Reading Reviews for Take These Broken Wings
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Sail with me into the dark Chapter 13: Bluebird

2nd August 2012:
Aw, that's so sad! I can't believe it ends like this!! :( Poor Henry! I'm almost mad at Rose for behaving the way she does :(

It was an amazing story, though! Despite the fact that it ends sadly, I really loved it. In fact, the fact that it ends sadly sort of demonstrates one of the reasons I liked it so much - it's all very realistic and not your cliched "everything is perfect" boy-meets-girl type of story. So that made it really powerful.

You're very talented! I hope to read more of your other stories soon!

p.s. do you keep your writing anywhere other than HPFF?

Author's Response: Haha ending this story was really hard for me, but I couldn't really see it working any other way. I am glad you thought that it was a good way to end it! This review means so much to me, you have no idea!

I don't keep my writing anywhere else right now. I will definitely let you know if that changes though!

Thanks again for you amazing reviews!

 Report Review

Review #2, by luvinpadfoot Chapter 13: Bluebird

24th July 2012:
Aw it was great! I am sad that they didn't end up together, though. I think from about the third chapter I was pretty sure they wouldn't, but there was always a little hope that something would change.

I wonder what Rose told Keegan when she got back to school. Did they ever break up? And what about the next summer when she came home? Did she see Henry again?

Ahh! So many questions, haha. I'm probably bugging you. But yeah, it was a brillliant story. You really captured the emotions perfectly for both Henry and Rose (but especially Henry).

Often children of alcoholic characters seem a bit too dramatized or overdone, but Henry was absolutely perfect, relatable even though I've never experienced anything like his situation.

You've done a wonderful job with this story and I enjoyed it thoroughly! Such a bittersweet ending, but it fit so well. =) Just brilliant.

Author's Response: Hi there! Sorry it has taken me so long to reply! I have been out of town and without my computer :( But, thank you so much for this lovely review! It really means a lot to me that you thought that it was plausible and believable and everything! I love Henry and Rose but no matter what, I never saw their relationship working out! I am glad you thought the same! Keegan and Rose broke up at the end of the 6th chapter, but I never really went into much detail about it, so I might edit that later! Haha, sorry for the confusion!

I am glad that you didn't think that Henry was over dramatized! I was really working on keeping my characters interesting but down-to-earth as well, so this means so much to me!

I am really glad you liked it, thank you so much for reading and reviewing! It really inspires me.


 Report Review

Review #3, by Sail with me into the dark Chapter 12: Cardinal

26th June 2012:
Oh no! So much angst :(
Poor Rose and poor Henry! I'm not sure who I feel worse for...maybe even Henry, even though it's his fault.
I'm frustrated with Rose for not wanting to work things out, but I can also see where she's coming from. That's why the whole thing works so well - you make us empathize with both of them!
Great job! Love it so far! Hope to read more soon :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! I love reading your reviews because they make me realize things that I try to do in my writing without really consciously thinking about them. You have been such a wonderful reviewer! Thank you so much for your support!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Sail with me into the dark Chapter 11: Heron

14th June 2012:
Noo!!! Poor Rose and Henry :(( That's so sad! He finally tells her but it doesn't go well...I hope they make up soon!

This is so sad, but very realistic as well. Where on earth do you get the inspiration for these things? You write it so well, it's so believable!

Anyway, awesome chapter! I love this story, even when it's sad :)

Author's Response: Aww I know :( I hated writing it but it was something that I thought should have happened. I have no idea where I get the inspiration! The things that go on in my brain are crazy... But sometimes I am able to string a few things together and make somehting that makes sense. You really made my day with this review. I am so glad that you think it is believable, becuase that is all I want to do with my writing. You are really the sweetest! I think there should be an update up soon, but I am not sure! Thank you so much again for reading, and I am so glad that you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Sail with me into the dark Chapter 10: Sparrow

14th June 2012:
I love how Teddy's clumsy just like Tonks! I always love when he's like his parents, since it's so sad that they're not there to see him growing up :( Awesome chapter, though!

Author's Response: I know! I have always had this really clear idea of Teddy being a lot like Tonks, so this was fun to write. I always feel bad for Teddy, but for some reason I feel like he is the kind of guy that could make the best of every situation. I am glad you liked him! Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Sail with me into the dark Chapter 9: Swallow

14th June 2012:
I feel so sad for everything Henry has to go through :( Poor guy! But great chapter! Loving this!

Author's Response: I know, I feel bad for Henry too...I think that is what makes his character interesting though, is because it seems like he has everything together and is very collected, but then he also has so much to deal with that no one can really understand. Sometimes characters can get so bland, just being hoplessly romantic, so I kind of like writing his back story as something that is hard, and has a large impact on his character. Thanks again for your review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Sail with me into the dark Chapter 8: Nightingale

14th June 2012:
Awesome chapter! Poor Rose feeling guilty :( But she sort of should...I don't really blame her, though :) Can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: I am so glad that you feel like Rose should feel guilty, but don't really blame her! Thats what I thought that she should feel, but itwas harder to write than I thought! Thank you so much for all your comments, they really mean a lot to me and really inspire me to try to finish this story up, because I definitely get distracted...but thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Sail with me into the dark Chapter 7: Conure

14th June 2012:
Great job again! I don't know if I mentioned that I love the alternating POVs, but I do! Love this story :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I love writing the alternating POVs too! I think that hearing from one character too much can make you kind of sick of that character, so I like switching it up! Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Sail with me into the dark Chapter 6: Woodpecker

14th June 2012:
Haha, the spacing got all weird! Anyway, awesome chapter! Loved it! :D

Author's Response: I know! The spacing is crazy...that is how the story started and I started to fix them but somehow I missed this one! When I have time in the queue I will make sure to fix that...Haha thanks for letting me know though! I am glad that you are enjoying, and thanks for taking time to read it all! You are officially one of my favorite reviewers.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Sail with me into the dark Chapter 5: Cockatoo

14th June 2012:
Nice chapter! Loving this story more and more as I read on :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I am glad you have stuck with it! I think that the first chapters are kind of dry, so I am glad you stuck with it past then! I really need to fix that, but thanks so much for your reviews, they mean so much to me!!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Sail with me into the dark Chapter 4: Flamingo

14th June 2012:
Another awesome chapter! Your story is much more original than my reviews ;) Loving the quotes/bird titles, by the way!

