Reading Reviews for Playing Cinderella
  
22 Reviews Found

Review #1, by PunIntended Midnight

18th August 2012:
Hi! PunIntended here for the Fairy Tale Challenge!
Sorry for the HUGE delay! School has started up for me again (yuck :b)

First of all, thank you for participating! This is a great entry. It is certainly very fairy taley. I love Hermione as Cinderella!
Your descriptions were very nice. I also liked how you made the whole scene between Draco and Hermione very dream like. It was like Hermione walked into her own little fantasy (just like Cinderella!)
I love the little reveal an cliff hanger at the end. It made me want to know more :)

Very well done!
(sorry it's so short! I'm not very good at reviewing)

Author's Response: Hello! It's no biggie, RL happens!

You're welcome, it really was my pleasure. I enjoyed writing this so much!

Thanks, thats great! I really did aim for the dreamy feeling!

Thanks, I cannot wait to see the results!

xx

Ever


 Report Review

Review #2, by BTM Cold Hard Truth

6th July 2012:
Really curious as to what direction this story will take, looking forward to more!

Author's Response: Hello! I'm glad to hear so! I look forward to updating and I hope you enjoy it! Thank you for your review!

xx

Ever


 Report Review

Review #3, by Draco579 Cold Hard Truth

14th June 2012:
I love it so far! You're doing a really good job, twisting the classic tale, and your writing style is brilliant too!

Author's Response: Hey:d Thanks! That really brightens my day! I could just hug youi right now, gosh! Thanks so much!

xx

Ever


 Report Review

Review #4, by slytherinbadgirl Cold Hard Truth

14th June 2012:
awww... i love cinderella and Dramione and this is a perfect combo! :)

Author's Response: Thanks!:D

xx

Ever


 Report Review

Review #5, by Tazzi Cold Hard Truth

13th June 2012:
I can't wait till the next chapter. XD It's still so cute. I can't wait till Draco finds out. Will the POV be only Hermione or will later chapters be in Draco's?
:D
Love it so far and keep up the good work. :)

Author's Response: Thank you:D I will be writing the next chapter tonight, but it might be a week or two until it posted. I haven't really decided this yet; I guess I'll just write as I write, and then we'll just have to find out together X)

xx

Ever


 Report Review

Review #6, by Tazzi Midnight

13th June 2012:
So cute! :) I like it so far. A few typos but they are easily fixable. :) I can't wait to see what you will do with the rest of the story. :D

Author's Response: Hey(: Thanks for the review! CC is great, I have a beta for this, but I need to put up her edited versions(:

xx

Ever


 Report Review

Review #7, by FallenAmaranth Cold Hard Truth

13th June 2012:
Nyamaya-- I love it! obviously ;) Urgh .. although at the beginning I couldn't help wondering if she was still wandering about with one shoe on! :P

I'm currently hating how long the queue always seems to be, even though it's actually pretty short at the moment.. I. Can't. Wait.



Author's Response: :'D Thank you so much! How sweet! Oh gosh, perhaps I should fix that...Maybe? Yes? Probably.

XD me too! I'll update soon as I can!

xx

Ever


 Report Review

Review #8, by FallenAmaranth Midnight

8th June 2012:
Since you entered this in PunIntended's FairyTale challenge, I do hope that means you're going to update?
I mean, I know Cinderella very well..but it's DRAMIONE. So I just want to keep reading..:)

Author's Response: Oh, hello:D Let me just tell you, this review made my night! Anywho, I actually should go finish the chapter and it'll be in the queue within the hour, so it'll be up ASAP! Dramione FTW, yes?:D Yes! Thanks for the review!

xx

Ever


 Report Review

Review #9, by DracoFerret11 Midnight

16th May 2012:
Why hello there! I was just on the forums and saw that you entered this in a Dramione challenge, and being a total Dramione-fan myself, decided to give it a glance. :] So, constructive review time, right?

Grammar/Spelling: Great! You didn't make any mistakes that I saw, which is always a huge bonus.

Characterization: I thought this was a little interesting. We always have to bend the rules a bit when it comes to Dramiones, though. I thought Ron was a little too stand-off-ish. He's hurt, yes, but I feel like he might've matured since they left Hogwarts. Hermione was pretty good. I wasn't awfully fond of the focus on her appearance (since that's a cliche that we fall into far too often...), but she was pretty good. And Draco was quite nice to read! I wonder why his hair was brown...He's adorable, though. Very sweet. I'm surprised he'd kiss a Gryffindor, haha. And it's PRETTY simple to narrow down who he danced with since there were only five Gryffindor girls that he went to school with, haha.

