Reading Reviews for Memories of Hogwarts
  
75 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Gabriella Hunter Battle of the Malfoys

14th September 2012:
Hello!

Sorry that its been a long time since my last review and I hope you can forgive me! D': It was really nice to get back to this story, I've been so busy lately that I haven't had a chance to do much of anything, especially reading my favorite stories. So today I decided that I'd come back to this delightful little bit of awesome and here I am!
It was good to see that Harriet was getting a bit of a break from her grandchildren but I can understand why they hadn't wanted to leave! I mean, honestly, would you want to leave and go home when your grandparents telling such awesome stories? I wouldn't!
But Harriet remembering something on her own was really nice as well, and the events that she recalled were actually alot more serious than I'd expected! I could only imagine what was really happening with the Malfoys! And Dante, what a little snot, how could he do all that to his sister? Poor Adira! Poor Scorpy! D:
I'm really proud of Harriet for stepping in to talk to Adira though and I'm really curious to know what's going to happen in the next chapter. There were only a few grammar problems in the beginning but other than that it was a flawless and amazing read, just like always!
I hope everything is going all right with you and that you're doing well! :D
P.S.: I have a MTA on my site if you want to ask me any questions about my stories. AND I've gotten a one-shot up with Draco Malfoy AND I have a new story that should be up soon and I hope you check those out if you like. Also! *Inhale* I'm going to update for Albus again and eventually I'll be back to "A Force of Wills" but until then, you can read something else of mine if you feel like it!
Until then!
Much love,
Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #2, by Gabriella Hunter Truth, Lies and Christmas Spirit

12th August 2012:
Hello!

So sorry that its taken me forever to leave you a review, I haven't had the time to devote to alot of my favorite stories lately and it sucks! And plus, I've been going through boring adult stuff and that blows.
Anyway, it was good to be back with Harriet again and I really liked how you described the differences to how she is now versus to how she was before she went to Hogwarts. The scenes with her two Muggle friends was very well done and I could almost see her squirming uncomfortably with all those questions! She obviously felt conflicted and the added weight of her grandparent's not being there must have really put her down.
But I was glad that her parents had decided to make things small for the holidays without them! I could only imagine how awkward it was going to get if they had come round. Eep!
This was a very great read and the details (Lily's letter was so cute!) and the fact that Harriet has gotten closer to herself and her parents was very touching. :D
I'll be back!
p.s.: My laptop shall be fixed by the end of this month, I swear on my collection of comics that it will be so don't be too upset with me! :D
Until then!
Much love,
Gabbie

Author's Response: Hey again! Urgh, I feel terrible that I didn't respond to this sooner, but life gets sucky and drags you down sometimes...
So, I'm so glad you're still enjoying this! It makes me realise that I should probably kick myself up the bum and get writing again... *guilty face guilty face*
Oh, the awkwardness of this chapter. Family awkwardness, friend awkwardness, everything... Lots of squirming indeed.
I'm looking forward to lots of updates once your laptop is fixed :P And then hopefully you can look forward to more reviews if I sort my life out!

Alex :D


 Report Review

Review #3, by BKL8008 Reconciliation

18th July 2012:
Wow,that was a shock! Sorry I've taken so long to get to this chapter, too. I've read a few "Petunia breaks up" plots, and most of them were awful. You've done a good capture of her, using the name "Lily" to finally complete her turnabout. It was well done. As for Dudley at the end, wow...I have to say that I can relate, however. Contrary to popular belief, not every boy/man holds his mother in high regard - and this barb was very well placed. Excellent read! Oh, and you asked before about a continuation of my Magnus story? I'm working on a small bit for you and one other! Thanks for your reviews, as well.

Author's Response: Urgh, how did it take me so long to reply to this?! I feel terrible... but thankyou! Given the brief glimpse of him that we saw in the DH, I can't really see Dudley having an amazing relationship with either of his parents at this stage. I'm glad you agree.
Ooh, more Magnus? That kid was so cute! I shall be there asap!

