Reading Reviews for Inexplicably in Love
  
36 Reviews Found

Review #1, by LadyL8 Unexplainable, Indescribable

12th June 2015:
Hi There. I'm here for the House Cup, as you could probably guess on your own.

Anyway, this was such a beautiful story. I've always loved Luna, and I've always thought she was smart in different kind of way than book-smart. She's always been one of those girls that dare to be different, who's a little odd and do things her way, but it sort of seems like it's because she's got some understanding of the universe that others don't have. And it was great seeing Rolf, her future husband, see that in her too. I like that he shows us the best of Luna, and that's she's never looney to him - she's just her, different but very great. You have some wonderful description in there that I would love to be able to write myself - it was almost like Luna was some sort of angel to him. I loved that. And OMG, I loved this line; " From her hair as silver as the celestial body she was named after to her unique mind always willing to explore possibilities and see what most wouldn’t see; she was beautiful through and through". So beautiful.

I loved it. It's as simple as that. I'm very much in love with this story now, and I wish I was as good as you at description, that's for sure. I hope you have a wonderful weekend, and don't stop writing!

Hugs

Lotte

House Cup 2015 - Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #2, by maskedmuggle Unexplainable, Indescribable

11th June 2015:
Hey!

This was amazing. I love Luna, and reading about Luna/Rolf from Rolf's perspective was just so beautiful and lovely! I loved how you could clearly tell how much Rolf adored Luna, and your writing was absolutely beautiful. The way Rolf described Luna was just so magical, especially this line (I think it's my favourite part): She was the air he breathed, the sun whose warmth he basked in. From her hair as silver as the celestial body she was named after to her unique mind always willing to explore possibilities and see what most wouldn’t see; she was beautiful through and through. It was just so sweet how Rolf went through all the different aspects of why he loved Luna, and it just felt so genuine, so real, and so truly deep.

I also loved the bit at the end about how they first met - how it was an instant connection and mutual understanding between them. I also loved your characterisation of Rolf himself throughout, such as at the start where he has been pondering over why he has these thoughts and feelings and can't work out why. This fic is like a ray of sunshine in a thunderstorm - it's something to read to cheer you up and make you realise what love really is all about. Beautiful writing.

- Charlotte
Ravenclaw House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #3, by DracoFerret11 Unexplainable, Indescribable

11th June 2015:
Hello there! This is DarkRose from the forums, here to review for you for the House Cup 2015! I enjoyed this story quite a bit! So, let's go over things:

Grammar/Spelling: I only spotted one "error." At least, I think it's an error since I don't understand this sentence - "When she was be with their children." But other than that, very clean!

Plot: I think this was so lovely and sweet. My heart holds a special place for Luna and Rolf. It was so cute that he kept trying to put their love into words, and even cuter that she told him he didn't have to. I really liked it.

Characterization: I think you wrote Luna and Rolf very true to canon. I loved the scene where Luna was running after her sons. I can see her doing that, and it was so sweet to imagine. Really well done.

Flow: The only time I felt that the story didn't flow smoothly was in the third to last paragraph. It seemed to go back in time compared to the rest of the story, and I was a bit confused by it. But until then, things were really smooth. Great job.

Descriptions/Style: The way you write is so lovely. This whole story felt like it had a golden glow emanating from it. It was so true to their love, but understated in such a lovely way. I keep saying the word "lovely," but that's all I can really say to describe this!

Overall, this was such a great read! Well written and fun to read! Great job!

--Emily (DarkRose)

Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #4, by patronus_charm Unexplainable, Indescribable

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Ooh, this was really cool as I never get to see Luna/Rolf stories from Rolf’s perspective so I really enjoyed this. He really did seem to marvel in all of Luna’s eccentricities and really embraced, so much so, that at times I wondered if he was jealous of them and wanted some of them himself. There were just so many cute moments and images in this story I’m finding it hard to pick them out but I think it was the one were Rolf was thinking about the way Luna kissed their children and how much she loved them, and it was so bittersweet as it reminded me of how her own mother died, but so wonderful too. I just loved this so much!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for reviewing this fluffy piece. It's one of my faves. I do see that Rolf would embrace and be in wonder of Luna as opposed to thinking it strange and just accepting her weirdness. That is who I think she would marry.

 Report Review

Review #5, by adluvshp Unexplainable, Indescribable

18th September 2013:
Hey! Here for review tag.

