Reading Reviews for Run
  
727 Reviews Found

Review #1, by LiveBreatheNeedHP In Plain Sight

12th December 2014:
Another great chapter! Loved the introduction of new characters, especially Lily and James and Regulus and Dobby and all the rest. Can't wait to see what ensues between Lily and Snape and am really hoping to read more about Regulus and Dilys. Those two really intrigue me for some reason. Really good job, loved learning more about the races and both The Grotta and Cliodna's Clock. Can't wait to read more, such good writing :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by LiveBreatheNeedHP Like Dreaming

11th December 2014:
I really enjoyed this chapter! Not redundant at all, because I think the relationship between Tonks and Remus has been really cutely and well written, so good job. Really looking forward to seeing what will happen to Crabbe and what the story is with this changing station attendant, if there is a story. Really good chapter lengths by the way. Not too short, not too long. Such good writing, loving this a lot :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by LiveBreatheNeedHP Newcomers

10th December 2014:
Yay!! I found this story again! I originally found it ages ago and then I lost it but I found it again and I am so happy that I did because it sounds amazing and I think about it a lot ... This story is so awesome. I love your description and your writing style, it is really really good. Love the banner, and can't wait to read more.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Karou_Marauder Like Dreaming

6th October 2014:
Aha! Some more information on the races! Gosh, imagine that...dying after death...ouch.

I'm glad Crabbe gets to go the Cliodna's Clock. It shows he wasn't truly evil (if my guesses about the Grotta are right) and just followed what everyone else did. Or maybe there's a rule about under-18s or something?

"Don't make any friends." Ooh...

-Karou

 Report Review

Review #5, by Karou_Marauder Newcomers

6th October 2014:
Hi there!

This is a great start. You've got me intrigued - I wonder what the races are, and who Cliodna is/was, and what the Grotta is (I'm guessing it's the bad place?) How long has Cliodna's Clock been around, anyway?

The descriptions are brilliant. I especially like the part about Rowena's roses, and the bit with Godric's cat made me laugh.

The premise of this story is so sad - and when the attendant thought Fred was George...oh dear. It's good to know, I suppose, that Dennis will live a lot longer than Colin. But 36 is still really young! :(

Let's go find out what the races are.

-Karou

 Report Review

Review #6, by MuellerKim Newcomers

28th July 2014:
Wow, I can't believe that this is the end! Five days of desperate reading, laughing, squeeling and frankly bawling my eyes out and I've finally finished reading this borderline masterpiece!
I don't even know where to begin; everything about this was semi-genius. The descriptions, the originality, the insane amount of detail and the ridiculously accurate characterisation. I dont have enough words on here to give you the review that I want so I'm just gonna list everything that I loved
Regulus Black and the way that he is so much like his brother (only a thousand times better because of his stellar slytherin charm), Snape's apology, the founders' love triangle, Crabbe's reaction when he lost the duel and confronted Slytherin (I can't believe that made me cry), Tonks' sacrifice, the hilarious moment when Fred tried to hit on Lily, Quidbumps (wouldn't want to play it personally but it'd be very fun to watch), the Weasley clock scene, George and Fred's switch and the greasy-haired git reference, the Narcissa and Teddy scene and everybody's escape to Witchery. There's so much more but really I loved it all! I hope Cedric finds love in Witchery and invests in buying better underpants in the future as well, he's just a really top guy!
Phenomenal read and well worth the time it took to do so! Sticking with the theme of immortality, this will be an eternal hpff favourite of mine, congratulations on being the incredibly talented author that you are and thankyou thankyou thankyou for writing this and particularly for giving Fred and the marauders a happy ending!
Olivia

 Report Review

Review #7, by MuNition Newcomers

2nd July 2014:
I posted the last few comments and have since begun exploring this site and reading more on it - mostly due to how this story piqued my interest. The story is great. Out of all the combinations of different ideas, this is one of the better executed and original ones I've read in HP fandom. So even with all my quibbles this story is asuredly (I had to misspell that and drop an 's' because of a content filter? REALLY?) provocative.

BUT, as you gave a reply which I can't reply to: my interpretation of Severus Snape is not happier or relaxed or anything like that. If anything, I think that by the time he died, he had long stopped loving Lily as anything more than an abstract concept and was perfectly aware of that. He knew that she wouldn't ever care for him the way he cared for her, and that he stopped caring about anything a long time prior. Including about her as anything more than a symbol for what his life could have been.

