Reading Reviews for Teddy in Time
  
18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MsErrol The First Meeting

5th October 2013:
this is fantibulous! any more

 Report Review

Review #2, by anonymous The First Meeting

16th October 2012:
I love it-keep it up!

Author's Response: Thank you : )

 Report Review

Review #3, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Prologue

1st May 2012:
She hadn't joined the D.A. or fought besides her classmates, because she'd been too afraid of ruining her own dreams of conquering the world. She had been a gifted witch, sorted into Ravenclaw for a reason, and she had been so focused with earning good grades than she hadn't paid proper attention to the way her world crumpled around her.

^ You know. I never thought about people not fighting with the DA or Hogwarts or whatever. I just always seem to think of it as, the Slytherins left, and everyone else in Hogwarts (that wasn't underaged) fought and that's that, no questions asked. I never really gave it a thought that some wouldn't have fought even if they could because let's face it, in the real world, we all don't go out and fight in the wars, do we? No, we have troops or people that are qualified or people that volunteer to fight. We all don't just mad rush out there and fight against another country.

I'm rambling. But I really liked that paragraph I took out of the story because it made me think. You have a strong beginning here. I've never been a fan of time traveling stories only because you know you can't change the past, they know from the very beginning and yet they still think they can and then if they do it just makes everything terrible and they have to fix it all over again. I don't know it just seems a bit sad to me, is all. But I thought this was a great chapter and you have an interesting idea here.

Nice job. :D

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I do think the whole not fighting thing is an interesting aspect usually not thought about in HP, so it was interesting to explore.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Allie The First Meeting

8th April 2012:
I loved this so much. The way you write this makes me feel as if I'm in the story.

Author's Response: Awww, you have no idea how happy that makes me! Thank you so much! I always appreciate hearing that my readers are enjoying the way I write my stories.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Bonnie18 The First Meeting

29th February 2012:
I really like this story! It's a really good idea, please write more! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by PBJ The First Meeting

11th February 2012:
Great story!
I love your plot and story.
Update soon :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I was originally planning on updating this weekend, but I think it'll probably be next week, hopefully sometime in the earlier end. :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Akussa The First Meeting

10th February 2012:
Hiya!

Oh I love how this story is developping. This meeting was very well executed. I found it very interesting and realistic how Tonks acted and her inquiery was belivable.

Teddy's story was, erm, strange. I can understand how Tonks was doubting his story. I don't mean you did a bad job, quite the opposite! It was well done and a teenager that does not really understand how things were during the war would come up with a story like this. Tonks' questionning was spot on.

I found Teddy was very solid emotionaly; he managed to keep his emotions in check when facing his mother for the first time. That did strike me as a bit hard to believe considering how unstable Teddy was in the three first chapters. I'm not saying it's bad or anything, just surprising.

I noticed one little thing :

"...the fact that he was a good few inches taller than he was."; I think you mean... 'than SHE was...'

Overall, a great chapter and I love your characterization of Tonks in this chapter. Can't wait to the rest and how Teddy will really get through this periode in the past!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your great review and for catching a(nother) typo! I'll fix that one straight after responding. :)

In my previous version, Teddy's story was even odder, and I didn't deal with the concept of him randomly appearing out of nowhere at all. I'm glad that his story was realistic for a kid, though (SO hard to come up with!). You'll see more of the Tonks' reactions to Teddy in the next chapter. Let's just say that while Tonks buys that Teddy isn't a Death Eater, she still doesn't quite believe his story (and what respectable auror would?).

As for Teddy's personality, from my own personal experiences, teenagers are SO unpredictable: mature one moment and irrational and moody the next. But you've definitely given me something to think about while writing the next chapters. I will say that while Teddy might be okay with keeping his emotions in check with his mother, he's going to have more trouble once he meets Remus (and I won't reveal any more about that). ;)

Thanks again for the review and giving me things to think about! I'll be sure to keep your thoughts in mind while writing the next chapters. x


 Report Review

Review #8, by Bonnie18 Preparations

5th February 2012:
Brilliant! :) I love the idea of Teddy going back in time! Please write more! :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I plan to update soon. :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by magicmuggle01 Preparations

4th February 2012:
Oh you rotter you leaving it on a cliffhanger like that. What is going to happen next? Will Teddy land on the date in question or overshoot? I take it it is the untested timeturner 2.0 that he took? 10/10 and update soon plz.

Author's Response: Oh, a rotter I most certainly am! ;) I do promise to update in the next few days, though. While I can't say one way or another, I will say that even if Teddy does end up in the right date, he'll still have plenty of baggage to work through. ;)

 Report Review

Review #10, by magicmuggle01 The Department of Mysteries

4th February 2012:
Excellently written and well detailed. I could imagine everything perfectly. I wonder how much the future will be impacted on with Teddy messing around in the past? 10/10 and moving on.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! You'll have to read to find out. ;)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Akussa Preparations

4th February 2012:
Hi!

Oh, it's about to happen! I really liked this chapter because, although not much happens in it, we get a nice overview of what Teddy went through in the past year and what really motivates him in acting so recklessly.

