Reading Reviews for Slow Metabolism
  
37 Reviews Found

Review #1, by UnluckyStar57 Exploding Snap

2nd June 2013:
Dear Meghna,

I've read this chapter about five times since I discovered the story, and it has only kept getting better. (I don't care if it hasn't ever been edited or anything.) It's a blooming good chapter at the beginning of a blooming good story, and it always makes me happy to read it.

Audrey reminds me a lot of myself. She isn't afraid to be a loner, and she doesn't especially care that she isn't a size zero. She's one-of-a-kind, and I really love the way you've written her. (Basically, she's a lot like me, but better!)

Hugo is awesome. I think he gets ignored a lot in fanfiction in his sister's wake, and you've obviously made that obsolete. He's much cooler than we think he is, and very brave as well. He and Audrey couldn't be a more perfect pair of friends.

The only constructive criticism that I have is to update this story if you can find the time. I know you're working on a new story, but I just love this one so much that I would hate to see it finished so suddenly!

With greatest sincerity,

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: omg i am not worthy of these lovely comments ;A; thank you so much! this story is kind of special to me because it's the first story i've written that's actually trying to get a message across.

i'm in no way done with it -- i have the next few chapters planned out but i haven't been able to find the time to write entire chapters. this is my first priority after i wrap up the bodyguard though. thank you so much for the support to keep writing, i definitely will not abandon this haha


 Report Review

Review #2, by -BookDinosaur- Exploding Snap

2nd June 2013:
-BookDinosaur- here with a review for the Ravenclaw review battle! (Team Blue all the way!)

So, I really enjoyed reading this chapter! The banter that went on between Hugo and Audrey was amazing, really light and easy to read. I think that both of them are really well characterised already-you've already given them flaws so I know they're not going to turn out as Mary Sues. You've made them really natural and real in my mind, so well done for that, especially as this is only the first chapter.

The flow of this story was good, I liked the way you skipped ahead to two hours later rather than unfolding everything blow-by-blow for us, because it was much more interesting that way, it added a little bit of mystery and suspense to the story.

I loved the ending, how she found her first real friend. But that's probably because I'm a real softie underneath (shhh! Don't tell anyone!).

My CC for you would probably be just read through it again-there aren't any mistakes, but there are definitely a few things that could be phrased less awkwardly, the first couple of sentences being an example.

Anyway, all in all, a wonderful first chapter that really sucked me in and made me want to continue reading.

Author's Response: eeek i get so emotional about slow metabolism reviews ;A;

but this is so lovely (': thank you so much for the kind words! and i know what you mean -- i want to rewrite the first few chapters at least. hopefully i will find the time to do this at some point in july. lots of things need to be cleaned up in my opinion.

it's alright WE'RE ALL SOFTIES. hell, even hugo's a softie. he just pretends to be all macho and stoic.

thank you so much for this review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by LittleLionGirl Davies and Gravies

22nd July 2012:
Mk... Meghna. I love you work so continue with okay? Alright now I need to tell you something- Because I am a loser I shall have to tell you- Volde-mart... Disney term. Saw it on a show... I dont know what you could change it to and sorry for beeing a bleeding-tosser-of-a-prick... BUT I think you will appricate hearing this because they (as a big corperation that does not care for the creative litterary process) could technically sue you unless you have proof you wrote it first. (Bummer Trrrust me I know)
Your quality of a story though is magnificent and I want you to know... Please dont yell at my sorry rump but my cc will prevent any possible lawsuit...
pllleasse dont hate me.. :(
XOXOXOXXOXOXXOX,
LLG

Author's Response: I'm not claiming it as my own, dear. Nor am I saying I came up with it before Disney did. But thank you, I appreciate the concern, and I'm glad you'd like me to keep writing :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by LittleLionGirl Grim and Badger

22nd July 2012:
Your fanfiction is far from semi-decent.. Its great!!! Don't set up deadlines your not a thousand percent sure you will make in the future though- trust me all it does is make you feel overwelmed.
i LOVE the Grim and Bagger duo!
I give you the highest praise a cyber reader can give *inserted drumroll* a cyber cupcake!
XOXOXOXOX,
LLG

Author's Response: Yes, what's that Douglas Adams quote about deadlines? One of the best quotes ever. Thank you so much, and for the cupcake as well!

 Report Review

Review #5, by LittleLionGirl Off with their Heads!

22nd July 2012:
Another Marviolous chapter! I do love your story and its plot line- Dont EVER doubt your work.. btw I LOVE suggary foods! I will be reading your next chapter with some blue cottoncandy! Yum! And sorry I dont think I want to peel my eyes like a potato- Bio teacher had a model of the human eye *ew* and not to mention it would be painful lol...
XOXOXOXOXOX,
LLG

Author's Response: Sugary food for the win lol. Thank you so much LLG, it means heaps that you have taken the time to leave reviews after every little chapter ^-^ Thank you so, so much!