Perhaps darker, he'd already accept that his life was a complete negative influence on the world, and no matter how hard he worked to fix that it was an exercise in futility. His emotions in canon are always very basic ones on a psychological level (pain / hurt / pleasure, and the closest to a pure secondary one is anger - usually as an extension of a primary hurt), he shuts out the complicated ones completely.

I could expand upon this greatly and give a lot of reasoning, and in my head, Snape would be the first to admit that if there was an afterlife, there would be nothing for him there. Perhaps even going so far as seeing at death as the only way the war could end remotely well for him (relatively speaking).

The conclusion to this would be that he'd look to purposefully die in the afterlife and that his fervent hope was that there wasn't one in (at least) the year before he died. I don't think he'd be in a place to be able to have civilized discourse with James in the area... and quite possibly with Lily - whether it was his fault or not, she was an integral part of setting him down a very dark path, and one look at her would be enough to shatter whatever fantasies he'd been clinging to in order to survive to the end.

He'd just say "I'm sorry", and walk away, knowing full well that he won't be forgiven no matter what - even if such a possibility existed and that was completely too dark a line of thought. Once he'd be able to start healing, he would never forgive her for the damage she did (unless she did sleep with him, guys *can* be coaxed beyond 'stubborn' with feminine tools). And as for what he chose to do in the second round is absurd. He put his weakness on a soft target. The man went through two wars - even if he was an utter moron, he should have known better.

Oh, and quite possibly, he'd look to hurt Dumbledore. Not prank, not shout at, not argue, not guilt - that's the one person he'd probably think genuinely deserves to suffer and not an iota of comfort... and that would probably be as close to friendship as he'd get with anyone he ever knew. For a few years at least (he exhibits way too many symptoms of PTSD for any different outcome - he exhibited some milder ones at age 9 for crying out loud). Either that, or look forward to something cheerful like substance abuse.

Again, my interpretation of canon Snape is quite possibly darker than most.

As for Regulus - he was a year younger than Snape, with twenty years to lead a normal life in which he could have emotional growth (if anything, he'd be far more emotionally mature). Pranking seems unlikely, but that's your interpretation, so fair enough.

Other than that, I have a few nitpicks here and there, but this story is excellent, and very well written. I'm already nearing 4000 characters and need to find out how to continue send a message in some form (ahh, to be a noob again), if you would be willing to delve into deeper discussion (or ask me what I based that block of text on, which is an ultra bare-bones version).

Author's Response: Hi! I definitely welcome a Snape discussion, and I like that you brought all your passion to the table. I think that we view him so differently that we'll probably never agree on our interpretations.

I'll start with what you mentioned about Regulus. If Regulus were still alive on earth, I agree that he would have been more mature. But he's not alive. The thing about Cliodna's Clock is that it is a very small and unsatisfying place to exist. None of the residents have a real purpose. They can't leave the island. With the exception of the tournament, every day is exactly the same. They're stir-crazy, and that's why the insane notion of volunteering as a Grotta guard is even a thing. They're that desperate for a change in the monotony.

There's very little to do and that can have adverse effects on people - especially coupled with the temptation to stay forever young because they don't have to age here. Regulus came to Cliodna's Clock as a Death Eater. I imagine he would have overcompensated in trying to be likable, because he would be surrounded by those who hated Death Eaters. Somewhere during that period of gung-ho overcompensation, I envision him as getting stuck in arrested development. It's like how Sirius had some issues after he got out of Azkaban because he'd undergone so much trauma and his maturity was stunted. A man who'd lived out an ordinary life wouldn't have been as reckless as Sirius was. I gave some of Sirius's qualities to Regulus partially because they're brothers. Both of them are pretty messed up. I don't think they'll be able to grow until they find a way off the island.

I have noticed in your reviews that you have a tendency to be very blunt. Sharing your opinions is great, but you might want to watch how you word your criticisms. I finished Run two years ago, so I'm not going to go back and change round two. Everything that happened in that round, happened because I was playing God and I dictated it. When you say that his actions were 'absurd', based on your own personal feelings about Snape's characterization, remember that your opinion is subjective and criticisms of that nature are not constructive. And when you sign your name as "Ugh..." in a review, there is someone on the other side of the screen who has to read that. I spent a great deal of time and energy on this story. You might have written some of the elements differently, but keep in mind that we all have differing views of these characters. NONE of us are exactly spot-on, with the exception of JKR. Telling me that I wrote Snape "wrong" and confidently asserting what he would and wouldn't do, when neither of us know for sure what he would do since we're not JKR, isn't constructive. As fans, all we can do is guess.

