Reading Reviews for Between Here and Somewhere
  
109 Reviews Found

Review #1, by alexaemd123 Somewhere

19th August 2014:
Wow! I loved this story so much! At parts, I cried like a baby and others I laughed my butt off! It was beautiful and I really hope you write a sequel! Thank you for such a great story! Loved it! :) 1000/10

 Report Review

Review #2, by padmoonyfoot7 Here

24th January 2013:
Can't wait to read more :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Luke Somewhere

21st January 2013:
I really did love this story, it was very unique in the presentation of two time periods and the contrast it allowed between Remus' childhood and adulthood.

There were some great creative moments that you took a hold of in this story and you used the canon that Jo created to a really great degree, I was worried that it would go against the canon what with Addie and present day Remus, but you really did find a way to use it to your advantage. Moments of revelation such as the meaning of Luna's name and Remus' own struggle with the patronus were particularly touching.

The way you've created Remus was great, it did lead me wanting to know the specifics of what came next in his life and though I know we got it in your one shot, you really did succeed at making your readers (at least this one) want more.

I think in some places the beginning sections of the chapters felt a little bit to convenient, it was a bit like "Ok... story time" and I think a bit more exploration of Remus and Luna's relationship couldn't have hurt, even if we got to see outside that office, perhaps Remus defending Luna from some Slytherin bullies. I think it was an area that could have been expanded upon beyond it's role as a framing device for the Marauders era tale.

Overall though you've constructed a wonderful tale that had me keep coming back to check for updates that was done in a really touching and unique way. I think this gamble with a new style of writing (the flashbacks) has definitely paid off and I'd love to see some more experimentation with it in your fanfiction.

And with that I bid you congratulations on another masterful story and move onto the latest work that you've been releasing which actually had me visibly ecstatic.

10/10 :)

Author's Response: I'm really glad you enjoyed the story! I was unsure about the time changes at first, and went through a variety of ideas on how to do it before settling on this one. So I'm very happy that you think it worked well.

My biggest fear about this was that it would seem off-canon, because I am very into canon and rarely, if ever, stray from it. The exception is in my Albus stories, when I use my own Weasley cousins. But that is only because when I started writing those Jo hadn't given us the Weasley family tree yet. But for this, I very much wanted to stick with canon, which is why I had them break up. But at the same time, I didn't want them breaking up over Remus's lycanthropy.

I've always thought there was some connection between Luna's name and the fact that Remus is a werewolf, ever since I first read OotP. It just seems too coincidental and with Jo's writing, things are never just coincidental! I'm really glad you liked the way I used that in this story.

I love Remus! It was really fun getting to explore his character in this story. I'd love to write more, although my next project will most likely be the 5th Albus story.

The "story time" thing was completely intentional. I wanted the flashbacks to Remus's time at Hogwarts to seem like stories he was telling Luna. For some reason I never thought of bringing Remus and Luna outside the office, though. That's a really good idea!

I'm really glad you enjoyed the story! The flashbacks were really fun to do and I'll definitely consider them (and other experimentation) for future stories. Thanks so much for reading and leaving this wonderfully detailed review! :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by GalleonScarlet Somewhere

14th January 2013:
This was brilliant! I absolutely loved how it contained life's challenges and it had a great ending! I'll be looking for the sequel!

Author's Response: I'm really glad you enjoyed it! Life's challenges are exactly what I was going for. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by kalynalexis Somewhere

12th January 2013:
Best marauder story I have ever read!!

Author's Response: Aw, I'm so glad you liked it that much! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Liana Somewhere

1st January 2013:
Wonderful story. I thought you had the Head Boy and Head Girl give some meaningful advice. At some point you will make friends who you will keep forever. I loved Lily's advice--not to be afraid to fail. One can always learn from failure. One time, I think it was 2008, I was watching, via computer, the graduation from my graduate school. JK Rowling was giving the Alumni Address and I think she received an Honorary Doctorate of Letters. As I recall, one of her key words of advice was to not be afraid of failure--to embrace it and learn from it and use it to move forward. You may not have known of that speech but it is interesting that you had Lily use the concept of failure as a main tenet of her speech. Remus seemed very aware that he was starting on a new part of his life. I think that sometimes graduates, especially from high school, don't know that within a few short years classmates will move on and if you don't move with them you end up stuck in the past. Anyway, great story. I've got a couple of other stories to finish and I look forward to your new one. I hope you don't wait too long to write sequels for this story and for your Albus story. Thanks for all your hard work.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it! I had such feels writing James's speech because, in the end, Peter betrays them all and James dies and Sirius and Remus think each other are the traitor and it's just awful.