 Report Review

Review #6, by LittleLionGirl The Fat Lady

22nd July 2012:
This is another stupendious chapter and I am so excited to see whats going to happen next... I like how it seems like the pair is taking karma into there own hands... Oh and I believe fighting fire with fire- or water Xp Only because it extinguishes it..
XOXOXOXOXOX,
LLG

Author's Response: You are precious, do you know that? Thank you so much, it means a ton!

 Report Review

Review #7, by LittleLionGirl A Hard Day's Night

21st July 2012:
Another lovely chappie dear.. :)
XOXOXOX,
LLG

Author's Response: Thank you xx

 Report Review

Review #8, by LittleLionGirl First Wicket

21st July 2012:
Nice and lovely chapter two... Interested in your plans- have to be since I'm up at two am reading this.
XOXOXOXOXOX,
LLG

Author's Response: I am honoured that you're putting finishing this chapter before sleep. I SALUTE YOU. Thank you very much, I'm glad you like it so far!

 Report Review

Review #9, by LittleLionGirl Strategy

21st July 2012:
WOOOW. This is quite a chapter chicky- almost like a revenge-of-the-fallen-nerds-and-social-outcasts story which I adore- I almost have a dislike for the fire-with-fire approach; but each to their own... Shall read and review more later..
XOXOXOXOX,
LLG

Author's Response: Haha thank you! I'm actually a huge advocate of the fight fire with fire approach, but you're right. Everybody looks at things differently. Thank you soo much LLG!

 Report Review

Review #10, by LittleLionGirl Exploding Snap

21st July 2012:
WOW. I really feel bad for Audrey... Glad she found a friend and love how she hates the drama and bull*cesored* like I do... cant wait to read more after some much loved sleep..
XOXOXOXOXOX,
LLG

Author's Response: Well, things like this happen in real life all the time, don't they? I am rather glad too that she's got Hugo. It will make her life much easier (: Thank you for taking the time to review!

 Report Review

Review #11, by charlieee Davies and Gravies

14th July 2012:
'Weasley is doing better than me in Potions. Is it drugs, you think?' hahaHA. GOD.
'well then, hello and goodbye, audrey bloom.' i literally love this line so much even though roger said it? help? i actually kind of feel bad for him, in a stupid way. poor guy doesn't know what's coming for him.
WAIT YOU'RE UNHAPPY WITH WHAT YOU HAVE SO FAR? well ok i'm here to tell you that you don't need to be, at all, period. ok? ok.
i'm going to cry reading the last chapter, probably. i don't want it to end. i really don't.

Author's Response: I wish you'd stop. I can't take it anymore!

NOO DON'T YOU DARE FEEL BAD FOR ROGER. Though tbh so am I lol #fail. And yes I am ): This was one of the better ones because I did a lot of tweaking with respect to the writing in general. Seriously, go back to the first chapter. It is the w o r s t. But welp thanks so much you fabulous human!


 Report Review

Review #12, by charlieee Grim and Badger

14th July 2012:
cheese, wine, and pointed noses. CRYING.
i think this chapter has the best banter between hugo and audrey yet, to be honest. grim and badger. silently weeping. the whole scene with them on the train playing exploding snap made my heart hurt.
teddy is one of my favorite characters (lol idk idk) and i loved the way you described him, oh god. and he's a writer. bless you.
you've managed to make these characters so real and believable, and i'm really going to miss this story when it's finished, i'm realizing. you're such a great writer, meghna. never stop.

Author's Response: B-but it's true!
Oh wow thanks so much ;A; i have to admit that I am mildly pleased with the whole idea of ~Grim and Badger, but nothing further lol. And if this was a movie, Teddy would have less than 5 minutes of screen time! How on earth is he your favourite?! But I appreciate it and re:last part PRINTING IT OUT AND PUTTING IT ALL OVER MY WALLS dear god ily


 Report Review

Review #13, by charlieee Off with their Heads!

14th July 2012:
i loved the entire part with mcgonagall. oh hugo. you witty, witty soul. and this line: 'I have a party hat in my trunk somewhere,' he rationed and I glared at him.' dani = dead.

Author's Response: Profusely keysmashes.

I LOVE YOU DANI oh god. Only you could make me feel good about writing a rubbish chapter :3


 Report Review

Review #14, by JamesSiriusPotterII Davies and Gravies

24th June 2012:
Why has this ONLY got 30 favouriters? Its so damn good! I can't wait till Davies gets a punch in the face (metaphorically of course, hugos already done the real thing;)) by Grim and Badger. Update and till then I am going to hibernate:P

Author's Response: I DON'T KNOW MAYBE BECAUSE I DON'T KNOW HOW TO DEVELOP PLOT ;A; welp thank you so very much, it means the world! and yes, i can't wait either haha. i have half of the next chapter written down JUST GIMME SOME TIME it'll be up soon promise!