Alex :D


 Report Review

Review #4, by Gabriella Hunter Home for Christmas

5th July 2012:
Hello!

Sorry its been a while, but alas, I've been such a dope since my computer died and I haven't really been reading as much as usual. But, to make it up to you, this chapter was so endearing and sweet! I'm glad that you picked up smoothly from Halloween and I enjoyed the little bit of irony in Harriet's friend's letter. If only they knew that magic WAS real, hahaha! Her reaction wasn't what I expected either, she seems like such a mellow character at times. :D
Anyway, I'm still crazy for all of your little characters and the brief glimpses of insight into their own private lives versus Harriet's. I was really pleased with how you wrote her interaction with her parents, it was very realistic and I can feel for her. There have been quite a few times when I thought my mom was mad at me that vanished very quickly with a hug or a sweet word. :) I think alot of people can relate to that. Anyway, enough rambling! Ugh, I don't know when my laptop is going to be fixed. Its such a drag, you know? I'm hoping for this weekend, keep your fingers and toes crossed!
Much love,
Gabbie

Author's Response: I must apologise deeply for not responding to this for a while, and also for failing to review any of your stuff recently. Real life became rather complicated and my head was a mess, so fanfic was one of the last things on my mind.
Anyway, thanks so much for reviewing again! I'm so happy that you keep coming back for more. Hehe, I am not-so-subtle with my irony am I? And I just can't resist making up so many minor characters and giving them actual lives of their own. It's so fun! Aww, her mum. My mum is like that too. There's no-one quite like your mum, right?
Is your laptop fixed yet?! I hope so! I'll have to come and check out your page to find out and again, apologies for my rather long absence.

Alex :D


 Report Review

Review #5, by Gabriella Hunter Halloween

27th June 2012:
Hello!

Back again to attack this! I bet you weren't expecting it? Hm?! Well. Here I go! Once again I am delighted to say that I really enjoyed this and I loved all the interaction with the grandchildren and the easy flow of Harriet's memories. I've always loved detail in a story and you didn't disappoint at all with the anticipation of the Halloween Feast! I'm also curious to know how this thing with Matty winds up, since Harriet totally marries Hugo down the line. This isn't one of THOSE stories (Not that there's anything wrong with them) so I don't expect any angst! Not that kind anyway. But I did like that she had written to her Muggle friends while also remembering her times during Halloween and how different it was now, while she was at Hogwarts. I'll be back for more of this of course! And...updates might still be ridiculously slow on my end, but I may have my computer fixed sometimes this week. Hoping!
Until then!
Much love,
Gabbie

Author's Response: Hello! Well of course this is a completely unexpected turn of events, you reviewing my writing!
Anywho, now that I am done with the sarcasm... I am SO happy that you are enjoying this so much. I am totally the same, by the way - I love all the little details which make something so much more believable and life-like. I know that you can always add in the details yourself, as a reader, but I like to know exactly how the author imagined it and what back-stories they have in mind for their characters.
Ehehe, Matty, Hugo... who knows? Well, I know :P Sort of, anyway. And don't worry, no teen pregnancies and endless deliberations over guys here! I'm not really the slushy type...
Ooh, let's hope your computer is fixed then!

Alex :D


 Report Review

Review #6, by Sheriff Reconciliation

23rd June 2012:
Well that's a twist that I hadn't expected... I'll be interested to see what you do with it; there are a lot of angles that this could lead to - and it's not immediately apparent where things are heading here.

Author's Response: Hmm, well we shall see... Maybe not immediately, though. But good for Petunia, eh? She finally 'saw the light'!

Alex :D


 Report Review

Review #7, by Gabriella Hunter Settling In

22nd June 2012:
Hello!