I actually did get the idea for Lily's speech from the one JKR gave at Harvard. It really is such good advice! JKR's was, of course, much better than the one I wrote for Lily.

I think Remus was more aware than the rest of them that he was starting a new part of his life, just because he lived so sheltered at Hogwarts compared to how he'd be treated in the real world. But, then again, with the war, I think all of them had a pretty good grasp of the fact that they were moving on. I think you're right, though, about being stuck in the past.

Aw, I hope it doesn't take me too long, either, but I'm so busy and I want to work on original fic, too. We'll see! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by Jen Somewhere

30th December 2012:
This was a lovely story. I have always enjoyed the way that you write about Remus. Thanks so much for sharing your version of him.

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it so much. I really like writing about him. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Kristina1990 Somewhere

29th December 2012:
I often wonder with what sentiments they parted Hogwarts, not knowing what was going to happen. The trust they had in each other was all they could cling onto and the betrayal that followed just a few years later must have torn Remus apart.

I loved reading this and I liked the connection you made between Luna's name and Remus' furry problem.

Author's Response: It was so sad writing this chapter because I knew what lay ahead. But I imagine they were fierce friends and never expected things to turn out the way they did.

I'm glad you liked the connection! It's always made me wonder, ever since we first met Luna in OotP. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by strahovi Somewhere

29th December 2012:
I read this story in a day and immediately grew to like it. It's probably the first Marauder story that focuses on Remus' POV and we get an insight on his lycanthropy, the war and the Marauders' friendship, which is one of the reasons I love it so much. I'm also very fond of your style of writing and the John Green quotes/references :D he's great and so are you. Keep up the writing!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! There are so few stories that are Remus centric, which is why I wrote my own. He's my favorite marauder. I'm so glad you like my writing style! And this story just screamed for John Green quotes, so I had to add them. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by Liana Break

17th December 2012:
Sounds like a definite break-up. You have to feel sorry for both of them. I still say that Addy took her life into her hands by experimenting. I don't see that as much different from what she's complaining about Remus doing. Of course, you might redeem Addy with your last chapter:D

Author's Response: Definitely a break-up. Addy is far too afraid of losing someone else close to her to stay with Remus. She did take life into her own hands by experimenting, and she lost Remus all the same by breaking up with him, but she's still too young to understand that. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Jen Break

16th December 2012:
Beautiful chapter. So sad. :(

Author's Response: Very sad, indeed. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by bkaddictjk Break

14th December 2012:
Oh, I love stuff like this... they love each other, but they can't love each other... I am such a sap :D

Author's Response: Aww! It really is sad. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Kristina1990 Break

12th December 2012:
Poor Remus, I feel sorry for him. But he made a decision he knew Abby wasn't going to like and he accepted the risk that she wasn't going to hold onto him. It's heartbreaking nevertheless.

Author's Response: He did know what would inevitably happen with Addy, but he wouldn't let anything or anyone stop him from fighting. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by slytherinchica08 Fear

11th December 2012:
Another wonderful chapter! First i want to say sorry about my rather lacking review but i had to head out the door to go work out with my family and wanted to be able to read this chapter while i ran. On that note, i really enjoyed this chapter. I felt really bad for remus in this as i can imagine finding a small child killed must be a really hard memory to forget and im sure adding an actual name an age to the girl doesnt make it any easier. Im so glad that while addy wasnt mentioned much in the chapter she was still there and able to comfort remus with a small smile. Im also not sure if ive mentioned recently but i do enjoy your characterizations. I think that u have them all really well done, from remus, to dumbledore, to sirius, lily, james, and even luna. Im very much enjoying your story and look forward to reading more! Great job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Aw, that's okay! I am so behind on review responses. Sorry for the late responses!

I'm really glad you liked the chapter. It was definitely hard for Remus to find the child, and he'll never forget it. Addy definitely comforted Remus, even though she didn't have a huge presence in the chapter.

I'm glad you like the characterizations! I try to keep them as canon as possible. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by slytherinchica08 Attacks

11th December 2012:
Wow what an intense chapter! I thought you did the war justice in this and did an absolute wonderful job with the description. Im also planning on having an attack on hogsmeade in a story of mine. I thought this was really well done. I love that u added harry into the beginning part as well. Sadly i have to go so this review isnt going to be as kong but do know that i very much enjoyed this and think u nailed it.