Descriptions: I thought these were quite nice! You really set the scene and described the characters. Well done! :D

Emotions: Hmm...I don't know about this. I liked that I could feel Hermione and Ron's frustration, but that seemed like the most vibrant emotion in chapter...I might have liked to see more emotions in the scene where Hermione and Draco dance. It was mysterious, but I didn't feel any nervous energy or excitement.

Plot: Oh, cliches! I'm glad this was for a challenge, haha. Cinderella plots happen so much! But I think you're treating it pretty well so far, so I can't complain.

Interactions: Well, the Hermione/Ron interactions were strained which seemed awkward, but I definitely like the Draco/Hermione scene! Yay Dramione! You wrote that very well. :D

Good job so far. You're doing well. The mystique is a bit lost on me since Draco literally only has to go through five (three that are actually mentioned) girls to figure out who she is. But that's okay. :] Keep up the good work!

--Emily

Author's Response: Hello:D Sorry for taking so long to respond! I've been lazy lately, but hey, it happens!

Woot for dramione!

Hooray! I'll try to continue with that!

Yes, yes we do have to bend the rules. I try not to, but thats almost impossible. Okay, it is impossible. Sorry, I'll fix that. I think i went to far with the imagery, I guess:/ Oh well, its an easy fix:D *BOOYAH* I always struggle with him; ironicallly enough. Yes, he kissed a gryffindor XD how un draco of him;) Maybe i should have thought about that...ah, well.

Woot again! I say that too much, but that makes me pretty happy!

Perhpas i will go fix the emotions? I shall.

I love cliches. Overdone, yes. But sometimes they are terribly great fun to write. Its my "dirty" indulgence XD

Thank you so much for the lovely review!;D

xx

Ever


 Report Review

Review #10, by ScorpiusRose17 Midnight

15th April 2012:
Hi there!

I really enjoyed reading this. It was an interesting take on an old fairytale with a HP twist.

I thought you did a great job bringing Hermione's feelings about Ron forward in the begining so it was well established. I also thought you did a wonderful job describing the dress she was wearing. I could picture it vividly in my mind along with the Ministry decorated for such an elaborate event.

I love it when two people who desperatly want to speak to each other sit their and make eye contact and then break away. I think it shows the sweet and innocent side of the characters. I liked how their conversation was breif, but fun. Draco was very descrete which held mystery to it along with the mystery to him and not the readers about who his 'Cinderella' is.

I think you did a wonderful job and I really enjoyed reading this. I love the descriptions you use and how comfortable you feel writing Hermione and Draco.

Keep up the great work! =)

-SR17

I am adding this to my favorites!

Author's Response: Hey doll face:D

Thanks! That's really always great to hear!

Yes! *happy dances* best news I have hear all week, doll!

I love it to, it's incredibly romantic! It was so fun and easy to write! If I could write a million of them, I would! But I think the validators would just start to reject them because they'd have a million and two of them and would be totally sick of me;D they'd be like "it's this chick again with the same exact plot every single time..." XD

Okay, the probably wouldn't but still...

I really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, REALLY wanted to have Hermione reveal herself, but I knew I simply couldn't for the sake of the plot! Argh:3

I'm glad you enjoyed this, and thanks for such a wonderful review!

xoxo

Ever



 Report Review

Review #11, by academica Midnight

5th April 2012:
Hi Ever! Thank you for the swap :)

I think this is kind of an interesting setup. I like how you didn't make Ron into a monster -- he just wasn't the person that Hermione should be with, for understandable reasons. I do think it might be good to switch up the use of "Ron" and "Ronald", since Hermione in canon seemed to only use his full name when she was upset or annoyed with him.

I like how Draco and Hermione met up, although I did feel like the romance escalated a little too quickly, and I wish I had gotten more of a sense of who Draco is in this story. That is, I would like to know why and how he wants to change and where his feelings for Hermione are coming from. Still, I think this is going to be longer than a one-shot (if I remember correctly), so I'm sure all will be revealed in time.

One more note -- I see you've started to make some improvements in your comma spacing. That's great! I did spot some lingering errors here, so just make sure you proofread a couple more times before posting the next one.

Nice work! :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: Hey doll! Anytime, anytime!