Aww this was adorably beautiful. I loved your take on Luna/Rolf - they're an interesting pairing - and I loved the way you described Rolf's love for Luna. There was such beautiful imagery in your writing, I could visualise everything with a smile on my face.

The little details you added in about random creatures and small incidents were amazing. I think you thought this out really well and it turned out so nice. I really, really enjoyed reading this, and it gave me butterflies in my stomach xD

The only CC I'd give you is that there were some small grammar typos here and there. For instance, at one point:

"...their curly hair blond hair sparkling with drops of water." - There is a repetition of the word 'hair'.

Similarly, there are a few small mistakes here and there that can be fixed easily with a thorough re-read. Besides that, this was a very well-written one-shot and I loved it. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a cute adorable one-shot =)

I am glad I could stop by! Great job!
9/10
Cheers!
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Thank you for this lovely review. You put a smile on MY face reading this. Thank you for the point out on the mistakes and I will try to address these soon.

 Report Review

Review #6, by 800 words of heaven Unexplainable, Indescribable

9th September 2013:
REVIEW TAG!

I have this horrible habit of choosing older pieces to read from an author's page, especially if I haven't read any of their works before. I vowed to myself that I would stop this practise, however, I couldn't resist! The lure of Luna and Rolf fluff, coupled with Valentine's Day was just too strong to ignore!

One paragraph in, and already, I adore Rolf, simply because it is just so obvious how much he loves Luna. Also the fact that he invented a language is sort of totally awesome, but mostly it's his undying love.

Ah! I'm getting all the Luna feels! I really admire her character so much, and it's not often that I find a story in which she's depicted the way I perceive her, but the way she deals with Rolf trying to define them and their relationship is very close to the way I imagine her handling such a situation. Well done!

Okay, the picture you've painted of domestic life in the Scamander household is heart melting. I think I'm in love with this story. My heart is doing weird things in my chest because of all the cuteness and adorbs. I apologise for sounding a little creepy, here, as I tend to get rather emotionally invested, but this is just... *sighs*

I think my favourite part of this story is that it's written from Rolf's point of view. In canon, we never get to see this kind of adoration for Luna, who completely and utterly deserves it. It definitely gives us, as the reader, a different perspective on her character, whilst still retaining a sense of Luna with which we are all familiar.

If it wasn't so evident, let me just reiterate: this story was a little piece of wonderful! Awesome job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this! I am so so happy you loved all the cuteness :D I don't often do fluff so to know that fulff worked out so well I'm happy.

 Report Review

Review #7, by HeyMrsPotter Unexplainable, Indescribable

31st July 2013:
Review tag!
I've not read many Luna/Rolf stories so chose to review this one :)

This was just perfect fluff! I loved the story of how they met and how the character you've created for Rolf suits Luna brilliantly.

I think the way you wrote Rolf's perspective of Luna was very true to her character-especially the yellow wedding dress, that was a lovely touch to what I'm sure was a wacky wedding!

I also really enjoyed the little moments with the twins and in the pond. So basically, I loved the whole lot!

I didn't see any grammar or spelling mistakes and it flowed excellently. All in all a lovely one-shot which is being added to my favourites!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #8, by rogue_bludger Unexplainable, Indescribable

5th May 2013:
Ravenclaw Review Tag!
This is absolutely beautiful. You make Luna come to life, and the relationship between her and Rolf is so believable in this, it's amazing. I love the way you make this piece so much more than just a fluffy one-shot- you make it feel so real and believable and tangible. This is probably one of the best one-shots I've read, and I do look forward to reading more of your writing!
~M

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so happy you liked it! Rolf and Luna are such a cute couple in my head!canon and maybe I'll explore them more at some future date :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Potterblotter Unexplainable, Indescribable

2nd February 2013:
This is lovely! So cute and just a great insight to the mind of Rolf. Some of the wording and sentence structure needs a little attention, but over all a lovely little story.