Author's Response: Aw, thanks! Attacks on Hogsmeade are pretty common in Marauders fics, so I tried to make mine unique. I added the mention of Harry to make it seem like this fit in seamlessly with PoA. I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by slytherinchica08 Dates

11th December 2012:
Oh poor remus and the whole date not date thing! That has to be the absolute worst, not sure if u should hold her hand or leave her with a kiss. This is the one thing that i can say im glad im not a boy! But im probably just as bad because i can never tell if someone likes me unless they make it extremely obvious so all i could have told him is that it could have been a datebut then again maybe not. I really love seeing more of remus and addy together, i think that they are really cute! I also love how what gets talked about between remus and luna ties into the rest of the chapter, i think its really awesome! I look forward to reading more! Great job!

~slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Remus was so worried about this, and he had the added hardship of his lycanthropy on top of everything else. I'm glad I'm not a boy, either! And I also am clueless as to knowing whether someone likes me or not. Writing Remus and Addy together was so much fun. They went together so nicely. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Liana The Order of the Phoenix

10th December 2012:
I wonder if the OoP will be the thing to break up Remus and Addy. Although Remus graduating could put him out of sight and potentially out of mind. This was a good chapter. I wondered if Peter joined or not. I guess he did in the books. I sat on the edge of my chair wondering what he'd decide. I think your writing a story about Peter will be very interesting. I look forward to that.

Author's Response: It might be! Graduation will also be a hardship on their relationship. Yeah, Peter was in the OotP, according to canon. Not sure when I'll write the sequel, but I hope to. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by Pheonix Potioneer The Order of the Phoenix

6th December 2012:
I can understand Remus's decision to join the Order, but Addy's going to be upset. Patrick just died fighting for them, and now Remus is joining.

My prediction is that this begins the ending of their relationship. She's angry at Patrick for joining, and now Remus is joining too.

I'm eager for the next chapter! :)

Author's Response: Addy will be extremely upset. She'll feel pretty betrayed. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by slytherinchica08 Extra Lessons

5th December 2012:
So I'm really wondering about this Professor, is he really who he says he is, or does he have a different agenda? Remus seems to be very cautious around him and unsure which in turn makes me unsure of his motives. I loved seeing more of Remus and Addy in this chapter though! I think that you have her done wonderfully with a bit of an airy attitude but then also very smart, pretty much exactly like Luna! I'm also wondering what happened in Snape's life that makes it hard for him to be around a Dementor because we know that he can do the spell and you would think that he would have plenty of happy moments with Lily but apparently something else trumps all of that! I still feel bad for Remus though that he can't do his and ends up passing out each time but it is rather understandable what with his own horrors that haunt his life. I can't imagine being five years old and waking up in St Mungos to hear your parents falling apart because you are now a werewolf. As always, I look forward to the next chapter! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Hmm...possibly! You'll have to wait and see. Remus is right to be cautious, though, because they've had some really awful DADA professors in the past.

I'm very happy you like the way I've done Addy. She's hard to do because I have to make her similar to Luna, yet different at the same time, because Luna wouldn't be an exact copy of her mother.

Snape's awful childhood and issues with Lily are the reason he can't produce a patronus very well. He will eventually learn to do it properly, and learn that his happy moments with Lily can trump the bad ones.

Remus really does have some awful memories, but he will eventually overcome them and successfully produce a patronus. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by slytherinchica08 Dementors

5th December 2012:
Oh Yay finally I get to see more Adeline! I thought that that was so sweet that she just got up from her studying spot and went and joined him, though she is a bit of an odd person, has the same air to her as Luna does which I'm assuming is what you were going for. I felt so bad for Remus that he ended up pasing out but it also adds a bit more to him and how he knew what Harry needed after he passed out on the train. I'm loving your Remus! I think that he is a great character and one that is hard to do because of the whole werewolf thing you would think he would be a bit bitter with himself and friends for having the lives that they do have and I could see that in here with James especially and how he says that James has an easy life. I loved the ending though! It was just so sweet and I think the perfect touch. I also like how you start out each chapter with Remus and Luna and her asking a bit about her mother. I think its touching. Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Indeed! The moment finally came! Addy is definitely an odd person, which is where Luna gets it from (and from her dad), and it was intentional. But Addy's oddness is going to help Remus, even if it's as small a thing as studying next to him.