I attacked this as soon as I read your review for "A Force of Blaise" hahaha. And as usual, it was an excellently intimidating read (I say this because of the lack of grammar mistakes and your amazing flow with words!) and I enjoyed it very much. I'm really pleased with how you wrote about Harriet's time progression at Hogwarts, it was very easy to understand and the time lapse was perfect. I was really glad that you had her branching out a bit and even talking to those Slytherin kids (I liked that Scorpy was mentioned, though not the moody monster I made. Hahah) and I'm wondering how her relationships will develop. I have nothing at all to say about pacing or spelling or anything! It was amazing and I'll be right back on it soon, so don't worry! :D
P.S.: Updates will STILL be slow, I figured out what was wrong with my computer and I just need some help getting it fixed. Life sucks that way but updates shall be coming, I promise!
Much love (And thanks for the great read!),
Gabbie

Author's Response: Hello again! Thank you so much for your kind words. I didn't know I had an amazing flow with words, so that's lovely to know!
I'm glad you enjoyed this chapter, too. It's laid out quite differently from my other chapters and I wasn't sure how well it would work, so I'm so pleased that you liked it. Ahh yes, my Scorpius is not really on the same level of moodiness as yours. In fact, he's positively mellow in comparison.
Looking forward to hearing from you again soon, and to reading your updates as and when they come. But at least I still have a couple more chapters of 'A Force of Wills' to go!

Alex :D


 Report Review

Review #8, by Gabriella Hunter Harriet's Turmoil

18th June 2012:
Hello!

Sorry that its taken awhile but here I am! You leave reviews for me so I must return the favor, I just haven't had the time to read, sadly. Anyway, I'm glad that I came back, as usual and I enjoyed Harriet's anxiety about her father's letter. I could see how Lily wouldn't understand and the information on how she had spent her summer while learning she was a witch was very good. Poor thing, though! But I'm so glad that it worked out for her, she seems to be a bit stronger and I can't wait to see what happens next! No complaints about anything, the pacing was superb and the dialogue excellent! :D
Will be coming back!
Much love,
Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi! No worries, I myself have been busy the last couple of days, but I'm literally just about to go and read some more of your story!
Ah, Lily. She just doesn't see, does she? Not that there's any reason why she would, really, bless her.
Thanks for all the compliments! I really look forward to reading your reviews, and I hope to hear from you again soon!

Alex :D


 Report Review

Review #9, by BKL8008 Just a School

16th June 2012:
Sometimes you need a break. I know...

I enjoyed this chapter. Nothing very exciting happened, but it had a lot of filler that was much needed. I especially enjoyed the banter between the kids during the cake moment. The comparison of religion and magic was tasteful. Seems we have a new Ravenclaw there in the making?

Author's Response: Indeed, indeed. Real life is rubbish sometimes!
I'm glad you liked it. I know it wasn't particularly thrilling, but necessary I think. And yes, bless Emma. She is Hermione's great-granddaughter after all! Thanks for the review!

Alex :D


 Report Review

Review #10, by Gabriella Hunter Beginning Again

15th June 2012:
Hello!

I'm back, just like I promised and I'm glad that I've added this to my favorites because its excellent! Once more, I love that you've reminded us that Harriet is telling this story to her delightful grandchildren and the slight reprimands are great. Joseph interrupting and all that! Rude! Hahaha. Anyway, I liked that you took your time with this chapter and didn't rush with it and overwhelm us all with the magic. Strange, but poor Harriet doesn't know anything about it really and its great learning with her, since she's Muggle-born. I really enjoyed how you had her though, the first-day jitters are something everyone has to deal with at some point. :D
Very eager to see where this story goes and I'll be back for more! :D
P.S.: My computer is still dead, sadly so updates are still slow but as soon as I can, I'll be updating and tormenting you with more of my work! Hope to hear from you soon!
Much love,
Gabbie

Author's Response: Hey! Rude grandchildren, yes indeed. They must be put in line immediately. Tut tut.
I did really enjoy sort of looking at everything that we already know about Hogwarts, but as if for the first time. There's so much stuff that would be weird to a Muggle-born that never really gets mentioned in the books, so I wanted to explore that. Glad you liked it!
I shall look forward to reading more of your thoughts on my writing, and I'm glad to see that you're enjoying my reviews on your stuff. Until next time...

