sad...nevermind, it wasn't QUITE sad, it was REALLY sad. *sniff* If only Sirius had read the letters... But you know, I wonder what he would have done if he actually had.

Hmm, there were no lines that jumped out at me that I just loved...It was all great. I really quite like the way you portrayed Regulus. Oh yeah, I LOVED that last lin!

I took Kreachers hand in mine. I need you to take me back to that cave.

It's like a cliffhanger sort of, making you want to go to the next chapter (which their isn't), and yet it also seems rather final...if that makes sense. It might not. But either way, the point is I liked the last line.

So, overall, I really loved the story, but I'm pretty sure you already realized that by now. So if I don't end this review soon it's just going to get very repetitive. ('I loved the story, I loved the story, I loved the story'...) That might get boring. So I guess I'll end this now...ok, yeah. I'm really looking forward to everything you write in the future! :D

Author's Response: I think you might be delighted in knowing that you were one of the first people to even read the story! You've made me happy in just telling me that you were excited for this story to come out!

I'm so relieved that you weren't disappointed in this story! (phew) I honestly didn't know how readers might like/dislike something like this from me, so your review makes me feel a little better. And the 'next chapter' that you mentioned is told by Kreacher to Harry in DH. :)

Well, thank you so much for leaving a detailed review (I would never get bored with such praise!). And I just put MNSIF in the queue, so it should be up really soon!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login