Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for The Black Parade
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by TheGirlOnFire We'll Carry On

16th March 2014:
Hi! This is for the blackout bingo, 12/20

This gave me chills, I'm not sure if it was the song or Draco's story, but wow. I found myself singing along with the lyrics, this is a great song and I really like what you did with it. How you user to to add a sort of behind the scene feelings. Rather than use it ato prompt that story along. I loved how you captured Draco's reluctance and his need for freedom. I though that that was perfect. I'm going to assume that this is Draco telling Scorpius not to make his mistakes. Well that's what I thought it was. I like the idea that Draco changes and becomes someone who he used to make fun off, someone he used to hate. This was well written and touching. Keepthe good work going.


TheGirlOnFirexx

Author's Response: Thanks! Yes, it was originally written as a letter to Scorpius but I was told that format wasn't allowed on the archives, so I had to make minor changes.

I am a huge fan of MCR and loved using one of their songs which happens to be my favorite.

Thanks for the review!

~Celtic~


 Report Review

Review #2, by megthechef43 We'll Carry On

5th March 2013:
Celtic_Dreamer7,

Oh Gosh, I LOVE this story! Draco is one of my favorite characters and I love that you showed him in the right light. It was that he had changed or that he was happy with his past but it was about him realizing his mistakes and that of his father and changing what he could for his children.

I loved the progression of age you showed with him narrow mindedly following his father blindly to him growing into a man with a soul and realizing right from wrong. I love the dark and twisty nature of the story and the moral conclusion at the end.

GREAT JOB and GREAT STORY!!! I'm so glad I read this!

Megthechef43

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you read and enjoyed it too! I was worried about the format being my first song fic but the tutorials on the archive was a big help. I was worried about the flow and progression of his age. I'm glad that came across nicely. Thanks again for the review!

~Celtic~


 Report Review

Review #3, by Athene Goodstrength We'll Carry On

3rd March 2013:
I really enjoyed this. It fiddled with my mind, which is always fun. At first I thought you were drawing a contrast between the father in the song who takes his son somewhere nice and gives him good memories whilst simultaneously preparing him for the struggles ahead, and Lucius, who really just offers his son up as a sacrificial lamb and doesnít truly prepare him for the dreadful things he has to do.

And then at the end I realised (I think I have this right) that Dracoís actually talking/writing to Scorpius and it all fell into place so perfectly. Just like the dad in the song, heís trying to arm his boy and tell him that he has to face the world and make hard choices.

Your characterization of Draco and the recounting of his history is really nice. Unlike many other writers you donít gloss over the fact that Malfoy was definitely attracted to the power and allure of Dark magic and Voldemort. The bit about how proud he is of his violent, havoc-wreaking father really feels true to JKRís Malfoy. And I love that you donít turn him into some tragic hero. In fact the whole thing really fits in with the lyric ďIím just a man, Iím not a hero,Ē and I think you do a great job of showing that Draco is full of humanity and regret.

I really enjoyed this - it totally wasnít what I was expecting!

(Also, weíve discussed this before, but ♥ ♥ MCR! ♥ ♥ )

Athene xo

Author's Response: Hi Athene! So glad you read my MCR one shot! Its always nice to hear from a fellow fan. Yes, you are correct. It was written as a letter to Scorpius but I was told those weren't allowed on the archive so I had to rewrite the ending a bit.

So glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for the review!

~Celtic~


 Report Review

Review #4, by peace2lovepotter We'll Carry On

2nd April 2012:
Hi! I'm sorry it's taken me so long to review, but thank you once again for joining my challenge! ^_^

Wow, this was really good! I think that you shown the emotions of Draco beautifully, and I must admit, I despise Draco with every bone in my body. :/ I had never heard the song before, but I went and listened to it, and it connected to the song so well, it was like the song was written for Draco and his life.

I liked how you shown different times in Draco's life that were dark and sinister, and the way you described how Draco dealt with the situation, and how he felt about what was going on was brilliant.

I think that this one-shot was amazing, really well done! Keep an eye out for the results, they should be up later today or tomorrow :)

~peace2lovepotter~

Author's Response: Thank you! So glad you enjoyed it! I was quite proud with the way it turned out. Its actually the first challenge I completed on time way before the deadline! Thanks for such a great challenge!

~Celtic~


 Report Review

Review #5, by SerpentineOffering We'll Carry On

28th March 2012:
I thoroughly enjoyed this, you've detailed this story quite well! I love how you've written it, the song was a wonderful choice! I couldn't see any errors in spelling or in grammar and all in all it was a wonderful song-fic! Great job :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I appreciate you reading my first ever song fic!!

~Celtic~


 Report Review

Review #6, by momotwins We'll Carry On

4th March 2012:
Grammatical nitpicks:

how dominate they felt over the others = should be "dominant"

could feel was the cold, realization = unnecessary comma

I had just past the thresh hold of no return = should be "passed" (not past) and "threshhold" (one word)

or lack there of = thereof

I guess the doubt had always been there residing within me. In some small, dark hole within my very soul, telling me what we believed, what we were doing, was wrong. = you've got a fragment in that second sentence, but it looks like it might've been meant to be one sentence here with a comma - this is REALLY good imagery, love it.

That aside, on to the main review: I like how you've characterized him, the idea of being simultaneously frightened and intrigued by the reality of the Death Eaters and Voldy, I think that's really spot-on. The way you portray his fear is really well done also. Is Snape Draco's godfather in this story? I'm guessing so since you mention Headmaster etc. The passage of time is handled well in the story too, and jumping time periods with each paragraph is tricky, so nicely done :) Your writing is clean, I like how you don't overdo it on the description or flowery imagery, it's just the right amount to show you without being cloying, if that makes sense.

"the very room where all the darkness began for me" - Oooh, nice one!

Overall it's a very nice piece. I'm not familiar with the song, but you used the lyrics effectively. Well done!

WTM

Author's Response: Thanks for the read and the review!! I shall fix those errors and resubmit. I hate grammar with a passion, lol. Thanks again!

~Celtic~


 Report Review

Review #7, by EnigmaticEyes16 We'll Carry On

22nd February 2012:
I loved this. I like how you chose those particular scenes from his sixth and seventh years and gave his side of the story and what he thinks of it now. I always love a Draco who realizes he's on the wrong side even if he does nothing about it because I think that's a big part of his character.

I also like how you put this into the format of a letter to his son, that really added a nice sentimental feel to the ending. Especially since he takes from his own experience and encourages his own son to make his own decisions and create his own future, instead of dictating his son's life the way he had been dictated. It's a big step for a pureblood to take.

I noticed just a couple mistypes. In the third paragraph, where you say "dominate" should actually be "dominant". And then in the fourth paragraph "thresh hold" should actually be one word. Other than that, your story looked really good.

I think you did a really good job on this song fic. I also really like the song and how you paired it with the story.

xxEnigmaticEyes16

Author's Response: Thanks! Sorry this response took so long. I noticed the typos as well after I submitted it. I love writing about the characters from Slytherin house. They are so intriguing. Thanks for the review!!

~Celtic~


 Report Review

Review #8, by Wildfire Patronus We'll Carry On

22nd February 2012:
I don't really have anything to say to this. (I mean that in the best way possible.)

Author's Response: Thank you. I think?

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login