Alex :D


 Report Review

Review #11, by Sheriff Just a School

12th June 2012:
Lots of places are much more than just schools - I know mine is - but I suppose everything that counts here counts for Hogwarts a hundred times over...

Welcome back to writing; I have myself been struggling through the exam season from the other side of the desk, but the summer holidays are in sight now (let's just hope for some sunshine to go with it).

Are we going to see the rest of Harriet's Hogwarts years? Do we then get to see the grandkids making their own way to school...?

:-)

Sheriff

Author's Response: I have a feeling that everything is just 'more' at Hogwarts, if that makes sense.
It's so good to have the time to write again! And yes, if only the sunshine would come back... It's so typical of Britain, as soon as I was free it started to rain :(
There will be much more of Harriet and Lily's Hogwarts years. I haven't quite figured out how I will integrate the grandkids going to Hogwarts in yet, but hopefully I'll get there eventually!

Alex :D


 Report Review

Review #12, by Gabriella Hunter First Impressions

12th June 2012:
Hello!

I'm back and I'm sorry it took forever but life is NOT a box of chocolate! :(
Anyway, I enjoyed this chapter as much as I did the first and can I go on about how I love that the grandchildren interrupt her? The way you have it written is very well-done, it reminds me of a Norman Rockwell sort of thing if that makes sense. Very cozy. I completely enjoyed how you wrote Harriet's experiences at her first night there, very believable and realistic. She didn't start screaming and freaking out, but had true awe, which was very understandable. And your canon characters have so many babies! Yes! You told me that once before but we had a mind meld! :D I am really enjoying this and I hope to hear from you soon from whichever of my stories you decided to read next. I warn you, "A Force of Wills" may have you hating Draco Malfoy so much that you probably won't be able to stand his name. :D
I shall be back!
Much love,
Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi :) Urgh, tell me about life! Why can't it just go away for a bit? Having said that, I am basically into my summer now so I can't complain too much.
Haha, I'm glad you like all the interruptions. Isn't that what children do? Bless them. And it's good to know that Harriet's reaction is somewhat believable. I can't really stand too much over-the-top stuff but maybe that's just me.
I did indeed get a bit excited when it came to creating canon-character children... It's just too tempting. But they have to have a lot of kids to carry on the magical gene, right?
I'll be back over to your page soon, I promise, and I look forward to reading your next review!

Alex :D


 Report Review

Review #13, by inkbutterfly Just a School

11th June 2012:
Before I forget, I noticed that you wrote reminder instead of remainder somewhere in the middle.
This chapter was great, and just made me realise that I missed your fast updates. I love the bits with all the girls chatting and just being funny, it's great to see how comfortable Harriet is with her friends.
I find this story really unusual because we only know two parts of the story. We see her as an old lady, but without knowing everything that has happened, and as a little girl but we sort of know where she will end up. It is really interesting and I just get this feeling that once it's over certain things we looked over here will seem really sad, like the times she thinks of Hugo.
Great chapter, looking forward to an update!

-Kerryn xx

Author's Response: Ah, thanks for pointing out the typo. I always try to get them all but inevitably miss one or two.
I'm really glad you liked this chapter, and I'm sorry that I made you wait so long with it! Damn exams... I'm trying so hard to be clever and link up the two separate parts of this neatly and I hope that it works!
I updated yesterday so hopefully it'll be published in the next few days. Thanks for the review!

Alex :D


 Report Review

Review #14, by Gabriella Hunter The Sorting Hat

5th June 2012:
Hello!