 Report Review

Review #15, by UnluckyStar57 Davies and Gravies

17th June 2012:
Oh, you silly goose. This chapter is just as good as the other ones, if not even better. :)
Davies is starting to turn on his charm, isn't he? It's a complete 360 from the way he treated her at the beginning. I can't wait til he gets his comeuppance!!
"Voldemart"?! Bahahahaha!! Did you make that up? I would love to see one of those in real life. :)
How many chapters is the story going to be?! I was hoping it would be quite long, so that the magic didn't have to end so soon! Maybe when you finish, you could write a sequel? *puppy dog eyes*
Anyways, much love for updating, and update again when you can!! ;)

Author's Response: *hugs* thank you so much! I'm alright with how this turned out, because I wrote one draft (all conversation, barely any descriptive paragraphs) and then started filling it in so that it wasn't just a heap of one-liners. As for Voldemart, I'm not entirely sure about this, but I was stalking the city of London on google maps and I think I saw a store or something called Voldemart? Or I came up with it somehow but either way. Let's say it exists XD And so would I!

As for the number of chapters -- I can't put a finger on it at the moment. I'm going to say there'll be at least another four or five, because I want to write more about the Davies-Audrey "friendship", their NEWTs (which I know seems like the least interesting thing to read about at the moment, given the circumstances) and want to discuss Hugo and Audrey's future plans a bit more as well. So I think you can expect another 5-ish chapters.

Oh ignore Davies. He'll get what he deserves ;) Thank you so much for this lovely review, dear!


 Report Review

Review #16, by GirlOnTheSidelines Davies and Gravies

17th June 2012:
I love this story, it totally deserves at least thirty favourites! Hugo and Audrey are awesome and I love the relationship between them and how honest they are with each other. Grim and Badger - I love how they are now terrorising the whole school and no one suspects them, that was a great touch. Cannot wait to see where this is going so please update soon!
With Love,
GirlOnTheSidelines.

Author's Response: Oh gosh, thanks so much! And haha terrorizing the school is something I've always wanted to do myself, and I'm rather proud of Hugo and Audrey for managing to do it. It's true that the best part is that they can use their dorkiness to not even be suspected, let alone ever accused or found out. I promise I will update as soon as humanly possible! Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #17, by JamesSiriusPotterII Grim and Badger

6th June 2012:
WHY U HAVE SUCH GOOD IDEAS? I love the whole basis of this story, let alone the witty humour and reality of it all. The girl isn't perfect looks wise and it makes the whole thing glitter with realism hidden in between the magic.:) this is the only story I'm following with less than 5 chapters so go go go and update! Till then I'll just imagine the next part in my head;)

Author's Response: GOOD IDEAS what pshhh nothing of the sort around here. But thank you so much, this is one of the cutest reviews I've got :') NOW I FEEL TERRIBLE FOR NOT UPDATING. *scrambles*

 Report Review

Review #18, by missclaire17 Grim and Badger

2nd June 2012:
AW!
sorry i havent reviewed in a while.
i havent reviewed anyone in a while - -
but i loved this chapter xD
its weird getting used to the idea that rose is younger than hugo but its funny xD
how rose doesnt believe hugo has friends
and how she's like. i cant believe hugo's got a GIRLFRIEND.
ah i love the weasleys lolll
it looks like her transformation plan IS going well!
THATS GOOD! loll
everyone who sees her is going to be so shocked lol

Author's Response: That's perfectly okay if you're going to leave wonderful reviews like this every now and then :D And lol Rose being younger than Hugo was actually a mistake - but then I decided to just leave it be and let him be the older one. Though I want to write another story with Rose as the older sibling xD BUT thanks so much! And yes, the plan is going well so far. Do keep reading (:

 Report Review

Review #19, by UnluckyStar57 Grim and Badger

1st June 2012:
This story just keeps getting better every time I read it. :)
The way you introduce characters, revealing their personalities through their actions, is so much more fun to read than "This is Teddy Lupin. He is fit and likes Quidditch.". I love it!
Also, you have a pretty great sense of humor, as evidenced in this chapter.
"I don't know why people associate romance to France. I associate it with cheese, wine, and pointed noses."
Awesome!
Audrey is hilarious, and so very unique.
One thing (and this is sooo nitpicky, but I just wanted to mention it) that I was a little iffy about was Dom's accent in the very short sentence she spoke in the middle of a paragraph. (Super picky, right?)
To me, she sounded a bit like Viktor Krum, who is Bulgarian. It wasn't a big deal, and if you think it sounds like French, then who am I to argue?!
I'm probably wrong anyways. :)
So, in conclusion, you're a wonderful writer and your characters are wonderful, and everything is just... Wonderful. :)
Write like the wind, so that I can read your next chapter! :D

Author's Response: Aww thank you! Lol the France thing is actually a personal opinion XD And you're right about the accent - I thought so too when I wrote it down (and said it aloud about fifty times) but I can't be arsed with changing it at the moment. Not nitpicky at all! Akjashjasd thank you so much you wonderful person! I will try and update as soon as possible (:

 Report Review

Review #20, by bester_jester Grim and Badger

1st June 2012:
Ah lovely.

