Reading Reviews for Tear Drops
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MissMdsty A Storm in my Heart

23rd November 2012:
Hey there!

This was heartbreaking and so beautifully worded. You can feel her raw emotion in the way she speaks of her daughter. And it's the kind of emotion only somebody who's lost a child can describe. It makes my skin crawl just to try and imagine how that would feel.

I read the AN and saw that this was your first fan fic and I have to say that I'm really impressed. I'll probably be blown away by the time I reach the top of your Author's Page. I remember some ten years ago when I started writting and what I wrote back then was nothing compared to how this is.

You managed to develop a character starting from one emotion, from a dark and personal place they were in and through her you managed to describe all those around her: Harry, the strong parental figure, Hermione, the logical one, Ron, the rock. It was written wonderfully, it really touched my heart! :)

Off to read the next one! :D

 Report Review

Review #2, by luciusobsessed A Storm in my Heart

20th June 2012:
Oh my god you're sooo good at writing super sentimental stories. I feel so bad for Ginny. It's so depressing how she lost her daughter, then her husband left as well. I think this is a really good story, and it really teaches us to appreciate what we have in life! I love all your stories and honestly think you should keep writing wonderful stories just like this one. Amazing job, as usual :)

Author's Response: Thank you so so so much! I'm so glad you enjoyed it! You're so sweet.
I also noticed that you added me as a favourite author, so thank you! You really are too kind :) x


 Report Review

Review #3, by LittleWelshGirl99 A Storm in my Heart

20th May 2012:
Oh, wow! This was really moving. I think it was the part with Lily's rabbit, and how Ginny had once loved it too but now couldn't bear to look at it. Maybe it was how she'd turned to God, turned to God in her time of greatest need when everyone else had abandoned her. As a christian, I can relate to that scarily well.

I absolutely adore how you've written this. It' such a senitive topic, but I think you've manage dto get it right. I wasn't sure baout the part with Harry leaving her too but it seemed to fit and didn't disrupt the flow in my head.

It was originally for the radio 2 writing competition? That's interesting :) Good job, well done!

-Annon

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I'm glad you liked it.
This was the first piece of writing I was actually proud of and it was my first HP fic.
Because it wasn't Originally a HPFF, I made Harry leave her and I know he would never do that but it was just to fit with the story.
Yeah, it was for the 500 words win your hieght it books thing. I only got to the top 2000 out of 74000, not the top 50 :( but I wasn't really expecting to.
Thanks again, this really made my day :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by CassiePotter A Storm in my Heart

26th April 2012:
Wow, that was amazing! It was so utterly tragic, but you paint a picture in our minds beautifully. Also, it's so true to Ginny's character, I can really picture her thinking and saying all of this. I'm so happy I inspired you to write a happy one-shot! I love them because it's just a little spot of happiness for people to read, and they make you feel good! I also have two other stories up, called Love Me Tender and The Fourth Daughter. Check those out if you want to see some different types of writing from me. They're the ones I put the bulk of the work into, so I love when people read them and tell me that they enjoy them, or how I can make them better. I'm glad you recommended your one-shots! This one was awesome! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! This really made my day- well what's left of it!
Sure, I would love to check out your other stories!
I also have two other stories and a few more on the way so feel free to have a look, I would love to know what you think.
I'm currently in the middle of writing a happy short story but that won't be out for another week or so.
Thanks again! :D


 Report Review

Review #5, by potterfan310 A Storm in my Heart

2nd April 2012:
this is really good and teensy little bit sad
-potterfan310

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Calypso  A Storm in my Heart

20th March 2012:
Ahhh this was great!! I love fics which centre round mother/daughter relationships and this one was really beautiful although heartbreaking in places.
You managed to convey Ginny's emotions really well and I think the way in which Lily's death affected her (like still talking to her, still going through her bedroom but also responding with anger and violence) was very real and very human. I really got a sense of the distress and injustice that Ginny was feeling. Also, you writing has a lovely flow to it which is very easy to get into and which carries the reader through the story.
I know you have mentioned that it wasn't originally a Harry Potter fan fic, but if I were to give a point for improvement it would be to try and open out her emotions regarding Harry, James and Albus a bit more and maybe develop that theme? I think that losing them would have had almost as much impact as losing Lily.
That said, this was an amazing story- you have a great imagination and writing style and made your characters really real :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much, this really made my day!
I agree with you saying that losing her sons and Harry would have been just as hard as losing Lily but this fic is really concentrating on the loss of Lily. But I'll take that into account and maybe add more of that loss.
Thank you so much for taking your time to leave a review and for all the lovey comments! :D :D :D


 Report Review

Review #7, by baletgir A Storm in my Heart

17th March 2012:
Aw, that was so sad. I can definitely tell that Harry Potter wasn't your inspiration for this, and it is probably better off as a piece of Other Fiction, but it was well written and I did enjoy reading it all the same. There were some issues I had with it, like why would Ginny and Harry's daughter have blonde hair? And I'd really like to know what would have happened to James and Albus in this situation. Were they equally torn up over their sister's death? Or were they too young to understand?

I think you have a great writing ability, and if you want to continue to post on this site try some real fanfiction. If you need inspiration, the challenges on the forums are all ways a great place to start, even if you don't officially enter one, just seeing other ideas can spark something!

I think a strong suit of yours is writing emotions. I could really feel Ginny's anguish in this and I really felt for her. And not just her, but also for how helpless everyone else must feel in trying to comfort her.

Good Job!
:)BaletGir

Author's Response: Thank you so much.
I have just posted a real hpff but it's not very good, I just wanted something to start off with so I decided to make this slightly like a HPFF. About Lily having blond hair, I just forgot to change that but I'll go and do that now, thanks for pointing that out.
James and Albus are... well I don't really know, sometimes when I'm writting I just sort of write something to suit what I'm writting, if that makes any sense. So I not really sure what happened to them.
Anyway thanks for reviewing, it really made my day!!!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Hermione389 A Storm in my Heart

12th March 2012:
I'm supposed to be doing Spanish homework, but what the heck, I'll delay it by a few minutes so I can write this review.
This story is beautiful but so sad! Poor Ginny, poor Lily, poor everyone. It's really tragic that Lily died (hit by a car?) at such a young age, but that's life, I suppose.
Well, all in all, 10/10, and an add to favourites.

Author's Response: Thankyou so much. This was my first fic and you are the first reviewer so thankyou. I was begining to think that it really was crap.
Yeah, as i said in my A/N this was never supposed to be a hpff so that is why she was hit by a car and i couldn't bothered to change it.
Thankyou again.
:D :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login