Reading Reviews for Hermione and the Hooligans
  
46 Reviews Found

Review #1, by randomwriter The Ending

7th July 2014:
House Cup Review 2014

Hello again :) I think I should just set up camp on your page. I'd never, ever feel any negativity (unless I actually read one of your serious fics, which might just happen soon).

This was such a great ending to the fic! Once agai, you kept the humour flowing steadily. I love how it's written in extremes, lettered with hyperbole. It can be annoying when used excessively, but somehow, over here, it's absolutely perfect. I don't think I've laughed so much after reading fanfiction in a while!

I loved the 'My father will hear about this!' Not only because it saved me from forgetting canon altogether, but also because it's one of my favourite lines ever and it was just so fitting over there.

I also love how you wove in the very random football plotline and made it a major aspect of the story.

And I think I audibly sighed when you promised that you wouldn't use the word orb again.

I don't know how to break it you, but the angst in this piece is far superior to any other angst ridden story I've ever read Excellent descriptions as well.

But seriously, thanks for a good laugh. I hope to find more parodies on your page soon :) Please, please do continue writing them. You're so incredibly gifted at this humour thing I love so much!

Oh, and Gryffindor for House Cup :p Yay!

Author's Response: Hey again!

The "may father will hear about this" line really is my favorite thing about Draco. He's such a spoiled punk.

If you get the chance, I highly recommend the movie "Green Street Hooligans" starring Elijah Wood. It's where I borrowed most of the football plot from.

Thanks again, and Go Gryffindor!


 Report Review

Review #2, by randomwriter The Middle of the Story

7th July 2014:
House Cup 2014

Review Hello again :)
So I must admit that I've been scouring your page for one shots I haven't already reviewed. Unfortunately, I have gotten to most of them back in a time when I wasn't a particularly thorough reviewer. So I just wanted to apologise for that.

Now onto this story, you've managed to carry it forward well from the first chapter. The humour levels don't drop, and I found myself actually laughing out loud during some of these moments.

The conversation between Ron and Hermione was absolute gold! I was laughing throughout that one. I love how she explained all these fanfiction terms to him, and the questions he raised were priceless! McGonagall/Flitwick? Hagrid/Trelawney? *shudder* But seriously... what would we hopeless fangirls call them?

I love how you take a dig at all these senseless stereotypes in such a blatant manner. It made this even more enjoyable!

And all this angst is killing me. Without his orbitary orbs, and godlike quidditch abs, whatever will Draco look to to save him from this mess with Hermione, who of course has every right to blow up at him because how could he not see that she belongs in a football firm?!

Well, going to cut this short so that I can rush off to read the next chapter. Maybe they'll finally attend class?

LOL.

Thanks again for another great read :) As always, loved the humour. It comes so effortlessly to you!

Author's Response: Welcome back!

But seriously though, If you can't combine the names for a ship, can it ever really be a ship?

No Dramione would be complete without some angst. But seeing as how Draco is the most perfect man who ever lived, I'm sure he will be ok with it in the end.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #3, by randomwriter Vampires and Victories

6th July 2014:
House Cup Review 2014

Hello there :D I've been reviewing in the middle of work so this was my reward for writing a few words of a paper that's due tomorrow (I really can't afford break, but oh well!).

I clicked on this story because I hate Dramione with a burning passion, and I love parodies with a similar degree of passion, if not more. Your story did not disappoint. I'm glad I have another couple of chapters left to read and review!

I'm still laughing from the hilarity that was this chapter. I loved how completely illogical it was almost as much as I loved the deep internal (and not so internal) debates about staying within characterisation.

The initial segment had me in splits. I love how you took a big fat dig at twilight and how creepy it is. The dialogues were so funny and I loved the conversation between 'Cedward' and 'Hermione' where he was saying creepy things to her, and she was just countering them. The Michael Jackson bit.. OH GOD. What does one even say to that? I laughed too much. That's all.

You wrote the whole falling in love scene quite well. Of course it made complete sense and they were so obviously meant to be. How did I not see that before? Dramione 5eva! (okay, I threw up a little in my mouth, but it was worth it... I'm a different kind of creepy, aren't I? o.O).

The last part was perhaps the most random, but it was so funny. I truly saw Hermione in all her Power Ranger glory.