I told you I'd be here really quickly, didn't I? You left me a nice review for my one-shot and I have been meaning to check this out. And can I just say that it was simply perfection? I loved the beginning of this and the bit of surprise I got from this being from Harriet's POV, I thought that was a good choice. It would be more interesting I think and what a shocker I got with all those grandchildren! And Hugo! Gasp! They got married, I see! :D
There was nothing at all wrong with your pacing and the gradual flow of Harriet telling the story to the actual events was so smooth. Very nice indeed! Your Hogwarts felt so real that it could have stood alone on its own as a worthy novel that I'd buy. :D
I loved your Sorting and gasp! Creevey again! Hahaha. I hope yours is nicer than the monster in my own, hahahaha...ah. Anyway, I'm adding this to my favorites of course and will be dropping by wiht more reviews for you. Its so excellent, nothing at all to say but thank you for telling me about it!
Much love,
Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi again :) Thanks for stopping by!
And wow, thankyou so much. You're too kind, I'm sure. I wasn't at all sure about writing in this way, but I have got quite a lot of positive comments so it seems to have worked. My little Creevey child is indeed a little different from yours, although you'll almost certainly get a little annoyed with him as time goes on!
I'll look forward to more reviews and I'm sure you can look forward to some more from me. At the moment I am getting back into the swing of writing for fun again, having had a two month break, but I'll be popping back over to your page soon.

Alex :D


 Report Review

Review #15, by BKL8008 We Will Remember

17th April 2012:
It was just beautiful. Perfect.

Author's Response: Thankyou! That is exactly what I wanted to hear :D Thanks for that.

Alex :D


 Report Review

Review #16, by BKL8008 The Twelve Uses of Dragon's Blood

17th April 2012:
Looks like things are beginning to get interesting. And just what are all those uses, anyway?

Author's Response: I don't know! Google has failed me :( I know there is spot remover...

Alex :D


 Report Review

Review #17, by Sheriff We Will Remember

17th April 2012:
They shall not grow old, as we that are left grow old.
Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.
At the going down of the sun, and in the morning,
We will remember them.

Author's Response: *First notes of the Last Post* ... That was exactly the atmosphere I wanted to create :) Thanks.

Alex :D


 Report Review

Review #18, by inkbutterfly We Will Remember

16th April 2012:
I'M SORRY I HAVEN'T REVIEWED THE LAST CHAPTERS!
I read them all, and they were brilliant, and I am so glad that Adria and Harriet can be friends, and Lily with them as well.
This memorial was something special, I dont know how you did it, but there was so much emotion and I felt like I was really there. I almost cried when she was reading the names... It was just the right atmosphere for a memorial and I felt as if I was there with here, reading the names of my old friends :'(

Anyway, just thought I would let you know I didn't abandon you and your amazing story, and I will keep reading and reviewing :)

-Kerryn xxx

Author's Response: Hi! Great to hear from you again :) It's good to know that you're still reading, and don't worry about not reviewing. I know that having enough time and so on can be an issue.
Anyway, I'm so glad you enjoyed the memorial service. I did enjoy writing it and used my experiences from going to (a lot of) Remembrance Day services over the years. I really wanted it to be believable, and hopefully it was. I'll look forward to hearing from you again, but unfortunately my updates may be a little slow for a while, sorry about that!

Alex :D


 Report Review

Review #19, by Sheriff The Twelve Uses of Dragon's Blood

12th April 2012:
Erm... Substitute for human blood? Emergency energy drink?

Looks like I'm failing my first-year finals, too. Even Google doesn't help beyond spot remover. I do hope you give us all twelve...

Author's Response: Let down by Google, it doesn't often happen... Unfortunately I have not been much luckier. Some kind of healing properties? Due to Hagrid's application of it to his wounds. Ah well.

Alex :D


 Report Review

Review #20, by magicmuggle01 Adira's Story

30th March 2012:
I think Adira is going to be alright now. With Harri and Lils as her friends, people beware.
I'm glad the two of them are best friends again, as I said before the two need each other.
Great chapter and 10/10.

