12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by erinc1978@gmail.com even after all this time

26th March 2012:
*flail* This. Is. BEAUTIFUL.

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much! ♥

 Report Review

Review #2, by Siriusly3 even after all this time

19th March 2012:
OMFG. I actually welled up a little, feel like crying because it's so perfect for them. Like, amazing! I love love love Snape/Lily, not as a couple but like weird creepy friends with the awkwardness of Lily/James thrown in. No wonder you won first prize! I'm warning you now, I'm going mental and reading everything you've written and reviewing it too. Hope you don't mind :)

Author's Response: Thank you ♥ And that's exactly how I feel - I don't see them as a couple necessarily, but definitely friends. Thank you for the review - seeing them all made me smile! :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by charlottetrips even after all this time

9th March 2012:
OMG OMG OMG OMG!!! I can't even believe how unbelievably gorgeous and just SPEAKING this is to me! I don't know why but I absolutely gobble up Snape/Lily - it's probably because I have this insatiable angst monster in me that always cries for MOAR and I must obey. And this! This stupendously darkly beautiful piece has poured itself into my soul and I'm just...whoa. Stunned.

No wonder you got First Place in the Challenge! (Congrats! ♥) The use of Lily as the sun and Sev as the planet who revolves around her is so apt! I will forever carry this around in my mind when I think of the two. His entire life, from when he was but a child, was revolving around Lily. The quotes at the beginning and the end were absolutely perfect.

And how you had them have a little bit of closure in a moment where she thought all was lost - pure B R I L L I A N C E. (Yes, this "review" is actually just a rambling RAVE about the awesomeness of this story.) It's a moment that I never knew I wanted to happen but the second I read it, I was like "YES!" and an undreamed dream was fulfilled!

So totally pat yourself on the back for this one, accept the love ♥♥♥♥ for it because, girl, this story was fantastic.

xChar

Author's Response: ♥ Thank you so much for such a fabulous review. Not even kidding, this put this sort of stupid grin on my face.

haha, it's okay - I'm pretty certain I have an insatiable angst monster in me as well D: It roars when I try to write happy stories.

(Thank you!) I read the quote that I stuck at the top and all the sudden BAM! I knew what I wanted to write, because I could picture the two of them working. Through his whole life, he's never been able to really escape Lily - up until the end of his life.

♥ ♥ ♥ Thank you so so so much for this - you have no idea how much this brightened my day. I'm so glad you liked it! you rock :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by justonemorefic even after all this time

9th March 2012:
After so many reviews you leave me, please accept this dinky ol' one for your OMG AMAZING ONESHOT OMG OMG.

This is what I've always loved about Snape/Lily. They are people who need each other but not necessarily should be together. I'd never want them together in a relationship, but they share something. And when I saw the chapter summary I was like, that is the perfect description.

I love how you sectioned it out, all the shoulds and switching between her and him. She should hate him, and he should forget her. You can already tell how much they matter to each other because of that. There is no such thing as cutting off all ties to the past. There is no easy decision. The implicit forgiveness is just the most ;A; thing ever.

And the endinggg. Ahhh the perfect full circle. These lines, I died: She can never hate him, no easier than she could hate Petunia/He can never forget her, no easier than he could forget the abuse of his father.

♥ SO MUCH LOVEEE.

Author's Response: hi there ♥

Exactly! I can't really see them having a romantic relationship, but I can see them with friendship, because whatever it was that they had, I doubt it could completely disappear. (look at me being all optimistic!)

Snape and Lily make me so sad. (unrequited love -sniffles- and then dying. boo) But it always seemed to me that Lily had to forgive him at some point, because there's really no point in holding a grudge for eons anyways, right?

lol this was such a fail of a response but THANKS GINA! YOU'RE AWESOME. ♥


 Report Review

Review #5, by LooneyChick even after all this time

7th February 2012:
Wonderful. Simple, moving, beautiful. Loved it.

Author's Response: Thanks for this review ♥

 Report Review

Review #6, by thesinandthesinner even after all this time

7th February 2012:
Loved the rhythm and tone to this piece! It flowed really well and I love the terseness to it, it was so full of emotions and not in the over the top way. Fantastic job.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! That means a lot to me :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by forsakenphoenix even after all this time

28th January 2012:
I definitely wasn't sure how I'd feel about this because it's well...Snily. But it was your writing so I couldn't say no, now could I?

I just..gah, this is so, so, so beautiful. Everything about this is precious, with the stars and Snape clouded in darkness with Lily as his light. You picked something so simple to work with but it works extraordinarily well with this ship.

I adored this sentence too: "She had reminded him of the fact that not all of life would be the coldness of his home or the heat of his father's anger." I don't know why, there's something about the contrast between coldness and heat in Severus's home life that sort of reminds me of his and Lily's relationship.

That incident with the Death Eaters and Snape letting Lily escape, as a sort of means for forgiveness for the past...it was such a perfect addition and it redeemed Snape in my mind.

And then the ending! Oh my goodness, I love how you included that quote at the end. It's one of my favorites. This was just...simple and beautiful and perfect.

Author's Response: Thank you for reading this despite the fact that it's Snily! ;)

I'm glad the metaphor/imagery/whatever that turned out to be seemed to work - I read the quote on the top and I instantly thought of the two of them.

Redemption, hooray! I don't think that things could ever be the same as they were prior to fifth year, but I do believe that Lily could eventually forgive.