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by ohmymerlin Unexplainable, Indescribable

1st October 2012:
Oh my gosh, this was absolutely adorable! I love Luna and Rolf, I think you've done a wonderful job writing about them!
When you said she came down the aisle "in a bright cheerful yellow", I actually grinned. That would be exactly what Luna would wear at her wedding.
I absolutely loved this one-shot, it was really well-done!
10/10! :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this! You put a smile on my face :) (So sorry for late reply!)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Maybe Unexplainable, Indescribable

18th July 2012:
Aw, so so so cute! I love this so much. I could imagine the Luna-and-Rolf-in-the-pond scene so vividly, it was adorable. And the idea of how they met - such an unlikely creature that only appears at the most specific point in time and only Luna would be so understanding of Rolf's beliefs. Absolutely loved the way this was written, it flowed so well and the descriptions were lovely. Just adorable! :)

-Maybe

Author's Response: Ah, I'm so glad that you got so much adorableness out of it. This one shot really is a sickly sweet and I'm glad that you loved it. Luna and Rolf are a pairing we don't see often and I'm glad you were able to enjoy my writing

 Report Review

Review #12, by forsakenphoenix Unexplainable, Indescribable

6th July 2012:
As much as I love your dark, horror stories, I think you should write fluff more often. Oh my goodness, Char, my heart has swelled and is literally threatening to burst out of my chest with my love for your Rolf and Luna. This was just so, so lovely.

I love how Rolf tries to approach their relationship, how to define it - with languages and formulas, and nothing he knows can put into words them. Luna is such a unique character and I love Rolf for seeing that and you for writing it.

I think my favorite part, though, was when Rolf was watching Luna with Lorcan and Lysander, and this: to make sure she was still there, still coming for them. Which she always was; she always would be. Oh my god, my HEART. Literally bursting.

I thought it was cute that they met at a convention and they bonded over manticrocs. :)

This is seriously so sweet and full of love and I just feel really happy now to have read it. Seriously. Write more. Now.

Author's Response: Hee! I'm so glad you like my fluff!! I do have a tendency to go on fluffy sprees so watch out!

Everything you said was so precious and made me smile dear. Thank you! It really brightened my day to hear that I made you happy with just this little story :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Owlpost68 Unexplainable, Indescribable

16th June 2012:
This was such a wonderful story, just beautifully written from Rolf's POV about Luna. All the things that make up who she is, is all the love he has for her.
I liked how you said 'he stocked up on these memories' it made me smile. It sort of said that he'd remember every detail about her, and who she is, and what they've done together, all the memories, he'd remember them forever. Seriously, lovely story, definitely going into my favorites. Loved it!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! That was one of my fave parts too :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by The Wizard of Potterland Unexplainable, Indescribable

6th June 2012:
That was such a sweet story! I really loved it.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #15, by momotwins Unexplainable, Indescribable

30th April 2012:
Oh the fluff! The romance! I adore this. I sincerely hope you weren't writing this as a parody (I've heard you don't do romance except as parody) because it's absolutely beautiful. I just love it. I wish it was longer, I totally want to read a Luna/Rolf story now. So sweet. Beautifully written.

Author's Response: Oh no, this is very much not a parody! The only romance I like to parody is NextGen and I've only done one of those. :) I lean more towards angst than anything else.

I'm so glad you adored this! This review totally made me smile :) :) i don't know if you've read this one already but AndrinaBlack wrote a fluffy Luna/Rolf called "Snooze"


 Report Review

Review #16, by killinglonely Unexplainable, Indescribable

7th April 2012:
Hello, I'm here with your VERY late review! I am so sorry for the wait! You requested in February and I still haven't responded, but here I am now, and I'll try to say as much as possible to make up for the delay.

There was really only one thing I found weird in Luna's characterization. 'She told him that she knew he loved her and why and to hell with others trying to define them.' To me, it didn't seem like Luna would say that kind of thing out loud. Like, she was so weird, and of course she knew that, but she was so beyond the point of caring that she wouldn't even mention it. Luna is a lot more carefree and airy, so she wouldn't mention something like that. It almost makes it sound like she was purposely stepping outside the box when we know it's just her character, and in the end makes her sound like one of those teenagers that tries hard to be unique.

Now, don't get me wrong, this is an AMAZING story. You really did characterize Luna well, despite my ramble up there. I like when you talked about her hitching up her skirts, that was definitely a Luna thing. And I love how you portrayed her husband, even though we know Luna is weird, we get to see that there's some normal in the relationship (because you know, everyone assumes that together they're a bunch of nutbags so it's nice to see some normalcy). I adored the first paragraph! Very sweet, very charming, this whole thing was very light and cute and I loved it. What I admire the most about this is your ability to say so much in so few words. If you read my fics, I'm always coming up with four thousand word chapters and huge paragraphs that make my readers' eyes hurt. It's amazing that you can give so much in so little.