Thanks! Haha, it's so hard for me to write Ron as a decent guy. Well, at least in a Draco/Hermione sotry! Something just kicks in and I have to make him evil. But this story, he's bearable;D I love Ron, as long as he isn't in a Draco/Hermione sotry, but that's because I'm insane.

Hm...I think you have a serious point, and now that you've planted the seed in my head, I will absolutely have to fix that. Stupid romance escalating too quickly...

Yes, this will be either a novella or a novel, so it's going to slowly unfold.

Yes, haha! I have a beta, and I'm in the process of some extreme editing so..yeah;D

Thanks for the helpful review!

xoxo

Ever


 Report Review

Review #12, by Siriusly3 Midnight

3rd April 2012:
Ooh! For a Dramione (sorry, my pet hate) it's actually avoided the cliches! They weren't prefects together and there was no law that they had to marry (if you introduce these later I will feel terrible). I like how they don't know each other but it skips the fact that they hate one another, and also I love how Hermione stays in character and runs off because she wouldn't usually kiss a stranger (ah the beauty of masks). I also like that she doesn't hate Ron, and he isn't turned to some evil character, I think their break-up is very believable even if I wish it didn't happen.
So, well done for convincing the least Dramione shipper in the history of fanfiction! I actually liked this story! Keep updating because I want to see how this plays out :)

Author's Response: I love Dramione...'cause that isn't obvious;D

Yes! I avoided cliches! *does happy dance*

I really, really struggled to keep it as canon as possible, for a dramione at least. I don't even have to explain how difficult that is;P So while it won't be very canon, I will try and mkae it as canon as possible for such a ship.

Not hating Ron...do you know how difficult it is for me to write Hermione in such a way? I love Ron, as long as he's not in the picture in any Draco/Hermione stories. If he is, I'm just...like an animal, because I can't stand him. But only in Draco/Hermione's XD!

Hooray! Happy dance!

xoxo'

Ever


 Report Review

Review #13, by bri_5_stars Midnight

3rd March 2012:
Hi! Brithewriter!
I actually really like this as a beginning of a story. It could use maybe a little work, just a few grammatical errors (commas) and the background could be spread out a little better. But elsewise, I love the Cinderella idea for a Dramione. Very cute! It makes it interesting and plausible. Your characters are in character which is better than a lot of Dramione's I've seen. Good start and I look forward to seeing where this goes. :D

Author's Response: hello darling(:

Thanks! Yes,I know. I don't think i have a beta for this...oh no D: I need to get one! Thanks,I love it to! I just couldn't resist! Thats great to hear,I want to keep this one as in character as possible.

Thanks!

xoxo

Ever


 Report Review

Review #14, by Keira7794 Midnight

3rd March 2012:
Yey for fairytales!

Oh Ever, this is a brilliant take on Cinderella! (You didn't make Ron that bad in this... so yey! ;) )

Hermione seemed nervous and you really got across that shewasn't used to looking so beautiful. Draco seemed to come across as a skilled dancer (which for some reason I'm now having images of Lucius teaching him how to dance...)

Haha! Sorry about the delay - my grandad phoned asking how to 'work facebook' - it took a while! ;)

Great start - I'm looking forward to the rest! xD

Keira :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! And yes,hooray for fairytales(:

Erh...Ron...Do I even need to repeat my feelings for him? You've heard the rant before(;

In my minds eye, Hermione looked gorgeous, so I really tried to show y'all that without corny descriptions,so yay! Hhaha! New one shot! You've inspired. Its like in GoF! I am so writing a one shot where lucius teaches draco to dance. and I've always imagined dancing as a necessary skill for a pureblood all the balls and parties XD oh my imagination, do you see what you do to me?

It's all good,I was late getting to yours too!

Thanks for the lovely review(:

xoxo

Ever


 Report Review

Review #15, by Moonyxluna Midnight

27th February 2012:
a;lkdsfj
^that's what my brain is doing right now.

why!? why are you making me not dislike dramione!? Seriously. This was just way too adorable to not love it. I love cinderella, and this was just so wonderfully written. I really want to read more of this.

Why did Draco have brown hair? Was it to keep his identity a secret?

Great start! looking forward to reading more.

