Reading Reviews for A Sorted Affair
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Owlpost68 Chapter Seven: Scorpius

4th July 2013:
This was really interesting, I like their characters, but I do think you have a bit too many descriptions, not that some aren't fun or necessary, just a read through would do it. I also really wanted to tell you how much I loved the title of the story! really very funny :D
Good luck!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Albus Potter's Woman Chapter Fifteen: Rose

4th July 2013:
Hi, so I've read all 15 chapters in one go and I'd like to say that I enjoy the story so far. I've always liked Al in Slytherin but I guess I never put much thought into how he would feel about it. It's a well written story; you have a talent.The only problems I have with this are that it is a bit slow paced and some of the chapters are a bit too short.
-Albus Potter's Woman

 Report Review

Review #3, by Albus Potter's Woman Chapter Fifteen: Rose

3rd July 2013:
Hi, so I've read all 15 chapters in one go and I'd like to say that I enjoy the story so far. I've always liked Al in Slytherin but I guess I never put much thought into how he would feel about it. It's a well written story; you have a talent.The only problems I have with this are that it is a bit slow paced and some of the chapters are a bit too short.
-Albus Potter's Woman

 Report Review

Review #4, by BKL8008 Chapter Six: Albus

25th July 2012:
Great misery-building chapter with a proper close. I can't wait to see how this one pans out - and how Neville takes it. Or Hagrid. Let's hope they at least let our boy explain! Great characterization of Scorpius, too.

 Report Review

Review #5, by deathly hallows 101 Chapter One: Albus

29th June 2012:
Good chapter, I mean it

 Report Review

Review #6, by BKL8008 Chapter Five: Albus

18th June 2012:
Genius, I think! I've read Albus-elated, Albus-running-with-it, but never Albus-so-miserable. I think I like where this is going. There are so many possibilities! Love the characterization of Scropius, too. Well done.

 Report Review

Review #7, by BKL8008 Chapter Four: Scorpius

25th March 2012:
Very nicely done. One suffers right along with Albus reading this, and also gets an odd glimpse into the persona of Scorpius. Admittedly, I did not expect this. I like where this is gone, so far.

 Report Review

Review #8, by BKL8008 Chapter Three: Albus

25th March 2012:
Wow, not what I expected. This bit was great: He felt himself sway and knew that he would just die of mortification if he passed out here in front of James and everyone else in the Great Hall.
That's something I've not read yet - a fainting First Year. The only thing you could have added so far for hilarity would have been "brotherly vomiting" in the bushes out front with Albus and Scorpius. As it is, I'm taken with your characterization of Scorpius. One moment he's freaked out, totally OOC for a Malfoy, the next and he's Draco-Clone. Nice!!!

Author's Response: Well, now I want to have some vomit-bonding...not sure how I'll work that in, but if I do, know that it's your fault. ;)

Also, thank you! I'm especially glad you're enjoying the not-quite-mini-me-Malfoy. Hopefully you will continue to be caught off guard in a good way.


 Report Review

Review #9, by BKL8008 Chapter Two: Rose

25th March 2012:
Yep, this is certainly Rose. Great capture, or rather, great extrapolation. Onward!

 Report Review

Review #10, by BKL8008 Chapter One: Albus

25th March 2012:
There's so many good little things I don't know which to point out. The way you handled the ideas at the same time: I won't make, I will make it...was great. The way you introduce what foreshadows an accidental friendship is marvelous as well. Can't wait to see more.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Sheriff Chapter Three: Albus

5th March 2012:
Hey there,

Good read! The dialogue is some of the best I've read, particularly in the first chapter on the train and Albus' internal monologues where he pulls himself apart. I hope you maintain the atmosphere you've built up here and the next stages of Al's journey aren't too rushed - it feels like you've all the ingredients to play the long game.

Looking forward to see what you do with the Slytherin reputation and the rest of the year,

Sheriff

 Report Review

Review #12, by BoOkWoRm24 Chapter Three: Albus

4th March 2012:
Hey so I really enjoyed your story so far. I've been having some trouble finding a well done Albus-Rose-Scorpius first year story and this really made my day. I think my favorite line so far was the last one in the second chapter. It was something along the lines of 'and Rose Weasley was far to sensible to waster her time' (thats not it verbatem but you know what I'm talking about) It was a perfect sentence to end that chapter on as it summed up Rose as a character so perfectly. I thought the whole hope you make Slytherin hope you don't make Slytherin cute. It was a good way to have Scorpius and Albus interact at first. I also like that you brought up the whole mudblood thing without having Scorpius be all like 'I love muggles because I'm not like my father'. In fact, Scorpius seems to be on good terms with Draco and that in itself made me want to read the story that much more. Good begining, can't wait to see what you do with the rest of the year.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you like the story and characterizations, and am especially glad to see someone enjoying the, for lack of a better term, familial political subtleties* of a post-war wizarding world.

*Personally, I've never liked stories where the Malfoy family members are at odds with one another. You can say a lot of horrible things about Draco's parents, but their one redeeming quality was always that they loved their kid. I see no reason why Draco would not be the same way, since he clearly wanted to grow up to be Lucius. So frankly, I think Scorpius wants to do the same: his daddy's his hero. Which terrifies Draco, but what can he do about it? ;)

Anyway, sorry to ramble...it's just hard to find Happy Malfoy Family stories, which is one of the reasons honestly why I wrote this, so I'm just really happy to find someone out there enjoying it for that reason. Thank you.

(Also, apologies for the very delayed review response, I only just realized that one can do that here. Oops.)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login