Some writers have thicker skins than others. Luckily I can take a bullet to my story and I'll be okay with it. But please keep in mind that for some of us, posting stories for others to see is a vulnerable thing. Negative review can really ruin an author's day and perhaps their outlook on their story. I've seen authors on HPFF completely give up on a novel because they received a review that wasn't necessarily a flame, but did make them feel like they shouldn't bother posting anything unless it pleases absolutely everyone. Which is impossible. If I were on the receiving end of some of the more nitpick-y ones, I would be really disheartened. This is fanfiction. We're all amateurs. The way you phrase your opinions is important; focus more on what you like than what bothers you and remember that your words carry weight.

Anyway, thank you for reading Run and for your review, and I hope that if you haven't already, you write a Snape novel. All of my fanfiction exists because I couldn't find versions of characters on the archive that I wholly agreed with. If you're having difficulty finding a Snape you can really get on board with, definitely try your hand at that.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Ugh,. Blue and Bronze

29th June 2014:
After all the build-up: Snape just loses in the second round, walks around and sulks, gets pranked by the cool young kids (one was a year younger than him), and this is his grand resolution? No chat with Lily, no reckoning with James... he gets some pity and a lame joke to cheer him up?

Author's Response: That's a pretty dark way of viewing things. Snape DID chat with Lily and he DID get a reckoning with James. He got that a couple of chapters ago. Did he end up getting the girl? No. Because Lily loved James. That's canon. I can give him some semblance of a resolution without completely altering his relationship with Lily as well as his character. Keep in mind that Snape has only been dead for two months. This is a man who is fiercely stuck in his ways. He loved a girl when he was a kid and even though she married someone else, even though she died - he STILL remained attached to her for sixteen years. He has some deep-seated issues that won't be resolved within a novel that takes place over a span of two months. I could have decided to make him grin and bear it and turn into a happy-go-lucky guy, but that would not have been doing justice to his character. It's not Snape. It's an idealized version of Snape.

The best I could give him was a push in the right direction, in the direction of healing. Snape's happiness must happen once the curtain has closed, and it's going to take a long time to develop. He loved Lily for so long that it's all he knows how to do anymore, and now he's faced with the fact that he'll never get her. He has to move on. Throughout this novel I drew comparisons between Salazar and Snape, Godric and James, and Rowena and Lily. That's not a coincidence. I designed Rowena specifically for Severus. She wants a man who's complex, who's both dark and light. Godric and Salazar are one and the other, but Severus embodies both. Please do not underestimate exactly how far I have pushed Severus's character by lessening his fixation on Lily, apologizing to James, learning to let go, and enjoying Rowena's company. Those may seem like tiny steps to you but if you understand Severus you must understand that for him, those are BIG STEPS.

Yes, Snape loses in the second round. His motivation for being in the duel is gone because Lily was out in the first round. He did some of the cleverest maneuvering in round 2, but he got knocked out anyway because of karma. I love Severus but he was arrogant. I find it kind of insulting that you imply I made him "stupid" just because he didn't win. I wanted to knock him out of the tournament because I had other things planned for him on the sidelines. How can he grow, and how can he heal, if he's fighting for his life? I needed for him to move on. If he passed the second round and made it to the end, he would either 1.) Die 2.) Go back to earth for 24 hours, where he has no one and nobody likes him. Sometimes you can be the cleverest person in the room and you still get foiled because you can only control your own actions. You can't control other people's, so the situation is always up in the air.

And yeah, he got pranked by the cool young kids. Because they're kids and kids are mean and that's what they do.

You seem to be really hyper-focused on Snape's parts in this story. I find it odd that I would have to justify keeping to Severus's canon characteristics to someone who seems to really likes Severus. Ultimately I went with my gut and wrote him the way I think he would continue to exist post-mortem. He doesn't "deserve" for wonderful things to fall into his lap just because he loved Lily Potter. More than that has to redeem him, and he has to learn to be a better person. That in itself will be a decades-long journey. I don't like the rosy "happily-ever-after" Severus. I like Severus as JKR made him - gritty, ethically ambiguous, sometimes terrible even if we sympathize with him. This is the same man who tormented Neville Longbottom every chance he got simply because Neville EXISTED and hadn't been killed in the stead of Harry Potter. And that's canon.

Thanks for reading.


 Report Review

Review #9, by Ugh,. Tradition

29th June 2014:
Am I the only one who finds picking on the lonely and the feeble to be horrible things done by horrible people?