I did spot a few typos. Nothing major. I'll try to list out what I remember:
you walk as if you laws of gravity don’t apply to you should be the laws of gravity.
Hermione made her way up to the stairs to I think that would up the stairs?
He was a Gryffindor, he was a Slytherin She was a Gryffindor ;)
There was one more, but as I said, nothing major!

Overall, a very promising start. I'm sure the rest will have me in splits as well! I really enjoyed this :)

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing!

I think we feel the same way about Dramione haha.

Seriously, isn't Edward so creepy? If I were Bella I'd be getting a restraining order for sure.

Draco and Hermione are meant to be and I won't listen to anything that says otherwise.

I didn;t think the story was ridiculous enough at that point, so I had to add in another level.

Glad you enjoyed it!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Sheriff The Ending

30th September 2012:
Brilliant! Not sure I've laughed harder throughout the HPFF forums. I thoroughly enjoyed the nature of the parody, the intentionally excessive and gushing adjectives and descriptions, and the way the plot (I know it isn't a plot, I just couldn't think of a better synonym) is self-consciously mocking about the oddities and eccentricities of fanon.

I was also amused by the fact that it's half set outside Craven Cottage, which is coincidentally the place where I've come closest to getting involved (read "beaten up") in football-related violence... but that's another story.

Thanks for a good laugh!

Sheriff

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review! This was definetly a fun one to write.

Now that's a story I'd love to hear sometime...


 Report Review

Review #5, by ginerva_molly_weasley Vampires and Victories

5th August 2012:
This is hilarious! I love your style of writing anyway because of your humour and sarcasm and I think you tackle the cliches in really a humorous way!

I love the fact you talk about Cedward because it really is hilarious. You don't seem to like Twilight though which makes me sad! I quite like twilight! Though the lines you've used from is are so funny!

I also like you talking about how super sexy Hermione now appears to be after the battle. If you've ever been over to HPPC you will know all about Black Leather Pants Hermione! Also Draco with his top off... well who could resist!

You talking about Draco's past with th vanishing cabinet just reminds you of how OOC this is as he still has all of his past to make up for.

As for Hermione becoming part of the football hooligans... I can't see it happening :P

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review!

Yeah I'm not really a fan of Twilight, but even if you are, i hope you could still enjoy this.

Oh yes, the infamous leather pants Dramione. i think we can all agree we've seen it way too much.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #6, by PhoenixPulse The Ending

28th July 2012:
That was bloody brilliant and really funny. I couldn't help but cheer for Ron, the little voice in my head kept screeching, "WIN HER BACK, WIN HER BACK, WIN THE TRUE HERMIONE BACK!"...but no...she ran off with Draco...

Honestly, Draco and Hermione are an awful pairing (unless the fiction is actually written right, which honestly is hard to find), so I appreciate this piece a lot. I admit, I do support some non-canon pairings, but Dramione...it's the worst. (*shakes head in dissaproval*)

I wanted to type reviews for the other two chapters, but then I thought I'd rather save it. I love your paralles of Cedward to Michael Jackson, that was honeslty one I've never heard of, so claps to you for that. I would've really flipped out if Hermione even considered him. Good grief!

Anyway, this was brilliant in so many levels! 10/10!
*cyber cookies to you* :D

Oh and P.S;
I've read your fics with Voldemort--those I've honestly doubled over just reading them. You have a true gift for writing proper comedy. I envy your gift!

Author's Response: I'm totally with you in rooting for Ron, but alas, this is a Dramione so canon and true characterization must be ignored.

I think we're completely in agreement when it comes to Dramione, which is why this was so fun to write. And I think we can also agree that even malfoy would be better than that horrible vampire.

Thank you so much for this review, it was very encouraging to read!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Georgia Weasley The Ending

12th April 2012:
Ron is so confused! I love him riding to the rescue, not understanding that he isn't supposed to act in character. The bit about Cedward and Jacob not following the laws of HP, or even mythology for that matter, is priceless. I join the HP fans in their standing ovation. I'm so glad I found this little jewel. I haven't stopped giggling all evening. You've taken everything I hate about Dramiones and written it in such a way that I can't help laughing. Your humor is impeccable. Very well done!~GW

Author's Response: So I'm really not a fan of the abuse Ron seems to get in Dramiones, so I wanted to picture how canon Ron might react to it. And I think we can all agree about Twilight. Thanks a lot for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Georgia Weasley The Middle of the Story