I really enjoyed the conversation with his gran. She does understand what he is going through but, the typical angsty teenager that he is only notices the negative parts of her dialogue... well done, this is very realistic.

I noticed a couple little things toward the end of the chapter.

"...Randomly appearing inside the house would give them everyone a right scare..."; I think you forgot to erase 'them' (or 'everyone')

"...Outside, his transfigured himself..."; I think you mean 'he' transfigured himself

The last one is a simple observation; you write that '...going back in time to August twentieth of 1997...' and then, later on he sets the dials to 25/08/1997...

Overall, a great chapter of introspection for Teddy. I cannot wait for him to finally appear back in time; great work!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Your reviews have meant a lot to me, as do your opinions that I'm writing Teddy realistically! I'm actually working on a future chapter right now and paused to check my reviews. And thanks SO much for catching those typos...I took a lot of time figuring out where to put Teddy, hence that one, and as my own beta reader, I don't catch everything, so I rely on things from my readers. ;) I'll go to fix that right now!

 Report Review

Review #12, by magicmuggle01 Prologue

4th February 2012:
Excellent start. I do love time travel stories. I even have one on the archive myself which is complete. 10/10 and moving on.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'll have to check out yours. Hope you enjoy the rest...

 Report Review

Review #13, by Molly The Department of Mysteries

28th January 2012:
Really good! Please write some more! :)

Author's Response: Thank you, more should be along soon! :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Puygme puff gal  The Department of Mysteries

24th January 2012:
Oh i wanna read more!!! Keep writing!!
Ppg

Author's Response: Thank you! So far, the writing has come quite easily, so updates will be on the quicker end...at least for the present!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Akussa The Department of Mysteries

24th January 2012:
Hi!

Well this is a very strong chapter, moving the story forward and introducing the characters in such a great light! I really enjoyed reading this; once again, the descriptions and detailings, both in scenery uas well as in the emotional state of the character, was wonderfully done.

I really like your Teddy, he is definitly a great angsty teenager!! But in the end, you didn't go overboard with his angst, it felt real and heartfelt and not cliched or exagerated at all. I could really fell for him and I can definitly understand why he would steal that time turner. Harry was great, very canon like and acting just as I imagine he would, being a mature family man!

I really enjoy how the characters you are creating and the ambiance as well. I will certaintly keep my eyes pealed for your next update because I cannot wait to see how you will play this out for Teddy! Great work!

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! I'm very grateful to hear that you like my Teddy and don't think I overdid his angst, especially as I'm working on another project with another teenager about the same age who definitely has angst of her own (though her situation is very different from Teddy's). I realized writing that that since we all know what teen angst is like, something less is more in terms of description, so it doesn't go overboard, as unfortunately, READING about too much angst can get annoying. Equally glad to hear that you liked my adult Harry-honestly, I was surprised at how easy writing him came, but it was fun to write about a matured Harry and for Harry to have a chance to give Teddy the same type of advice he would have probably gotten from his father. Writing this has been easy so far, so an update will definitely be on the way sooner rather than later. :) Thanks again for your lovely reviews-they mean a lot, and I hope you continue to enjoy the story!

 Report Review

Review #16, by JPotter The Department of Mysteries

24th January 2012:
Sirius is alive! :D :D :D I love this story so far! When do you think the next chapter will be out?

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It should be soon...writing has come pretty easily, so perhaps in a day or two. :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by JPotter Prologue

24th January 2012:
This is awesome!!! I've always wondered what Teddy's life would be like, I love next generatin stories, and the time turner fascinates me! Excellent writing, I can't wait to read more! Read my story? :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! They fascinate me too. I'll try to find time to read your story.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Akussa Prologue

24th January 2012:
Hi!

This is a very interesting idea! I love time-travel stories as well and after reading a LOT of those, I have to admit that for every good story, there is about 10 horrible ones.
Yours hasn't really begun yet but already, we can tell that it is original and has a definite twist to it. I really love the idea of Teddy going back to his parents and like you, I think that the entire next-gen group is a bit much and just takes over poor Teddy.

So far, I like your writting style a lot. The detailing is just enough to give us a good idea of the characters and background story without going overboard and drowing the storyline. I really like how you described Lisa Turpin. It is so rare that we see writters chosing this background for their characters. Having one that didn't fight and chose to protect herself is brilliant and is one of the reason that shows the potential this story has.

I can't wait to read the rest because this is a really good opening chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! I really appreciate it, and I'm so glad to hear that I'm not the only one who feels that away about Time Travel stories (or has a guilty pleasure for them!). I'm also glad you liked the story of Lisa Turpin. I honestly don't know where it came from; I wasn't going to go into much detail about her, but when I googled her to make sure I wasn't missing anything about her, I thought about how she wasn't part of the D.A. and it all came together from there. I'm actually planning to update tonight. Updates won't normally be so frequent, but I think my strange prologue scared people away, so I'm really eager to get to Teddy and his story. Hope you enjoy! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login