I hate Fred so much in this story. I know him and George were the only two people JKR dubbed as "cruel" (even Snape was "somewhat cruel" in her words), but this is just one step above torturing pets.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Just some guy. Capture the Flag

29th June 2014:
Snape down like that? Seriously? I thought he wasn't supposed to be stupid like all the trillion Jily stories out there :(

 Report Review

Review #11, by findingalways Double-Edged

26th June 2014:
Hiya, round 4!

Oh, the story is getting exciting! I love that you spend time setting up the story instead of just plopping us smack into the middle of it, that makes me very happy. Plus, you explain everything the reader - such as myself - wants to know through dialogue, much of the time, rather than simply through large, overly detailed paragraphs. You include the perfect amount of details and information where we're informed yet not bored.

Cedric is very nice. I can see how being there could harden you over time, so I like that his personality now is not just completely different from GoF, but that it has evolved. His caring nature toward Colin and Fred (wherever he is) shows that he's still the same Hufflepuff he was. I think Hufflepuff are typically charismatic and kind, and he is. He's brave as well, though. I like him.

Colin is sweet, but I feel so bad for him. I can't stop myself from seeing him as an eleven year old. I thought he posed an interesting question about when the worse/better time to die was.

Salazar, wow he was interesting, as was Ravenclaw! Wowza. Do I sense a little Founder love going on? Ooh. I would love to know what's going on exactly between the two of them. I enjoyed hearing about the races from both of their takes, nice touch with that.

Another excellent chapter; thank you!

10/10

 Report Review

Review #12, by findingalways In Plain Sight

26th June 2014:
Hiya, I'm back again!

This was, to no surprise, a third excellent chapter. I truly can not believe I am just now getting around to this story - it is phenomenal, just as everyone had previously said. I'm so intrigued by this plot and the whole idea and, of course, by the races. What a clever, genius idea! I've never seen anything remotely similar to the archives and I've visited this site for years.

Dobby is there! Ahhh! Much excitement! I have never cried as much over a fictional being as I have over Dobby's death - I was in hysterics, balling my eyes out. It's so great to see him doing well and being - well - himself. You capture him spot on perfectly as you have with all the other characters, and that's probably what I like most about this story, you keep them canon. Thank you.

Regulus was great. I've found him interesting for quite a while and so I'm happy to see him here among the villagers. I always imagined him as sort of Sirius with a meaner streak. And he is. He can't help but, for example, egg Dobby on, and that seems to be a Black family trait.

Lily is just so great, seemingly beautiful inside and out in both life and death. I love reading her internal conflict over Severus. I had never given it much thought as to how his heroic actions were seen from her point of view so this was not only a nice change, but I'm keenly fascinated. She brought up many a valid point that I would never have come up with on my own. She is certainly in a tricky situation now, I don't know what the proper way to handle her situation would be, to be perfectly honest.

Dilys (very interesting name, by the way, I can't seem to get over it) and Bathilda were bother very sweet, I loved when Dilys froze Regulus.

James, from what little we see of him, is exactly how I imagined him to be and I loved everything you explained about their relationship - such as their scavenger hunts.

The whole island and concept is so well thought out, bravo.

10/10

 Report Review

Review #13, by findingalways Like Dreaming

26th June 2014:
Hiya, again!

This was an excellent second chapter and I truly do not mind that there was some redundancy because it simply further sets up the story and it was needed for the Lupins, after all.

Tonks and Lupin are in my top five favorite ships, and I think you captured their interesting relationship perfectly. Their emotions were great and I loved the way all they could hardly think about was Teddy - very parental. I simply adored their relationship and how much they explained about what happened pre-death, as well as Remus leaving when Harry called him back with the Resurrection Stone, that was a very nice touch. Their relationship consisted of both a lot of arguing and a lot of love and you were seriously spot on, great job.

Crabbe is still just as unpleasant as he was in the books, great job. He's just so rude!

The girl who told them about the races was quite peculiar, I liked her.

I can not wait for the races to begin! It's such an original and exciting idea that I can not wait to read!

Phenomenal job, 10/10.

 Report Review

Review #14, by findingalways Newcomers

26th June 2014:
Hiya!

So, I had heard of this story, and how great it was, quite a while ago and then after a fellow member recommended it, I couldn't help but to come check it out - and I am SO glad I did!

First off, this is such an incredibly original idea and I completely adore it! I have never read or even heard of a story with this plot, but it is pure genius and I am so glad this plot bunny found it's way into your brain!