12th April 2012:
Aw, riding unicorns through a waterfall is my favorite! I'm so jealous of the deep, spiritual connection between Draco and Hermione. And her friendships with the football firm are so meaningful. HAHAHAHA! I loved this. Draco's orbs are so orby, I'm riveted. This is brilliant. You are a genius. Great job!~GW

Author's Response: As we know, things like plots and canon should not stand in the way of true love! Thanks for another review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Georgia Weasley Vampires and Victories

12th April 2012:
Bwahahahahahahahaha! This is epic. "Baby, I never even tried to be in character." This is so true of almost every Dramione I've ever been subjected to. Your ability to write parody is stunning. I've giggled over this chapter for the last fifteen minutes. The Twilight dig just made me so happy. Well done!
~GW

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review! I tried to hit as many Dramione cliches as I could, I think the only ones I missed were the masqurade ball and Hermione being a Zabini. Glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Beeezie Vampires and Victories

6th April 2012:
Hey, this is Beeezie, here with your review! Sorry about the delay - I was away and didn't really have time to fill requests, but I'm back now. :)

I'm not sure how helpful this review is going to be, because I'm not entirely sure that I will find anything negative to say about this chapter. There's nothing like a good parody; you had me in stitches for the entire thing. I absolutely adored it.

I thought that you did two things very, very well. First, you captured the cliches brilliantly. More importantly, however, you expressed them in a funny, engaging way that drew me into the story. It's not just that the content was funny; the writing was. I really love "Their Finest Hour," and that was obviously the first story of yours that I read, and you're definitely starting to win me over as a humour writer as well. I remember really enjoying your first Voldemort story (I'm not sure I've read any since then…), and I like this even better.

So, yeah. I think you've really managed to perfect humour writing. It's not just that you used the overdone cliches of Hermione suddenly being beautiful, or referenced Cedward (classic, btw) - it's that you did it with such style.

There were so many amazing lines in this. The 'magical breeze' indoors to make Hermione's hair billow? Super Sexy Power Ranger Granger? I also loved the Michael Jackson reference - you didn't just go for the easy dig, and it was absolutely genius. And then you got to the honeymoon suite.

Honeymoon suite.

So perfect. And the LOL just kidding, it's Draco Malfoy! Seriously, who else would it be? just made it even better. Honestly, I could easily quote half the story singling out all the great quotes, but I'm going to stop myself with Baby, I never even tried to be in character. Perfect.

And oh, the football. You were right. I do appreciate the football. So, so much. Perfect choice to choose a London club, too (well, I mean, for the Michael Jackson reference, you kind of had to go with Fulham, because no other club has made such a bizarre decision, but aside from that). There's are so many clubs that play out of London, and especially if you're playing fast and loose with time periods (which I'm assuming you are, since the statue of Michael Jackson only went up a few years ago, and since I'm pretty sure Fulham weren't in the first division in the 90s), you can start throwing all kinds of fixtures into the mix without bothering to think about whether the clubs were actually all in the first division at the time.

Or maybe only about five people would be amused by something like QPR v. Fulham in a fic that's supposedly set in the 90s because only five people would really get the joke. And/or I have a dumb sense of humour. :P At any rate, I found all of that highly amusing.

But yeah. You knew I would love that. Especially the Arsenal mention! I mean, I know that this was hardly Arsenal's finest hour, but still. ♥ Hermione getting into football culture will be amazing.

I'm sorry this review was horribly unhelpful, but feel free to rerequest! I'll certainly make my way back here even if you don't, but it might take awhile. :P Thank you so much for requesting, and I'm sorry again about the wait. :)

Author's Response: Hey Beezie thanks for such a great review!, and no worries about the wait, the quality more than makes up for it.

I was trying to work in as many Dramione cliches as I could, I think the only ones I missed were Hermione being a Zabini and a masquerade ball. And of course the shots at Twilight were just too easy.

The funny thing is, I originally intended to write a serious story about Dean Thomas hiding out with West Ham hooligans when he's on the run in book 7, but it somehow morphed into this.

You're totally right about why a London team would be best, and I also wanted a team that was kind of an underdog and not known for having a big firm either. In true Dramione fashion, I'm not really striving for accuracy when it comes to the timing, so I'm pretty much just using the current football landscape.

Thanks for such a great review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Illuminate Vampires and Victories

25th March 2012:
Tag!