Anyway, this is definitely going to my favorites.

Author's Response: Thanks for coming by! I'm sorry for my own delay in responding to this review!

On Luna, I'd like to think that after some years she would have matured a bit, the world having gotten to her a little bit but not altered her in anyway. I do see your point on this making her seem like she was acting that way on purpose rather than just because she was that way. I'll see if I'll change anything on that in any future edits.

Thank you fir your compliments on me being able to say so much in few words :) I'm always worrying about word count because I tend to think I don't have enough to say. This tells you how well I do on NaNoWriMo (as in not).

xChar


 Report Review

Review #17, by WeepingWillows Unexplainable, Indescribable

2nd April 2012:
This was such a cute and sweet story. I loved how you wrote Rolf most of all. When you see Luna Lovegood stories you sometimes see the writers writing Luna in her point of view but it was such a delight to see her written from someone else's review!

I adored how you described their relationship with each other. This line completely won me over :)


When she cried he was there to wipe her tears, to bring a smile back to her face. When she laughed it was his arms that caught her and spun her around in delight, reveling in her light frame against him. He was the man who stood at the end of the aisle as she walked towards him, dressed not in the traditional white, but in a bright cheerful yellow. He made her tingle and ache with his hands and lips.


Eee. So good! 10/10. :) And going to my favorite since this is actually my first Rolf/Luna story that I have ever read and I just LOVED it.

Author's Response: I am so happy that I was able to be your first Rolf/Luna story and that you liked it! :) Rolf was really fun to write and his voice just kind of came out that way. Again, it makes me happy to read you liked this because it was such fluffy goodness.

 Report Review

Review #18, by fancy Unexplainable, Indescribable

10th March 2012:
This was so nice! I've always been kind of fascinated with Rolf/Luna because so much could be done with them. I think you've written Rolf really well, I always pictured him as this fairly normal and grounded person who contrasted but complemented Luna's more cooky personality and I feel that's sort of the direction you took with him.

Also the moments you show between the two of them flowed really well, especially how Luna is with the twins. Your description was great and your story had a really good structure and flow.

This was a great little one shot. Your characterisation was lovely and I really enjoyed it!

Author's Response: Yeah, that's how I've pictured Rolf too! Luna needs someone to bring her back down to the ground once in a while :) I'm glad you thought this was lovely and great and it makes me all happy inside to hear that!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Cavell Unexplainable, Indescribable

8th March 2012:
I've been meaning to read this particular one-shot of yours for ages - and darn it, it was so sweet! You wrote Rolf quite well and realistically, which is good since we read so little about him. I loved Luna in this, very.. well, Luna! You are turning out to be a fantastic author, and I really enjoyed reading this one-shot, so keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Oh wow! I'm flattered you were looking at this! I'm so happy that you liked my Luna and Rolf. They were so much fun to write!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Aderyn Unexplainable, Indescribable

8th March 2012:
Hello :D

This is a very cute and well written piece. You managed to write something fluffy, but still have it be touching--a great Valentine's Day one-shot.

I love how you manage to tell Luna and Rolf's story in just a few thousand words. I feel like you were very efficient in your use of language in order to tell of their life with children, and their first encounter.

I think you picked the perfect way to tell this story--in moments. These little flashes, or memories are often how we remember our loved ones. And they all seem to be moments of pure happiness and joy in life.

I think the last line really sums up the moments in the rest of the story, and explain why Rolf is so happy to simply watch his wife.

I honestly don't have much critique for this piece. Great job, and I really enjoyed reading it :)

Author's Response: Hi! I was trying to drown people in fluff and it seems that it worked pretty well.

To be honest, I was worried about the flashes of memories because it would be disjointed so to hear that it was the "perfect way" makes me feel so squishy inside! :)

Gah! This was such a nice review! Thank you!!


 Report Review

Review #21, by ginerva_molly_weasley Unexplainable, Indescribable

1st March 2012:
This is one of the cutest things I have ever read!

I love the Luna/Rolf pairing because you can do so much with it! It's adorable how you've written it so mystically and just really in Luna style.