Author's Response: Aww your reviews are the best! I read them while I was gone and I literally could not stop smiling! I wanted to reply but for some reason I couldn't! I think that you are super sweet for reveiwing! I really love birds, so since I have been writing this I have heard so many songs that have references to birds/wings, it is crazy! I am glad you like that theme. Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Sail with me into the dark Chapter 3: Eagle

14th June 2012:
Another fantastic chapter! I really love this story a lot. Rose and Henry are brilliant characters, very original.

Author's Response: I am glad that you like Rose and Henry because they are definitely different from eachother, but I think they kind of work a way. I am so glad to hear that you like them! Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Sail with me into the dark Chapter 2: Falcon

14th June 2012:
Great second chapter! Love it, love it, love it! Awesome story so far, I really can't wait to read more :)

Author's Response: Reading your reviews has really made me smile :) You are the best! Thank you so much for your awesome reviews!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Sail with me into the dark Chapter 1: Robins

14th June 2012:
Love this so far, too! You really have a talent for making endearing characters :)

Author's Response: You are so sweet! I am really glad you like the characters. I always just start writing and hope the characters turn out alright, so I am glad that you like them! Thanks agan!

 Report Review

Review #15, by HermioneJGranger Chapter 3: Eagle

15th February 2012:
Oh man! That awkward moment when you ask for a girl's number and she doesn't have one because she's a witch! Poor Henry! Haha! And I LOVE Cassie and Roxy in these! So adorable! And how they give Rose and Henry a reason to socialize, of course, is adorable ;) This is shaping up to be such a cute story! I really hope Rose figures her stuff out with regards to her boyfriend and Henry...and then there's Scorpius...oh man! Anyway, great job! Looking forward to more!

Author's Response: I liked writing this awkward little moment, so I am glad that you liked it too! I think that Cassie and Roxy are my favorite characters to write, especially Roxy because of her overall craziness. I know, she has so much to figure out! I am glad that you like it, and thank you so much for reading and reviewing! It means a lot to me!

 Report Review

Review #16, by HermioneJGranger Chapter 1: Robins

15th February 2012:
Great first chapter! I really like the alternating view points and first person narrative; really lets you get into characters' heads! I also absolutely ADORE the whole title thing! I love the running bird theme, from the story title to the chapter titles to the quotes for each chapter! It's so creative and adorable! I can't wait to read the next chapters :)

Author's Response: I am really glad that you like the first chapter! I was worried that it was a little dry, so thanks a lot! The idea for the bird theme was so random, so I am glad you like it. I am so glad you like it, it was such a spontaneous idea! Thanks again! I hope you keep reading!

 Report Review

Review #17, by ForgeAnglia Chapter 4: Flamingo

15th February 2012:
So, I just read your first three chapters and absolutely loved them! So I decided that I would leave another review on this one. To start off, I love Bob Marley too! And the name Chamomile! And your story! I really like that you're bringing other characters in more. It was nice getting to see a bit more into Henry's life and I hope that they'll be able to bond a bit over that fact. Your story's going great and I really enjoy how you write Rose, all clumsy like and all that.
Good work!

Author's Response: Thank you! I am glad you like all the characters! I really love writing Rose as calm and collected, but then sometimes awkward and clumsy. I feel like everyone has a little bit of both sides. I am also glad you liked getting to know Henry. I think that his back story is really important to who he is as a character, so I am glad you like it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! It means a lot to me!

 Report Review

Review #18, by ForgeAnglia Chapter 2: Falcon

15th February 2012:
I'm glad Rose is his light in the darkness! They really need each other! I can't wait to see how their relationship develops!
The line "I hear gingers burn easily" was absolutely hilarious!!! Keep it up! :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I think that James would be that cousin that makes fun of you all the time, so that is how I try to write him. I am so excited you like it! It is so fun to write, and I hope you keep reading! :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by luvinpadfoot Chapter 2: Falcon

4th February 2012:
I like this story a lot! Rose is so often used only in a Scorpius relationship (guilty) that it's refreshing to see her with someone else. Henry also intrigues me because it's so rare to see the wizarding world through the eyes of a muggle. I can't wait to read more about him and Rose!

I've only got two real suggestions. The first is just a nitpicky formatting thing; you don't have to indent the paragraphs if you add spaces between them. Usually people only do one or the other and spaces between the paragraphs is favored online. The other is just to work on your characterization. It's obvious you've imagined them vividly, but I haven't really seen much from any of the minor characters. The interactions, especially between Rose and her cousins, tend to be a little dry and the story would be that much more amazing if you could really make the other characters pop a bit. I don't even know if that makes sense.

But those were just two minor things. I love the plot of this story and can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing it is so helpful! I know I always kind of pictured Rose not falling for Scorpius, but he will be included later. I am so glad that you have liked reading it, but the formatting was bugging me too, I just couldn't figure out what about it, so thanks so much for the advice. And for the next chapters I will definitely try to spruce up the minor characters. Thank you so much for reading, and I really appreciate your response and criticism!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login