Author's Response: Yes, Adira has no choice but to be friends with them now, poor girl! And I couldn't exactly have Harriet and Lily fall out permanently, could I? Like you said, they do need each other. Thanks for the lovely review!

Alex :D


 Report Review

Review #21, by magicmuggle01 Cold Shoulder

30th March 2012:
Well Harri certainly let rip with that.
I'm beginning to think (for the time being anyway) that Lily is a prat.
I wonder if it was Adira that fired that spell.
Another great chapter and well earned 10/10 and moving on.

Author's Response: Yes. Go Harri, is my personal feeling. I know I haven't made Lily very likeable at the moment I know, but she does have her reasons... And it could have been Adira. I was intending it to be Lily but I never said and Adira is just as good a candidate. Glad you enjoyed it!

Alex :D


 Report Review

Review #22, by Sheriff Adira's Story

30th March 2012:
Excellent :)

My reviews have been thoroughly absent over the last few days as the Easter term raced to its frenetic conclusion, however things are now all over and I'm now actually able to remember where I am and what's happening... might even manage some writing of my own before I inevitably pass out tonight.

I think you did a really good job of capturing the sheer pointlessness and futility of girl fights. I do feel that this is going to be a grudge that's harboured resentfully for the rest of their school years, to be brought up at the most inopportune times.

Matty Creevey's character is nailed on a balance between endearing and thoroughly irritating. As we would try to phrase it to a recalcitrant 11-year-old at school, personal space...

I look forward to seeing the plan to get back at Dante - and to finding out who was responsible for the full-body-bind (unless I missed that in my half-asleep state!)

Author's Response: Ahh, I love the feeling of the end of term. Not so much the lead up to it though...
Yes indeed, pointless and futile, very good words to describe the situation. And what on earth gives the idea that some of the girls may end up holding grudges?!
Matty is somewhat puppy-like in my eyes - quite cute at first but annoying to spend a lot of time with.
Dante will 'resurface' at some point in the near future, all guns blazing no doubt. And I never actually said who did the fully-body bind, I sort of left it open. It was meant to be Lily but could just have easily been Adira.
I'll look forward to reading your updates when they appear. My own may be absent for a week or so due to the temporary seperation from my own laptop, but I will still be reading on my phone. Thanks for the lovely review.

Alex :D


 Report Review

Review #23, by BKL8008 Adira's Story

28th March 2012:
That last line just nailed it to the wall! Politically complicated! I can't begin to imagine. Then again, I can't keep them all straight. I know I've said it before, but I really like your Hugo and Matt Creevey is so 'charming' in a pipsqueak sort of way. This is a very good story.

Author's Response: I took a while coming up with the wording for that last sentence I will admit, and I'm glad you think it sums everything up like I do. Hugo and Matty are so cute, I just want to hug them. Or pat them on the head, I haven't quite decided. Thanks so much for your encourging reviews!

Alex :D


 Report Review

Review #24, by BKL8008 Cold Shoulder

28th March 2012:
Well, that was a hoot! I feel for Adira, poor girl. I liked how the whole Potter/Weasley Clan seemed to come together for a moment. That could be rough, being the cousin singled out, as Lily just found. Good plot device. You've got 'em use 'em. I can't keep them all straight, so I try to deal with a few at a time! You do better than I do!

Author's Response: Adira does not have it easy I will agree. Haha, I love having all the canon kids to use, it's such fun! I create whole personalities for all of them which most of the time are entirely irrelevant, so it's nice to use them every now and again.

Alex :D


 Report Review

Review #25, by BKL8008 A Friend in Need

28th March 2012:
I'm almost hoping there's something wrong with Lily, because as of now, I don't like her one bit. She a little b*tch. At least in my book. I found the conversation between Harriet and Adira very well done, though. Been there myself, and it looks like you have too? :)

Author's Response: I am not liking Lily right now either but, as you have doubtless found out by now, she does have some cause to be upset. I've not exactly been there myself but I have some idea about it. It's so good to know that I got it right!

Alex :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>