The setting is just one of peace and tranquility which makes it come off as a really lovely fluffy, light read! I'd love to see you write more of this.

I actually can't put into words how much I do love this! It's a beautiful piece!

Author's Response: I adored writing this because it was so cute and fluffy and sweet so I'm glad you liked it to! I hadn't thought to write Luna and Rolf before reading, of all things, a Draco/Luna! :)

It's tough as an angst writer, but I do want to do more fluffy! :)

xChar


 Report Review

Review #22, by javct Unexplainable, Indescribable

1st March 2012:
Tag!
Ooo! I loved this. I've never really been one for Luna/Rolf (being a diehard Neville/Luna shipper) but you really sold their relationship here for me. I just utterly adored this. You may have even made me consider them as a shipping.
The imagery in this story was beautiful!!!
Jaz

Author's Response: :) Thank you!! It's always fun to hear that I've been able to expand someone's thoughts in different directions! :) I haven't read much Neville/Luna myself so perhaps I can go get myself sold on them :) Thank you for this!

xChar


 Report Review

Review #23, by Miss Muggle Unexplainable, Indescribable

29th February 2012:
This is story is amazing! I feel like Rolf, not sure how to describe my love for this story ;) Everything about it is sweet, beautiful, and perfect. Really.
I love Rolf's character. He seems like a great fit for Luna. THe way they met is just brilliant. I can't think of a better way for Luna to meet her match!
When I saw this the first thing I thought was "ugh, a Luna story." Nobody ever seems to write her right. She's completely insane (ever weirder than in the books) or become just another regular person, which is really no fun. You are the first I've read to make her believable (granted, I don't read a lot of Luna, but that doesn't make it any less incredible). You've had her mature without losing the way she was.
Seeing it all through Rolf's eyes just made it a thousand times better because he has his own way of seeing her. He doesn't see her as weird or odd, but as his wonderful wife.

Author's Response: *HUGS*

Thank you! I had fun writing Rolf and liked to think that Rolf and Luna complement each other, him with his somewhat sensibleness and her and her wide-eyed wonder. It makes me all happy to hear that I've managed to stay true to Luna as possible. She's a very hard character to write because, like you said, it's easy to lose her.

xChar


 Report Review

Review #24, by TheGoldenKneazle Unexplainable, Indescribable

23rd February 2012:
N'aww this was so cute! :3 I loved how you built up the picture of Rolf, showed him trying to describe how they were in love, using rational methods of measurement and description; the suggestion was that they were irrational and completely perfect, and I adored that. The way that Rolf was always saying how much he was in awe of Luna was the cutest thing! I loved it so much :)

I also loved how you described Luna and Rolf's relationship in general; how he would watch her and help her, and they would do the unconventional together. I loved your theory of how they met! It was such a Luna thing, and it was so gorgeous. I absolutely adored this all over :3 10/10!
~TGK

Author's Response: Thank you! Though all we have as "canon" to go off of for Rolf and Luna is that they're both some sort of naturalists, I felt that with the academic background, he'd be more of the school-y type guy. But being married to Luna, one can't be too mired in semantics, eh?

Wow, thank you so much on all the lovely words you wrote! I'm going to be going to sleep with a smile!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Elenia Unexplainable, Indescribable

22nd February 2012:
(Tag!)

Oh gosh! This was the sweetest thing ever! I really really loved this! It made me all warm and fuzzy inside ♥

You did such an amazing job with your characters! Rolf is just like I imagined him. So academic, but still not blinded by the facts. He's a curious nature and wants to find the truth behind it all. And Luna! She seems so full of life, like she was in the books. I think she was really true to her character! I absolutely loved the idea of her in a yellow wedding dress!

And the love they share! *happy sigh* You described it so beautifully and made it feel so real. This was just so well written and captivating. I feel like Rolf, I don't even have the words to describe how wonderful this is. You just managed to fit so much details and feelings in this that I'm in awe.

This was just perfect!

~Elenia

Author's Response: Hi!!! Yay, you get to review one of my stories! :)

How funny! You're the second person to point out how academic Rolf is. I hadn't thought I was writing him that way but I guess I did and it worked out brilliantly! I must say, I'm smarter than I think (lol, sorry, having a pompous moment there).

Thank you for this :) I definitely tried to make it uber-gushy and cute and you have assured me that I did! :) Yay!

xChar


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>