Author's Response: haha I like your response(:

Dramione is awesome. Stop denying yourself the best ship in the world. Draco had brown hair to keep his identity a secret(:

you're going to read more?:d yay!

xoxo

Ever


 Report Review

Review #16, by watchoutfornargles Midnight

27th February 2012:
I can't wait to read more, I don't always like dramione, but you did it very well :)

Author's Response: excellent!that is great to here! Thank for the review!

xoxo

Ever


 Report Review

Review #17, by ewsoucf7 Midnight

21st February 2012:
This is definitely my cup of tea!
I love Dramonie above all others! This was lovely to read. Even though there was a lot of emotion in there (especially the rawness between Ron and Hermione) it felt really upbeat. I loved the link with Cinderella, and I thought it was very tastefully done. You wrote the conversation between them in the ball very nicely. I did not expect those answers, though I am glad that neither revealed their identities.
My favourite part was definitely "misery loves company." I thought that was very fitting.
I shall definitely be looking out for updates of this as I loved it! Until next time =]

Author's Response: yes!(: *does the happy dance**

Yes,Dramione fan *high fives*
Thank you so much for such a fantastically lovely review!Hope to see you around!

xoxo

Ever



 Report Review

Review #18, by Manga_girl Midnight

21st February 2012:
Hey!

This is such an awesome one-shot. I don't normally read Dramione as I am more of a Ron/Hermione fan but I enjoyed this as it was written really well! The description and characterisation is brilliant! Well done!

Emma xx

Author's Response: oh,yikes! Did I put it down as a one-shot? Its not going to be:P this one is my little baby now! I may have to go fix that! Hhaha:D Dramione all the way. Forget Ronmione...I don't like him, because thats not evident in my stories,right?(;
thanks for the awesome review!

xoxo

Ever


 Report Review

Review #19, by Dramionie_Child Midnight

21st February 2012:
Yes! I love the idea of the original being like this, and I think it's worked very well:) Not quite sure about how you portrayed Ron, but apart from that, beautiful:) Emily x x

Author's Response: Awwwh! Thanks doll! I don't like Ron,that's my only explanation on that.Hahaha!

xoxo

Ever


 Report Review

Review #20, by marinahill Midnight

21st February 2012:
Poor Harry, stuck in the middle of a friend dispute again. He always seems to end up in that position, doesn't he?

This is a really nice starting chapter, I think. There's plenty of mystery and conflict to keep up interest and you've introduced the characters well - enough information to give a bit of background but enough intrigue to provide a platform for later chapters. I think that's important, too, because these are characters that are so familiar from the books but also written a lot in fanfiction so you've given yourself room to characterise them in your own way in the future.

It's always sad when Ron is out of the picture, but I'm a Ron/Hermione fan so I suppose that's down to my personal preference. I think you could have provided a bit more background to Ron and Hermione's split - although I'm sure he was busy, there must have been a reason he was ready to commit and I wonder if Hermione considered settling down, especially because I get the impression she really really loved him. Maybe there were some other factors that prompted her decision to leave him? Though you might be going into that later, so if so I'm sorry to get ahead of myself :P

Ah, Draco. I'm not generally a fanfiction Draco fan, so I think I might be a little biased on that. But like I said, you've not given too much away here so how you write him later will show how he's come to change and why he's made the changes he has. There's so much potential :)

A nice start!

Marina

Author's Response: Harry is always the one stuck in the middle,and that sucks! Freacking complications! Bleh! Haha(:

yay,yay,yay!(: That is exactly what I wanted to hear!

I'm sorry,I've had a lot of people say they Like Ron/Mione better! I very strongly dislike Ron seeing as how I am the biggest Dramione shipper in the entire world!;D So,I'm a bit biased,and poor Ron is always a bit abused in my stories.

More will come on the whole Ron/Mione thing in the next few chapters(:

Thank you so much for the absolutely lovely review!

xoxo

Ever


 Report Review

Review #21, by megthechef43 Midnight

21st February 2012:
EverDiggory,

Oh I like this so so so much. I can't wait to read more. Draco persona was perfect in this chapter. Thank you for explaining the Ron and Hermione break up, some people don't and then I'm too confused. I really like your story and I hope you update soon.

Megthechef43

Author's Response: Oh,thank you(: I;m glad to hear you think so! Draco was a bit easier to write then in Becoming Parents,because I really try to keep him as in character as possible,which isn't always easy with such an amazingly complex character. I'm so thrilled with your review,and I promise the wait for the next update will be well worth it!

xoxo

Ever


 Report Review

Review #22, by MiSTY_VoLPe Midnight

21st February 2012:
nice chapter! plot seems interesting! please update soon cuz i really wanna read more!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for such lovely compliments(: i'm so glad to hear so!

xoxo

Ever


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login