I have to say, this made me laugh unendingly. Something that parodies Harry Potter and Twilight together can't be wrong. Cedward Cullen-Diggory: genius. I think this should win the challenge xD Great job!

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review, glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #12, by academica The Ending

24th March 2012:
Hi James! Review tag brought me back for the epic conclusion!

"My father will hear of this." Love it. Haha.

I love how Hermione logicked the Twilight characters away. (And yes, I made up that word, and I use it. So there.) You know you're in a Dramione when she'd rather see Draco than the utter perfection that is Cedward. He's so handsome and... devoted. Yes. That. Whereas Draco is all ANGST and HAIR.

Now that I have that out of my system...

Ron is probably my favorite part. His little speech is so sweet, and then Hermione makes him all confused by her OOC-ness. The little duel-that-wasn't-but-totally-could-have-been-with-TASERS was hilarious, especially the fact that even poor Ron was forced to be happy for Dramione when all was said and done. And Draco knows Michael Jackson! Who knew?

I'm off to go join in the dance party. Nicely done! :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: Hey welcome back!

I think Hermione told the Twilight guys what many of us have been wanting to say for a long time, and of course being a dramione, Draco is naturally the most desirable guy ever.

I always feel bad for all the hate Ron gets in dramiones, so i wanted to picture how canon Ron might react to it. And I think Michael Jackson is pretty much universal, even if you are a muggle hating pureblood.

Thanks again!

-James


 Report Review

Review #13, by Siriusly3 The Ending

19th March 2012:
I loved this because I hate non-canon ships more than anything anything ever! It was just so funny, and yes I've gushed over about a million of your stories now but I don't even caaare. This was so good, I laughed really, really, really hard. Embarassingly so. You're so good. Aah! 10/10

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review, so glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #14, by watchoutfornargles The Middle of the Story

17th March 2012:
OH OKAY, I understand now, its for a parody challenge. IT MAKES SENSE NOW. :D

Author's Response: Haha yeah, that should clear it up!

 Report Review

Review #15, by watchoutfornargles Vampires and Victories

17th March 2012:
Is this a parody? This is genius :D I love it, I love JK Rowling to death, but canon gets boring sometimes. “Baby, I never even tried to be in character, and you know I love you too, otherwise what would be the point of the story?” LOL. GREAT JOB :D

Author's Response: This is a super serious story of romance and angst! But yeah its a parody. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #16, by SexyDoorFrames_Staff The Middle of the Story

17th March 2012:
Hey :) This was an excellent second chapter! Hermione's character is so fun. I really like the way you're writing this, it's very funny and had me laughing out loud at certain parts. You can write humour effortlessly. Ron had me cracking up. I'm really enjoying this spoof. In all, I really liked this :)

- SexyDoorFrames

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review! I love breaking the fourth wall and making the characters self aware in this kind of story.

 Report Review

Review #17, by PeRsOn Vampires and Victories

15th March 2012:
Okay.what just happened?


Ratings a 10!

Author's Response: So the cabinet was the one with the secret passage the Draco used to smuggle the Death Eaters into the school, but now the passage leads to the football stadium instead.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Ravenclaw333 The Middle of the Story

9th March 2012:
I want to see more Frodo Baggins.
Other than that, it was pure perfection. I want to see this turned into a movie.
My reviews lack substance. Apologies.

Author's Response: If you've ever seen the movie Green Street Hooligans, Elijah Wood becomes a West Ham hooligan, so that's what I was referencing with th Frodo Baggins bit.

Thanks for aother review!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Ravenclaw333 Vampires and Victories

9th March 2012:
Super Sexy Power Ranger Granger. Wow. I nearly died. And that's just the beginning of the story. I have a feeling I'm going to enjoy this one.
Oh god. Cedric Diggory. Twilight references. Win ALL the awards!
Michael Jackson.
Are you trying to kill me?
Orbs. Quidditch toned abs. This is parody gold. I'm afraid all you're going to get from this review are regurgitated plot points and expressions of how I died, but take that to mean I'm impressed. Because I am.
"Baby, I never even tried to be in character."
Speaking of characters, Bartholomew Percival Castlerock IV has got to be the best one I've heard of in my life. I like him already. He looks like he could be fun.
Apologies for taking so long to review this one, and thanks for entering the challenge!

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for th review, and thanks for starting this awesome challenge!