One of my favorites, too. ♥ Thank you for the very lovely review! you're the best. :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Ravenclaw333 even after all this time

27th January 2012:
This was such a beautiful piece. It summed up everything I've ever thought of Snape and Lily's friendship and was wonderfully and delicately written. Loved the sun motif, very well done :)

Author's Response: Thank you ♥ Glad you liked it and thanks so much for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by academica even after all this time

26th January 2012:
Oh, my gosh. This is so beautiful, and even more so considering its simplicity. You've chosen such an interesting kind of imagery to include, with the galactic bodies and the shooting star and the light, and I think it's really fitting for the permanence of this ship as we know it from canon. I love how you've juxtaposed so many opposites, the light with the dark, Lily's affection with Snape's home life.

I love the incident you've described, with Snape making up at least in part for the terrible word he uttered to Lily in fifth year. It's so easy for me to picture an interaction like that happening in canon, a secret shared between the two of them and never to be revealed due to her passing and his guilt. It was such a tender moment, and it really touched my heart.

I really, really loved this. I know you're an excellent writer (and I should really spend more time on your page) and I'm so, so happy to see that you did my OTP perfect justice. This was such a pleasant escape from the bitterness and regret that I see all too often in Snily fics, and I admire your ability to stay true to canon and still bring these broken, hurting adults back to the innocent selves they occupied as children.

Favorited, and well deserving of it, too.

Amanda

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I had read the quote on the top, actually, and I decided that it worked nicely for the two, and that's where the idea for the imagery came from.

While I don't know if anything could completely erase the memory of fifth year, I do think that Lily, as she got older, would be able to forgive him. This was a moment that I really wanted to write for whatever reason - just one last meeting together.

I'm so glad that you thought I did your OTP justice, and thank you so very much for the lovely review - it really means a lot to me.


 Report Review

Review #10, by magicmuggle01 even after all this time

26th January 2012:
This was beautiful, And in a way romantic. It showed that the first love you feel never truely dies. Great story and 10/10.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! ♥ I'm so glad you liked it! :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Violet Gryfindor even after all this time

26th January 2012:
What can I say about this? *sobbing* is a good start, but even then it doesn't capture all of the feelings and beauty of your story. Even after reading many Snily stories that try to work through how both characters reacted to the schism between them, with this story, I'm struck by the sadness, remorse, and powerful love of their relationship. I want to cry again, but not only for Snape, also for Lily - that doesn't happen to me because most authors imagine her being all happy with James and forgetful of Snape. The way that you portray an alternate possibility - she and Snape meeting again, even if for the briefest moment - is unique and stunning.

It all feels so natural, so canon, and that's another great feature of this story - it fits perfectly with Snape's last living moment, that meeting of eyes with Harry, making that scene a repetition of this one, the last time he sees Lily. It also fits that, in that short moment, they should understand one another so well. They are soul mates in a way, divided by circumstances beyond their control, and they can give speeches through a glance and speak volumes with their eyes. And you capture that kind of moment with perfection.

Then there's the style of this story (watch me go on about this story for hours now, it's caught my interest that much) with that great care for diction, saying only what needs to be said, yet packing in the metaphors of light at the same time. It's sparse, but not simple; fragmentary, but not choppy in the least. I'm jealous of this kind of style because I'm way too wordy to manage it successfully. It's beautifully put together and I've enjoyed reading it very much - it's actually helped me get back into reading fanfiction again and being interested in reading it, so thank you very much for that. Also, he best of luck with the challenge - all of the entries so far are making it very difficult to imagine who the winner will be. This is an amazing entry and just the kind of story I was looking to read. ^_^

Author's Response: I don't really know how to properly respond to this but I shall do my best. Snape and Lily have always been a pair that fascinated me - I've always wanted to try to understand their relationship and connection. I don't think Lily could have ever forgotten Snape, not really. The idea of them having one last short meeting was one that had been floating around in my head for a long time, and I decided to let it loose and write it.

To hear that it sounds canon is one of the best compliments I've ever gotten, so thank you! I think the thing with old friends is that there's always that underlying understanding of one another, that ability to communicate without words. Perhaps in another life, Snape and Lily could have been together... but then again, I do love James/Lily so I'm torn. :P

I sometimes struggle with being concise, but this story decided that that's the way it wanted itself to be and that was that. Thank /you/ - for the fabulous review and for the challenge. I can honestly say that this challenge was one of my favorites to write - it sort of wrote itself, which was nice. :)

Thank you so very much! ♥


 Report Review

Review #12, by Moonyxluna even after all this time

26th January 2012:
You should listen to the stories that are bothering you more often, because this was a very lovely one-shot. ;)

To tell you the truth, I don't read too many Snape/Lily stories, but I think this one was really beautiful. I really liked the part where he helped her escape, and I can see that meaning the world to Lily, even if the pair were no longer friends.

I also loved how you included the "After all this time" part. That's one of my favorite lines from the HP series, and it was perfectly represented in this story. The comparisons to Lily being the sun were perfectly placed, and beautifully expanded on through the whole story :)

Great job, you should be really proud of this!

Author's Response: I was pretty happy with how it came out, so I'm glad I listened to it! :)

In that case, thank you for giving it a chance! I always sort of wanted to write one last meeting between Snape and Lily. I feel as though they had a complicated relationship - just because they weren't really friends anymore doesn't mean that she couldn't appreciate it.

Hands down one of my favorite quotes of all time. ♥ I think it probably is for a lot of HP fans! I thought it was really just the perfect thing to sum up their relationship.

Thank you so much for the review! :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login