Your characters are all so well-rounded and interesting. I love that Teddy is a playwrite - so different to how he's normally written!

Audrey and Hugo's friendship is progressing nicely. I feel like it's so soon to be going to Christmas at one's house after just two weeks, but when they've only got each other, I guess there's an exception?

It's such a shame that Audrey's losing weight though. Adds a great element to the plot, but I hate society these days (and in the future!) :/ she was happy as she was before!

Anyway time to stop rambling. Lovely writing as per usual :)

Author's Response: Woah, thanks so much! Well-rounded? Really? That's pretty much the only thing I strive for when writing fanfic because I know I'm rubbish at other things like plot and writing etc. So I'm glad you think so :D And yes, absolutely. Audrey's mother was right about Hugo being very forward about asking her to a christmas dinner after knowing her for such little time. But oh well.

Well, she's losing weight to get back at one of the tossers, not so that Hugo will like her or that she'll become popular or anything. This is still very much a social justice-centred fic and I intend on keeping it that way!
Thanks so much for the reviews (:


 Report Review

Review #21, by bester_jester Exploding Snap

18th May 2012:
I hate to be the party pooper, but there is a typo in the very first sentence that distracts from the general awesomeness that is this chapter.

I love that she's different. It's easy to take the pretty girl and make a story. Don't see the bigger girls as much. Can't wait to read the rest!

Author's Response: Thanks for pointing it out! And yep, I completely agree. Audrey's character is something I can totally relate to, and I think it's because she's so ~normal that people like her. Well, I hope they like her lol. Thanks so much for the reviews, on the other stories as well! And I hope you enjoy reading the rest (:

 Report Review

Review #22, by UnluckyStar57 Off with their Heads!

16th May 2012:
This is a really fantastic story so far! :)
Your characters are quite believable and likeable. I really identify with Audrey and I love how she befriended Hugo.
The talking head was terribly insane. It made my day.
Keep updating!!! :D

Author's Response: Ah, thank you, thank you! Fantastic? Ugh thanks so much haha. And I really try to make Audrey at least as normal as possible, so I'm glad people can identify with her character. Thank you so much, and keep reading!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Miss Muggle Off with their Heads!

16th May 2012:
Ha, that was hilarious! Excellent :) I just love the shriveled head!

I also love the McGonagall scene. Hugo is an amazing excuse-maker. And I can picture McGonagall pretending not to know and letting them carry on.

I'm super excited for the next chapter! I can't wait to read about the Christmas break. So please update soon for me :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Haha aw I'm glad you liked it. I'll probably reveal at some point what McG was really thinking, and whether she knows it's the two of them or not. But for now, let's just pat Hugo on the back for some fabulous covering up! Thank you so vey much ^__^

 Report Review

Review #24, by hpgrl The Fat Lady

3rd May 2012:
hi! that was an interesting chapter. It felt like there was a lot progression in the audrey/Hugo relationship- between Hugo's grades going up and Audrey having an emotional breakdown. I especially loved that we got to see Audrey speak up for herself. I love how original the revenge plans you come up with are! I was confused that you kept on referring to Audrey graduating in a month- or taking the NEWTs in a month. Doesn't she still have six months or so left?

Can't wait to read about the hogsmeade trip!

Author's Response: I actually feel bad when I get reviews now BECAUSE IT'S SO HARD TO UPDATE. I don't know where my muse has gone, seriously. But thank you so much! It was intentional to make them both do better in their classes, to prove that they make a good team and that they're good influences on each other (: And thank you re: the plans haha. The part where Audrey says she's running out of plans = me. I honestly have no idea where I'm going with them. But I just hope they work! And the NEWTS aren't in a month, but prep will start once they're back from the Christmas holidays. That's what I meant! Again, thank you so much for continually reviewing, it means a whole lot to me! I'M GOING TO WRITE TODAY I SWEAR.

 Report Review

Review #25, by Shara The Fat Lady

27th April 2012:
The only explanation can be that they're weeping from the brilliance after reading, and are incapable of forming coherent sentences to review. So keep at it!!

Author's Response: Haha aw I doubt it but thank you so much, I'm glad you like the story and I honestly cannot thank you enough for the gorgeous chapter images! ILY

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>