This was a really fun story to write, and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed reading it!


 Report Review

Review #20, by EverMalfoy(EverDiggory) Vampires and Victories

27th February 2012:
I have no idea what to say about this XD I didn't realize this was suppose to be a spoof/comedy until the whole cedward thing...that was WIERD. Obviously,it was so funny I nearly peed myself. Very great(: I didn't expect it,all that I really processed was that Draco and Hermione where on the banner.

I loved it! Very,very funny!

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review, glad you enjoyed the humor!

 Report Review

Review #21, by house elf The Ending

26th February 2012:
Well, this was certainly a very entertaining read. It's very wacky and totally not in character and shamefully what a lot of 'serious' dramiones are like ;D I love the Michael Jackson bit at the end. However my favourite part of the whole thing is:

"she shared the suite with the Head Boy, a cunning and mysterious blonde with an aura of bad-boy sexiness who had every girl in Hogwarts at his feet. His name, of course, was Ernie MacMillan.

(LOL just kidding, it's Draco Malfoy! Seriously, who else would it be?) "

:D Keep up the good work of making me laugh.

oh, by the way, isn't draco's catchphrase 'my father will hear about this' rather than 'my father will hear of this'? Eh, details details

Author's Response: Hey thanks a lot for the review, I'm really glad you enjoyed it!

I occaisonally like to read Dramiones for their unintentional humor, and here I tries to capture that intentionally.

You might be right about Draco's line, I'll hav to check.

Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #22, by charlottetrips The Ending

24th February 2012:
*APPLAUSE* Wonderful! This should win an Academy Award, or something. :P It was EPIC, WIN, TUBULAR, COOL, JAZZ, etc. It satisfied all my Dramione requirements EXCEPT there wasn't any proposal or wedding in the mix of this?? How could you forget? :(

Michael Jackson! Ah, that's almost as good as Michael Bolton :)

I liked how you managed to have some sort of plot mixed in with all these shenanigans! :)

Author's Response: Thanks a lot, and good call about the wedding/engagement, to be honest I kind of felt like there was something missing from the final scene, and that would tie it up perfectly!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Vicky Vampires and Victories

21st February 2012:
Hilarious lines from twilight

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #24, by charlottetrips The Middle of the Story

19th February 2012:
Back for Chapter 2 as part of our Review Tag. I must say, it’s a bit ironic that I’m reviewing a Dramione that’s a complete parody while you’re reviewing (because I am going back to your review thread) my Dramione which is an utterly and completely SERIOUS thing (no, really, it is. Please believe me or my angst author soul will expire from lack of deep understanding). That being said, I’m moving on to the actual review and not my mindless rambling.

“Dramione? You mean they combine your names like you’re American celebrities or something?” LOL, (and that was a literal LOL) because IT’S SO TRUE! When I first got into HP FF, I was like “Dramione? Seriously?” and likened it to “Bennifer” or “TomKat”.

MONTAGE!!! I love montages!! And the song MUST’VE been a Michael Bolton song!

She flipped her gondola!

Tommy Hatcher is like Chuck Norris :P

How I appreciate parodies even if it’s about a very earnest and true ship like Dramione :)

Author's Response: Hey I totally appreciate that irony as well! It's like rainnn on your wedinnng day (ok I'll stiop now, since I totally blame that song for most of my generation not knowing the real meaning of irony haha)

Those nicknames have gotten pretty out of hand. I was picturing something like Celine Dion for the montage, but Michael Bolton would totally work as well! Or maybe Bryan Adams.

Thanks a lot for the review, and I hope you enjoyed laughing at what is usually a serious angsty ship!


 Report Review

Review #25, by SexyDoorFrames Vampires and Victories

19th February 2012:
Heya :) I really liked this! I thought it was clever and witty! I really couldn't stop laughing at some parts! I just love the way you wrote this. "...you are super fit and I love you." Oh my gosh! That was too funny! You seem to have an effortless knack for writing humour! I loved the way you poked fun at every cliche that is out there. "You're my own personal brand of butterbeer." Nice twist ;) And the Ernie moment! Oh my gosh, I cracked up. And I'm so glad that you mentioned the orbs! Orbs are always fun! I loved reading this so much, it made a dull sunday night all the much better! Thanks so much!

- SDF

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review, I hope you had a much fun reading this as I did writing it!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>