Your writing is stupendous. I enjoy reading things that aren't chock-full of grammatical errors that make it hard to understand, and yours is clear of them for all that I could tell. Plus, your writing style is perfect. You're detailed without overdoing it so much that it takes away from the story.

The setting of the story was so intriguing. It's a totally interesting and new take on life after death and the whole village was so well described. I felt like I was really there! Everything from the clock to the way the crow caws once for every year of the newly deceased'a life, that was genius.

Cedric captured my attention from the first paragraph of the story. He's so three dimensional and interesting and I enjoyed what I saw from his perspective. I also liked the casual mention of Sirius - nice touch.

Adding Godric and Rowena were very nice touches - I didn't think they would be included as well!

I loved that you added Gideon and Fabian - Molly's brothers - as well.

Then Colin was cute, although I doubt I will ever be able to stop from seeing him as the eleven year old he was in Harry'd first year. I still imagine him small and goofy, yet sweet.

Now, my favorite, adding Fred. Gosh, I adore him so much, and you captured him perfectly. He's a personal favorite character of mine - *sobs as I remember he died in DH* - and he's already who I want to win the competition. He's so great, and I loved how he thought it was a hallucination.

Now, the station attended was just utterly great, I loved him. You could tell he's helped a lot of people and gotten a lot of the same questions and that he's bored. He's a little cold, but I enjoyed his characterization a lot.

Well, I think I've written a novel length review so I'll call it quits now. Great, phenomenal job, you're an incredible writer!
10/10

 Report Review

Review #15, by StoryWebber Newcomers

10th April 2014:
This is, without doubt, the most amazing Harry Potter fanfiction I've read, the only exception being G. Norman Lippert's James Potter series!
If you haven't read it, you should definitely try it. It's the best!
But Run was amazing! I don't even have words to describe it, it's that great!!
I just loved every part of it, and after reading this, I don't think I'll ever bring myself to write a fanfiction again :(
By the way, all the Devil's Duels were amazing, but the one I liked the best was thegoblin-fire-incident one. The Uprising.
Second-best was the fun-house one. Twisted Towers.
Then comes Hogwarts, Quidbumps and the ship one!
Speaking frankly, the first Devil's Duel was epic. I thought nothing could ever rival it. But that was before I read the rest of them!
Okay, I should stop rambling now, but I just want you to know that you are a wonderful writer with a whole lot of imagination!

 Report Review

Review #16, by StoryWebber Rules of the Prize

10th April 2014:
That's GEORGE!
That's freaking, GEORGE WEASLEY!
How do you write like this, man?
You just got me the most excited, hyperventilated and stunned as I have ever been while reading a fanfiction!
Gods of Olympus!
I NEED to read the next chapter...

 Report Review

Review #17, by StoryWebber Twisted Towers

10th April 2014:
No!
Are you trying to tell me that Colin and Fred win?
No fair!
I don't want either to die...
I think I should stop reading this story right now...

 Report Review

Review #18, by StoryWebber Tradition

10th April 2014:
Wonderful!
Of course Regulus is as mischievous as Sirius, theyíre brothers after all!
I really like the portrayal of Regulus in this story!

 Report Review

Review #19, by StoryWebber Quidbumps

10th April 2014:
Oh my gods!
Thank you!
Thank you for saving James and Lily, Iím happy now!
:D

 Report Review

Review #20, by StoryWebber Evidence

10th April 2014:
The Adriatic Sea!
Thatís somewhere near Rome, isnít it?
Anyway, canít wait to read more...

 Report Review

Review #21, by StoryWebber Cold, Shaking, Seething

9th April 2014:
Wow!
Amazing idea for the contest!
This was brilliant - totally, completely, sheerly brilliant!
And thank you - thank you for taking Lily out of the contest...
I couldn't bear it if she died!

 Report Review

Review #22, by StoryWebber Double-Edged

9th April 2014:
This chapter's really good, too!
Amazing work!
Keep writing!

 Report Review

Review #23, by StoryWebber In Plain Sight

9th April 2014:
Amazing!
Just as usual, I couldn't stop reading!
Good work!
Thumbs-up to you!

 Report Review

Review #24, by StoryWebber Like Dreaming

9th April 2014:
Lovely...
I wish I could leave you a hundred reviews, this story's that good!

 Report Review

Review #25, by StoryWebber Newcomers

9th April 2014:
Amazing!!!
This story is wonderful... very creative idea, and a very good style of writing!
It's one of the best fanfictions I've ever read!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>