Remus's difficulties with the patronus are what caused him to be able to help Harry so much, at least in this. I'm really glad you like my Remus! He is hard to write, because it's easy to overdo or under-do the werewolf thing. I'm glad you like the beginnings, too. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by slytherinchica08 Patronuses

5th December 2012:
Oh I hope that Remus didn't do much more damage to his leg, but at least it seemed like he had fun with his friends during the full moon. I can imagine that the day leading up to it must be very hard for him and that spells could become difficult to do! I'm still looking for more action with Adeline though but I do appreciate a slow start as well so I can understand that you need to set up the actual story first before you can jump into things. But yay, Remus was able to finally do the patronus charm! Though he is right that it is rather peculiar that while the shape of his patronus actually harms him in real life but is meant to protect him otherwise. I thought that this was another great chapter! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Remus did have a lot of fun with his friends during the full moon. He has a lot of trouble on the days leading up to it, but he gets through. Sorry for the wait for the Addy stuff! But you're right, the story does need to be set up, and Remus takes things slow. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by slytherinchica08 Appointments

5th December 2012:
I loved seeing his mom and how supportive she seems to be of him! Its just nice knowing that while life has dealt him a rather horrid hand, he at least has good family and friends by his side. I also liked when you compared him to his father as it helped me to picture him in a whay even though he was never actually there. The tests are finally over! I would be absolutely fretting by now about if I got in or not and I love how each one had a different reaction to going and getting tested! It would be scary though to have spent pretty much your last two years all working up to this one moment and now you just have to play the waiting game to find out if you got it or not. I still feel so bad for Remus though, I mean as a werewolf he really does have limited options for work and it must be hard to listen to all his friends talking about their futures but yet he has no idea where he is going or what is even possible for him. I thought that this was another great chapter and continue to look forward to the next! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: I loved writing Remus's mum. We never meet her in canon, but I always pictured her as a very loving person. Same with his dad. Parents that didn't care wouldn't have tried to get him into Hogwarts.

I'd be so worried about getting in, too! So few Marauders fics focus on their quests for employment and I imagine that would've been a high priority as seventh years.

It really is awful for Remus to watch his friends moving on, though. He doesn't have many options, which is so sad. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by slytherinchica08 Letters

5th December 2012:
Poor Remus having to wander around the castle with a cane and possible permanent damage to his leg all because of Bulstrode pushing him! Go Sirius though for getting Bulstrode back, though a bit for different reasons than him picking on Remus but still good for him, its not good to keep all that fustration that he has bottled up. I'm also excited to finally see the Death Eater symbol involved and speculation about it being their symbol but I do still wonder about it being used for their raids as well. I was hoping to see a bit more of Adeline in this chapter especially with how you left off with the bit about Luna being exactly like her mom I thought we would get a clip of her mom acting like that as well. I enjoyed this chapter very much though and can't wait to read the next! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Remus didn't have a good start to the school year, that's for sure. Bulstrode is definitely not a nice bloke, and Sirius couldn't keep it bottled up any longer.

The Addy stuff is pretty slow going, because Remus will be very hesitant. But you'll see more of her soon. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by slytherinchica08 New Recruits

5th December 2012:
So the only thing that I really found odd and out of place in this chapter was that his partner was a Slytherin but yet when they caught the two other Slytherins you described her as being scared of them being involved in Death Eater activity but I would imagine that a Slytherin wouldn't be scared at all. There was also one sentence that was off and its here, "Sitting in the front could be dangerous if the professor was had a tendency to spit while he talked or if he had a fear of vampires requiring him to use garlic as a perfume." I think that the word was is extra and if dropped would help keep the flow that the rest of the story does wonderfully. I enjoyed the characterization in this chapter a lot other than the small bit with the Slytherin girl I felt that they were all spot on including Dumbledore who I feel is very hard to do. Oh I've forgotten to mention in my other reviews that I do like the small clip from him teaching and then going back to him being a student at hogwarts which is all brought on by Luna being in his class. I think that this is a very original idea that you have and I look forward to reading more! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Not all Slytherins are Death Eaters, though, and that's what I wanted to show. Maybe the Death Eaters wouldn't target most Slytherins, but it'd still be scary. Yep, that's just an extra word in that sentence. Thanks for pointing it out!

Dumbledore is incredibly hard to write. I always worry that I don't do him justice, so I'm very glad you liked his characterization! I'm glad you like the flashbacks, too! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by slytherinchica08 Death Eaters

4th December 2012:
So the Death Eaters are finally being figured out, though I was wondering if you have it so that they are not using the dark mark then when they kill someone or does that begin to come later after they are found out? I thought this was a great chapter and really enjoyed reading it! I like that this story already has a bit of action going on what with the Death Eaters and everything and wondering who could be one around them. I felt bad for Sirius though as he knew that his family would support something like this but then deny's that his brother would ever be involved with it. The chapter seemed to flow really well and I couldn't spot any mistakes so great job on that. Altogether this was a great read and I look forward to reading the next chapter! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: I think canon was pretty vague on the timeline for when the Death Eaters started making themselves known and when they started using the Dark Mark. I haven't found a conclusive answer on that.

I'm glad you liked the chapter! I wanted to put the action in fairly early on, because the war had already started at this point. Sirius coming to terms with his brother as a Death Eater is his main plot in this story. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>